Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does your partner play golf ?

• 23-04-2014 12:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭

As someone who has tried to get their partner to take up the game for the last number of years ( and failed ) I was wondering would anyone on boards have any tips on how I might get herself involved ?

I decided to add a poll to find out how many boardsies partners actually play as well :)

my wife played Camogie and Hockey until her late teens, so i think she would naturally be quite good at golf, but she's stubborn and won't give in. :pac:

How about your partner ? :)

Does your partner play golf 75 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    17% 13 votes
    I don't have a partner :(
    82% 62 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

Good God man
    The golf course is my only peace and quiet:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭sodbuster77

No. Thank God

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Dbu wrote: »
    Good God man
    The golf course is my only peace and quiet:D

I'm thinking it might be my chance to get more golf! And that maybe if she played golf, I'd get out more often than I do now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭pinkdoubleeagle

Hates the game and is not encouraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Mine plays the odd game.

He's better than me actually.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Over the years the hatred of the game has turned to liking but she will never play it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

The problem is a lot of younger women don't play so I don't think it encourages any woman under 40 to get involved. From a social point of view I think most women would like to be mixing with women their own age.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Senecio

My wife tried to take it up a couple of years ago but never took to it. She recently got back into late last year and is enjoying it. The difference this time is:

* She got some of her friends interested in it
    * They (6-7 women) have a beginners group lesson each Thursday
    * The instructor they have is female

All of these factors make her more comfortable on the golf course as she felt self concious when playing with me or other more accomplished golfers. Mind you, I think her 60min lesson on a Thursday is 20mins on the range and 40 mins in the clubhouse gossiping and drinking coffee.

In short, she'll only take it up if she wants to and not because you want her to. She's more inclined to want to take it up if she finds a group of like minded women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Tell here you are meeting a few other couples and going Swinging with them. She can either tag along or you will play with them on your own ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Two exes of mine played, one had only taken it up but was a healthy standard very quickly (well able to hit the ball, had several pars etc)
    The other was playing to 9 so we had a great rivalry and good craic playing mixeds together, still play the odd few.

Current got lessons years ago but never took it up, probably little interest tbh, though she is happy for me to play and it doesnt cause any issues....yet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Jez Greebo, you're not far off a decent Solheim cup team there :)

Current partner (wife) doesn't play and that's just fine with me.
    Her mother plays and I've no problem going a round with her, but couldn't hack the missus.
    She'll watch golf no problem and is fairly clued in, she said she'll start to play when she's retired.
    She'll be playing with her mates....

For me:
    Golf = My time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

PARlance wrote: »
    For me:
    Golf = My time

Couldn't agree more.

For obvious reasons, my other half is more than happy to have the golf on the tele so that's enough for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

My OH plays and she's fairly handy. We play together on Saturdays and then the competition's on Sundays we play seperately.

It's great, most holidays are golf holidays now. No problem watching golf on TV either.

I was always in 2 minds as to whether partner playing was a good thing or not, but I wouldn't have it any other way now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭yettie1701

My wife took it up last year. She joined Borris a local 9 hole course. I was glad she took it up but glad she joined a different course too. We have two sons who are young and it's a good way for her to get a bit of time away from three men. I get to play more too now which is a big plus. We play together occasionally but neither of us enjoy it a huge amount because of our different levels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

newport2 wrote: »
    My OH plays and she's fairly handy. We play together on Saturdays and then the competition's on Sundays we play seperately.

It's great, most holidays are golf holidays now. No problem watching golf on TV either.

I was always in 2 minds as to whether partner playing was a good thing or not, but I wouldn't have it any other way now.

Fair enough to the lads saying golf time is their own, but I'd love this tbh. It'd be great to have golf in common.
    But mine doesn't play and from listening to me go on and on and on about it I'd say she never will at this stage.
    The other thing is when there are young children in the house there is barely time for one in the house to be golfing.

