Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Samey sameness day in day out?

• 10-04-2014 11:57am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

What are the small things that are an integral part of the daily routine before the day officially starts? The ones that really shouldn't drive you mad but do. The ones that will always probably be the same but you still cant make your peace with? The things that on their own wold be ok but together drive you demented? That sap your battery from 100% to 70% before you start the say proper? For me its:

- trying to figure out which towel is mine and which belongs to OH
    - spending too long in the shower because its hot and you're tired
    - putting too much milk in the coffee and ending up with coffee that wont dissolve into the b*starding water and just floating on the top like specks of sh1te
    -too hot for coat - too wet for no coat
    - realising wallet is at bottom of bag as the bus approaches
    - the inevitable cyclist in front of the bus so that you cant hail it properly without giving him an arm in the face!
    - the sea of blank faces in the aisle, refusing to move
    - militant b1tch lollipop ladies who stop the traffic at points that dont have traffic lights... for adults!
    - "nice day/grand day/traffic bad" etc
    -the four note windows start up tone
    -the freebie paper and increasingly lecherous mailbox

Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭ManofStraw

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    What are the small things that are an integral part of the daily routine before the day officially starts? The ones that really shouldn't drive you mad but do. The ones that will always probably be the same but you still cant make your peace with? The things that on their own wold be ok but together drive you demented? That sap your battery from 100% to 70% before you start the say proper? For me its:

- putting too much milk in the coffee and ending up with coffee that wont dissolve into the b*starding water and just floating on the top like specks of sh1te
    - the inevitable cyclist in front of the bus so that you cant hail it properly without giving him an arm in the face!
    - militant b1tch lollipop ladies who stop the traffic at points that dont have traffic lights... for adults!

Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same Same

Please continue ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

First world problem are awful sometimes :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

You're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Shaving my head! Has to be done but ugh, effort!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

ManofStraw wrote: »
    Please continue ...

In the paper... the weirdy "I saw you looking at me and I was looking at you too...we were looking at each other" letters :)

dee_mc wrote: »
    You're doing it wrong.

ah pooh. But when I dont put the milk in first, a little voice in my head says "stop! you're burning the coffee!" :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Trying to poach or fry an egg but end up breaking the yolk. Every morning!!! I'll never learn :(

SeantheMan wrote: »
    First world problem are awful sometimes :P

Well I only have to walk to the well every other day so I thought I'd leave it out.*

*ah here

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

I think you need to see a doctor if you're having difficulty in taking steps to stop this happening every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

**** sake I am the only person who makes tea and coffee, by poring the black liquid into the cup and then adding milk adjusting for colour?!

I've also found it nonscensical, the other way, because in all likelihood, unless you all your mugs are standardized i.e the same, how can you know how much you're adding and the desired effect. Big mugs, small mugs, tall mugs, thin cups etc

Common sense, not common.

Lapin wrote: »
    I think you need to see a doctor if you're having difficulty in taking steps to stop this happening every day.

Will they be able to put it on the top for me? :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Lifehacks, my friend. Develop your own little hacks to solve those little things which irritate you.
    For example, two of my duaghter's sippy cups are identical. It's the same cup, same colour. But for some bizarre reason the lids aren't interchangeable. It's obviously some manufacturing flaw or something. Any road, it was driving me mad trying to put these together than more than half the time I'd try to screw the wrong lid onto the wrong cup and have to start again.
    Simple lifehack; put a small scratch on one of them. So when matching up lids to cups, you know which one goes where. Now it's not infuriating any more.
    Attach a safety pin to the edge of your one. Then you'll always know.
    spending too long in the shower because its hot and you're tired
    Can't really help you with that one...
    putting too much milk in the coffee and ending up with coffee that wont dissolve into the b*starding water and just floating on the top like specks of sh1te
    Pick a cup that's your morning coffee cup and put in the correct amount of milk. Etch this into the edge of the cup on the inside, so you'll always know how much milk to put in. Even better, over time it will become stained by the coffee and become more and more obvious.
    It's only rain you pansy. Keep a light rainjacket in work and in your car, and anywhere else you spend a significant amount of time. Costs like a tenner in Aldi/Lidl. Then you're never stuck for a coat when you need one.
    realising wallet is at bottom of bag as the bus approaches
    Put your card/change in your pocket before you leave the house.
    Stand back from the edge of the road so the bus driver can see you better.
    the four note windows start up tone
    Mute.
    Tbh though it just sounds like you're bored.

Find something you enjoy doing and go do it. You'll regret spending your younger years sitting in a rut you hate when you didn't really have to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

Try taking up a hobby to break the routine. Football, cycling, rowing or injecting heroin would do nicely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,188 ✭✭✭dee_mc

131spanner wrote: »
    Try taking up a hobby to break the routine. Football, cycling, rowing or injecting heroine would do nicely!

But get her consent first...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Waking up in a B and B in Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania to the song "I Got You Babe" on the alarm clock radio having to report on the annual Groundhog Day festival again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Will they be able to put it on the top for me? :o

They'll certainly make it a lot lighter for you !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭131spanner

dee_mc wrote: »
    But get her consent first...

