Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clint Eastwood

• 12-04-2014 11:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭

The worlds greatest actor ever by a long shot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭LizzieJones

I was literally scared to open this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

Jesus Christ OP I thought for a sec he was dead!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Alec Baldwin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,080 ✭✭✭EoghanIRL

Clint Eastwood because God wants chuck Norris to have nightmares.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

I'm feeling glad I got sunshine...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

"Man who stands in front of camera and reads lines written by others lauded for genius."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

84, still alive and kicking, punks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

catallus wrote: »
    "Man who stands in front of camera and reads lines written by others lauded for genius."

*Cough*
    Beginning with the thriller Play Misty for Me, Eastwood has directed over 30 films, including Westerns, action films, and dramas. He is one of few top Hollywood actors to have also become a critically and commercially successful director.

Oh and he was also a Mayor in the past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

kowloon wrote: »
    Alec Baldwin?

Not even the best Baldwin.

Stephen ftw! :)

*Cough*

Yeahyeahyeah, but the OP is about him being an actor. Why don't we laud doctors or dog-walkers in the same way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Yeahyeahyeah, but the OP is about him being an actor. Why don't we laud doctors or dog-walkers in the same way?

2 people walking a dog will produce the same results.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,582 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Not even the best Baldwin.

Stephen ftw! :)

Curse you Awek Ballwin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Me too :eek: but then I thought "Nah there's only about 11 posts".

I too am most endorsing of Mr Aistwood.

And so sexaaaaaaaaaay!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭mosstin

Once he did the whole Republican thing in the last US election...... dead to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Hmnn the only person who mentioned the word genius was..... yourself. So, are you criticising yourself?

Ah I jest, it's late and I'm tired. Good actors deserve to be lauded however as it's something of a talent/artform. Bad actors are either simply atrocious or overly hammy!

Me too :eek: but then I thought "Nah there's only about 11 posts".

I too am most endorsing of Mr Aistwood.

And so sexaaaaaaaaaay!!!!

Major crush on him in my youth.
    Be still my teenaged heart. :)

He made my tender young loins quiver. :)

Actors are but talking props. Every single last one of them! Although a guy who endorses the Republican party can't be all that bad, I suppose....as for the ladies saying he's sexy, that's just wrong, he's like 100 years old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 476 ✭✭Burky126

Only because he had the most powerful handgun in the world.

Himself on the otherhand.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

If it were as simple as that we'd all be doing it.

? What? Why?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

An underactor when overacting was still the norm. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

Jaysus I opened the thread with trepidation as well. Prefer him as a director to be honest. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil has to be one of my favourite movies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

R.I.P
    Go ahead punk, dig that hole

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

http://i.imgur.com/p26EVRL.gif

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

Thought he was great as Clyde in Every Which Way But Loose....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

He's not even close to being the best actor in the world, wouldn't even make it into the top 100

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,948 ✭✭✭gizmo555

mosstin wrote: »
    Once he did the whole Republican thing in the last US election...... dead to me.

Yeah, because Obama and that whole Democratic thing are so much better . . .

Rik Mayall is the best actor, as actors go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I don't know, I think Robert DeNiro, Daniel Day Lewis, Gary Oldman, Al Pacino and Marlon Brando would go ahead of Clint Eastwood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,724 ✭✭✭mixery

Dirty Harry punks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Pfft, he wasn't even the best actor in Thunderbolt and Lightfoot

George Kennedy, now there's an actor. Cary Grant, James Stewart, Audrey Hepburn, John Wayne, the aforementioned Mr.Eastwood. Kennedy pistol-whipped them all, and is still going strong.

There is an episode of Bonanza that George Kennedy is great in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

I wouldn't say he's the worlds greatest actor but he's certainly one of my favourites.
    a little known film of his called 'thunderbolt and Lightfoot' in which he starred with Jeff Bridges is one of my favourite ever films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭tippspur

Now that's just a stupid thing to say.:(

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

There is an episode of Bonanza that George Kennedy is great in.
    ever seen cool hand luke ?

Sergio Leone said of Eastwood – “As an actor, he has two expressions: with, and without the hat”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Oh and he was also a Mayor in the past.

He also composed the music for Mystic River and several other films.

And who could have delivered these lines with such a cold blooded intensity as Clint, as aged gunslinger William Munny, returned to avenge his friend Ned:
    That's right. I've killed women and children. I've killed just about everything that walks or crawled at one time or another. And I'm here to kill you, Little Bill, for what you did to Ned.

He may not be the best the actor in the world, but he doesn't need to be, with such an immense screen presence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 956 ✭✭✭jamaamaj

I would not say, the greatest actor, But Clint would be up there in my top ten of films i love seeing actors in,

Grew up watching his movies, My favorite would have to be Kellys Heroes.
    Must have watched it about 15 times or more.

Class act Clint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/clint-the-man-with-no-shame-26152887.html

Big hero of mine growing up. But apparently in real life, an arsehole, particularly to Sondra Locke

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sondra_Locke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭zcorpian88

An all time great actor, grew up on his movies and I would be a relatively young fan. Watched Kelly's Heroes so many times as the Sunday matinee on RTE growing up.

The Dirty Harry movies are the best as well. I honestly can't watch those enough, and the spaghetti westerns. The Good, The Bad and The Ugly being my fave.

Movie's seemed so simple and just great in his day and they can stand the test of time, now they just CGI the f**k out of everything and everything has the same look. I'd love to be blown away by a modern American movie without it being super packed with CGI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 637 ✭✭✭ruthloss

'ever'., seriously???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,520 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

Why don't you just sit there and bleed a while, before you taste some real pain.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7 Lampshade78

When I was a kid I thought he played the terminator, not Arnold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,857 ✭✭✭shootermacg

zcorpian88 wrote: »
    An all time great actor, grew up on his movies and I would be a relatively young fan. Watched Kelly's Heroes so many times as the Sunday matinee on RTE growing up.

The Dirty Harry movies are the best as well. I honestly can't watch those enough, and the spaghetti westerns. The Good, The Bad and The Ugly being my fave.

Movie's seemed so simple and just great in his day and they can stand the test of time, now they just CGI the f**k out of everything and everything has the same look. I'd love to be blown away by a modern American movie without it being super packed with CGI.

There will be blood, best american movie ever made! DDL is without a doubt the best actor known to man.

No country for old men, is another classic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

I'll piss on your grave pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

"What are you Spooks looking at?" :pac:

Gran Torino which he directed too I think. I love the way he incorporated old insults/slurs such as spook, spade, slope, gook and zipper head into the script, it made it feel very authentic. The old racist factory worker and Korean War veteran Walt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,324 ✭✭✭tallus

Always loved his movies but I really like movies he directed. Mystic River, Changeling, Gran Torino, etc.
    The Eiger Sanction was another of his lesser known movies also starring George Kennedy, an excellent watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

His name is Maximus Clintus Eastwoodus, actor of many great movies, director of many more and loyal servant to his TRUE passion, Phallus Maximus. Father to 7 children from 5 different women and god knows how many more.