Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Knapsack sprayers

• 26-04-2014 2:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48

I use a knapsack sparyer alot for my work (20ltr) and its a bastard on the shoulders/back.
    Anyone know of any supports or knapsacks that might be more comfy for the back!

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,217 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

bulldozer1 wrote: »

I use a knapsack sparyer alot for my work (20ltr) and its a bastard on the shoulders/back.
    Anyone know of any supports or knapsacks that might be more comfy for the back!

thanks
    yup is a fecker, filled my one up yesterday put iton my back and the seal was gone in the bottom of it:mad:, i try and put something on my shoulders to stop the straps cutting in to me. the other thing you could do is not fill it full

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Pipe insulation on the straps help a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Only half fill it takes a bit longer but easier on the back and shoulders

I try not to use the backpack anymore tbh. Now I either use the small Aldi/Lidl sprayers or the wheelbarrow mounted umbilical boom sprayer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I have pipe insulation wrapped in silage tape on the straps and it works well.
    However I always notice that it does not seem to get any lighter until it is nearly empty :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭monkeynuz

Berthoud vermorel pro confort, 16litre tank and the most comfortable padded straps around. I bought mine from goldcrop I think. It also has on board selectable pressure regulation 1-5 bar I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Yeah, have a CP 15 sprayer, and it can seem heavy enough. Awkward enough to get on and off, if you don't set it on a table or barrel first. Have one of the old green and yellow Cooper Peglar sprayers, no longer working, and not missed. They were 5 gallons, I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

Knapsack sprayers are the work of the devil!

I'd sooner eat one than use one any more.
    As Conmaicne Mara said, the way to go is an electric quad sprayer with a good long hose, and a small handheld sprayer for small jobs or spot spraying.

Really, the only way to ease the job of using a knapsack sprayer is to increase the load-bearing surface by fitting wider straps or extra padding, or reduce the load by filling it less full.
    Or both.

i fell with a full knapsack on my back:mad: each time i use it i say i wont fill it as full next time , but i still do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Rovi wrote: »

As Conmaicne Mara said, the way to go is an electric quad sprayer with a good long hose, and a small handheld sprayer for small jobs or spot spraying.

Really, the only way to ease the job of using a knapsack sprayer is to increase the load-bearing surface by fitting wider straps or extra padding, or reduce the load by filling it less full.
    Or both.

Micron Herbi. Using one with 15 yrs. Very very fine misty spray. 5 L and you'd spray for over an hour maybe two.

Uses way less spray also

Or both.

Like I said the berthoud is the way to go, very very comfortable big soft straps nothing like the cooper peglers

big padded waist strap too

ford2600 wrote: »
    Micron Herbi. Using one with 15 yrs. Very very fine misty spray. 5 L and you'd spray for over an hour maybe two.

Uses way less spray also

That's interesting!

I see they do a huge range of equipment:
    http://www.micron.co.uk/all_products

What sort of money are we talking about for the Herbi?:
    http://www.micron.co.uk/the_herbi-4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭P_Cash

monkeynuz wrote: »
    Like I said the berthoud is the way to go, very very comfortable big soft straps nothing like the cooper peglers

big padded waist strap too

just checked a few websites, your talking £165 for the sprayer.

maby look at getting a 90ltr tank with a 12v motor.

thats the way i go.

stick on a 30meter hose and ur sorted

THe berthoud is a similar price to the cooper pegler so all good as far as I am concerned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,719 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Stupid yokes.
    Gave mine away to a madman that wanted one.

That's interesting!

I see they do a huge range of equipment:
    http://www.micron.co.uk/all_products

What sort of money are we talking about for the Herbi?:
    http://www.micron.co.uk/the_herbi-4

Maybe a €100 or so. Years since I bought one.

I bought 20L of generic roundup and sprayed off 8 acres with it(i.e. a tractor sprayer) Have being using the remainder of 20 L since with herbi. I sprayed field on the day Twins Towers came down! Just ran out last week. Next to no weed killer used with herbi.

Wear a proper mask. Smaller particles penetrate further into airways if not stopped by mask

I don't mind spraying now. Herbi or quad if doing ditches.

Although my knapsack is from 50's at a guess. Leather diaphragm, copper body. Mint condition!
    You've probably seen them in olde style pubs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭dharn

Those copper ones were heavy when empty:(

dharn wrote: »
    Those copper ones were heavy when empty:(
    They look lovely, but are best left to the museums and themed pubs and vintage rallies at this stage :D

Those Berthoud sprayers look like really well designed and made machines:
    http://www.berthoud-store.co.uk/knapsack-sprayers--36--n.htm
    ...but I'm hard set to think of a spraying situation here in my place that I couldn't do with my quad tank of handheld sprayer.
    I can't think of ANY circumstances under which I'd be buying a knapsack sprayer in the foreseeable future.

