Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The nearest you have come to death

• 05-04-2014 3:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭WhiteWalls

Had a bad scare on the road this evening, totally my own fault but basically it involved an articulated lorry and me speeding. Just got me thinking, It's not a nice feeling. What was your biggest fright you have got or incident which could have been so much worse?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

Friend shooting me in the head by mistake would come close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

The time I was hit by a speeding van.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,237 ✭✭✭Mr Pseudonym

Free climbing in a quarry while drunk :/ What the fcuk was I thinking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Was too young to remember but when I was less than 3 my parents weren't expecting me to live, yet here I am :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Subarachnoid brain haemorrhage. Very lucky to be alive and even luckier to come out of it with minimal damage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Lack of oxygen, passed out. It really is rather surreal when it happens, not so much a 'tunnel of light' as a vivid kaleidoscope of flashing lights.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

pragmatic1 wrote: »
    Subarachnoid brain haemorrhage. Very lucky to be alive and even luckier to come out of it with minimal damage.

You sure were. My older brother wasn't so lucky he died from one 3 days before his 41st birthday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

I got hit head on by a drunk driver in a Punto of all things. I was driving an Isuzu WFR minibus, one of those things with no bonnet. To this day I don't know how I survived. PSV Inspector couldn't believe neither of us weren't maimed for life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

Twice as a child (18 months and 3 years) i nearly drowned and had to be resuscitated. First time in a duck pond, second in a child's pool.

I was in a car crash when I was 16 that the police said i really had no right to walk away from... I hit a support wall on the overpass of a bridge. The damage alone should have killed us, but if id been a few feet to the right, I'd have crashed through a wooden fence and down a steep embankment onto railway tracks and likely certain death.

I was in a bar in Co.Down when someone was shot dead a few feet from me. I suppose its a stretch to say i nearly died, but it was frightening enough to question my own mortality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭certifiedcrepe

Started hemorrhagging after surgery and I had to be careful to not inhale any blood. So close enough, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

A year ago i was driving to work. I was doing 60mph. Got a blow out and careered into a wall at that speed. Car was destroyed. I was found unconscious in the car. I was rushed to hospital. I gained conconscious again in ambulance but collapsed in hospital again and when i was picked up i saw blood everywhere on ground. I thought it was the end of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

When I was 16 I was in a car crash. Mam was driving me down to Dublin to compete in a tennis tournament when all of a sudden I see this car come out of nowhere towards my side of the car. I remember closing my eyes tight and hoping that I would be ok. Last thing I remember is that. Woke up in hospital 3 days later with multiple broken ribs, a shattered knee and a concussion. Still don't know to this day how I'm alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

62 years old, how near's that ? :)

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Fell out of a big Cypress tree as a kid, I think I was about six. A load of the neighbourhood kids would climb it and there was a group of us there that day. The tree had a kinda gnarled root system above the ground which was all bumpy and pointy. I started climbing the tree, got about 6 foot up and lost my footing. I fell and smacked my head on the roots and it was lights out.

You know the expression "ya wanna wake up with a crowd around ya?" Well that's exactly what happened, I woke up to a load of terrified faces staring at me. Apparently I'd been out for about 5 mins and was a grey colour. They all thought I was dead. They helped me up and as soon as I was standing I realised there was blood pissing out the back of my head and I started howling. By the time we'd walked the 200 or so metres back to my house, my t shirt and shorts were drenched with blood. Luckily my gp was able to stitch me back together so I didn't have to go to the hospital and managed to get away with a concussion and a rather gory hairdo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭How Strange

Getting lost on a mountain in zero visibility and hearing avalanches and not knowing if we were walking into them or away. I made my peace that day and thought that was the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

Crossing a road, Woke up two days later with 15 broken bones and two internal organs removed and almost lost my left leg from the knee down. Apparently a van going 65mph is pretty dangerous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I had a bad accident at work that involved everyone standing around going pale looking at me, just frozen. I managed to snap one lad out of it enough to race me to the hospital to get repaired. A few months later I had to go back and see the consultant and he kinda had a good wander around the visage and goes "Stav, away and do the Lotto, thats the first time I've seen anyone survive that sort of injury, usually, it's fatal. 99.9% of people hit like that die within an hour or two or spend the rest of their days in a coma." Up till then I'd been pretty relaxed about the whole thing. I've been nicknamed "Terminator" behind my back, which gives me a giggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,687 ✭✭✭blacklilly

When I was being born, my mum had to have an emergency c section,we didn't meet each other for 3 days as we were both so sick.

