Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best April Fools Jokes

• 31-03-2014 8:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭

What's the best April fools joke that has ever been played on you / you played on someone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Fake winning Euro millions numbers. Their face when I said April Fools!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

went to the store and bought a bottle of apple soda, wen't back home and said 'april fools' to myself and then went back and changed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Never in the history of mankind has there been a funny April fool's joke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

A proposed pedestrian toll bridge in Cork one year - it was on local news. The rage was hilarious. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

This.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

I once got a can of my dads beer from the fridge and brought it to a paint shop, left it in the paint mixing machine (not poured the whole can with lid on into it but put straight in the machine) for about 4 hours then put it back in the fridge and waited for dad to open the can and jump out and say april fool!as it splashed all over him.

sadly things went horribly wrong, I only got as far as "april fooo" and the explosion blew the roof off the house :( . much hillarity did ensue however when the pressure of the beer that came out of the chimney after the explosion was enough to have the attending officer get out of his car to persue on foot with his mouth open.

Quite alot of the beer got in his eye so he had to go to hospital by ambulance. you would think the fun for the day was over oh no...
    on the way the ambulance crashed into a tree and sent dads stretcher down over the cliff behind the ambulance, an helicopter was called to get him up again with his stretcher strapped underneath, but as luck would have it when it was put back into the ambulance the ambulance crashed into the tree directly in front of it and off dad went backwards out of the ambulance against to the bottom of the jagged rock cliff face with the stretcher eventually catching up and landing on his face as he was facedown at the bottom. poor dad :(

I was only joking :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

This.

Ah jeez, at least get the colour right :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

B*gger. I won't tell you how long I spent at that, Backwards Man :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Ah jeez, at least get the colour right :p
    I'm on the dark theme, I can't see the blues properly!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 278 ✭✭cailinardthair

kneemos wrote: »
    Never in the history of mankind has there been a funny April fool's joke.

Ah the one Gerry Ryan pulled a couple of years ago about The Spire rusting and then everybody ringing into Joe Duffy after his show giving out saying they knew it would happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

"Hey Johnny!"

"What?"

"Your shoelaces are untied"

"No they're not!"

"Haha April Fools! Hahahaha"

Stupid kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,454 ✭✭✭bogwalrus

yeah i'm looking for a good one to play on my girlfriend tonight after 12.

Thinking of telling her the wedding venue I booked in France emailed saying they have to cancel our wedding for that weekend due to structural damage to the chateau. I think she would have a heart attack.

bogwalrus wrote: »

Thinking of telling her the wedding venue I booked in France emailed saying they have to cancel our wedding for that weekend due to structural damage to the chateau. I think she would have a heart attack.

can I have a seat and watch that one play out? what could possibly go wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Last year my kids had concert tickets to Olly Murs. I replaced the tickets with old ones in the envelope and accidently threw them into the stove when cleaning up. They start shouting at me as they were going in but i left them in long enough so they were completely unrecognizable when i fished them out. Cue kids crying their eyes out but feck it, i had my fun anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Roguee

you should have the webcam on on your computer or try to record it on your phone :D

Roguee wrote: »
    you should have the webcam on on your computer or try to record it on your phone :D

I'll give that a go actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Obliq

I'm thinking your wedding will be properly cancelled if you try that mate! Let's hope the joke won't be on you in the end.......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

I rang a mate/lad I work with and said I had broken down, bring a tow-rope to the back-ar5e of nowhere where I am stranded. He headed off, tow rope in boot, to my "rescue". When he'd gone out of sight, I nipped up to his house and whipped his tractor - I parked it behind one of our big sheds, well hidden. He rang me about 40 minutes later asking where the fcuk I was, he got the whole "ha-gotcha, April Fool" routine -he was well chuffed..ish.

