Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has your personality changed in the last 10 years?

• 19-04-2014 11:18am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭

When I think back to 2004 I was much more shy and less outgoing. Much more orientated towards avoiding fear, anxiety or embarrasing situations. Now I'd say my orientation is more towards just enjoying myself. How has your personality changed in the last 10 years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

For the better. I guess it's called maturing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

10 years ago, I was 10.

I hope to fuck I've changed since then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Yes, I become more embittered as I get older, I'm going to be a right auld Victor Meldrew given another 10 years :mad: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,532 ✭✭✭Lou.m

I think I am a stronger person.

I still have my spark and childish rosy view of the world.

But I definitely know now to simply avoid some people whereas before I would have tolerated too much or tried to change others. I avoid men and women who play silly games. People who play silly games win silly prizes.

I accept myself more. I just try to be the best that I can be. I don't try to please others I just try to get on.

I still have my sense of humor.

Actually I have been through a lot and I have coped quite well and I am still a very happy person in myself so I think I am doing well :-)

I still try to be as kind as I can be but it's a balance you have to put yourself first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

brummytom wrote: »
    10 years ago, I was 10.

I hope to fuck I've changed since then.

You still wet the bed though :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Yup, totally ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

I was 16 very shy very light and very timid

I'm now 26, very outspoken, much Heavier, still quite shy but have alot more confidence in myself

completely different person from the lad I was in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

For the better. I guess it's called maturing.

Suuure ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

I have less of a personality now than ten years ago because ten years ago I cared about what other people thought of me. So, like everybody does, to try to attract attention from other people I created for myself what is referred to as "a personality."

But now I'm just myself, and myself doesn't really give a **** about anything. Try that as an opener at a party.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 75 ✭✭Robson Lobson

whirlpool wrote: »
    I have less of a personality now than ten years ago because ten years ago I cared about what other people thought of me. So, like everybody does, to try to attract attention from other people I created for myself what is referred to as "a personality."

But now I'm just myself, and myself doesn't really give a **** about anything. Try that as an opener at a party.

Your personality is the "pretend not to care about anything" personality. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Yep. gugleguy is more embittered. Being chivalrous did me no favours especially in the last four years. People like that Irish or other nationality like that are become ever more few and far between. I was also more trusting 10 years ago. Also finding myself having to put on that 'blank goon stare' in crowds now if you look like a nice guy you will get WALKED ON.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

I was a mentally ill, fat, lonely, insecure 15 year old.

I'm now a mentally healthy, not so fat, far from lonely, confident 25 year old :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I am more selfish now than I was in the past, far less sensitive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Much more outspoken and active about not tolerating people or institutions that f**k up other peoples lives. Think I appreciate the ordinary good things of life much more. Grateful my health is as reasonable as it is. Now f**k off the lot of yiz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I used to be a cnut.

Now I'm an oul cnut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Thundering_Sky

Ya I'm definitely more confident and don't let what other people think bother me so much; I'd be worried if I still had the personality of an 11 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,780 ✭✭✭jamo2oo9

10 years ago, I was playing with lego 24/7. Now, I sit at the couch, browsing through boards.ie and think, do I really depend on the internet for a bit of fun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Used to be a bit of a people pleaser when I was younger. Now I couldn't give a shyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,646 ✭✭✭✭Sauve

I was a lot more mature and settled at 22 than I am at 32. In a good way, cos now I'd do things and go places I never would have back them. I'm much more carefree now.
    It should probably be the other way round :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

I was 15 and miserable. So yes!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

I've turned into my mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I don't think my personality has changed. Less giddy, more willing to suit myself and let others be damned if they want to judge me. I think it's called maturing! But I think the fundamentals of personality are fairly constant through life. Like, if I met any of my school friends who I haven't seen in years, I wouldn't expect them to still have the same interests or to still behave like a teenager. I'd also expect them to be more mature, more comfortable in their own skin, more open. But if one of them had gone from someone who was, say, a kind person who was genuinely interested in others to someone who was all "me me me" I'd be very surprised.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Ten years on, I'm still mistrustful of people describing themselves. I'll be the judge of that, darlings. :)

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I don't suffer fools as gladly as I did 10 years ago
    I've learned to accept myself a lot more, flaws and all
    I'm a lot more patient
    I'm a lot more focused
    I look after my health a lot better
    I'm much better with money
    I'm a lot more confident
    I no longer care if a certain person doesn't like me, I have no control over that, and it's ok

Chucken wrote: »
    Suuure ;)

Give over, I'm 18 now, mentally. That's a leap on from 12. :D Just ye wait till I'm in my psychological twenties, I'll be serious as hell then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Chilled out a bit, I think.

I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I'm not so naive anymore and I find it much easier to say No.

I was a self conscious and studious 17 year old a decade ago. Now I'm a less self conscious but still studious 27 year old. I think my sense of humor has developed and that I'm less shy than I was, I laugh more easily. It helps that I don't care much about a lot of the things people my age are supposed to care about. I think I'm nicer too, I've developed more empathy as I've matured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭KKkitty

10 years ago I wanted to be everyone's friend and tbh I wasn't happy being that way in hindsight. Now I know who I want to know and leave it at that. I've been through a lot in the last decade and only one friend has been there for me in all that time. I'm also not as emotional as I used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

10 years ago I was 22, and fairly typical of someone that age. Nowadays....... yeah Im pretty much still the same. Im going to take the positives from that, such as Im young at heart. Definitely not immature and avoidant of responsibility!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

I am 64, but mentally stuck at 34, how do I get over that, not that I want to. I need the pension.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Hehe, I should certainly hope so!

