Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork to Galway Help

• 20-04-2014 8:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭

Folks I need your help. I need to get to Galway from Cork and a I need to be there for 1.30 today for my Dads birthday, he just got out of hospital and I'm just back from London so I really want to get there on time. I missed my bus at 8.15 so I really need you help. Anyone got any ideas bar the next citylink. I'm hoping some kind soul reading this might be driving to Galway in the next hour. I checked the rules to see if I could post this and I didn't see anything. Desperate times, desperate measures and all that.

Thanks in advance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Edit - sorry, misread the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Gobus.ie shows a 10.15 departure from Georges Quay, Dublin, arrive Galway 12.45, if that's any help.

Great! All he now needs to do is get to Dublin from Cork in about half an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

http://www.buseireann.ie/pdf/1360753025-051.pdf

Dunno if that's any use to you OP

EDIT: Oops, just saw the bar the next bus bit, sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Surely the birthday party could be moved to galway no?

Have you thought of hiring a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

Or a plane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Have you thought about hijacking a car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭caesar

I lost my drivers licence a while back and haven't gotten round to getting it replaced so unfortunately that's not an option. Thanks for the replies so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

caesar wrote: »
    Folks I need your help. I need to get to Galway from Cork and a I need to be there for 1.30 today for my Dads birthday, he just got out of hospital and I'm just back from London so I really want to get there on time. I missed my bus at 8.15 so I really need you help. Anyone got any ideas bar the next citylink. I'm hoping some kind soul reading this might be driving to Galway in the next hour. I checked the rules to see if I could post this and I didn't see anything. Desperate times, desperate measures and all that.

Thanks in advance.

Any luck yet? Would the train be of any use? I think you go to Limerick Junction- limerick- Ennis- Galway.
    Roundabout way to get there.
    Otherwise - hitch?
    Or hire a car if you've got your license with you.

Good luck! Really hope you get there in time- even if you're late, your dad will be delighted to see you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Meh, if it was that important to you, you would have made the bus on time.

Fastest way by public transport that I've found is this:

10.20 train from Cork Kent to Limerick, arrive 12.05 (change at Limerick Junction).

Limerick to Galway on the 12.15 Bus Eireann, arrives Galway 13.35.

Gets in half an hour earlier than the next Citylink - but it'll be more expensive, and it's a tight enough change in Limerick, so not sure if it's really worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Hourly buses from Cork bus station. Its either on the hour or at half past. Im not sure.

Get bus from Cork to Limerick. (Bus goes to Galway). Then change bus at Limerick and you can get a bus going straight to Galway.

Changing bus at Limerick for bus straight to Galway saves you time. Otherwise you could stay on the bus and go the long way and go through Shannon and Ennis and a 100 more stops.

Be quick. I think the next bus is at 10.25 from Cork. You'll get into Galway between 1.30-2pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I'm in Galway, i'll go to the party as a stand in for you, as long as the food and drink is good.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Yeah - this is the best option I can see OP. But, seriously, hitchhiking might be a good bet. I've done it when stuck and it's grand.

5dixLS.png

Having looked at all the transport options, Citylink seems to be the best bet, as its direct and will get me there at 2, then taxi out to my brothers, I'll be an hour late, ah so feckin annoyed with myself. I would hitch hike if I didn't have two bags, only one is big but still.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Ah - it happens. At least you're in the right country! Enjoy the party. :)

TheZohan wrote: »
    Meh, if it was that important to you, you would have made the bus on time.

Mod

Don't be a dick.

If anyone wants to be helpful, then be helpful, if you want to be a dick like yer man up here, don't bother posting.

Right folks, I thought I would update.

I got the 11.15 Citylink, the driver let me use the ticket I had booked for 8.15, which to be fair he didn't have to do. The bus stops at GMIT so I'll be able to get to my brothers a bit earlier than I would if I went into town. The bus doesnt go all over the place either. All in all hopefully I'll be no more than an hour late and knowing how these things go that will really mean Im just half an hour after the rest of the family. I also get to see my new neice today for the first time so it should be a good day all round.

I had a taxi booked for this morning but somehow manged to sleep through the calls, my phone must have been on silent even though I'm sure I checked it, I had set three alarms!! Anyway, I'm going to pay the fare for that taxi because I fecked up and put someone else out. Thanks for all your help.

PS. On a somewhat unrelated note Ireland is looking well today, the place is stunning in this kind of weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

sure isn't ireland a wee place where you can walk from city to city? so my yank friend told me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Have fun in Galway caesar! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭Missyelliot2

caesar wrote: »
    Right folks, I thought I would update.

I got the 11.15 Citylink, the driver let me use the ticket I had booked for 8.15, which to be fair he didn't have to do. The bus stops at GMIT so I'll be able to get to my brothers a bit earlier than I would if I went into town. The bus doesnt go all over the place either. All in all hopefully I'll be no more than an hour late and knowing how these things go that will really mean Im just half an hour after the rest of the family. I also get to see my new neice today for the first time so it should be a good day all round.

I had a taxi booked for this morning but somehow manged to sleep through the calls, my phone must have been on silent even though I'm sure I checked it, I had set three alarms!! Anyway, I'm going to pay the fare for that taxi because I fecked up and put someone else out. Thanks for all your help.

PS. On a somewhat unrelated note Ireland is looking well today, the place is stunning in this kind of weather.

Have a ball! Galway was stunning today! Enjoy being with the clan!