Also nearly drowned in Spain while on holidays when I was 13. Probably the scariest thing I've ever experienced, my survival is thanks to a Scottish gentleman.

And finally, was a passenger in a head on collision with both vehicles doing about 70kmph. Both cars wrecked but all occupants got away with out life changing injuries.

When I was around 7 or 8 I was leaning over a pier to watch a friend climb down into a boat. Guess I must have leaned over too much because I fell head first. It was about a 12-15 foot drop, the tide was out and there was nothing but that boat below me. Had I not been extremely quick thinking and grabbed on to a rope half way down, which I slid down, I would most certainly not be here any more. Of course my hands were sliced almost to pieces.

Another time I was cycling on an extremely narrow road and it was the first time I wore cycling shoes, so I hadn't perfected getting my feet out yet. Up comes this huge lorry and I pull in. Couldn't get my feet out so I lost my balance and fell on to the road. Had I been av few extra inches I really believe my head would have been crushed.

Basically I'm one lucky/unlucky bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

Twice as a child (18 months and 3 years) i nearly drowned and had to be resuscitated. First time in a duck pond, second in a child's pool.

I was in a car crash when I was 16 that the police said i really had no right to walk away from... I hit a support wall on the overpass of a bridge. The damage alone should have killed us, but if id been a few feet to the right, I'd have crashed through a wooden fence and down a steep embankment onto railway tracks and likely certain death.

I was in a bar in Co.Down when someone was shot dead a few feet from me. I suppose its a stretch to say i nearly died, but it was frightening enough to question my own mortality.

Unbreakable!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,468 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    Had a bad scare on the road this evening, totally my own fault but basically it involved an articulated lorry and me speeding. Just got me thinking, It's not a nice feeling. What was your biggest fright you have got or incident which could have been so much worse?

1: Car crash.

Some idiot was driving down wrong side of the road after returning from working abroad for a number of years.

2: Another car crash. In australia with my ex, her driving, when the brakes failed and we rolled right through a stop sign and got hit side on by a truck.

3: Scuba diving. Egypt 3 years ago, especially violent currents. Got pinned underneath overhanging rocks, unable to find regulator that had been ripped from my mouth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

Well, many years ago, The nearest I have come to death was being arrested/imprisoned and falsely accused of something I never done.

I was a bit drunk while walking home, and a garda car pulled up beside me, there were three gardai in the car. They dragged me into the car and brought me to the station and put me in the cell for the night (they never at this time told me why I was being arrested). When I awoke the following morning, they handcuffed me first, and then brought me out to the main desk, but one particular garda laughed at me saying that I was arrested for attempting to rob a petrol pump station (a petrol station in my area that was not open at the time and closes very early) which was absolutely ridiculous, as I told him I never was near this so-called petrol station, but he again laughed and said to me that he knows this, but will have me done for it anyway while still laughing.

This particular garda I found out was living around the corner from my abode at this time, and seemed to have a problem with me for some reason. Maybe because I was going through a very rough time, as I was drinking too much and drunk all the time, but I never, not once ever bothered any persons, as it is not in my nature to do so. I always kept to myself and was a quiet person.

I was brought into court that morning handcuffed. My case came up, and this garda went up to the judge talking to him in his ear and then the judge said one week remanded in custody in mountjoy prison, that was it, and I didn't even have the right to reply. I was brought back to the garda station and put in a cell again until the garda van came to bring me to prison.

By the way, this particular garda personally went to my solicitor with my family after my downfall (following later) and told my family and the solicitor that he made it all up to have me imprisoned to teach me a lesson for being a pain and a drunk all of the time, and that a spell in prison might wake me up and teach me a lesson, and that he was very sorry for this. I could never understand this approach from the garda, and I still don't because there were problems I had personally that I was trying to deal with, but got drunk a few times to erase them.

