Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Data Protection Access

• 09-04-2014 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭

I could do with some help if ye wouldn't mind. :)

I have to request my data protection information for a job coaching soccer in the US for the summer.
    I have to specify what it is I want access to but to be honest, I'm not really certain myself!
    I have been Garda Vetted already so you'd think that would almost be enough.

Mars Bar

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,973 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I'm gonna sound like a thicko here but those bold phrases mean nothing to me. :o

Thanks!

Would that be specific enough you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Mars Bar wrote: »
    I have to specify what it is I want access to but to be honest, I'm not really certain myself!
    Ask the prospective employer / supervising authority what they are looking for. Copy that text in your application to the Garda.

There is certain information which the Garda won't give out, e.g. information relating to current investigations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 293 ✭✭retroactive

What is actually recorded? How long is it stored for?

I dread to think the close calls of my misspent youth detailed on a garda computer-
    "2006 - 4 a.m outside a rave. Retroactive claimed to have been spiked. He accepted that he bought packets of lolly pops and chewing gum earlier but this was unrelated to the fact his jaw was trying to eat his ear. He seemed like a grand young lad so I told him to go home because I didn't want to do the paper work"

What is actually recorded?
    Potentially, any contact you have with the Garda and any criminal court cases.
    How long is it stored for?
    For ever. However, juvenile records and old records tend to be treated differently to recent adult records.

Victor wrote: »
    For ever. However, juvenile records and old records tend to be treated differently to recent adult records.

We have a spent conviction act and that's when people are found guilty. Opinion and cursory investigations should not be recorded as they are unreliable.

I'm actually a little shocked at this.

We have a spent conviction act
    No we don't.

I still can't help but feel this is a "Gardai record everything" joke inspired by recent events

• Administrators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 18,774 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭hullaballoo

I still can't help but feel this is a "Gardai record everything" joke inspired by recent events
    It's not a joke.

They do record everything. I can't believe people are so surprised by all of this.

I went to the garda station to ask and the guard looked at it as if he had never seen the sheet before. He told me to leave it blank and you can guess what happened next, they sent it back. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

Pulse is the Garda computer.

Soft information is stuff not related to criminal convictions that may be recorded. It could be stuff like if you were stopped by the law and you were asked to produce documents etc. It could be opinions of Gardaí about you etc.
    I thought No one is entitled to info like that only yourself ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭234

carzony wrote: »
    I thought No one is entitled to info like that only yourself ?

Well apart from the Gardaí nobody will have access to it unless you request it yourself or submit to the vetting process where you are giving your consent.

234 wrote: »
    Well apart from the Gardaí nobody will have access to it unless you request it yourself or submit to the vetting process where you are giving your consent.

so vetting is not for just convicitons then? Never thought employers would be entitled to know about searches, fines ect..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

I went to the garda station to ask and the guard looked at it as if he had never seen the sheet before. He told me to leave it blank and you can guess what happened next, they sent it back. :rolleyes:

You'll just have to ask them what they want on that form and from what source(s).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

carzony wrote: »
    so vetting is not for just convicitons then? Never thought employers would be entitled to know about searches, fines ect..

If the OP's employer was in Ireland he would be in breach of the DP Act for asking the OP to do this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

If the OP's employer was in Ireland he would be in breach of the DP Act for asking the OP to do this.

As a matter of interest, when you get garda clearance/garda vetting, do you get a copy of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭usernamegoes

sopretty wrote: »
    As a matter of interest, when you get garda clearance/garda vetting, do you get a copy of this?

Copy of what? Garda Vetting is different to what the OP's employer asked him to get.

Only certain employers can ask for Vetting, but if an employer asks you to make an Access request and give it to them then they are in breach of the Data Protection Act 1988 and 2003

So I got a letter back with no attachment and them saying that they had no information on me?

Happy days then:D

Really? I was expecting something that I could send on! I guess I send the letter that says I'm clean as a whistle! Although, I did get a character reference and that will probably do the job.