They look lovely, but are best left to the museums and themed pubs and vintage rallies at this stage :D

Those Berthoud sprayers look like really well designed and made machines:
    http://www.berthoud-store.co.uk/knapsack-sprayers--36--n.htm
    ...but I'm hard set to think of a spraying situation here in my place that I couldn't do with my quad tank of handheld sprayer.
    I can't think of ANY circumstances under which I'd be buying a knapsack sprayer in the foreseeable future.

Actually my vintage sprayer is a Berthoud.

bought a 16 litre knapsack sprayer for 26 euro today, i put it together and i put the handle on the wrong way, rather than it being in front of me to my left hand i have to reach back to pump it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

iv a 50l for the quad, and a knapsack for spots. quad will go anywhere and have a 50 ft pipe to the lance. great job.

uncle made his own a few years ago(would be useful n the gunthering thread!) its an old acid barrel, 12v motor also, (similar to a bilge pump for a boat) holds maybe 150/200l. and a similar pipe to mine. he can leave it in the grab of the tractor or the back of the jeep. great for ditches etc as you don't have to fill too often. when I saw the lance stuck to the front loader, cable tied, pointing to the ditch I had to hand it to him!

approx. 200 for a s/h quad sprayer. will work in the transport box too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Farmers are getting soft, :-D if the 15 ltrs on your back is pulling the shoulders off ye just strap a counterweight on your front, old tractor battery , well fed dog etc would do .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Farmers are getting soft, :-D if the 15 ltrs on your back is pulling the shoulders off ye just strap a counterweight on your front, old tractor battery , well fed dog etc would do .

Ive grown my own counterbalance :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mancity1

could be a silly question but could you say secure a quad sprayer in a transport box and have it hooked up to a car battery and then have plenty of hose .Was thinking of tractor like a massey 35 could be handy to do bit of spraying or am i missing something?

mancity1 wrote: »
    could be a silly question but could you say secure a quad sprayer in a transport box and have it hooked up to a car battery and then have plenty of hose .Was thinking of tractor like a massey 35 could be handy to do bit of spraying or am i missing something?

Yep.
    I know a chap has a quad sprayer mounted on a 35x. Made a 3pt frame for it. Just runs off the tractor battery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭mancity1

would a quad sprayer work off a standalone battery rather than run it off tractor battery just thinking not as much cable?

iv a 50l for the quad, and a knapsack for spots. quad will go anywhere and have a 50 ft pipe to the lance. great job.

uncle made his own a few years ago(would be useful n the gunthering thread!) its an old acid barrel, 12v motor also, (similar to a bilge pump for a boat) holds maybe 150/200l. and a similar pipe to mine. he can leave it in the grab of the tractor or the back of the jeep. great for ditches etc as you don't have to fill too often. when I saw the lance stuck to the front loader, cable tied, pointing to the ditch I had to hand it to him!

approx. 200 for a s/h quad sprayer. will work in the transport box too.

I've the same setup as your uncle. Acid barrel with 12v pump like a quad sprayer.
    Except I have the barrel fitted into the frame of an old cone fert spreader so it goes onto the 3pt linkage.
    10 meter hose and a lance.
    Or we made a tag on weed licker that runs behind it, set the kicker height with 3pt lift. Works well enough and cost very little to knock together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Farmers are getting soft, :-D

Finally a man after me own heart. I never though a knapsack was too heavy of a load. I must be a horse of a man. Or an Ass:eek:

Muckit has a new hardship target now :D

Tendonitis here, another reason not to use backpack.

Problems show later.
    Ya see so many older farmers looking bet down from years of tough work. If ya watch old lads at the mart they are all stooped or dragging one leg a bit behind them.

Now, I'm fairly bet down myself most days but that's a different story.

_Brian wrote: »
    Problems show later.
    Ya see so many older farmers looking bet down from years of tough work. If ya watch old lads at the mart they are all stooped or dragging one leg a bit behind them.

It's all them hills in Cavan. We don't have such worries!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 wetdarknight2

good idea, I can see how it could work well.

Not a bit different to any quad sprayer. All they are is a container, a 12v pump, hose and lance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Problems show later.