Anyway, I was forwarded to mountjoy prison at 6pm handcuffed to another prisoner in the van. When we got to this destination I was processed and taken into a waiting room with 6 other guys sitting in a large room. I was called up and was told to take off all of my clothes and then stand on a weighing scales as they were taking weight measurements. The prison gaurd then put on a pair of blue gloves and I got seriously nervous because I heard that they might do a cavity search and this really freaked me out, but the prison gaurd put me at ease as they just use the gloves to search through your clothes.

After this I was sent to the shower to wash and then was given a prison uniform and forwarded to the cell-block. It was most definitely a strange experience for me that's for sure. I was put into a cell with this one guy for the evening and night and then tried to relax, as they didn't have a bed in this cell I had to sleep on a mattress. Come lights out while looking at a slop bucket only, no toilet obviously, I tried to sleep, but all of a sudden I heard my cell-mate making noises and I just pretended to be asleep. He was masturbating loudly just beside me and I just said feck this I'll pretend to be asleep, and eventually I fell asleep thankfully.

The next day I was informed that I will be moved to a double cell that already held 3 prisoners and of which has a spare bed, as they couldn't have me sleeping on the ground. At this time things went seriously bad.

When I was sent to the new cell that evening, I was given my bed and was told where I need to shave and use a bucket. The three guys that I was now sharing this cell with seemed ok and didn't bother me at this time. One was in for life for murder, the other guy was in for kidnapping miss Ireland (not sure if that was actually true but it probably was as that was what he told me) and the other third guy was in for armed robbery. So I was basically put into a cell with seriously hardened criminals and I was a bit worried.

Two days went by and this prison gaurd kept coming in and talking and whispering to the other 3 prisoners I shared the cell with all the time but I obviously walked out of the cell and walked around for a while, I came back to the cell a few minutes later and there was a news paper on my bed so I picked it up and read it, after that it was lock-down for a while until we were allowed out again into the main hall to watch a crime film of all things. I picked my seat and watched the movie and then we were sent back to the cell for the night with a cup of tea and a scone-bun.

At this stage while the four of us were in the cell, the guy that was in for murder (he was a british guy) showed me his paintings, they were amazing and artistically excellent but they were of demons and devils of apocalypse, but they were astonishingly painted to perfection, he obviously had a talent. After showing me these paintings the other 2 guys sat down at the table and told me that the screw "as they say" (prison officer) that kept coming in all the time lived in the estate where I was from, and that he wanted them to slice my face with the razor blades he gave them. Well at this stage locked in a cell with this information was unnerving to say the least, I felt I was in a very serious situation at this stage.

They all said that the prison officer had it in for me and wanted them to slash me up good, so things got a bit heated as I was getting really afraid at this stage. They said that they once slashed a prisoner like me to bits in the face before and left him lying in a pool of blood. Now I was bricking it but I'm not sure if they were serious or not in relation to this other guy but It got me going. At this stage I just said to them that I cannot do anything either way so just go ahead and get it over with. Luckily for me when I said this, they said no, they won't mess me up, but I was still really freaked out when lights went out that night.

They were on medication and they fell asleep hours later, my brain was going one thousand percent with paranoid thoughts and I needed to get out of there immediately, I already had a problem before I was sent to this kip and so decided out of extreme panic to rip my white bed-sheets in long strips and make a noose and tie it to the ceiling metal light socket and around my neck, when I managed to do this tight and solid, I jumped off the table I had moved and that was it, all I heard was a crack. I only remember being told what happened after that by the prison officer that saved my life. No-one knows how long I was hanging there for. I was in intensive care for many days and was finally released from hospital 4 weeks later.I do remember waking up for a few seconds and saw two priests sitting on chairs beside my bed and then I lost conciousness, it was strange.

All this over a false imprisonment. Well the lesson was learned the wrong way. I never claimed for wrongful imprisonment, Not after death threats. The prison governor said I should never have been put in there in the first place. The garda that falsely claimed I done wrong acknowledged he made it up to my solicitor and to my family. I got a death threat there-after and so just went on with life and forgot about it.

If you have made it this far readin, then fair play to ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

I was in recovery after minor surgery when suddenly I just couldn't breath. My throat was inflamed from the breathing tube and basically a big wad of blood and mucus got lodged in my throat.

I remember the initial panic I felt and then everything went white. I could hear alarms going off in the background and nurses calling my name but it was distant, like hearing it from underwater.