Then he rang again about an hour later asking had I seen his tractor, sounding paniky- I said yeah, I'd seen his brother drive off in it about 30 minutes earlier. He replied that his brother was at work and it hadn't been him. Cue a "hot pursuit" after the stolen tractor. I had some toast and a coffee. After about three hours I dropped the tractor back and snuck home. Never mentioned it again. Nor did he, but he was sniffy for a week or two..eventually he laughed as well.

This year, I reckon he's gonna set my roof on fire and have a bear-trap at the front door for when I run out. Or a landmine.. It's feckin fraught, this April Fools lark.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

Told my son he was adopted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

More fun when you tell somebody else's son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

That's funny in fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

Ah the one Gerry Ryan pulled a couple of years ago about The Spire rusting and then everybody ringing into Joe Duffy after his show giving out saying they knew it would happen!

Remember this, it was class. The reason it was rusting was because people were peeing on it on way home from night out. People rang up in outrage over the waste of public money!! Nearly crashed the car listening to it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

The year I told my 10 year old niece I was bringing her for ice cream, but instead I smashed her in the face with a cricket bat.

Lols were had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

When I was 15 I told my parents I was pregnant.

They never saw the funny side of it.

When I was 15 I told my parents I was pregnant.

They never saw the funny side of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Not an April fool's joke, but related..

Doing maintenance in a factory, and one of the two Managing Director's was known to be a miserable hoor. So much so that he spent one saturday morning cleaning the windows of his own factory, rather than employ a contractor. This saturday was also april fools day..

So our hero is up the ladder, polishing away when he slips, falls and breaks a leg. Security guard cops him lying on the ground and rushes over. After making a call to get him to hospital, he decides to ring the other MD and let him know what's happened.

"Just had to let you know (name) fell off the ladder, he's gone up the hospital to get an xray done"

"Don't be trying any fcukin april fools jokes on me, I'm not that stupid" was the reply :D

I rang a mate/lad I work with and said I had broken down, bring a tow-rope to the back-ar5e of nowhere where I am stranded. He headed off, tow rope in boot, to my "rescue". When he'd gone out of sight, I nipped up to his house and whipped his tractor - I parked it behind one of our big sheds, well hidden. He rang me about 40 minutes later asking where the fcuk I was, he got the whole "ha-gotcha, April Fool" routine -he was well chuffed..ish.

Then he rang again about an hour later asking had I seen his tractor, sounding paniky- I said yeah, I'd seen his brother drive off in it about 30 minutes earlier. He replied that his brother was at work and it hadn't been him. Cue a "hot pursuit" after the stolen tractor. I had some toast and a coffee. After about three hours I dropped the tractor back and snuck home. Never mentioned it again. Nor did he, but he was sniffy for a week or two..eventually he laughed as well.

This year, I reckon he's gonna set my roof on fire and have a bear-trap at the front door for when I run out. Or a landmine.. It's feckin fraught, this April Fools lark.

thin feckin line in fairness, you better hope you dont EVER need him to pick you up when you actually break down in middle of nowhere

or his tractor..

The Boss of a local engineering works got a new BMW - a big, shiny X5. One of the messers in the workshop borrowed his keys from his secretary, wound down the passenger window, threw a handful of broken car-window glass (from an old wreck) onto the seat and footwell and ran in to the Boss, apologising profusely for one of the apprentices hitting the window with a length of steel.

The Boss threw a wobbler, and messer then rang the local BMW dealer (a half-hours drive away) in front of him, pleading with them to fit new glass that day for Boss-man. Bossman heads off in a right huff to the dealer, and messer rings the dealer to fill them in. Cold, pi55ed off Boss arrives at dealer and lowly apprentice gets sent out to press the button for the window and wind it back up. Oh.the.Lols..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

This.
    You seem to have forgot the ink:confused:Ha ha very clever you backwards rekoj you.
    See how many clever clogs jump on my post to point out my completely missing the joke. Hope the text stays white on the mobile site Roll on the April abuse : p

