Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's watching wrestlemainia!

• 06-04-2014 4:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭

It's on tonight, who's watching it??

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

\o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Me, brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Not me anyway, i'm not 8 anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

If I wanted to see a load of men falling to the ground as if they got hurt after being hardly touched, I would watch soccer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭ringadingding

Even as an 8 year old I watched with raised eyebrows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

Even as an 8 year old I watched with raised eyebrows

Pretending to be The Rock, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

€25 euro to watch grown men dancing around in their underpants pretending to be all hardman?

I get that in the mirror for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,058 ✭✭✭Unearthly

It doesn't matter if we are watching it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Course I am, got my bedtime extended and all for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Unfortunately I'm not 6 years old anymore. Grown men prancing about the place in leotards and sh!te talking to each other, I never understood how grown men could find it interesting, its so... lame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

MadYaker wrote: »
    Unfortunately I'm not 6 years old anymore. Grown men prancing about the place in leotards and sh!te talking to each other, I never understood how grown men could find it interesting, its so... lame.

In fairness it used to be entertaining back when stone cold and the rock were in it and allowed to say explicit things.
    They can't even curse in it anymore.
    Think it was about 2003 when I stopped proper watching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

will Videoplus+ it. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Last time I watched it, The Hulkster came out of retirement to beat the Sumo fella, just after he had beaten Bret The Hitman Hart.

Wrestlemania 13 I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Big men acting the clown, not a fecking chance I'd watch that f*cking muck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

There letters

UFC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Gatling wrote: »
    There letters

UFC

No, their letters are WWE.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

YES! YES! YES! YES! YES!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

no no no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Epic1337

NO NO NO NO NO NO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

I might download it tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

I can't I have to go to school in the morning...as a student teacher :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭Vision of Disorder

Wrestling is less homoerotic than rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Can't be any worse than half the ****e on the telly these days

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

Watching the 2 hour pre show then wrestlemainia! on the WWE Network. Yes they have there own Netflix for WWE LoL.

Cant wait !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Last time I watched it, The Hulkster came out of retirement to beat the Sumo fella, just after he had beaten Bret The Hitman Hart.

Wrestlemania 13 I think.

Think that was 9 actuallly, about the last time I watched it too. Looking back at some of the characters back then, it really is shocking how many of them die young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I don't quite get the references to the fakeness or otherwise of WWE; after all, it's called sports entertainment and is more akin to a drama series, so why don't these same folks say the likes of "Nah, Eastenders? Sure that's fake! If I want real drama, I'd beat my own wife!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Yep add me to that list too.

I'm a grown man and ill be watching it with loads of other grown ups. Some have even taken tomorrow off as a holiday. It's also a 8+ hour drinking session.

Agree though it can be lame but its entertainment. We know its not actually real. What will be real is Brock Lesner f5ing the undertaker through his coffin and that's the bottom line coz BillyMitchel said so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

No one with a life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,349 ✭✭✭OneEightSeven

Mint Sauce wrote: »

Wrestlemania 13 I think.

That was 1993 at WrestleMania 9.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

joe stodge wrote: »
    It's on tonight, who's watching it??
    Pre-pubescent boys, and post-pubescent grown-up boys who really should know better.

I suppose it keeps them away from 'gaming' for a few hours....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

Ah yes, the usual ignorant, condescending bull**** when you tell people you're a wrestling fan.

Movies are fictional, TV shows are fictional, video games etc.

Does it stop people from enjoying them?

Wrestling might be silly, fake etc etc, doesn't stop me from enjoying it.
    endacl wrote: »
    Pre-pubescent boys, and post-pubescent grown-up boys who really should know better.

Nope. I'm 27 with a full time job and a missus. Normal guy, like everyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

endacl wrote: »

What a load of bollox.

Moneymaker wrote: »
    Ah yes, the usual ignorant, condescending bull**** when you tell people you're a wrestling fan.