I felt really calm and just said to myself "so this is it. I'm dying"

I wasn't scared, just sad that my daughter would grow up without me.

Anyway they suctioned out whatever was stuck and I'm still here.

I'm not afraid of dying though. It seems pretty peaceful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

@zenno

Wow what a story , bunch of scum bags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    Something similar going about 60 mph on a country road came around a bend and a lorry at the wrong side of the road no abs and a few seconds seemed an eternity from the time I saw the lorry until I stopped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

Bloody hell Zenno, do you see the guard who set you up or the prison warden? What a horrendous situation. You should have taken the bastards to the cleaners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Real Life

Had bowel surgery to repair something that almost killed me in the first place, after the surgery there was complications straight away, i eventually collapsed and the realized i was bleeding internally.
    Brought back in for more surgery and all my family were called. Couldn't eat or drink for 3 weeks and couldn't even walk on my own for a few weeks after. So that was close enough i suppose. The doctors coming around every day pleading with me to fight made it all more real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Zenno ..Your story has left me dumbfounded...What a nightmare..I hope karma kicks it at some stage..Thanks for sharing it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31 vellakare

A car accident in Asia. I was conscious all through the accident. I was passenger in the back seat, and as the driver was a tall scouser, 22 years old and something of a dumb boy racer, I had to sit cross legged.

He was driving at 110kmh over speed ramps, and we kept urging him to slow down. This merely served to make him more daring. It was also monsoon rain. Ahead we saw traffic lights and he swerved to avoid hitting the row of cars preparing to turn left. He swerved and struck a Mercedes, incidentally owned by a High Court Judge.

The car spun 3 times, and came to a dead stop. The impact had pushed his seat back and smashed my upper right leg. I tried to escape the car only to find my leg was a mangled mess.

I was brought to Hospital to be operated on, where they inserted a metal rod to repair the damage. That was April 13th 2001. I've never forgotten that horrible night, and if there is a sudden maneouvre on the roads, even 13 years later I get flashbacks. Because I was conscious and sober all through the entire episode.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭Un Croissant

Permanent damage after a serious car crash years ago. Before that me and a few friends ran down from the top of Croagh Patrick. Only years later did I realise how little control I had running among the rocks and if one of us fell we were gone.

Bloody hell Zenno, do you see the guard who set you up or the prison warden? What a horrendous situation. You should have taken the bastards to the cleaners.

I couldn't, because I got a death threat and it was serious so for the safety and well-being of myself and family I decided that it was not worth it. Unfortunately this was my decision. My case is still on record, but I will not touch it with a barge-pole. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

To name but a few... car crash on St. Stephens day when I was 17 that by anyone's account I should never have walked away from - as it was it blinded me for three months. Avalanche when climbing in the alps that stopped just shy of suffocating me completely, had we been a few metres higher we wouldn't have been so lucky. And a stint working overseas in a war-zone where there were quite a few evenings I felt very lucky to be seeing the sun setting.

mike_ie wrote: »
    To name but a few... car crash on St. Stephens day when I was 17 that by anyone's account I should never have walked away from - as it was it blinded me for three months. Avalanche when climbing in the alps that stopped just shy of suffocating me completely, had we been a few metres higher we wouldn't have been so lucky. And a stint working overseas in a war-zone where there were quite a few evenings I felt very lucky to be seeing the sun setting.

That is one that really freaks me out... being solidly stuck under an Avalanche. Quite frightening indeed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

zenno wrote: »
    That is one that really freaks me out... being solidly stuck under an Avalanche. Quite frightening indeed.

Yeah, it's certainly not like how it's depicted in the movies. Was climbing in the alps with my girlfriend at the time - a group of climbers higher up triggered it I think... But it was at night so we couldn't see it - all we could hear is the sound of what I imagine being in the middle of a thunderstorm is like, followed by wht being in the middle of a washing machine must be like. The snow isn't the fluffy snowman-building kind of stuff either - it sets as hard as concrete in about a minute if you can't make as much effort as possible to get out immediately... Not a recommended experience.