Cue sneaky post edit... :D

seamus wrote: »
    Lifehacks, my friend. Develop your own little hacks to solve those little things which irritate you.
    For example, two of my duaghter's sippy cups are identical. It's the same cup, same colour. But for some bizarre reason the lids aren't interchangeable. It's obviously some manufacturing flaw or something. Any road, it was driving me mad trying to put these together than more than half the time I'd try to screw the wrong lid onto the wrong cup and have to start again.
    Simple lifehack; put a small scratch on one of them. So when matching up lids to cups, you know which one goes where. Now it's not infuriating any more.

Attach a safety pin to the edge of your one. Then you'll always know.
    Can't really help you with that one...
    Pick a cup that's your morning coffee cup and put in the correct amount of milk. Etch this into the edge of the cup on the inside, so you'll always know how much milk to put in. Even better, over time it will become stained by the coffee and become more and more obvious.
    It's only rain you pansy. Keep a light rainjacket in work and in your car, and anywhere else you spend a significant amount of time. Costs like a tenner in Aldi/Lidl. Then you're never stuck for a coat when you need one.
    Put your card/change in your pocket before you leave the house.
    Stand back from the edge of the road so the bus driver can see you better.
    Mute.
    Tbh though it just sounds like you're bored.

Find something you enjoy doing and go do it. You'll regret spending your younger years sitting in a rut you hate when you didn't really have to.

I'm bored? I'm not hacking apart posts and positing solutions:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,602 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

There's a very large lady who gets the same bus as me every day. She insists on standing at the front in the aisle beside the driver.

This means that every morning (when I'm cranky enough as is) I've to squeeze passed her big belly to get off the bus.

Just sit down ffs! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Jonny Blaze

Choose a life.
    Choose a job.
    Choose a career.
    Choose a family.
    Choose a ****ing big television.
    Choose washing machines, cars, compact disc players and electrical tin openers...
    Choose DIY and wondering who the **** you are on a Sunday morning.
    Choose sitting on that couch watching mind-numbing, spirit crushing game shows, stuffing junk food into your mouth.
    Choose rotting away in the end of it all, pishing your last in a miserable home, nothing more than an embarrassment to the selfish, ****ed up brats you spawned to replace yourself.
    Choose your future.
    Choose life...

I don't really have a samey routine
    I don't always get the same bus, I have different sessions in the gym, come to work at different times, have coffee or don't, have slightly different breakfasts...

Ah would ya stop. He tried to help you out loads. Don't be so passive aggressive, if doesn't suit ya.

I do leave my leap card in my coat pocket if I'm using dublin bus in the morning, very handy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

I like the samey same parts of my day, I see it as taking care of business and it frees me up to devote my attention to adding to the more excting bits of the day. Without routine to support my life, it'd be all stressful chaos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

-the freebie paper

THIS! A thousand times this!

The same girl shoves one of these into my face at the same time every morning. I always say the same polite "No thank you", but it always happens again the next day.

You're wearing a fluorescent yellow jacket and standing in front of the steps to the LUAS, we know you're there. We can't miss you. If we did, we'd walk into you. If we want a paper, we know where to find you.

It's 8:05 AM, stop making me interact with you! The alternative - to completely ignore you as you wave the rag in my face - is even worse, because it would suck out a tiny piece of my soul every day to just dismiss someone out of hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

For me it's getting the bus in the morning only to be stuck behind the person who has just realised their wallet is in the bottom of their bag. If you are getting the bus and you are at the stop then get the ticket or change READY for when the bus arrives, even better as suggested by another is to have this done the evening before.

Ah would ya stop. He tried to help you out loads. Don't be so passive aggressive, if doesn't suit ya.

Passive aggression is indirect hostility. If I want to be hostile I have no problem being direct. :)

If you say so :)

Choose a life.
    Choose a job.
    Choose a career.
    Choose a family.
    Choose a ****ing big television.
    Choose washing machines, cars, compact disc players and electrical tin openers...
    Choose DIY and wondering who the **** you are on a Sunday morning.
    Choose sitting on that couch watching mind-numbing, spirit crushing game shows, stuffing junk food into your mouth.
    Choose rotting away in the end of it all, pishing your last in a miserable home, nothing more than an embarrassment to the selfish, ****ed up brats you spawned to replace yourself.
    Choose your future.
    Choose life...

Hear that? The silence? The biological clock just stopped :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

- Alarm goes off.. hit snooze. Hit snooze again a few mins later
    - Right feck it.. better get up, if only so I beat the SUV brigade dropping little Mary and Johnny to school or the bus stop 300m away!
    - Stumble to bathroom usually with one eye still closed, shower on
    - Stumble in, wash
    - Out, dry off, brush teeth, fix hair, shave
    - Get dressed, grab keys and laptop bag.. out to the car

Once I get to the office though it becomes refreshingly random and more interesting!