Due to an unfortunate set of circumstances in earlier life, I used to be wound up tighter than your gran's perm. Shades of PTSD, I believe looking back.

I've mellowed so much in recent years, I can hardly believe it! Jaysus, I've come a long way. Becoming a parent was one of the big things that put me on that path. :)

Coincidentally, I woke up from my afternoon doze today, and I just had this sense of perfect peace and happiness - it was as if while I was sleeping everything became crystal clear and in balance and proportion. It was just feeling that there is nothing to this life but this time, my little life is so insignificant and a pure gift from the universe, the world has been turning forever before I came along and will carry on forever after I've gone. Which means that nothing I do matters all that much, no fcuk up in the world is all that important or worth worrying about. Life is just to be savoured while it lasts - that's it!

I feel free. :)

And no, I haven't been smoking anything! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

I used to be soo diplomatic in the past. I am still sensitive if necessary but I really cut straight to the chase now.
    I have come to realise that some of my friends come to me specifically because I give sensible but no bull sh1t answers to whatever they ask.
    It pains to me hear others dilly dally and waste so much of their breath without saying anything.
    We rarely have meetings at work thank jebus because as Karl Pilkington put it, "it's like dung beetles pushing sh1t around a room". Yes, everyone needs to chip in, all angles need to be looked at, etc., but fek sake let's actually cut the nonsense out, do this step by step, makes some decisions and move the hell on! My last boss/manager (now demoted) was the least proactive person I have ever met.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

Don't think my personality has changed too much.
    Less introverted, more extroverted.
    Less prudish, more willing to try new things and openminded. :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 91 ✭✭que pasa

10 years ago I was much more confident and friendly. I had a large group of friends and always did what I was told. I was a boy-scout type and always avoided fights.

Nowadays I dabble in a bit of crime here and there, get into arguments with pretty much anybody and despise authority figures to the extent where no one will hire me.

I'm sexually promiscuous, I've contracted chlamydia around 4 times the past two years and given it to my girlfriend twice. I've ended up in court more than my fair share of times and had an arrest warrant issued for me once.

I owe the social welfare over 2,000 euros because I was caught working and signing. I owe the Bank of Ireland 7,500 euros which they will never see because like most bankers of the country, I gave them the 'two fingers'.

I value money over friendship and I think life is a total joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

When I was a young man, I had the world at my feet. There were endless possibilities and many roads that needed to be travelled. I had fire in my belly and ice in my mind.

These days I like a cup of tea before bed and maybe a game of bridge at the weekend.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Not so much changed, but developed over the last 10 years yeah. But then again, ten years ago I was 19, so I had a lot ahead of me to figure out, or so I thought. Turns out its much easier being the fool than naive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

Like others, far more confident + mature than I was.
    I really wish though that I could back to that period of my life with the mind set I have now. I would do things so much different..

SPM1959 wrote: »
    I really wish though that I could back to that period of my life with the mind set I have now. I would do things so much different..

The famous last words of those who never lived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

I am more confident than 10 years ago. I think that having lived and worked in Australia and having work colleagues out there helped broaden my mind.

But sure all that period in your life made to get you how you are now in your life! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

que pasa wrote: »
    The famous last words of those who never lived.

Everyone has some regrets I think. Even those who 'have lived'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

10 years ago I was 24 and was Lukesmom.
    10 years later I am 34 and still Lukesmom.

so no change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Not really tbh. I was almost 24 years old 10 years ago. One thing I've accepted as an inevitable fact of life is that not everyone will like me. The idea that someone didn't like me 10 years ago upset me and made me feel worse about myself but now I genuinely don't care. You can't please everyone and you'll kill yourself trying. I'm probably more serious now than I was as well.

Everyone has some regrets I think. Even those who 'have lived'.

Just because you're old doesn't mean you can't change that.

The problem with age is that you become less naive with education and more pessimistic.

A wise man once said; ''The optimism of the will must overcome the pessimism of the intellect.''

And therein lies your solution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Larianne wrote: »
    Don't think my personality has changed too much.
    Less introverted, more extroverted.
    Less prudish, more willing to try new things and openminded. :)

:eek: PM sent! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Mariasofia

Im definately more chilled than I was 10 years ago.
    Actually Im so laid back now Im practically horizontal and I dont sweat the small stuff anymore!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭Busted Flat.

que pasa wrote: »
    Just because you're old doesn't mean you can't change that.

The problem with age is that you become less naive with education and more pessimistic.

A wise man once said; ''The optimism of the will must overcome the pessimism of the intellect.''

And therein lies your solution.

Would it be better to have your porridge first, than try and take that on board.

lukesmom wrote: »
    10 years ago I was 24 and was Lukesmom.
    10 years later I am 34 and still Lukesmom.

so no change.

Is Luke turning out the way you hoped? I'm not being nasty, I'm just genuinely interested. My missus was a single parent before we met and she kinda saw herself as *****Mom, as opposed to just herself. I think now she sees herself as just that, herself.

:eek: PM sent! :pac:

PM is delayed I think. :(