Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too old to go back to college?

• 23-04-2014 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I've been thinking about going to college, I went straight into work after school so missed the chance first time round. Only thing keeping me back is my age.

I'm 22 now, and most of the people i knew in school will be done with college this year and i'll be older then everyone else. Then in 3/4years time IF i end up getting a degree i will be 26. It's like i'm years behind everyone else.

Just something i'm real self-conscious about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Plenty of people go back to college in their 30's, 40's, or even older. I'd be very surprised if there isn't someone older than you in your own field of study. The four years that you have on other people in your class will be nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,899 ✭✭✭megaten

It's not a big deal. Quite a few people in my course were in their mid twenties and I didn't even realise it until they mentioned it. To be honest I wish I had gone to college older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

You are not too old at all. In fact, you're probably in the best place to take full advantage of everything college has to offer: old enough (and having worked enough) to appreciate the benefits of education while still young enough that you won't be out of place taking part in college events. Not that older students are out of place at these either. Basically, have a blast!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭podge79

Anon01021 wrote: »
    I've been thinking about going to college, I went straight into work after school so missed the chance first time round. Only thing keeping me back is my age.

I'm 22 now, and most of the people i knew in school will be done with college this year and i'll be older then everyone else. Then in 3/4years time IF i end up getting a degree i will be 26. It's like i'm years behind everyone else.

Just something i'm real self-conscious about.

Hi OP,

I went back to college in 2006 when I was 27 - best decision I ever made. If anything being that bit older helped me focus better on what I wanted to do and where I wanted to go - those few more years of life experience were of huge benefit. Don't worry about your age - the number of people of all ages returning to college has boomed in last decade and nobody bats an eyelid, all colleges have great support services in place to ease the transition. Go for it - don't let the age worry hold you back, if you do you'll be always wondering what if? Best of luck with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭gaynorvader

If anything, you're too young as you won't benefit from the mature student grants! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

The first time I went into college I was shocked, I thought 18/19 year olds would be in a majority. Not a chance, there were a few people like myself - fresh out of school but there were plenty more who were 20/21 (having dropped out of previous college courses), 22/23/24 (having worked like yourself and finally decided on a course to do). Then there were the people in their 30's/40's/50's.

Don't be self-conscious about it, nobody actually cares about that stuff when you get to college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I went back at 32. People younger than 21 were the minority in my class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

Never to old to go to college or return to it for that matter.
    In fact at your age you would probably appreciate it a lot more than the 18 yo who are getting their first real taste of freedom and letting it go to their heads.

Good luck with your decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,009 ✭✭✭SingItOut

I will be 25 when I go back to college this september, you are never too old to go back to college

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

22, too old? Ah stop. I was 28 going back the second time. You're a spring chicken. Go for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,676 ✭✭✭✭herisson

Op my friend is turning 24 this year and shes going back to college in September. My sister went back to college when she was 25, her boyfriend went back to college when he was 28.

There is no age limit to going back. Just go for it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Mugatuu

OP you're not too old! I started a new college course this year at 21 and will be finishing aged 24! I'm glad I'm a little bit older in this course as ive enough cop on to get on with the work and ignore the drama among some of the other girls who are 17/18 and just out of school. Being older I'm much more driven, working harder and really appreciate college.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,673 ✭✭✭Stavro Mueller

So what if you're a few years behind your peers? I know this sounds patronising but it's exactly what someone of 21 or 22 would say. Someone who's older will have a different view on this. Don't let your fear of being the wrong age stop you from following your dreams. When you get older you will be glad you took these few years out of your life to go to college and you will wonder what all the fuss was about.

As the others have rightly said already, you're at a nice age to be going. You're still young and you're a more mature person. Not just because of your age but because you've spent a few years working. Those years out in the workforce will stand you in good stead when you go looking for a job afterwards. Even though you may not have been working in the field you wish to study, it will show that you're reliable, capable of holding down a job and able to work with other people. Going back to college will show that you're not someone to sit on your laurels. Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,158 ✭✭✭✭HugsiePie

OP Im in college and I can tell you now theee would be nothing odd about you going bacj to education at your age. There's about 15 mature students in my course and I'd say about half if them are aged 50 upwards. Tgeres one guy I'd guess is nearly 70. Trust me. The mature students get on really well together always sit up the front and ask questions and ace their exams (they make the rest of us look bad :P) you'll be one of the younger mature students if you go back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

22 is definitely not too old, I would not worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

I'm heading back (again!) part time in September and I'm 25. There were loads of people in my Masters over 22. And in my undergrad there were lots of mature students. One of the women in my class was the mother of one of my schoolmates!

You're not too old at all. One of my ambitions is to go back (I won't rest until I have been to at least four unis haha!) when I've retired and hopefully have enough money and do a undergrad in history, because it's something I love but utterly pointless career wise. Learning never stops :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I went back at 30 and was far from the oldest in the course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭muff03

Only advice I'll give you OP is do what I didn't, wait til you're 23 and get your hands on the grants. I went back at 22, it's a tough few years with very little income, and I didn't tick the age box for the BTEA.

