Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Helpful or Creepy?

• 08-04-2014 9:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭

So AH, got an interesting question for you...

This morning I was talking to a colleague on the far side of the office when I noticed that one of the young HR girls near him was sitting crossed legged in her chair.

She's completely oblivious, but this has resulted in her skirt shifting up her legs, so you can now see the bottom of her arse and her knickers....

I was going to let her know so she could sort her skirt out, but then decided not to as I thought I might come across as a bit pervy to do so (I don't know her very well).

So the question is, what's the better thing to do?
    Tell her, saving her some possible embarrassment, but possibly come across like a bit of a creep....
    Or say nothing like I have and retreat to the far side of the office to avoid the possibility of being seen as a creep...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

"So AH, I've an interesting question for you..." never ends well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Nice spot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Definitely tell her, but as it's an HR issue it should be put in writing and copied to your manager and union rep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

Say nothing, It's the sensible way to avoid being called a pervert behind your back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭howamidifferent

PICS or GTFO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Can you not just look out the window?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

say nothing and keep watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭alleystar

Why was she sitting cross legged in her chair...at work? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

PICS or GTFO

Doing this would mean he well and truly crossed the line into 'creep' territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Any developments, OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQQLEf5VUQyAfYsW7EQ_yPM08b7dgoeE3-LqFlWqnuhhDKNoZjc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Tell her ffs

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭JohnFalstaff

Remember, angle of incidence equals angle of reflectives. In other words, if you can see them, they can see you. So be alert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

You can't win. Just jump straight through the window. If you tell her, she'll know you were looking at her arse. If you don't, it'll bother you and you'll start fidgeting and she'll figure out you were looking at her arse. If the window plan doesn't work you'll just have to move to Guatemala and live in a damp cave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

BizzyC wrote: »
    Tell her, saving her some possible embarrassment, but possibly come across like a bit of a creep....
    Or say nothing like I have and retreat to the far side of the office to avoid the possibility of being seen as a creep...

What's more interesting is that you see yourself as a creep either way. Are you a creep? You can suggest to a girl that her knickers are showing without sounding like a creep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Has the OP replied back yet? He's probably gone the jacks for a peddle and crank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Czarcasm wrote: »
    What's more interesting is that you see yourself as a creep either way. Are you a creep? You can suggest to a girl that her knickers are showing without sounding like a creep.

Yeah, you have to be subtle. Tell her she has a lovely belly button, she'll figure out what you're saying.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 625 ✭✭✭roadsmart

Leave it until tomorrow.
    Tomorrow, mid morning will do, approach her and tell her you like the knickers she's wearing today but much preferred the black/pink/polka dot/stripey etc ones she was wearing yesterday. Then let her know what your favourite colours are and that there is still time to wear them this week. She will instantly fall deeply in love and lust with you and you will both live happily ever after, bearing many children and living on an island.
    Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Reedsie

Get a female member of staff to mention it to her

[AH] after you get some pics [/AH]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭893bet

My monitor seems to be broken as I cant see the pictures on my screen. I have adjusted resolution etc and still cant see.

I will accept a PM.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Ah, the old 'Bo Selecta-Lorraine Kelly-Can you see my Growler' scenario.

I had a lady in the office compain to me that I didn't tell there that a button or 2 were open on her top and that her bra was showing. I honestly though it was some sort of fashion thing. So from that experience I'm guessing she would want to know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I imagine by now she has shifted position so you can't see it anymore.

Personally, I wouldn't say anything. No point creating a potentially awkward situation unnecessarily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Start a rumour that she's "easy".

Tbh, do nothing, it's not a big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭smileyj1987

Hey OP is she good looking ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Step 1: Get off boards.
    Step 2: Keep perving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

You can suggest to a girl that her knickers are showing without sounding like a creep.

If you know her, yes. If not, not so easy IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Say nothing. What the Hell is she doing sitting cross legged at work? If you see it someone else probably will and if you say something you'll be labelled a pervert for looking at her. She must know her skirt is too high up her thighs, it's not like women don't notice that kind of thing, maybe she's just a bit odd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,076 ✭✭✭✭Czarcasm

Khannie wrote: »
    If you know her, yes. If not, not so easy IMO.

I dunno Khannie, I just don't take these work related "what should I do?" threads seriously any more. I mean, if a guy has to come on the internet to ask how to tell a girl her knickers are showing, I'd have to wonder how the hell does he manage to tie his own shoe laces in the morning with that sort of helpless mentality?

...You can suggest to a girl that her knickers are showing without sounding like a creep.

Or you could teach yourself the bagpipes in your cave in Guatemala, to pass some of the time. It's a lot easier! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Say nothing, It's the sensible way to avoid being called a pervert behind your back.

..........while still having something to perv at. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,485 ✭✭✭✭Khannie

I dunno Khannie, I just don't take these work related "what should I do?" threads seriously any more. I mean, if a guy has to come on the internet to ask how to tell a girl her knickers are showing, I'd have to wonder how the hell does he manage to tie his own shoe laces in the morning with that sort of helpless mentality?

Ah I don't think it's a serious cry for help type thread. More a "what's the general consensus" or "this might generate a bit of craic" type thing.

Personally, I would in my arse tell someone I didn't know that well, and in a work context, that their knickers were showing. I'd tell a friend (even in work) in a heartbeat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

It's not creepy if you're good looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭893bet

I would approach her and say she is better off not sitting cross legged rather with her legs spread a little.
    Happy to help OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I can't provide an update on the situation I'm afraid.
    As I said, she's on the far side of the office, so I could only actually see her when I was over to talk to someone else she sits next to.

Glad to see I'm not the only one who would avoid the situation...
    I just cant see any scenario where it's ok to mention a female coworkers knickers to her, regardless of the intent...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭BizzyC

I'm not a creep (internet forum - least believable medium for making that statement), it's more the question as to whether you can point it out without looking like one.

As I said, she's on the far side of the office, so I could only actually see her when I was over to talk to someone else she sits next to...

In order to monitor this situation properly, you're going to need binoculars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

As I said, she's on the far side of the office, so I could only actually see her when I was over to talk to someone else she sits next to.

Glad to see I'm not the only one who would avoid the situation...
    I just cant see any scenario where it's ok to mention a female coworkers knickers to her, regardless of the intent...

In that case I suggest getting up off your arse an go back over there so we know exactly whats going on. Surely you're not going to let the person she sits next to enjoy it all for themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

In that case, absolutely nothing good will come of pointing it out.

Keep your mouth shut and wait for some other poor sap to sabotage themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

hmm... so describe the knickers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Its a tough one. Its not a clear cut case of knowing you should definitely say something - for example toilet paper hanging out or skirt tucked into pants etc. This could be a sitaution where she adjusts/does a sweeping check at the back when she stands. I'd say you did right to ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,719 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Do nothing.

If she has cop on enough to have a job then she probably has mates or loved ones who will hint to her if her clothes are inappropriate or tend to bunch up. Maybe she has no reflective surfaces in her house or maybe she gets a bit of a thrill from titillating the lads.

Either way its not really affecting your orbit so enjoy the view in passing and if it brightens your day then bonus.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Surely she must be able to feel a draught:D