Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irishman Travelling the world without flying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Wow !! ..
    That cabin he has is pretty sweet , I'd imagine it's a **** lot more expensive then a trans pacific flight ..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,920 ✭✭✭Einhard

What he's doing is cool, but he comes across as a bit of a douchebag oh his website with all his "disrupting the rabblement" guff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Einhard wrote: »
    What he's doing is cool, but he comes across as a bit of a douchebag oh his website with all his "disrupting the rabblement" guff.

Oh dear, he does, doesn't he.

Some serious internal issues there, Mr Bloggerman Traveller.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Living what dream exactly? Pissing about the world on an adventure holiday while posting on his blog and writing books no one will read. He's hardly Vasco Da Gama is he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

the_monkey wrote: »
    Wow !! ..
    That cabin he has is pretty sweet , I'd imagine it's a **** lot more expensive then a trans pacific flight ..

You're typically looking at about £100 GBP per day

http://www.strandtravelltd.co.uk/voyages/travellers-not-tourists/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    Living what dream exactly? Pissing about the world on an adventure holiday while posting on his blog and writing books no one will read. He's hardly Vasco Da Gama is he?

No but he sure as hell is going to see a lot more places and meet a lot more interesting people than I ever will

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Is this about you OP?

Had a quick look but I am in my hole spending time reading about a vegan toastmaster travelling the World thinking he's the tits.

Fcuk that, iv to put the dinner on in the real World.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

who gives a hairy ass f*ck?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

If I was travelling, he'd be the type of lad I'd be looking to avoid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Rabblement. Douche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭franglan

Anyone who says they are on a non-physical journey is a douche.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

He comes across a right sanctimonious arsehole on his website. Probably spends his time on a beanbag in some hostel 'tweeting' about why his experiences of travel are completely different than every other man from Western Europe who had the money to be able to travel around the world.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

good old boards begrudgery at work, nothing to see here move along folks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Stinicker wrote: »
    good old boards begrudgery at work, nothing to see here move along folks!

Possibly.

On the other hand......we are not the ones making him look like a fcuknugget....he's doing that himself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,556 ✭✭✭the_monkey

After reading some of his website, my opinion has dropped.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Banjoxed

Einhard wrote: »

He's ****ing right. We're in the pan because of our addiction to not wanting to break the consensus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

I found it interesting. I don't think he came across as a plonker

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Fair play to him.
    Travel broadens the mind like nothing else and he'll have some great memories to look back on.

Doubt he gives two flying fucks about the begrudgers around here. Many of whom, I suspect have never left their home town.

Q. Where have you been so far?
    A. Ireland > England > Netherlands > Germany > Switzerland > Austria > Hungary > Romania > Turkey > Iran > UAE > India > Nepal > India > Thailand > Cambodia > Laos > Vietnam > China > Hong Kong > China > Vietnam > Laos > Thailand > Laos > China > South Korea > Japan > Peru

Shame he hasn't been to Wales though.

He hasn't lived ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Lapin wrote: »
    Fair play to him.
    Travel broadens the mind like nothing else

No it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Travel broadens the mind like nothing else and he'll have some great memories to look back on.
    Our Year wrote: »
    No it doesn't.

Which is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

A. Ireland > England > Netherlands > Germany > Switzerland > Austria > Hungary > Romania > Turkey > Iran > UAE > India > Nepal > India > Thailand > Cambodia > Laos > Vietnam > China > Hong Kong > China > Vietnam > Laos > Thailand > Laos > China > South Korea > Japan > Peru

Who cares what countries you've been to if you're just blitzing through them? If you're not spending a week there seeing the sights and enjoying the culture then you may as well be at home.

Saying "ooh, i was in X country" is nothing if in reality you were just in the back of a truck driving through the country.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Which is it?

The first one !
    Who cares what countries you've been to if you're just blitzing through them? If you're not spending a week there seeing the sights and enjoying the culture then you may as well be at home.