Nothing too serious, but this happened a few days ago, he had all four wheels on the wrong side of the road!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

House fire. I jolted awake from a very deep sleep (don't know how) to a blaze in the hallway and after letting out a roar the like of which I have never heard before, and trying to put it out with a saucepan of water :o, I copped on and managed to get me and my then boyfriend out, and wake the upstairs neighbours and get them out via their windowsills. Building was gutted. I was high as a kite for a week or so. Mad buzz, that adrenalin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

zenno, what a horrible abuse of power. If that happened to me. I would have marched into the Department of Justice and demanded to see the minister or senior civil servant. I wouldn't have stopped until the Guards in question were dismissed and I would have used the media to keep the pressure on. Crazy stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 alrightso

Meningitis, spent 4 months in hospital with it, was lucky to escape without permanent damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Dramatik

I once fell backwards off a 15ft drop and landed upsidedown with all my weight on the back of my head/neck area onto concrete. No idea how I survived, I should have been paralised at the very least. Woke up a few mintutes later and stumbled away with a bad concussion.

"I got knocked the fug out maaan!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Ulnar

Full Placental haemorraghe caused by complete Placenta Previa. For 6 weeks I was on hospital bed rest with daily canula's inserted to keep veins open. Junior dr decided I didn't need canula in so removed it, 2hrs later I stand up and haemorraghe so much blood that midwife begins to start crying.

Rushed to theatre and have two Drs try put needles in my neck, toes, arms, behind knees to find a vein but no luck so they gave up and began to perform c-section without any sedation/pain relief. They figured I'd be shock so wouldn't really remember, low and behold they start cutting and I start chatting away to them, had conversations with NICU team, nurses etc. Surgeon operating told them to give me anything to shut me up, nothing worked till I got a hefty dose of ketamine, eyes closed, heard 'thank **** she's stopped'. Only for me to start yapping again in semi conscious state.

Had visits from all staff in the op room whilst in recovery to say it was the freakiest thing they've witnessed me yapping away, surgeon losing the plot because they couldn't sedate me.

He later told me that I had less than 4mins from when I first started to haemorraghe. Thankfully still here with a gorgeous lil boy to tell the story :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Slider hangup malfunction when parachuting which prevented my main canopy from inflating completely.

I had to cut away the main canopy mid-drop & deploy my reserve...definately a brown trouser moment :eek:

zenno, what a horrible abuse of power. If that happened to me. I would have marched into the Department of Justice and demanded to see the minister or senior civil servant. I wouldn't have stopped until the Guards in question were dismissed and I would have used the media to keep the pressure on. Crazy stuff.

I agree with you, but under the circumstances at the time of happening I was dealing with a death threat and other family issues and was just not capable of dealing with it. It's a while ago now and the guard that admitted he made a false claim against me was genuinely sorry. I know this is not right but the man has a family and I didn't want to wreak it for him.

Sh!t happened, It doesn't bother me anymore. I see no reason to destroy a mans life for a bad mistake. He got a second chance, life goes on. I just added my story/experience as it happened at the time, I have no ill feelings to this day, things are OK/better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭mrkiscool2

I agree with you, but under the circumstances at the time of happening I was dealing with a death threat and other family issues and was just not capable of dealing with it. It's a while ago now and the guard that admitted he made a false claim against me was genuinely sorry. I know this is not right but the man has a family and I didn't want to wreak it for him.

Sh!t happened, It doesn't bother me anymore. I see no reason to destroy a mans life for a bad mistake. He got a second chance, life goes on. I just added my story/experience as it happened at the time, I have no ill feelings to this day, things are OK/better.
    Man, from the sounds of things life really kicked you in the balls, but you kept going, forgave the guy who wronged you and made things better for yourself. If that isn't the way people should live life I don't know what is. Fair play to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Well, many years ago, The nearest I have come to death was being arrested/imprisoned and falsely accused of something I never done.

I was a bit drunk while walking home, and a garda car pulled up beside me, there were three gardai in the car. They dragged me into the car and brought me to the station and put me in the cell for the night (they never at this time told me why I was being arrested). When I awoke the following morning, they handcuffed me first, and then brought me out to the main desk, but one particular garda laughed at me saying that I was arrested for attempting to rob a petrol pump station (a petrol station in my area that was not open at the time and closes very early) which was absolutely ridiculous, as I told him I never was near this so-called petrol station, but he again laughed and said to me that he knows this, but will have me done for it anyway while still laughing.

