Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mitsubishi pajero losing power

• 09-04-2014 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15

I have a 02 pajero 2.5, its main job is to pull a horse box and the odd time do some running around. It would only generally tow at weekends and not every weekend! This jeep isn't in my opinion put under too much hardship. I have it just over 3 years and in the beginning things were great now though towing in it is a nightmare! Whether I'm on a back road or a motorway a orange engine light comes on and the jeep just loses power, i can continue in second gear at 30kmh whilst the revs are high, generally if i pull over, turn it off and on it will be grand and power is back to normal. Some journeys it won't lose power at all, yesterday on what should have been a hours journey it did it 7 times!! Now i have brought the jeep to my own mechanic who then sent it on to mitsubishi garage........they charged an astronomical amount and it was fine for a short period after and now the problem is back. I do not have thousands more euro to spend trying to find the problem so please any suggestions greatly welcome!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Jen7501 wrote: »

I have a 02 pajero 2.5, its main job is to pull a horse box and the odd time do some running around. It would only generally tow at weekends and not every weekend! This jeep isn't in my opinion put under too much hardship. I have it just over 3 years and in the beginning things were great now though towing in it is a nightmare! Whether I'm on a back road or a motorway a orange engine light comes on and the jeep just loses power, i can continue in second gear at 30kmh whilst the revs are high, generally if i pull over, turn it off and on it will be grand and power is back to normal. Some journeys it won't lose power at all, yesterday on what should have been a hours journey it did it 7 times!! Now i have brought the jeep to my own mechanic who then sent it on to mitsubishi garage........they charged an astronomical amount and it was fine for a short period after and now the problem is back. I do not have thousands more euro to spend trying to find the problem so please any suggestions greatly welcome!!!

sounds like its going to limp mode...turn it off and back on resets it

as for whats causing it...a good diagonistic check should hopefully get to the bones of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

How long is it since it was at the mitsubishi main dealers? What did they say was wrong with it when you got it back?

I would bring it back them. You paid them to sort the problem and they didn't. Keep cool but don't take any crap from them.

I will make a big assumption and say judging by your username name jen (jennifer) that you're a woman. Unfortunately and it's a terrible thing to say, but sexism still exists and lads in garages tend not to take women too seriously. It would be like me going in ordering a pair of curtains (which I have done in the past!). Have you a husband, boyfriend, brother etc that could bring it in on your behalf? They may have more clout and get this sorted out for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Muckit wrote: »
    How long is it since it was at the mitsubishi main dealers? What did they say was wrong with it when you got it back?

I would bring it back them. You paid them to sort the problem and they didn't. Keep cool but don't take any crap from them.

I will make a big assumption and say judging by your username name jen (jennifer) that you're a woman. Unfortunately and it's a terrible thing to say, but sexism still exists and lads in garages tend not to take women too seriously. It would be like me going in ordering a pair of curtains (which I have done in the past!). Have you a husband, boyfriend, brother etc that could bring it in on your behalf? They may have more clout and get this sorted out for you.

this is a sad but true point....beware if they are suggesting doing work...be sure and get them to show you beforehand!!

the stories of gangsters out there are well documented (tough a main dealer is less likely to mess around due to obvious consquences)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Jen7501

I completely understand your point and I expected this from the garage so I sent my cousin who is a mechanic with the jeep!! I must dig out the bill and see what exactly they did! it cost €2000! Its a well known mitsubishi dealer in Dublin that had it! I will say as soon as it started giving trouble again after it was with them I rang and complained and they said I would have to book it in again and they where adamant it was fixed! I think that was prob over a year ago now so too late to go back again which is my own fault I know. I just really need to get to the bottom of the issue as its not fun losing power on the motorway with horse box!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭bikes

I had a pajero with the same problem, turned out to be an air solenoid valve ( 70 euro). They are located just to the rear of the rocker cover on the top of the engine.There are 2 of them,1 went and I replaced it and shortly after that the other one went. It also could be the boost solenoid which could cause an overboost and the jeep will go into limp mode,also check all air pipes to and from these valves as one could be cracked and have a slight leak.What did they actually fix for the 2k.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 572 ✭✭✭jt65

a very helpful bunch of guys over on the pajero forum,

just sign up and they will help you out,

http://www.pocuk.com/forums/index.php?sid=d53a5be254e7ce8b28874d4b2cda119a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Jen7501

bikes wrote: »
    I had a pajero with the same problem, turned out to be an air solenoid valve ( 70 euro). They are located just to the rear of the rocker cover on the top of the engine.There are 2 of them,1 went and I replaced it and shortly after that the other one went. It also could be the boost solenoid which could cause an overboost and the jeep will go into limp mode,also check all air pipes to and from these valves as one could be cracked and have a slight leak.What did they actually fix for the 2k.

they fixed sensors on the gearbox.......!! Thank you I will definitely look into these valves! The jeep isn't worth a lot to sell and would be grand if just didn't have this problem!! Thank you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭bikes

Jen7501 wrote: »
    they fixed sensors on the gearbox.......!! Thank you I will definitely look into these valves! The jeep isn't worth a lot to sell and would be grand if just didn't have this problem!! Thank you

Get a good lad to plug in to the jeep, there are a lot of bad mechanics out there that haven't a clue. The best lad I know is in Galway and is very reasonable ,if your down that way I could get you in touch with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I would go through that bill carefully. That seems a horrendous bill for an 02 jeep. Well over half the value of the vehicle. for a few sensors? Neighbour is selling his 00 SWB , to which he has had fitted the older 2.5 reliable engine. Spotless jeep, asking 2200 and can't even get a phone call.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I would go through that bill carefully. That seems a horrendous bill for an 02 jeep. Well over half the value of the vehicle. for a few sensors? Neighbour is selling his 00 SWB , to which he has had fitted the older 2.5 reliable engine. Spotless jeep, asking 2200 and can't even get a phone call.

The worst thing to happen these jeeps and cars are these feckin electrics .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

A mate of mine works on 4x4s the whole time and says this is a problem with most pajeros. the solenoid was mentioned and he also said the water pump was a big issue with them. At 2k for a repair on an 02 he must have had a balaclava on.