Saying "ooh, i was in X country" is nothing if in reality you were just in the back of a truck driving through the country.

Couldn't agree more.

You' need to spend at least a week in most places to experience them properly.

Although it does depend a lot on the size and diversity of the place too.

EG, you could never get a true flavour of France in the space of a week but anything more than three days in Iceland is a waste of time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭AngryHippie

He's a bit of a t wat IMO.
    Fine for him to make decisions about what he wants from life, but the way he portrays people who put sacrifice years of their lives to devote to having a family isn't right or fair.

He'll have great fun travelling around the world, but he'll have nobody to share it with, nobody that was there by his side, it'll be a string of selfies and people that forgot who he is, or bolted after four hours of his sanctimonious horsesh1te.

Travelling is great for a person, for self esteem, for a sense of adventure, to feel achievement of a goal, but the things you learn on the way are experiences, not lessons, not something that you can explain to anyone else, because they are personal, and no-one else cares about the sunrise you watched from Ankor Wat, or the camel ride through Pakistan, or the mountain you climbed, the people you meet on the way will not remember you (if you are travelling) and unless you do it with someone, nobody else will understand or care about your story.

In short, I think blogging about it is overdone, he's not the first, he's just making a great job of being an arse about it.

Hope he has fun, but I won't be reading it.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 ozexpat

He's a bit of a t wat IMO.
    Fine for him to make decisions about what he wants from life, but the way he portrays people who put sacrifice years of their lives to devote to having a family isn't right or fair.

He'll have great fun travelling around the world, but he'll have nobody to share it with, nobody that was there by his side, it'll be a string of selfies and people that forgot who he is, or bolted after four hours of his sanctimonious horsesh1te.

Travelling is great for a person, for self esteem, for a sense of adventure, to feel achievement of a goal, but the things you learn on the way are experiences, not lessons, not something that you can explain to anyone else, because they are personal, and no-one else cares about the sunrise you watched from Ankor Wat, or the camel ride through Pakistan, or the mountain you climbed, the people you meet on the way will not remember you (if you are travelling) and unless you do it with someone, nobody else will understand or care about your story.

In short, I think blogging about it is overdone, he's not the first, he's just making a great job of being an arse about it.

Hope he has fun, but I won't be reading it.:confused:

exactly , great summary.

I've done a lot of travelling myself and do like the old travelling solely by land thing though, sort of done the same in 2 trips (first one moscow to bangkok, 2nd one rio down to ushuaia then all the way back up to san fran) . although had to do little jump from santa marta (columbia)-> panama city by flight which was kind of annoying but too many dodg rebels about border!..

but thinking its worth writing books about = dope!

friend of mine did same thing on year off with big blog do wonder who actually read the thing besides himself..
    and also wonder if the being well travelled thing getting more diminsihed these days, its getting easier and easier these days and pretty much eveeryone does it :

Arrive location A, find hostel = dirinking friends + they tell u places in location A you "must see"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Hey don't write it off yet.... He may end up in horror style hostel ... And we will be all reading about it.... How the rabble hooked his junk up to a car battery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Seeing loads of countries doesn't always mean you broaden your mind. I did the SE asia backpacker loop and for some it's just a an extended pub crawl in cheap countries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

He's no Mark Zolo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Am I the only one who misread the title as '...without frying'?

I thought he had discovered the benefits of grilling the full Oirish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,151 ✭✭✭Daith

ozexpat wrote: »
    Arrive location A, find hostel = dirinking friends + they tell u places in location A you "must see"

You're forgetting "What's the wi-fi code?"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I'll summarise the book.
    "I'm clever. You're stupid."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

diomed wrote: »
    I'll summarise the book.
    "I'm clever. You're stupid."

Stupid is as stupid does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,815 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Ah, he's a vegan. That explains the preachyness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭BobbyPropane

Ah, he's a vegan. That explains the preachyness.

