Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AC/DC New album and Tour.

1181920212224»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,853 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,670 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,966 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Latest rumour is that Duff (GnR) will be playing Bass

Ah sure we had Axl/DC in the past

Not sure will Duff sell more tickets

The casuals wont give a toss or notice, hopefully they dont take the piss for the ticket price

Dont think selling tickets is an issue, they'll fly out whatever

They need a replacement for Cliff and Duff is more then competent

pity Rudd wont be there too (if the chatter is true)

my gig going days were in the infancy back in 2009 when the classic lineup played 3Arena and Punchestown. That was a solid summer of gigs

First seen them in 88 in Birmingham, seen them countless times since, Growing up in North Wales and being only 90mins from Manchester or 2hrs from Birmingham was great.

Was at the last gig in the Point, decided to skip the Punchestown one

Best ive seen them was prob Donington 91, some line up that day.

I'm stuck between a rock and a hard place for the announcement tomorrow

I love Slane as it's only 15mins from me gaff but a kunt to get in and out of, Croke would be easier but sound is known to be shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,670 ✭✭✭Penfailed

Confirmed for Croke Park on the 17th of August.

Gigs '24 - Ben Ottewell and Ian Ball (Gomez), The Jesus & Mary Chain, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Pearl Jam, Green Day, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Pixies, Ride, Therapy?, Public Service Broadcasting, IDLES, And So I Watch You From Afar

Gigs '25 - Spiritualized, Orbital, Supergrass, Stendhal Festival, Forest Fest, Electric Picnic, Vantastival

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,244 ✭✭✭fyfe79

Dublin's a sell-out fairly lively. No surprise, really. Got in to buy but couldn't justify putting down €313.50 for 2 tickets.

Post edited by fyfe79 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭cosatron

the pricing is horrific, how are they getting away with this. Pearl jam is also in the region of €127 for a standing ticket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,100 ✭✭✭✭bnt

The short answer to the ticket price question is that bands have learned to charge roughly what scalpers would be charging. Bands underpricing tickets was what gave scalpers a market to exploit.

It looks like Chris Chaney on bass and Matt Laug on drums. Stevie's been in the band for a decade already, which is a bit startling.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,498 ✭✭✭Riddle101

Managed to sort myself a ticket for AC/DC. Was very touch and go this morning, waiting in a queue of about 20,000.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

New song Brian has done with Slash, until he starts screaming towards the end you nearly won't recognise him, could have used that more with AC/DC.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,717 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

for those still looking for tickets, just hang tight, some extra tickets have gone on sale since the original on sale date, none dynamically adjusted, averaging between 150 - 200 each, more may go on sale, but some will more than likely become available closer to date via fan resales

chat here about it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭evillive

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,229 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Tour starting tonight in Gelsenkirchen, I'm guessing they'll start with Realize.

Looking like it won't be a 'custom build stage'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,684 ✭✭✭✭briany

Angus is absolutely ripping it up (for his age). OK, he's not throwing the shapes he used to, which is understandable, but he's rolled the clock back on his playing. He must have been practicing…

Laug is a very able stand-in for Rudd.

Chaney seems solid.

Problem is that they're never going to have the organic understanding between them that Rudd and Williams would have had. It would be impossible to gain this in such a short space of time, even for professional players like them.

Brian is doing his best, and it's not that he's out of tune or anything, but he has to modify so much of the melodies in order to make it sound OK that it's just not the same. But it's some achievement just to still be up there, at his age.

The lads over on acdcfans love Laug, they were moaning a lot about Slade a few years ago, Dublin will be a good concert just won't be the same without Cliff and Phil.

15 years since Punchestown tonight, if you told me that night I'd be going to see them again in 2024 I'd think that was mental, granted Malcolm's dead and it's two session lads in place of Cliff and Phil.

Still coming down from the high of Saturday night, that was brilliant.

Assuming they're being cautious given what happened with Brian last time, it seemed to go off with little issues, they probably will play Australia and America, would be strange if they ended with just a short European stint.

They've announced American dates for April/May, I've heard noises about Milan/Paris this summer, who knows, unlikely they'll play Ireland again, but I'd love to be surprised.