Seriously though, I only get bored with monotony when I'm not in great form, which is a rare enough occurrence. Yesterday morning I was cranky so getting up, making tea, having a shower, brushing my teeth, going to work, getting my breakfast (I got weetabix to be different!), was all boring. By afternoon sure life was only marvellous again.

If you say so....

"I'm not convinced, but I can't prove you wrong, so I'll let it pass"

pot kettle black? :o

If you say so....

http://www.coolestfamilyever.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/09/now-kiss.png

If you say so....

Whatever makes you happy :)

Seriously though, I only get bored with monotony when I'm not in great form, which is a rare enough occurrence. Yesterday morning I was cranky so getting up, making tea, having a shower, brushing my teeth, going to work, getting my breakfast (I got weetabix to be different!), was all boring. By afternoon sure life was only marvellous again.

I get bored with it when I'm stressed which is now. Most of the time I dont notice but lately..just...raaaar :(

bluewolf wrote: »

I'm gonna cry!!!!!!!!!! and it will be all your fault :(

god damnded f*cking femaleness of it all. its not even a danger day! :(:(

I get bored with it when I'm stressed which is now. Most of the time I dont notice but lately..just...raaaar :(

Yup. Totally get that. Most people are the same. If you're happy overall you don't mind some monotony. That's what Seamus was getting at, he wasn't having a pop at you, he was saying occupy your mind with other things so you won't notice the sameness.

Don't sweat the small stuff!

Whatever makes you happy :)

:mad::mad::mad::mad:

:(:(:(

sorry :( Im just reeeealy stressed (and not about the small stuff)

That's alright, we all get stressed, just don't let the little things add to it cos the big things are bad enough on their own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Get different coloured towels.
    Turn the temp down a few degrees, I like to turn it down until it is nice and cold before I get out. Very refreshing.
    Get a mocca pot and make a proper coffee, they are cheap.
    You live in Ireland? You really should invest in proper rain gear. I bought a really expensive set of gear 15 years ago, still use them.
    Put wallet in pants!
    Get on at a bus stop instead of trying to flag down the bus.
    "Excuse me" will help you.
    Tell her where to stick her lollipop.
    Read a book and forget about what is happening outside.
    Put your PC to sleep the evening before, it will startup quicker and your apps will be opened where you last left them.

You could take all my advice above, but to be honest, a good shag in the morning and you'll float into work without even thinking about any of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeesh.

Maybe remember not to bring your cornflakes into the bathroom in the mornings and you won't get any urine in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I do exactly the same thing every morning, without having to think about it. I like it that way - I'm an OCD nerd, and also I'm old, and change frightens me. ONW, don't sweat the petty things, and don't pet the sweaty things. When the swirling maelstrom of samey oul' shyte starts, you are at the centre, in the calm, the void, the Mu. You must learn to Unask the question, Grasshopper. The empty head is the beginning of wisdom. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 376 ✭✭curiosity

......increasingly lecherous mailbox....

Care to tell us more?

seamus wrote: »
    Yeesh.

Maybe remember not to bring your cornflakes into the bathroom in the mornings and you won't get any urine in them.

Ah now, dont be judging other posters by your own standards :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭nc19

Shower the night before, drink tea and get a motorbike

fixed your life in 3 easy steps

I'm gonna cry!!!!!!!!!! and it will be all your fault :(

god damnded f*cking femaleness of it all. its not even a danger day! :(:(

What did I do

bluewolf wrote: »
    What did I do
    You made me cry with that little "kiss and make up" picture :D

nc19 wrote: »

I dont feel clean showering the night before :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Receiving department, 3 A.M.
    Staff cuts have socked up the overage
    Directives are posted, no callbacks, complaints
    Everywhere is calm

Hong Kong is present, Taipei awakes
    All talk of circadian rhythm

I see today with a newsprint fray
    My night is colored headache gray

Daysleeper

The bull and the bear are marking their territories
    They're leading the blind with their international glories

I am the screen, the blinding light
    I'm the screen, I work at night

Don't wake me with so much

Daysleeper

I cried the other night
    I can't even say why
    Fluorescent flat caffeine lights
    It's furious balancing

I am the screen, the blinding light
    I'm the screen, I work at night

Don't wake me with so much
    The ocean machine is set to 9
    I'll squeeze into heaven and Valentine
    My bed is pulling me, gravity....

Daysleeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

nc19 wrote: »

It's amazing how many problems one of those three things is the solution to, especially the second one!

I feel you OP, for me it's a hall door that the handle is wonky on, so every bloody morning in my sleepy state I half walk into it and go 'fcukthisfcukingdoor, must get the fcuking thing fixed' (every morning since September). Pisses me right off before I even get to the kitchen.

Get to the kitchen, there are five travel cups and six lids in the house, I can't manage to get them all in the same place at the same time to find the spare, so every morning I'm like a toddler playing with those block things, except a toddler who's pretty slow.

I realise I could sort those things out easily, but they're things that seem like they'd vastly improve my life in the morning, but at evenings and weekends if I even think of them it's just 'haha, bollox to that, I've dossing around on the internet to be doing!'