Edit: forgot to say that I don't hate her ergo I could be around her for 4 hours :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭coleen

Myself and my OH play golf. He plays with his friends on a Saturday. We both play in competitions on a Sunday and as I work 4 days I usually play with my friends on my day off.
    We would play together on summer evenings and on weekends away.
    Our kids have now grown up so it is ok to be gone all day on Sunday.
    I did play when the kids were younger but we did not play much together then as one of us would be home. When I started off it took me a good two years to get into it. My OH has been playing much longer than me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I can see the benefits of having the OH interest in golf, but mine has no interest and that's fine by me, I don't think I would try and get her involved.
    Her sole involvement is asking "is the Irish boy playing in this" (McIroy) when the golf is on TV.
    She runs a barber shop so her customers are always impressed when they are discussing the golf that was on the TV the previous night and she is able to chime in. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Mine used to play regularly when younger but hates the ladies scene in clubs; not much women round her own age or with similar interests. Really only a summer/holiday golfer now but can still break 80 with ease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Mine is intersted in taking it up and I've brought her down to the course a few times to play a few holes. I think she would really take to it if she can take the next step and go down and play with other women of a similar beginners standard. It's taken her a while to realise she wont be brilliant at it right from the off. She might have to wait a few weeks for that :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

my missus has no interest to be honest, I think it's too long a game & she couldn't handle the frustration of near missing putts.

Was just reading the below, I wonder if it could make a difference to getting more people interested?

http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/5196480

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

my missus has no interest to be honest, I think it's too long a game & she couldn't handle the frustration of near missing putts.

Was just reading the below, I wonder if it could make a difference to getting more people interested?

http://m.huffpost.com/us/entry/5196480

Paulo53 posted a video about that over in the "best putter" thread, if you fancy a look Space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭markpauldunne

After some convincing My wife took part in the Women In Golf event in my club: Ashbourne GC in 2012. It consists of a few group lessons followed by a few scrambles.

She and a couple of the ladies joined in 2013 and bow we both get out and occasionally together.

There's an open mixed scotch foursomes on Sunday plenty of room on the sheet if any of you fancy a row :-P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

So 93% of us have partners. It would seem that the boardsie golfing community are studs:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭newport2

blue note wrote: »
    So 93% of us have partners. It would seem that the boardsie golfing community are studs:cool:

Most studs don't have a partner.....

I don't get the sad face on "I don't have a partner frown.png" ?? Some people are happier single.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

newport2 wrote: »
    Most studs don't have a partner.....

I don't get the sad face on "I don't have a partner frown.png" ?? Some people are happier single.

Considering the amount of crying on here about having to ask the missus permission to play golf etc.... I'd argue most of those lads would be happier single.

blue note wrote: »

i would say its more likely that the boards golfing community is well north of 30 years of age ;)

Correct, i should have had a sad face after the yes and no options and a happy face after the final option ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭Felexicon

After some convincing My wife took part in the Women In Golf event in my club: Ashbourne GC in 2012. It consists of a few group lessons followed by a few scrambles.

She and a couple of the ladies joined in 2013 and bow we both get out and occasionally together.

There's an open mixed scotch foursomes on Sunday plenty of room on the sheet if any of you fancy a row :-P
    My mother completed that event that year too. Went from no interest in golf to loving a cup of tea and a gossip in the clubhouse as well as the threat to my Dad that one sunny day she'll head out with him for a game.
    My other half enjoys watching the golf on TV and has come to the driving range with me a few times. Don't think she likes it enough to give it a real go yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,951 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

Wife has no interest at all in playing. See it as a bit of a pity. Getting a game of golf in when away anywhere would be much easier!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Rikand wrote: »
    i would say its more likely that the boards golfing community is well north of 30 years of age ;)

That's funny because I'd have said that the vast majority were 25-35. Again that said I'm over the ol 30 hump myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭Pwindedd

Husband has been playing for decades now. I've just taken it up, literally about 4 weeks ago. Have always enjoyed watching it and love playing PGA on wii. Joined the Monday night scramble in work on a pure whim and instructed husband that he had the weekend to teach me how to play. He rose to the challenge, we hit the range and god bless him he tried. First outing was interesting with work. Missed more than I hit but I thoroughly enjoyed it and we've been back to the range several times now. He doesn't seem to mind at all, and we're heading out for a bit of pitch n putt tomorrow. I've been bitten by the bug. I think he's delighted as it's taken care of birthday and Christmas presents for the foreseeable future. For our wedding anniversary next week I'm getting shoes !!! In a few years hopefully we can go on golfing holidays together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

I tried to get my wife to play - she had played hockey so was well able to hit ball.

But, she would not take take instruction from me and would laugh - and deliberately do the opposite. Her family are so uncompetitive they make me uneasy - I once seen them hug after trivia pursuit.

So - I do my golf and she does what she likes. We have found a happy medium - where I get to play when I want. :P

No - she is one of the best at supporting me - at my crazy dreams. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭getoffthepot

I'm playing golf 40 years. My Ma and Da played and I have always encouraged my Missus to play. It's great to have a common interest and it's good socially. Never had a problem getting out to play either!