This particular garda I found out was living around the corner from my abode at this time, and seemed to have a problem with me for some reason. Maybe because I was going through a very rough time, as I was drinking too much and drunk all the time, but I never, not once ever bothered any persons, as it is not in my nature to do so. I always kept to myself and was a quiet person.

I was brought into court that morning handcuffed. My case came up, and this garda went up to the judge talking to him in his ear and then the judge said one week remanded in custody in mountjoy prison, that was it, and I didn't even have the right to reply. I was brought back to the garda station and put in a cell again until the garda van came to bring me to prison.

By the way, this particular garda personally went to my solicitor with my family after my downfall (following later) and told my family and the solicitor that he made it all up to have me imprisoned to teach me a lesson for being a pain and a drunk all of the time, and that a spell in prison might wake me up and teach me a lesson, and that he was very sorry for this. I could never understand this approach from the garda, and I still don't because there were problems I had personally that I was trying to deal with, but got drunk a few times to erase them.

Anyway, I was forwarded to mountjoy prison at 6pm handcuffed to another prisoner in the van. When we got to this destination I was processed and taken into a waiting room with 6 other guys sitting in a large room. I was called up and was told to take off all of my clothes and then stand on a weighing scales as they were taking weight measurements. The prison gaurd then put on a pair of blue gloves and I got seriously nervous because I heard that they might do a cavity search and this really freaked me out, but the prison gaurd put me at ease as they just use the gloves to search through your clothes.

After this I was sent to the shower to wash and then was given a prison uniform and forwarded to the cell-block. It was most definitely a strange experience for me that's for sure. I was put into a cell with this one guy for the evening and night and then tried to relax, as they didn't have a bed in this cell I had to sleep on a mattress. Come lights out while looking at a slop bucket only, no toilet obviously, I tried to sleep, but all of a sudden I heard my cell-mate making noises and I just pretended to be asleep. He was masturbating loudly just beside me and I just said feck this I'll pretend to be asleep, and eventually I fell asleep thankfully.

The next day I was informed that I will be moved to a double cell that already held 3 prisoners and of which has a spare bed, as they couldn't have me sleeping on the ground. At this time things went seriously bad.

When I was sent to the new cell that evening, I was given my bed and was told where I need to shave and use a bucket. The three guys that I was now sharing this cell with seemed ok and didn't bother me at this time. One was in for life for murder, the other guy was in for kidnapping miss Ireland (not sure if that was actually true but it probably was as that was what he told me) and the other third guy was in for armed robbery. So I was basically put into a cell with seriously hardened criminals and I was a bit worried.

Two days went by and this prison gaurd kept coming in and talking and whispering to the other 3 prisoners I shared the cell with all the time but I obviously walked out of the cell and walked around for a while, I came back to the cell a few minutes later and there was a news paper on my bed so I picked it up and read it, after that it was lock-down for a while until we were allowed out again into the main hall to watch a crime film of all things. I picked my seat and watched the movie and then we were sent back to the cell for the night with a cup of tea and a scone-bun.

At this stage while the four of us were in the cell, the guy that was in for murder (he was a british guy) showed me his paintings, they were amazing and artistically excellent but they were of demons and devils of apocalypse, but they were astonishingly painted to perfection, he obviously had a talent. After showing me these paintings the other 2 guys sat down at the table and told me that the screw "as they say" (prison officer) that kept coming in all the time lived in the estate where I was from, and that he wanted them to slice my face with the razor blades he gave them. Well at this stage locked in a cell with this information was unnerving to say the least, I felt I was in a very serious situation at this stage.

They all said that the prison officer had it in for me and wanted them to slash me up good, so things got a bit heated as I was getting really afraid at this stage. They said that they once slashed a prisoner like me to bits in the face before and left him lying in a pool of blood. Now I was bricking it but I'm not sure if they were serious or not in relation to this other guy but It got me going. At this stage I just said to them that I cannot do anything either way so just go ahead and get it over with. Luckily for me when I said this, they said no, they won't mess me up, but I was still really freaked out when lights went out that night.

