Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The local scumbag family

• 13-04-2014 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭

Every road has one, you know that shower of scummy bastards everyone on the road hates because they are nothing short of animals.

Exchange your stories here.

My local scummer family's has 3 sons,
    The eldest is just out of prison for drug dealing, the middle fella thinks nothing of robbing students in the local park and the youngest who is 11 just today was buckled drunk roaring at his mother in front garden of their house.
    Class act this lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

joe stodge wrote: »
    Every road has one, you know that shower of scummy bastards everyone on the road hates because they are nothing short of animals.

Exchange your stories here.

My local scummer family's has 3 sons,
    The eldest is just out of prison for drug dealing, the middle fella thinks nothing of robbing students in the local park and the youngest who is 11 just today was buckled drunk roaring at his mother in front garden of their house.
    Class act this lot.

Great another scumbag thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

3 drug dealing families along the same road. One of them has a child just released from prison for robbery and burglary(not sure if the differenceone of the others just released for stabbin a guy, up for attempted murder.

Yup, awesome.
    In fairness they're sound though, never had a problem with them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

None on my street.

I live somewhere fancy. I don't associate with scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

We're the only family on my road.....are we the scumbag family?? :eek:

I live somewhere fancy. I don't associate with scumbags.

That means you're the scumbag family..unlucky :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭dockleaf

There's a guy on my street who refuses to contribute to the residents association. Unbelievable :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

The disgrace of it ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

Well yano what they say.

If you can't point out the neighbourhood scumbag family, then you're more than likely part of it!

GenieOz wrote: »
    That means you're the scumbag family..unlucky :o

Goddammit :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

And by posting that, you've now followed it.

Well done to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

The disgrace of it ;)

Oh god no!! Why mother, why have you raised me to be the mockery of our road :pac::pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Somewhere a scumbag family is starting a thread on "the stuck-up family on our road"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,562 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

anncoates wrote: »
    None on my street.
    That's not what your neighbours say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,381 ✭✭✭Doom

I'm from Limerick city, so I'm very lucky not to have to deal with that element of society.
    I feel for you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

carraig2 wrote: »
    Somewhere a scumbag family is starting a thread on "the stuck-up family on our road"

Nah, they'll just smash up your car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Every street has one? Really?

You need to move. You also need to stop generalising based on your own narrow experience.

Goddammit :(

Never mind that, can I get a 50bag on tick till next week?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭Knob Longman

Never mind that, can I get a 50bag on tick till next week?

If John Gilligan got back into business he could have cut the price of Weed and thus been a saviour to the stoners of Ireland..
    50 bags are a bloody joke 2 poxy grams..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

It'll be on PILFR.ie. People I'd love to ****ing rob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Vision of Disorder

Every street has one? Really?

You need to move. You also need to stop generalising based on your own narrow experience.

Do you have to be so painfully literal?

On a stolen laptop/smart phone no doubt. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

maybe the lot waving union flegs over peoples car windows last year.
    I know many scumbegs but I don't judge their family on them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

If John Gilligan got back into business he could have cut the price of Weed and thus been a saviour to the stoners of Ireland..

Wanna be getin atleast 3 budd

For where I live I have to say I've a great set of neighbours never any major trouble but 2 minutes around the corner and a burnt out car wouldn't be a strange sight to wake up to

Do you have to be so painfully literal

Yes. The English language affords us plenty of opportunity to say precisely what we mean. To be literal, in other words.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

I did the garden up for parents in law in their place in arklow on thursday. since then a few of the ornaments i bought have vanished. nothing to do with the members of a certain [travelling] community from waterford that were housed about ten up from them. nothing at all to do with them at all even though they were caught doing it before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,152 ✭✭✭PEACEBROTHER

I did the garden up for parents in law in their place in arklow on thursday. since then a few of the ornaments i bought have vanished. nothing to do with the members of a certain [travelling] community from waterford that were housed about ten up from them. nothing at all to do with them at all even though they were caught doing it before

Innocent till proven guilty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Innocent till proven guilty boss

Fixed that for you

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

hey that remark is out of order and i resent it massively, its unfair ill informed and ignorant , its boarding on racism and discrimination.

those F45Kers arent from waterford . they are over from england

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I live in a country house. *swishes brandy*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

Shouldn't this be moved to the Dublin forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

3 drug dealing families along the same road...
    Man, I wish I lived on your street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,792 ✭✭✭2Mad2BeMad

only 2 grams? I can get 3 and half for 50, or 5g for 50 but its weak :pac:

oh **** I'm the scum family on my road:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Butterface

I'm originally from a sparsely populated rural area. I remember one time about 20 years ago, a bunch of local lads drove around late at night and dragged ours and the neighbours' wheelie bins up the road. My mother mentioned it again there at Christmas such was the enormity of this scumbaggish event in our Parish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

Well, the country is full of them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    a very big house in the country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ya and your scumbag car too! Pile all the family into the boot :pac:

Yes. The English language affords us plenty of opportunity to say precisely what we mean. To be literal, in other words.