Exactly, oh look at us, we're such dopes for enjoying something.

edit: anyone watching, join us on the PW forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Is it on at stupid o'clock in the morning ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Used to watch this religiously back in the late 80's as a lad.

But I think McMahon has long since ruined it as a spectacle. They seem to have a major event every six weeks now. Back then it was three or four a year and you made a point of marking each in the calendar.

Just the waiting was enough to drive you up the wall with excitement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I don't judge anyone too harshly :P for watching it but I definitely do not understand the appeal to an adult. If we talk about it as a form of drama, then we have to say that the acting is the worst you will find anywhere. Drama should draw you in, but I couldn't be drawn in by a guy saying in an interview 'I'm gonna give him a truckload of PAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYNNNNNNNEEEEEEE' and then flexing all his muscles (including the ones at the sides of the neck) and gritting his teeth.

Maybe people watch it as a farce?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭DildoFaggins

Well what ye expect from AH its just a bunch of clowns trying to get likes and a thread like this is an easy target.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Id watch it if earthquake, jake the snake roberts and the ultimate warrior were there. And macho man randy savage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 763 ✭✭✭John Cherry

I will be.

I don't judge anyone too harshly :P for watching it but I definitely do not understand the appeal to an adult. If we talk about it as a form of drama, then we have to say that the acting is the worst you will find anywhere. Drama should draw you in, but I couldn't be drawn in by a guy saying in an interview 'I'm gonna give him a truckload of PAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYYNNNNNNNEEEEEEE' and then flexing all his muscles (including the ones at the sides of the neck) and gritting his teeth.

Maybe people watch it as a farce?

It doesn't matter what draws people in really. Tonnes of people enjoy wrestling for what it is. You wouldn't make fun of someone for watching Breaking Bad or Game Of Thrones because at the end of the day, its fiction.

I have no problem with something not liking wrestling because everyone likes different things, but its the people that look down on us which is annoying. DUR YOURE A CHILD YOU LIKE MEN FAKE FIGHTING, yes I do, and I ****ing love it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Id watch it if earthquake, jake the snake roberts and the ultimate warrior were there. And macho man randy savage
    Well Jake and Warrior were at the HoF ceremony last night.. and the others are dead.. close enough? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

Well two of them, Earthquake and Randy Savage, are dead. The other two, Jake and The Warrior, were inducted into the Hall Of Fame last night and will most likely make some sort of appearance on the show tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Whosthis wrote: »
    and will most likely make some sort of appearance on the show tonight.

I'm in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,676 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Come to think of it I did drift back into it briefly about 15 years ago. Round the time when Steve Austin and Mick Foley were in it.

That Foley lad was a proper lunatic. The things he was prepared to do to himself to get the crowd off their seats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭joe stodge

Moneymaker wrote: »

29, married, 2 kids and full time job. Fairly normal, I think.

Would you call anyone who watches the walking dead, game of thrones, braking bad or most other tv series that for liking something fake, because it's all fake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

It doesn't matter what draws people in really. Tonnes of people enjoy wrestling for what it is. You wouldn't make fun of someone for watching Breaking Bad or Game Of Thrones because at the end of the day, its fiction.

I have no problem with something not liking wrestling because everyone likes different things, but its the people that look down on us which is annoying. DUR YOURE A CHILD YOU LIKE MEN FAKE FIGHTING, yes I do, and I ****ing love it.

I didn't call anyone a child?!

I would make fun of people who watch Breaking Bad or Game of Thrones the same way I make fun of everything. Neck muscle spasms aside, are you saying interviews of that tone are not present in this show?

I was actually genuinely interested in what exactly the type of things people enjoy about wrestling. You know if you asked someone why they liked a film or anything really, they would tell you what they liked about it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Wrestlemania is a load of bollox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

It's still real to me,dammit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

You wrestling fans should grow up and start giving out about the government or dole cheats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭Taxburden carrier

Wrestling is real...people are fake !