He's not anymore and says he eats meat now.

I hate people/preachers who think they have life figured out as much as anybody here but whether you like it or not he did pretty much summarise a lot of peoples lives, I think it's neat that he has gone and done something completely different to the norm.

Of course it's not possible for everyone to give up everything and go but at least you can become aware of what your spending time on Earth doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

He mentioned Laos three times. Reckon his metaphysical journey of discovery involved tubing in Vang Vieng :rolleyes:

He's not anymore and says he eats meat now.

I hate people/preachers who think they have life figured out as much as anybody here but whether you like it or not he did pretty much summarise a lot of peoples lives, I think it's neat that he has gone and done something completely different to the norm.

Of course it's not possible for everyone to give up everything and go but at least you can become aware of what your spending time on Earth doing.

I don't know if a backsliding vegan is better or worse. :confused:

If people want to live and eat ****e food and watch ****e telly, let them. Less of the finger wagging and holier than thou crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

No it doesn't.

It does actually
    However there are a number of things that do this.
    Travel is good for a person, making friends, learning new things, fond memories, gaining knowledge. How is that not good?

Jamsiek wrote: »
    It does actually
    However there are a number of things that do this.
    Travel is good for a person, making friends, learning new things, fond memories, gaining knowledge. How is that not good?

It's a bizarre blanket cliche.
    You can do all those things without travelling. There is nothing wrong with travelling but I know plenty of pig ignorant ****ers who went travelling and came back just as pig ignorant, it may broaden your experiences, it doesn't necessarily broaden your mind, it's down to the individual.
    You could do all the things you listed off without leaving your house.

It's a bizarre blanket statement.
    You can do all those things without travelling. There is nothing wrong with travelling but I know plenty of pig ignorant ****ers who went travelling and came back just as pig ignorant, it may broaden your experiences, it doesn't necessarily broaden your mind, it's down to the individual.

Travel does broaden the mind, that old saying assumes that there is a suitable mind to work with in the first place.

I've come across folks from this fair land stealing gear from other people in hostels on their travels. It's a fair bet they were scumbags back home as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

God bless Google Maps, Streetview, The Internet,Just Eat and my couch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭massdebater

Travelling is great for a person, for self esteem, for a sense of adventure, to feel achievement of a goal, but the things you learn on the way are experiences, not lessons, not something that you can explain to anyone else, because they are personal, and no-one else cares about the sunrise you watched from Ankor Wat, or the camel ride through Pakistan, or the mountain you climbed, the people you meet on the way will not remember you (if you are travelling) and unless you do it with someone, nobody else will understand or care about your story

Why do you care about explaining it to anyone else? Your first sentence sums it up nicely, the experience is personal. The whole point is that he gets to experience all that. Not being able to tell that story to anyone in years doesn't matter a damn and certainly doesn't take away from his own personal experience.

Going for a walk broadens the mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Ann Landers

€4,500 to travel on a cargo ship. Fools are easily separated from their money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭_Puma_

This fella from Liverpool managed to visit every country without flying. Used to follow his blogposts a few years back untill he hit a brick wall with the last few countries. Looks like he recently was able to complete it and now holds the Guinness world record.

The posts about the island hoping in the pacific seemed dicey enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I wouldn't like to do this. Worrying about where your next bit of income will come from, having no secure job. Any bit of money you get is used to pay for food and travel to the next country. Rinse and repeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

It's a bizarre blanket cliche.
    I don't agree, it seems to be true in a lot of cases.
    You can do all those things without travelling.
    Yes but it is easier while travelling for a lot of people, making new friends, trying new foods, etc.
    There is nothing wrong with travelling but I know plenty of pig ignorant ****ers who went travelling and came back just as pig ignorant
    This can be true unfortunately but these people are probably just too ignorant to appreciate the opportunities they had and wasted it all.
    Not as easy though

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

i preferred his earlier videos