Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question for AH Gardai on Boards.ie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Hitchens wrote: »
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/soldier-fails-in-legal-action-to-prevent-discharge-from-army-after-she-failed-fitness-test-30171181.html

Genuine question prompted by reading the above article.

Are the Gardai required to have a certain level of physical fitness throughout their career (as seems to apply to the Army)?

going by my local gaurds .....its not enforced or else looks are verrrry deceieveing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Does one need to be a qualified guard to contribute to this thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

No. Not really. A physical competence test when signing up and as part of training in Templemore but nothing specific or binding once full attested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

When I read AH Gardai I thought he meant the mods :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,238 ✭✭✭Kaizersoze81

Difference here is , army are given time to train during their duty. In fact parts of their duty is physical training. Guards are lucky to get a 30 min break in a 10 hour tour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

WikiHow wrote: »
    Does one need to be a qualified guard to contribute to this thread?

No, once you have completed the mandatory AH "Expert on all topics" Levels 1, 3 and 5 fire ahead. I'm on 9 now - "thermodynamics". Piece of pi55.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Uriel. wrote: »
    No. Not really. A physical competence test when signing up and as part of training in Templemore but nothing specific or binding once full attested

ok thanks, copy that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Difference here is , army are given time to train during their duty. In fact parts of their duty is physical training. Guards are lucky to get a 30 min break in a 10 hour tour.

fair point

Separately, that was a well reasoned and delivered judgment in my view.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

mauzo! wrote: »

Dav does random inspection of the mods to ensure they are at peak physical fitness and they train with the navy seal mods.

Who tests Dav?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Who tests Dav?

DeV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Question for AH Gardai on Boards.ie...

Yes they have recorded everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Sitting in a patrol car for hours, long shifts and very little time off has to have a bad effect on your body. I reckon that's why many are overweight

carzony wrote: »
    Sitting in a patrol car for hours, long shifts and very little time off has to have a bad effect on your body. I reckon that's why many are overweight

It really doesn't. It has everything to do with personal behaviour. A fatty is a fatty is a fatty (outside of medical issues).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

not to mention the free drinks from raiding after hours pub serving
    and more times than not free dinners at said establishment;)

El Guapo! wrote: »
    DeV

Ah, sure he's biased. Ye need to send him out for independent assessment. Five hours running up and down Croke Patrick with a server on his back ought to prove things.

Judging by the Traffic Cop who checked my tax this afternoon, I'd say it's a ringing No on the Garda fitness question. Yer man was either smuggling five stab-vests up his shirt or else he'd a gut like a walrus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Uriel. wrote: »
    It really doesn't. It has everything to do with personal behaviour. A fatty is a fatty is a fatty (outside of medical issues).
    I used to do a lot of driving late night. I constantly suffered from headaches, hadnt time to eat properly so lived on mcdonalds and roles. I also had craps in the back and legs sitting in the car for hours.

Garda must suffer from the above if working the late nights..

If not then there must be some other reason so many are overweight..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

I used to do a lot of driving late night. I constantly suffered from headaches, hadnt time to eat properly so lived on mcdonalds and roles. I also had craps in the back and legs sitting in the car for hours.

The car must've stank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Normal gardai are fit as they as mostly young but once you hit sergeant its downhill from their any senior member of AGS is most likely unfit and wouldn't be unable to run after any criminal.

Smell must have been woeful after a while - no wonder you had headaches.

Edit: Damn You El Guapo, damn you to hell and a slower connection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

I also had craps in the back and legs sitting in the car for hours.

There's a Clarkson trucker gag somewhere in there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/soldier-fails-in-legal-action-to-prevent-discharge-from-army-after-she-failed-fitness-test-30171181.html

Genuine question prompted by reading the above article.

Are the Gardai required to have a certain level of physical fitness throughout their career (as seems to apply to the Army)?

Sit outside Mill Street Gda station in Galway and judge for yourself !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Hell no they are not.

I never trust a skinny Gard. Chances are they could outrun you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Not strictly true. A lot of soldiers have to train during their lunch, or before/after work.

Although no matter what, it is your responsibility to be fit enough to carry out your task as a member of any emergency service.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

going by my local gaurds .....its not enforced or else looks are verrrry deceieveing

It certainly wasn't for the two bann-gardai I can specifically recall, they were working together - cant say where as I dont want to identify them when I say man the harpoons.

But ye gods !!

- they were hence two men wide and not 10 hands 'igh, not of running, mind, but rather were proper fond 'it pantry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It certainly wasn't for the two bann-gardai I can specifically recall, they were working together - cant say where as I dont want to identify them when I say man the harpoons.

But ye gods !!

- they were hence two men wide and not 10 hands high, not of running, mind, but rather were proper fond 'it pantry.

Built for comfort , not speed , warmth in the winter and summer shade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Not strictly true. A lot of soldiers have to train during their lunch, or before/after work.

Although no matter what, it is your responsibility to be fit enough to carry out your task as a member of any emergency service.

True in both cases.. Most of us are afforded more time to train than a cop has, plus most of us (soldiers) have access to training facilities whereas a cop doesn't.