You must hate metaphor and simile so. It must be so hard to exist without an imagination or sense of perspective and context. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Ruubot2 wrote: »
    a very big house in the country?

Watching afternoon repeats and the food you eats, in the country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

Birneybau wrote: »
    Watching afternoon repeats and the food you eats, in the country?
    so YOUR house has that blaring karaoke machine. Getto blaster not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Butterface wrote: »
    I'm originally from a sparsely populated rural area. I remember one time about 20 years ago, a bunch of local lads drove around late at night and dragged ours and the neighbours' wheelie bins up the road. My mother mentioned it again there at Christmas such was the enormity of this scumbaggish event in our Parish!

Same thing happened to us. My Dad hid in the bin for 4 consecutive Saturday nights armed with a hammer. They never came back though. I would have loved to have seen their faces

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

D1stant wrote: »
    Same thing happened to us. My Dad hid in the bin for 4 consecutive Saturday nights armed with a hammer. They never came back though. I would have loved to have seen their faces

Never mind their faces.
    Your poor Dad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

I live out the country. No shcum-bags to be seen for miles. Plenty crazy people driving on green diesel though. We have that going for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

No drug dealer types on my road. The only scumbag was an architect/engineer/builder type who refused to pay contractors over minor things and attempted to gazump pretty much all potential buyers of the houses he built. After losing court case after court case, he decided to study law so he could represent himself in court, but failed his final exams.

After writing that, he kinda sounds like the John Waters of the construction world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭gugleguy

he decided to study law so he could represent himself in court, but failed his final exams.
    karma is a so scummy sometimes

You must hate metaphor and simile so. It must be so hard to exist without an imagination or sense of perspective and context. :(

I think you need to review the meaning of metaphor and simile as neither applies to the sentence to which I replied. Imagination is something the OP seems to have an unhealthy quantity of if he sees scumbags on every street. Every constitutes neither simile nor metaphor. It is a generalisation, and an inccurate one at that. Accept the fact: the English language is quite clear on what he said and all interpretations of same. A simple reference using the words many, several, quite often, etc would have sufficed.

I actually enjoy metaphors and similes when properly used!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Where I live doesn't really have one thankfully.

I think you need to review the meaning of metaphor and simile as neither applies to the sentence to which I replied. Imagination is something the OP seems to have an unhealthy quantity of if he sees scumbags on every street. Every constitutes neither simile nor metaphor. It is a generalisation, and an inccurate one at that. Accept the fact: the English language is quite clear on what he said and all interpretations of same. A simple reference using the words many, several, quite often, etc would have sufficed.

I actually enjoy metaphors and similes when properly used!

Nonsense.

If somebody says, "Sportsman X was like a giant (or whirlwind or devil) in their heroic performance" there's not a suggestion that they've literally turned into a giant (or whirlwind or devil). There's a shade and meaning to language sometimes other than the clear explicit meaning. The sentence doesn't literally mean what it says. Ditto for something like, "I could have died with shame".

Likewise for you to assume that the OP literally meant every street in the world has a scumbag family is being ridiculously literal. I wouldn't presume that he did at all,

Anyway, I suspect we've wondered off topic enough already. :D

Nonsense.

If somebody says, "Sportsman X was like a giant (or whirlwind or devil) in their heroic performance" there's not a suggestion that they've literally turned into a giant (or whirlwind or devil). There's a shade and meaning to language sometimes other than the clear explicit meaning. The sentence doesn't literally mean what it says. Ditto for something like, "I could have died with shame".

Likewise for you to assume that the OP literally meant every street in the world has a scumbag family is being ridiculously literal. I wouldn't presume that he did at all,

Anyway, I suspect we've wondered off topic enough already. :D

The sportsman example is metaphoric though no simile. However the OP statement still was neither. It was generalisation and exaggeration. Nothing more.

Srameen, you're getting offended over something that was meant as entirely lighthearted, it might be best to step back from the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

Oh goody, a free English lesson! *puts glasses on*

Back on topic, my road is fine, but the next road over.... Jayzus.