That's from years of actual work, heavy lifting, getting wet, boucing around in tractors all day. Knapsacking isn't going to cripple anyone used to the physicality of farming. What does it weigh? 22-23 kgs. It's boring but it's not that taxing on the body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 wetdarknight2

never thought of recycling an old acid container for that though.

Driving it round sure beats horsing it round on your back though. As someone else said if ya watch old lads at the mart they are all stooped or dragging one leg a bit behind them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Gillespy wrote: »
    That's from years of actual work, heavy lifting, getting wet, boucing around in tractors all day. Knapsacking isn't going to cripple anyone used to the physicality of farming. What does it weigh? 22-23 kgs. It's boring but it's not that taxing on the body.

Actually id have to disagree, and thats after studying loading of bones in a medical devices class in college... While you might say its only 20kg and sure its close to your back its quite surprising how much of an extra loading it has on your spine. I remember doing the maths for the increase in spine loading of a pregnant woman with something like a 9lb baby so only about 4kg, and it over tripled the loading on the spine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Gillespy

In that case I'd be more worried about the weigh of school bags doing the damage first.

A farmer who is farm fit, a knapsack is nothing.

Zr105 wrote: »
    Actually id have to disagree, and thats after studying loading of bones in a medical devices class in college... While you might say its only 20kg and sure its close to your back its quite surprising how much of an extra loading it has on your spine. I remember doing the maths for the increase in spine loading of a pregnant woman with something like a 9lb baby so only about 4kg, and it over tripled the loading on the spine.

I'd say the spine was designed to accommodate pregnancy?

I never found spraying overly taxing, I'd be half fit and robust enough to take it occasionally. Different matter at it day after day, but I don't think anyone's at that lark.

Footing turf is harder on me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Gillespy wrote: »
    In that case I'd be more worried about the weigh of school bags doing the damage first.

A farmer who is farm fit, a knapsack is nothing.

Yeah school bags are desperate bad for kids alright! I suppose the point i was more making is that while many of us might not think anything of it, and i include myself there, when you actually do look at it properly its scary how much of a load something relatively small is putting on you without you realising

Zr105 wrote: »
    Yeah school bags are desperate bad for kids alright! I suppose the point i was more making is that while many of us might not think anything of it, and i include myself there, when you actually do look at it properly its scary how much of a load something relatively small is putting on you without you realising

I'm with ya on the schoolbag issue. It's outrageous the weight in them bags being carried by kids with ongoing skeletal development.

with interactive white boards etc there shouldnt be a need for heavy school bags anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

The extra 15kg that I am carrying around every day is probably what's causing the sore knees etc. That's the same as a knapsack sprayer all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Problems show later.

Its hard to get the balance right between fitness ,hardship and hard work, a lot of lads in there fifties with heart bypasses and a walk with a knapsack would have done them good, by the end of March / April sheep farmers know there level of fitness

Problems show later.

Its hard to get the balance right between fitness ,hardship and hard work, a lot of lads in there fifties with heart bypasses and a walk with a knapsack would have done them good, by the end of March / April sheep farmers know there level of fitness
    the older generation had alot more physical hardship though, thinning turnips, milking by hand. Handling 50kg bags of cement /fertiliser.Using a pitch fork/4 grain fork/shovel. Alot of the work today isnt manual as such and most people take the easy way out of doing things. I dont mind a day picking ragworth as i can see something for what i am doing, i quite like using the knapsack and its only a few times a year

whelan2 wrote: »
    Handling 50kg bags of cement /fertiliser.Using a pitch fork/4 grain fork/shovel.

Older generation heh

ye i know alot of people-including myself- still do these things but its not as common as it used to be, a bit of forking or shovelling does no harm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,457 ✭✭✭✭Base price

whelan2 wrote: »
    ye i know alot of people-including myself- still do these things but its not as common as it used to be, a bit of forking or shovelling does no harm
    Celtic cubs are a soft bunch ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 Johnsey

Does the sprayer actually have to go on your back ? Saw a 16l sprayer in the hardware today that's on its own little trolley wheels . Looked a good idea. Don't have any idea of price either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

If a lad was handy you'd make a grand trolley for it with old bicycle wheels.

I've a few mad ideas for things like this that lm going to give a go to over the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 bulldozer1

I'd say the spine was designed to accommodate pregnancy?

I never found spraying overly taxing, I'd be half fit and robust enough to take it occasionally. Different matter at it day after day, but I don't think anyone's at that lark.

Footing turf is harder on me!

Im at that lark! working with a lawn care company. have to use one most days. 20 damn litres .