As for the age, forget about it, the fact that you've a bit of maturity about you, you'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭GG21057

I'm currently in university for the first time at the grand old age of 43. I'm doing it because I want to and can clearly see the ultimate benefit, something I wouldn't have been able to see at 18. Age is not an issue; your attitude and ambition is what will define your stay in college and the additional maturity and life experience you bring will be invaluable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭GG21057

I'm currently in university for the first time at the grand old age of 43. I'm doing it because I want to and can clearly see the ultimate benefit, something I wouldn't have been able to see at 18. Age is not an issue; your attitude and ambition is what will define your stay in college and the additional maturity and life experience you bring will be invaluable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

I went to college at 33, about 50% of my class are mature students, one lady is early 50's. Go for it, don't let anybody elses attitude or opinion put you off.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

I honestly thought you were going to say you were late 50s/early 60s!!! And even at that age, as you can see from the other posts, it's still not too old to go back to college.

I would echo what the others have said though, maybe hold out until you are 23.

I have to admit, I smiled when I read you were 22. At 22 I would also have thought I was old!! I am now 14 years on from that, and I realise that at 36, I am still young. And there's an awful lot of life still ahead of me.

Good luck in your course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

Hi op, like everyone else has said you are never to old to return to education. I was 24 when I returned to do a full time course. The majority of my class were school leavers, but the rest were people around my own age and a bit older. Tbh we did tend yo gravitate towards each other and it worked out really well as we were able to support each other in having to get back into the whole learning mind set etc. I did attend college straight out of school, but I found the second time round to be a lot more valuable in terms of friendships made and overall experience. Best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭Naydy

Hi Op

I was 17 starting college and myself and one other girl were the only ones that age, most were 19-21. Over a third were mature students (mid to late 20s and two guys in their 30s). It made no difference, everyone was a part of the group and we all went on nights out together and field trips and I still keep in contact with two of the oldest and we meet for lunch sometimes. Funnily enough, I was never as close with the girl my own age.

Honestly, I think you are the perfect age, I really do think you will get more out of it in your 20's than at 17/18. I don't regret my course but if I was doing it again, I would wait a couple of years. I have a friend who has worked since we left school and she will be starting college at 23 next year(like others said, wait til you can get BTEA, it makes a huge difference).

Best of luck :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,065 ✭✭✭Miaireland

When I was in my first year of college the class ages went from 17 - 82(that is not a typo) Age really doesn't matter in third level. I am 31 and would love to go back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

First time I went off to college, roomed with a 26 year old

Now I'm back at University... as a 26 year old.

Fortunately I'm far less bald than he was. Poor fella

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Jesus christ OP you don't even qualify as a mature student!!

I'll be going back to college this September, I'll be 31 in September.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I think the OP is too old to go back to college. He should have done it when he was 17/18. I don't think it's doable at 22 and you'll look really out of place.

Of course I'm joking. I was in college from the ages of 18-22. I remember it being my final year when I discovered that a couple of the lads in the course weren't my age, they were 28-32. I was really surprised. It also turned out they had kids and ex-wives. Obviously, I didn't know them very well but to me they were just the same as the rest of us, I never gave their age a second thought and as I said, I actually had just assumed they were around my age! Full disclosure, though, I'm really **** with ages :pac:

Anyway I'm 27 now and I know I want to go back to college, and if I do I'll be doing so between 28 and 32. I hope not to leave it too much later than that as I have other things I'd like to be doing in my thirties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

In my opinion 22/23 is the best time to go back to college. I'm 19 atm and in college...I'll be 22 finishing my 4 year degree and already I'm thinking of starting a fresh 4 yr degree after it...I'd have no issues of age...at 22 I'd still consider myself 'young'.

I know a fair few mature students in my course and some are tipping 30 if not over it but they don't look out of place at all...they're actually pretty inspiring as it's Primary Teaching and to see mature students go out into classrooms on placement where the class teacher might be younger than them is some going...if you really want to go back to college OP then go for it, the sooner you go back the better, well aside from waiting for that mature grant thing!!

Best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

A couple of my friends and myself went back to college doing different courses when we were in our late 30's/early 40's and changed careers.

Life long learning seems to be the norm now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hi I went back to college last year and im 48, the youngest in my class is 23 and the eldest is 58 !
    And for such a vast array of ages we gel together nicely all helping each other, jokibg and having a good laugh as well as learning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 863 ✭✭✭boardzz

I was 23 when I went back to college the second time although most people thought I looked 18/19. The few years maturity are an advantage.
    I remember thinking before I started it seemed like such a long time away IF I passed.
    I'm now in a new career and it only seems like yesterday when I applied, however I'm sure the years would have went very slow if I stuck at what I was doing and I would have hated myself if I didn't do it.
    I have a good few friends that have a 4 years gap but to be honest there is no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,543 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

I'm planning on going back to do a masters this autumn, I'll be 43¾ years young with a wife, two kids and a mortgage.
    You only get one go at life OP, don't reach the end of it thinking "what if?".

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭missjm

I returned to college a few years ago and work fulltime also. It's prob the best thing I ever did. It's tough with a fulltime job and I don't get to socialize much during the college year between assignments and work and exam preparation. But I get a great sense of pride every subject I pass and I'm half way through the course now. Wish I had gone back sooner but better late than never. At your age, it's a no brainer though!