Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fiat Stilo electrical issues (surprise, surprise)

• 19-04-2014 5:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭

I've a 2002 Fiat Stilo 1.2 Petrol that has the NCT tomorrow. An error has been up for a couple of weeks about a number plate bulb blown, so today I went and got a replacement. After fighting with some rusted screws and finally getting the bulb units out, I replaced both. One was visibly blown so I though that was that. Unfortunately the error still won't go away and when I had a look, the connector that the bulb slots into, on the left of the left bulb unit, was broken off and was now coming out with the bulb unit. After some careful temporary duct-taping, i repaired the connection, but the error still won't go away!

Now, the reason I'm worried is because that's not the first issue I've had with the boot. The button to release the boot also doesn't work and I have to use the key to open it. I had taken it to a car sparks and he said it wasn't worth fixing since he'd have to tear the car apart to locate the issue.

Anyone else run into this kind of issue? Can anyone recommend a good car sparks in Dublin that maybe specialises in Fiats? Surely there must be a few... The state of Fiat electrics, they'd rake it in!

On a side note, I was checking water and oil levels and noticed my coolant level was about half way between minimum and empty. Not thinking, I just poured pure coolant into the reservoir to the max line only then realising that I should have diluted it first. Is this really bad? Or will the fact that there was some diluted coolant in the system mean I'll be ok? I know, I'm a fookin eejit... BTW, it was about 1 litre of coolant topping up the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 477 ✭✭Jonathanpbk

Ok, so after more fiddling, it was just a case of wedging it to make sure the connection was made. So the number plate lights are working again.

Still concerned about the coolant though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

As long as it was the correct type coolant it will be fine.

Once off Topping up with just water or coolant doesn't really matter as its only a fraction of the volume of liquid in the coolant system.

Jesus, I hope it was!

It was red coolant, the same as what was in the tank... I'm such a car noob. I've only been driving for a year and a half, hopefully I haven't wrecked anything and learned a rough lesson, already!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Red coolant? What gombeen put that in, those engines take blue coolant. The red coolant eats at the seals around the engine, an expensive mess to put right

Fiats are a grand car, just the stilo was an absolute bucket of sh*te with thin crappy wires and too many electric components. The body loom was very light compared to its predecessor, which was a better car in every way possible

Fook sake.

So you think it would be best to get it all flushed out? I only own the car a year and a half and I've had it serviced twice. Nobody said anything about it either time. I may be wrong, but I've just been reading about coolant types there and it seems that the colour isn't actually specific to coolant types anyway?

I ended up failing the NCT today in the end. Had a new exhaust put in by Fast Fit in crumlin last year, and the guy at the test centre said that it wasn't sealed properly and it's leaking. Couldn't even get a proper reading for the emissions test apparently. Pretty annoying, since after they fitted it, I had to go back to them about a week later since it was making too much noise. Apparently they had left a part out... Now this? Do you reckon they'd seal it up for free, or will they give me the run around since it's been over a year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Red coolant is organic acid type, blue isnt and only lasts 2 years. Seems you need to go to a decent garage that knows about those cars and not a bunch of monkeys pickig their arses

I'd see if the damage is done yet and judging by what you're saying it seems to be done. Hg could be trashed too as a result

Generally I find the walker exhausts are the closest to oem you'll get and anything else won't just fit right.

I think the best solution is to source another garage first and not fast fit