MS.ing wrote: »
    thin feckin line in fairness, you better hope you dont EVER need him to pick you up when you actually break down in middle of nowhere

or his tractor..
    He's my best mate :D and he'd do it to me in a blink and has done. He still gets done over every april fools though. :) Never learns.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The best one i ever did as part of a team was take the engine out of a work colleagues car, took a couple of hours work and some logistics but was some laugh to see him in the evening trying to start the car and burst altogether when he popped the bonnet and out flew helium balloons we had put into the engine bay, he got so disorientated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

The sprite and soy sauce one seems pretty evil and easy. Imagine that on a hangover

http://prankked.com/how-to-pranks/the-shower-prank/
    Might try this one hehehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭yellowlabrador

i don't know if it's possible with the Euro notes, but with the old notes, you'd have different signatures on same value notes, depending when they were issued. All you'd do is tell people that a particular signature was sign of a fake note.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Last year or the year before there was a piece on the paper about every household would have to put an emission tester on their chimneys. I know a woman that was still giving out about it a month later, she still thought it was gospel even after being told it was an April fools joke :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Last year or the year before there was a piece on the paper about every household would have to put an emission tester on their chimneys. I know a woman that was still giving out about it a month later, she still thought it was gospel even after being told it was an April fools joke :D

It's mundanely possible that it fails to be a joke. Unless people are made to bellieve something outlandish, then the april fools attempt itself is pathetic.

I dunno, there is a maths equation in there somewhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭lego101

Good effort haha!

The face on her when the first started to read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I presume (fervently hope) the Gmail "Shelfie" thing is an April Fool's, aye?

Best April Fool's I ever pulled was when I was responsible for sending the emails to the Chess Society in NUIG - sent out an email saying that owing to complaints from the Feminist Society, I was no longer allowed to write the emails. Fooled quite a few people with that one, and received about thirty messages complaining about the decision.
    Maybe you had to be there, but I had my fun...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

One year I managed to convince my dad he was colourblind. He believed it the whole day too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

As much as I like Neil "don't touch that knob" Prendeville he played a blinder this day 4 years ago. 96FM has a cash call competition every hour, they announce a number between 1 and 99 and if they call you and you repeat it you get a a grand.
    This hour he was dialing the number and he said out loud "hmm this looks familiar...", played out it was his brother who handn't heard the number and was asking for clues, which they never give bar the original announcement. It plays out something like:

Neil:'We're looking for the number?'
    Brother: 'Neil? Is that you, ha mad, I wasn;t listening sure you know I'm busy during the day'
    Neil: ' have a guess'
    Brother: 'give me a clue .. is it bigger than my door number?'
    Neil: 'Ah I can't say ... ah go on, it is'

Anyway it plays out the number was the same as their parents' house which he then guesses and he wins the money. Callers went mental, solicitor offices threatening legal action and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

One time this guy who was running a website pretended he was going to become a politician and force all the politicians to join his website :pac:

Well that was a bit of a pericombobulated contrafibularity:confused:
    AH is phrasmotic today.

wil wrote: »
    Well that was a bit of a pericombobulated contrafibularity:confused:
    AH is phrasmotic today.

it rectinally is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭despot

I'm not very creative, last year I screencapped my sisters desktop, set it as her wallpaper, hid her icons and locked the taskbar. She was very, very angry.

This year I just installed this on her computer
    https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/ngabe/phnolnbbnckmodicelojmekngegnpkca?hl=en
    Nic Cage is overdone.

I have other siblings but her short fuse and inability to google her tech problems make it so much more satisfying.

You'd have to admit this one in todays Irish Times was funny even if not that believable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

wil wrote: »
    You'd have to admit this one in todays Irish Times was funny even if not that believable.
    The shame! And all over a free cock ring. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

The other half got me this morning saying there was unexpected money in her bank account. Then proceeds to "ring" her bank to be told there was a transfer from the revenue.

She had me thinking she had unexpectedly got a large amount of tax back and I was getting a holiday :(