Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two ice cream vendors clash in turf war

• 08-04-2014 10:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,103 ✭✭✭

Two ice cream men are facing charges of assault in a case where it was claimed that one reached into the other's van and pulled his ice cream lever.

The highly competitive ice cream van trade in Cork city is what has led to the turf wars between the two ice cream men, according to Inspector Bill Duane.

Frederick Williams (31), of Gurranabraher, Cork is charged with assaulting Alan O'Halloran (29), from Churchfield, Cork on September 20, 2013.

O'Halloran is also accused of assault causing harm to Williams on the same occasion.

Both defendants are charged with assault causing harm to the other.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/two-ice-cream-vendors-clash-in-turf-war-30165943.html

What's the next level up from a first world problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

oooooo matron!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

mathie wrote: »
    What's the next level up from a first world problem?

99 problems (with sprinkles)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Thud

they should both have their asset frozen until Sundae

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

Reminds me of that peter kay thing..!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

If you've not seen it before:

"If they don't get up quick then it's bye bye Sunday football!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

mauzo! wrote: »
    Reminds me of that peter kay thing..!! :D

SNAP :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

In Before ...

The scene of the crime was sealed-off using cones ...

Special-agent 99 is investigating ...

There are hundreds and thousands of similar crimes ...

Edit: Too late

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Funnily enough things like ice-cream vans and hot-dog stands have long been the cause of brawls and feuds in urban estates in Ireland. The fact that ice-cream vans in Cork were the most commonly used form of money laundering for drugs didn't help matters either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Keep spendin' most our lives, livin' in the gangsta's paradise... :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭FullblownRose

Reminds me of the Doolin Ferry Turf War (Surf war?). If I remember correctly one ferry sank the other ferry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Reminds me of the Doolin Ferry Turf War (Surf war?). If I remember correctly one ferry sank the other ferry.

Ein, los! Zwei, los! :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Are a lot of them ice cream vans fronts for laundering money?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

claimed that one reached into the other's van and pulled his ice cream lever.

Haven't heard that Euphemism before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Gyalist

I saw a confrontation between two Traveller women and a group of Roma women some years ago in the lobby of the Post Office in St. Andrew's Street in Dublin. The Traveller women had begged there for years and the Roma women had recently started selling the Big Issue outside so it came down to a turf war.

The Roma women lost the battle that day but they have now clearly won the war as you no longer see Travellers begging in the City Centre any more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

Haven't they ever heard the wise old saying:
    "Let's forget our troubles with a big bowl of strawberry ice-cream."
    ~ Malibu Stacy

Seriously though, it's Free Cone Day today at Ben & Jerry's outlets - details here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

smcgiff wrote: »
    Haven't heard that Euphemism before.

I can't stop laughing!!!!! Aw ffs I hate laughing at my phone in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Ice cream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

I remember our local icecream man was found dead in his van one morning. He was covered in chopped nuts, syrup all over his head and a flake stuck up each nostril.

The police reckoned he topped himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

The Glasgow Ice Cream Wars were conflicts in the East End of Glasgow in Scotland in the 1980s between rival ice cream van operators, over lucrative drug distribution territory.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glasgow_Ice_Cream_Wars

MonstaMash wrote: »
    The Glasgow Ice Cream Wars were conflicts in the East End of Glasgow in Scotland in the 1980s between rival ice cream van operators, over lucrative drug distribution territory.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glasgow_Ice_Cream_Wars

There was an episode of New Tricks based around that. Was the first thing that came to mind when I saw the thread title.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

Has anyone ever actually bought, or known of drug deliveries, from an ice cream man?

I can imagine it in the 80's, but with the expansion in takeaway food to your door delivery, mobile phones and the deregulation of the taxi service leading to everyone and their wife getting a licence surely nobody in their right mind bothers moving drugs using such a loud, brightly painted mode of delivery when using a taxi driver or a food delivery man on minimum wage is more practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

That article reads like it was written by a retarded walrus

X is charged with assaulting Y

Y is also charged with assaulting X

Both men are charged with assaulting each other......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

FTA69 wrote: »
    Funnily enough things like ice-cream vans and hot-dog stands have long been the cause of brawls and feuds in urban estates in Ireland. The fact that ice-cream vans in Cork were the most commonly used form of money laundering for drugs didn't help matters either.
    There was an ice cream van driver beaten to death with a baseball bat in Athenry of all places a while back. Rumour that it was drug related allegedly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭JustAddWater

A right pair of screwballs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

how does it go again?.....

I scream, you scream , we all scream ....... for hours
    , endlessly ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,410 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Feck. It's like the Leeson St hotdog wars all over again!

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭TOMP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I remember our local icecream man was found dead in his van one morning. He was covered in chopped nuts, syrup all over his head and a flake stuck up each nostril.

The police reckoned he topped himself.

I remember hearing something about that. Apparently his wife called the Gardai when she noticed that he'd been a wafer a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭metroburgers

Ice cream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream

1bc27e67058bb6e7bd4c84f6b36a34ad.jpg

Mod insert?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

The police are offering an award of hundreds and thousands for any info.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

GAAman wrote: »
    That article reads like it was written by a retarded walrus

X is charged with assaulting Y

Y is also charged with assaulting X

Both men are charged with assaulting each other......

Someone divided by zero..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Two ice cream men are facing charges of assault in a case where it was claimed that one reached into the other's van and pulled his ice cream lever.

The highly competitive ice cream van trade in Cork city is what has led to the turf wars between the two ice cream men, according to Inspector Bill Duane.

Frederick Williams (31), of Gurranabraher, Cork is charged with assaulting Alan O'Halloran (29), from Churchfield, Cork on September 20, 2013.

O'Halloran is also accused of assault causing harm to Williams on the same occasion.

Both defendants are charged with assault causing harm to the other.

Squad car screeches on to the scene......... Inspector Bill Duane forward-flips out of the drivers side............ whips out his Magnum and roars........ FREEZE, MOTHERFUCKERS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

FTA69 wrote: »

I'm pretty sure chip/burger vans are part of it too, most of them have to pay protection money of some sort. A pity that we have no decent street food in Ireland