They were on medication and they fell asleep hours later, my brain was going one thousand percent with paranoid thoughts and I needed to get out of there immediately, I already had a problem before I was sent to this kip and so decided out of extreme panic to rip my white bed-sheets in long strips and make a noose and tie it to the ceiling metal light socket and around my neck, when I managed to do this tight and solid, I jumped off the table I had moved and that was it, all I heard was a crack. I only remember being told what happened after that by the prison officer that saved my life. No-one knows how long I was hanging there for. I was in intensive care for many days and was finally released from hospital 4 weeks later.I do remember waking up for a few seconds and saw two priests sitting on chairs beside my bed and then I lost conciousness, it was strange.

All this over a false imprisonment. Well the lesson was learned the wrong way. I never claimed for wrongful imprisonment, Not after death threats. The prison governor said I should never have been put in there in the first place. The garda that falsely claimed I done wrong acknowledged he made it up to my solicitor and to my family. I got a death threat there-after and so just went on with life and forgot about it.

If you have made it this far readin, then fair play to ye.

Wow Zenno some story. Im surprised you haven't taken it further with these scumbags. You never know what could be on the tape recordings......... Just saying!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭Mr. Nice

@zenno. Good story but some parts just don't seem believable.
    A judge remanded you in custody with no evidence, no solicitor and no opportunity to give your version of events?

Bad/unfortunate things happen in a lot of peoples lives, you just sit back for a long time and ponder on it, and going forward in relation to a personal issue like my previous one here, you just let it go and there is no further damage to anyone if you can manage to put it aside and carry on.

In all respects, I see things differently, and calculate if something can be beneficial or too negative in a personal issue. So I choose the right format for myself in how to manage and forget certain situations.

This was affecting me personally, and not a larger group, so I let it go for the sake of peace.

Mr. Nice wrote: »
    @zenno. Good story but some parts just don't seem believable.
    A judge remanded you in custody with no evidence, no solicitor and no opportunity to give your version of events?

That is entirely correct. I spent quite a while making sure I made the correct post before posting. This is the truth. It was a fare few years ago as I have mentioned.

If you read back to my post regarding the garda whispering to the judge, this is when I was sent down without a say. This is the truth.

Anyway, let us not focus on my old issue. I don't want to get into a debate on it, I just forwarded my own personal experience to the thread for the thread thats all, but what I have said in detail is the truth and 100% correct.

EDIT: Just for clarification, I was held in the very far back of the court handcuffed instead of the front of the court, as this was odd within itself. The particular garda made a long comment to the judge with microphone off. After that the judge said remanded in custody for one week, and that was it, I was carted off immediately. I wasn't fully aware of my rights back then, but I sure as hell am aware of them now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

In my early teens I was in hospital for a week for surgery. The nurse wouldn't believe me when I told her that the amount of medication that they were giving me for my Epilepsy was wrong, they were giving me too little. A couple of days after being discharged I woke up knowing I was just about to have a seizure. 2 days later I woke up in Galway Regional Hospital not knowing where I was or what day it was.

Apparently I'd gone into Status Epilepticus, which is basically having 1 seizure after another after another etc, and if you don't get to a hospital for treatment it can kill you. I had to be driven to Galway and threw up on and off, I don't remember anything after waking up that morning before the 1st seizure, never have remembered anything about it.

Scared the crap out of me and left me with agoraphobia and anxiety attacks for a good while after that. Now I bring my own medications whenever I'm in hospital and insist on being given my own meds, at least they can read the prescription on the box and I can prove I'm right in the case of fcuk ups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Diagnosed with oesophageal cancer in 2006, had the chemo, married and then the surgery a few weeks later. Post surgery I got double pneumonia and mu kidneys ended up failing for a while, was on dialysis and I ended up needing to be ressusitated 3 times. When they told me afterwards that my near death experience was not my imagination but real I was upset for a while but thankfully past the 5 years now and have 2 young children.

CathyMoran wrote: »
    Diagnosed with oesophageal cancer in 2006, had the chemo, married and then the surgery a few weeks later. Post surgery I got double pneumonia and mu kidneys ended up failing for a while, was on dialysis and I ended up needing to be ressusitated 3 times. When they told me afterwards that my near death experience was not my imagination but real I was upset for a while but thankfully past the 5 years now and have 2 young children.

Excellent. This is what I love to hear. A person that fights it strongly to the end and comes up trumps. Great stuff indeed.