But because soldiers have to pass an annual fitness assessment its right we're afforded time and facilities to train, if the same were true of AGS I'd say its proper and right to provide them with same.

As regards the girl in the OP, tough sh*t.. She knows the rules, she knows what she has to do and how to use the system (ie access to PTI's & 'fat camp' for personal training) and still fell short of the required standards to stay in her contract.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I can't recall seeing a very overweight garda recently. And those bright yellow jackets are no good at all for showing off one's figure. We should get Gok-Wan on the case!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

True in both cases.. Most of us are afforded more time to train than a cop has, plus most of us (soldiers) have access to training facilities whereas a cop doesn't.

But because soldiers have to pass an annual fitness assessment its right we're afforded time and facilities to train, if the same were true of AGS I'd say its proper and right to provide them with same.

Yeah I agree.

I have heard things anecdotally about AGS. I haven't seen it myself but does anyone know how true it is if an AGS member does 3 days on they get 3 days off?

*IF* that's the case, and *if* they were required to pass an annual fitness test, I'm sure they would have plenty of opportunity to train in their own time.

As I said, not sure how true that is....even though an AGS member told me......she's a plank!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

I don't see how this has to do with keeping yourself in reasonable weight. If office heads can do it I'm sure they can squeeze it in. No excuse especially if they're street beat gardai. Bottom line is that they have no excuse like everyone else on this planet in regards to their weight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭holystungun9

Tour? A tour of Ballybaghdad or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Triangla

Most office workers are in that situation, sitting at a desk all day with access to poor quality canteen food.

I regularly work 10+ hours a day 5 days a week. Edit: Typical break being just 30 mins @ half 1 and a few coffess during the day.

Still find time to get to the gym once or twice a day. (And post here :D)

The rule of thumb is, if someone wants to be in good physical condition they will fit it in. If they don't they won't bother.

It's been a while since I've seen a fat guard. I think the last few I noticed were female and short so I could have been deceived by the uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

Question for the relevant people here:

What does "serving in the Defence Forces without engagement" mean exactly?

Is it that she was still on the payroll of the PDF but not expected to take part in active service?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,741 ✭✭✭Mousewar

My friend is a guard and told me about the training and tests involved. This would have been in the last few years. He said how they spent some time training on defending yourself etc and at the end of it there was a test. The test involved walking down a corridor whereupon the instructor, padded in protective gear, would leap out somewhere along the corridor and swing a padded bat at you. You had to defend yourself.

Now everyone was told this in advance. They knew he would jump out and that he wouldn't actually hurt them. The only thing they didn't know was where exactly he would spring from and he changed the location for each person. Well my friend did it and got on fine. He stayed on afterwards to watch the woman who was after him. She walked down the corridor trembling. The instructor jumped out and she screamed and ran back to the group where she then had a cry.

She passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

mauzo! wrote: »

I misread it as AH Gordon...

Sh!t's going down!!

See ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

There is a female garda locally. She must be at least 6 feet tall and have shoulders about 18 inches wide. She scares the bejaysus out of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7pnsEAkWCQ

Fierce fit men here......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Some gardai would be a lot fitter if their hurling team didn't lose in the first round of the championship every year, and their team would be better if the gardai didn't have to travel 120 miles twice a week to go to training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Size isn't always relevant... At least not in america

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭Birroc

I see you are covering all bases in the "i before e except after c" rule! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,799 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Birroc wrote: »
    I see you are covering all bases in the "i before e except after c" rule! ;)
    lol
    And that folks, is how to be a spelling nazi :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Soft inda Head

When I think of mods I picture the fat bearded comic shop owner in the Simpsons. (Mod's will know his name because they are geeks like him too! )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

My old man is a retired Guard and was always in fairly good shape. However, he often commented on the the physical shape and fitness of others (or lack thereof) and for the most part it left a lot to be desired.

He has always maintained that Guards should be fairly big and strong and have an imposing physical presence and be able to handle themselves and to be honest I have to agree.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 919 ✭✭✭wicklowstevo

Yeah I agree.

I have heard things anecdotally about AGS. I haven't seen it myself but does anyone know how true it is if an AGS member does 3 days on they get 3 days off?

*IF* that's the case, and *if* they were required to pass an annual fitness test, I'm sure they would have plenty of opportunity to train in their own time.

As I said, not sure how true that is....even though an AGS member told me......she's a plank!

Three days on three days off ????????

No SIX days on ten hour shifts which may include nights where you finish at 7 am and drive an hour home getting to you bed at 8 am . and that counts as one of your four days off. factor in directed over time and or court on off days if your lucky to get the overtime sanctioned. Also note that most of the of days are mid week because they want more working weekends.
    The amount of ridicules opinions and misinformation out there about the gardai is gas. Proberly has some thing to do with the fact that any garda who talks to the media or speaks about work on social media can now be sacked !!!

Also its everyone's responsibility to keep fit and unless they are sick they should retain some measured level of fitness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

My 2 cs.... I only personally know 2 coppers. Both in excellent condition, better than most other people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

DE GARDS ARE FAT BASTERDZ!

U iz lucky u iz postink on AH. :pac: