Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Croí Tour de Lough Corrib Charity Cycle 15th June 2014

• 15-04-2014 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭

Tour de Lough Corrib Charity Cycle will take place on Sunday, June 15th 2014!

My Late Loving Dad passed away after suffering a Massive Heart-Attack (see here). All monies raised on behalf of Croí will be Supporting The Fight Against Heat Disease & Stroke.

I'd like to Help Raise Awareness & Hope more people Learn what to do in event you're with someone who suffers a Heart Attack. More people need to know how to do CPR and how to operate an AED (Automated External Defribillator) and monies raised by Raising Awareness by Croí and even the Irish Heart Foundation will Assist with that :)

Have a lickle lookie here for some light reading Heart Health by Croí who are the benefactor of this Charity Cycle.

It was a fellow boardsie who brought this Cycle to my attention & it just brought a tear to my eye, especially after seeing who will benefit! Thanking You Donal!

If you know me and see me anywhere, please stop and sponsor me before d-day :) You could also pm me here and I'll arrange some way of you sponsoring me.

Thanking You,

/Hoping some more of you Will also Attend the Tour de Lough Corrib Charity Cycle for Croí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

The Croi cycle was always a great cycle here in Galway where you just show up on the morning and give what you can even though they recommended €100.00 if possible. Unfortunately now they expect a minimum of €50.00 per person which I feel is too expensive for a cycle on an open road like this.

While it is a good cause (as is the same with all charity cycles), I think Croi need to review their pricing policies. I have done a large percentage of the Croi cycles but since this minimum of 50.00 I will no longer be participating. Before it was just a simple T-Shirt, now they have Jerseys, wristbands & medals all of which are a waste of money which would be better off going to the charity IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

While it is a good cause (as is the same with all charity cycles), I think Croi need to review their pricing policies. I have done a large percentage of the Croi cycles but since this minimum of 50.00 I will no longer be participating. Before it was just a simple T-Shirt, now they have Jerseys, wristbands & medals all of which are a waste of money which would be better off going to the charity IMO.

Croi management are the same as the CRC and I had an issue with them over their so-called etape last october ! I was promised a free entry and jersey for this year but no word from them since !

Even I have this issue I am willing to forget it as its a very brave thing that kerry4sam is undertaking. ie 120km with a crowd she has never met, a route she has never been on and going out in a place she never went out in !

Look Croi will only be too happy with any donation - indeed there are stll some that do this event and give nothing which I think is totally wrong ! Croi are asking for €50 which might seem steep but it takes at least 50 people plus about 15 vehicles and support structure !

This is the best cycle in the Galway area for the craic and a great atmosphere. You cant take that away from Croi

K4S is partaking on this for a charity that is really close to her heart and our club will look after her and make sure that she has a great time doing it !

I say fare play to her dusting herself off and getting back out there :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,506 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

This cycle has the BEST food stop ever.

Here's a photo I took from last year:
    90a86317-828d-46cc-90c8-8b985fae7ce1_zps94e5b239.jpg

nom nom nom :D

OK so they have updated the website with a FAQ section and seems I can now crawl back under my rock as it seems entry is still free and the recommendation is €50.00:

Do I need to register for this event? How much is it to enter this event?
    Yes. You need to register online via www.croi.ie/Cycle. Entry to this event is FREE, but as a charity event we ask you to raise a minimum of €50 for our cause.

Although I still think they should say 'try' to raise a minimum of 50 as its not been too clear on the website over the past few weeks during the updates. And for my penance I think I will aim for 2 laps this year if weather & sanity permits!!!!!
    The Croi cycle was always a great cycle here in Galway where you just show up on the morning and give what you can even though they recommended €100.00 if possible. Unfortunately now they expect a minimum of €50.00 per person which I feel is too expensive for a cycle on an open road like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 GalwayCovers1

Anyone cycling this event next Sunday, 15th June?. It's into its 19th year and should have around 1,000 cyclists this year.

Looks like a good spin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭claw14

Hoping to do the 120k.
    Decided late to go for it so trying to get the miles in. Any advice would be great.
    I know nothing about the day really. Just hoping that most riders take it as a fun day out

It's a great day out (especially if we get the weather!) everyone takes it as a recreational spin as it is not a race. The 120K is tough but if you have some miles on the bike done, you'll be able to do it on the day!

Some good advice is to give your bike a look over and make sure its in good condition, even though there will be bike support on the day.

There's frequent refreshment stops along the way too so make sure to take rest, take some fluids on board and a little bite to eat!

Other than that I'm sure it's going to be a great day and everyone will have a fantastic time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Threads merged :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

It will be a Very Personal Spin for me, mainly due to the fact I'll be Cycling on my first Fathers' Day without my Late Loving Dad and will be cycling this in Memory of Dad!

Leisurely pace by me for sure; just an easy-going 120km spin as my head won't always be where it should be (I know that for fact!), so no mad race for me.

Anxiously Looking-Forward to this. Was planning to wear full-boardsie gear, but will be wearing boardsie bib-shorts with my Ring of Kerry 2013 Jersey instead for personal reasons now. Twil be a mystery spin for me once we commence, but sur that's part of the fun. Never untaken a Sportive outside of Munster and in all honesty, probably would not be either only for the reasons outlined previous by me!

Some lovely posts and tips contained in here, so Thanking All :)

Say hello if you see me!
    kerry4sam

kerry4sam wrote: »
    It will be a Very Personal Spin for me, mainly due to the fact I'll be Cycling on my first Fathers' Day without my Late Loving Dad and will be cycling this in Memory of Dad!

Leisurely pace by me for sure; just an easy-going 120km spin as my head won't always be where it should be (I know that for fact!), so no mad race for me.

Anxiously Looking-Forward to this.

Some lovely posts and tips contained in here, so Thanking All :)

Say hello if you see me!
    kerry4sam

Really Really looking forward to this spin. Its a Galway cycling ritual every year. Got the vintage bike out of the spare room and have noticed that there is a nick on the top tube decal on the left side. :eek::eek:

I wont get this replaced in time for the start but it wont hold her back in any way but it looks bad. My shoulder is still not that great along with my hand but a promise is a promise !

I will be in the Peugeot white/black team jersey/shorts and I'll be trying to keep up with K4S...... !

As a little bit of entertainment there is a Criterium on Saturday night in Highfield Park Galway. The Galway Bay Club have a perfectly smooth square 900m circuit in a housing estate closed off the public - It will be divil take the hindmost so we plan to go and get a look at that ! A real pukefest Id say :cool:

I always have a plan so we will be trying to get our crowd to register early and meet from 8am on at the entrance to the IDA Business park. We will be lifting the anchor at 8:15 sharp.

There is a big number of us boys/girls on this event so we will be splitting up into groups of 12-14 max with a designated minder. I already have 3 or 4 in mind for this. I'll say it again if you want to go tearing up the road be my guest but if you are with us you will have to behave - Its not a race its a leisure event so dont spoil it for the rest ... Lecture over :D

This is to avoid the startline mayhem up the sports pavilion road. Nuff Said !

I really take my hat off to you K4S for taking this on. To come to a place on your own and do a run with total strangers really takes big cahoneys. We will make sure you are well looked after (You dont have to do the Criterium....!) We will make sure you have a good timer.....See ya Saturday ;)

^^^^^^
    I hope you and your clubmates leave some food for the rest of us at the finish :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Sadly in the same club as yourself Kerry4Sam, been a member for the last 7 years or so. The first couple of years are the worst but it does get a little more bearable as the years pass.

Looking forward to stretching the legs this weekend, first sportive ever for me. Been cycling with a cycling club since the start of the year so been putting in a bit of mileage and feeling pretty good.

Will defo be in boards bibs with either a Heinz jersey or Boards lime, depends on the weather.
    please do say hello if you see me :-)

Cant wait for this on Sunday. It will be a fantastic day no matter the weather.

If you are new to the game you are quite welcome to tag along with us - We will be pulling out if the IDA Business Park entrance (Across from the Westwood) at 8:15 sharp. I am very very bad with faces and names so please come up and introduce yourself

Nice easy pace - Bring the usual essentials : Phone - A few euros - Tube(s) - Levers - Rain Jacket - Fig Rolls, Jelly Babies and a few Turkish Delights. Service support is first class - make sure you have the number. Oh yes and bring a bit of banter.

Feedstops are deffo the highlight - Its a good job this event isnt on every weekend as you would be 5 stone heavier in 3 months:eek:

See yous There

Sun, Sun & Sun on the cards for tomorrow so looks like it will be a good day and no need for the rain jacket but Sun Cream instead ;)

Kerry4Sam I'd recommend starting with the official group at 08:30 as its quiet nice to begin in a good group and it will quickly open up along the Headford road due to the slight southerly breeze for tomorrow into smaller groups. Plus it'll be nice going over the bridge in the morning in a big group with the Sun shining over the Corrib. Leaving early will just feel like a club spin and no traffic control.

Also VanHireBoys I'd recommend the same as the Headford road can be dangerous enough so unless your guys are planning going full throttle they will be blocking the faster riders on a road that's difficult to overtake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭equivariant

Great day out yesterday at this. Also nice to meet fellow boardsie dastardly and get a bit of a draft off him - I think we were both pushing ourselves a bit on the Oughterard to Galway leg - which was fun

Food at the end was brilliant - lots of really nice cakes and tarts.

Fantastic spin altogether. The weather was absolutely brilliant which added to the day! The food stops were among the best at any cycle I have been at. Great to catch up with a lot of people and meet some new faces!

Great spin there yesterday, really nice meeting you all and putting some faces to the names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

The food at the end seemed to be all cakes. Did not seems to be much healthier types of food which I found a little odd considering it was a charity race for croi :-) a great day seemed to be had by all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

My apologies. What with my anger with this considering those involved; My apologies I never replied back in here.

Thanks sincerely to ALL of the volunteers on the day. I spoke with & met some wonderful people at the stops en route.

A Big Hello to all the other Boardsies I met also! My next sportive will be kept quiet for me as I don't want a repeat of the anger I felt after Croí.

Actually met someone through work who cycled this for past 10-years bar this year due to his work; will prob be back again next year to cycle this the two of us, but not planning on meeting any from clubs.

Also, the Criterium was something unreal. Never seen/attended one before but will certainly look out for another though as twas gripping to be fair. Well Done to ALL who participated :)

Thanks again to the Volunteers, It was my pleasure to meet you all!
    kerry4sam

3 seconds :-)

Completely forgot to post in this thread after the event.

I had a great day, the weather was great (for once!) and the home-baked treats were fantastic as usual :)

Very nice to meet some fellow Boardsies: TonyStark; equivariant; kerry4sam; and VanhireBoys.

I took it handy on the way out to Headford, and then did a nice two-man team time-trial effort with equivariant all the way in from Oughterard to Galway. Pretty much broke all my personal records on Strava as a result :D :cool: