Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

is porn really that bad for us?

• 30-03-2014 3:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

well, is internet porn bad for our minds and will my generation suffer from fewer boners as a result?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Any excess of anything is bad for you really. If you're going to be mashing yourself to a pulp 3+ times a day over unrealistic pictures, obviously it's going to start to affect your sexual encounters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

unrealistic?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,518 ✭✭✭stefan idiot jones

Only if you get caught.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭AlanS181824

Everything in moderation my friend :)

Cydoniac wrote: »
    mashing yourself to a pulp

If you're lasting that long you're doing it wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

One sec.. *zip*

What's the your question?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Any opinion of your own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

no i quite enjoy it, especially latina and inter-racial porno.
    i'm a great man for the facials as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Before the internet became widescale males would pump off to womens magazines and shopping catalogues, there's no harm in it at all. It's natural instinct for a male Homo sapien to work the flute and pleasure himself.

Women folk likewise. :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Before the internet became widescale males would pump off to womens magazines and shopping catalogues, there's no harm in it at all. It's natural instinct for a male Homo sapien to work the flute and pleasure himself.

Women folk likewise. :eek:
    ^^^^^^^^
    Appropriate user name :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

carzony wrote: »
    well, is internet porn bad for our minds and will my generation suffer from fewer boners as a result?

Not at all.

Dogs and cats will have sex with each other, and your penii will fall off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Sure who says it is bad for us, let everyone make their own minds up on whether they want to watch porn or not.

Too many busybodies in the world telling others what to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

In excess, yes. Porn addiction is becoming fairly common.

In general, no. Sure who doesn't like a bit of porn? :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

I have a mate called Tommy who is constantly Tommy Tanking. He is addicted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

It only becomes a problem when you're flogging the log to porn 24/7, rather than engaging in real sex. Every now in again is grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭Larry Wildman

I reckon that it is harmful (unless it's in moderation).

Teenagers now think that porn is a realistic depiction of sex.

There's a generation of males and females coming up that remove all of their pubic hair (males and females) and that think that anal sex is absolutely plain vanilla and straightforward.

I'd also be concerned at how young men view young women given how they're depicted in porn.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

There's a generation of males and females coming up that remove all of their pubic hair (males and females) and that think that anal sex is absolutely plain vanilla and straightforward.

I'd also be concerned at how young men view young women given how they're depicted in porn.

Very conservative views from someone called Larry Wildman it must be said :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

trouble is there is loads out there to view ,landed on boy-boy must have been the highlight of the show must have been 20 men having a good time:eek::pac: all the others were showing a picture of remote control or gone off air:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

That's down to terrible sex education.

It's not the fault of the porn; it's that there's nothing to balance it.
    People get weird notions about their bodies and how sex works even without porn if you don't explain it to them at some stage.

We never had sex education in my school that wasn't anti-abortion propaganda or scare-stories about stds and this was 2003-2008.
    Christ knows what absolute bollocks I believe about sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭Setun

^Yes to the above^

I think it's pretty feasible (if not certain) that porn creates an image of what 'real sex' looks like for teenagers who are not sexually active yet. For the vast majority of teens, it's much easier for them to log on to a porn site to 'educate' themselves than it is to have a nice cup of tea and a sit down with their parents for 'the chat'. And let's face it, not very many of them are going to go and hunt for porn that has a more nuanced understanding of gender politics ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 410 ✭✭CK73

I think certain genre of porn is not that healthy. As in back in my day (I'm getting on a bit), anal was not something most people did. It was classed as deviant and not really talked about. Now nearly every porn clip on the net includes anal and for the young people who are often introduced to sex via porn it is now an expectation and girls think it is something they should do.

Personally I'm not sure that is a good thing, as it is one of those sexual acts that needs to be done with great care and does not suit everyone and if done too much, can lead to problems in later life, as the anus is not designed to have things go up it. It is also more likely to lead to an STI if a condom breaks etc, as the walls are very thin and prone to breaking.

So I suppose in terms of expectations, it isn't always great, but porn in general I don't think is a problem at all, apart from what has been said before, where someone watches it so often, they become dependent on it in order to achieve their goal. When that happens the idea of having straight sex with a lady and no other stimulus goes out the window and can that be a good thing?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Mr Blobby wrote: »
    One sec.. *zip*

What's the your question?

J Cloth, wipe screen. What was that again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

...It's natural instinct for a male Homo sapien to work the flute and pleasure himself...

A comment that even James Galway himself would be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

There's a generation of males and females coming up that remove all of their pubic hair (males and females)

Much like the generations before who removed their facial hair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭porsche959

FWIW:
    Pornography Happens to Women

by Andrea Dworkin

Copyright © 1993, 1994 by Andrea Dworkin.
    All rights reserved.
    [Andrea Dworkin delivered this speech at a conference entitled "Speech, Equality and Harm: Feminist Legal Perspectives on Pornography and Hate Propaganda" at the University of Chicago Law School March 6, 1993.]

http://www.nostatusquo.com/ACLU/dworkin/PornHappens.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭hsianloon

As a right handed person, it has helped me develop a degree of ambidexterity.

Gbear wrote: »
    Christ knows what absolute bollocks I believe about sex.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jpNZTv6Dayo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

porsche959 wrote: »

'Men use sex to hurt us.'

Fcuk sake.

Here's the thing - us women aren't all delicate little flowers that only like missionary position. Sometimes, some of us like being objectified sexually by the person we're with.

Men are objectified in porn too. Plenty of dom/sub porn with the women as the dominant partner out there.

Yes, porn can give young people unrealistic expectations. No denying that. It can also be fun, give people new ideas for things to try, and, like anything you see on tv that is fictional, should be taken with a large pinch of salt.

If a woman or a man doesn't like something, they have the ability to say no.

Most of my exes were obsessed with the idea of anal, presumably due to porn. I tried it, didn't enjoy kit, so refuse to do it. Only one person has had a problem with me saying no, and he wasn't worth my time anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

hsianloon wrote: »
    As a right handed person, it has helped me develop a degree of ambidexterity.

I laughed too much. :D

Men are objectified in porn too. Plenty of dom/sub porn with the women as the dominant partner out there.

Yes although to be fair to Dworkin, that genre probably barely existed when she was campaigning against pornography.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Is polo, pork, port, porn bad for us? Nah...............don't think so.

that porno is great i think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

maudflanders.jpg

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Yes although to be fair to Dworkin, that genre probably barely existed when she was campaigning against pornography.

That's a fair point.

There is quite a large amount of "feminist porn" about these days, that generally does porn in a much better way than is traditional: http://www.shedoesthecity.com/2013-feminist-porn-awards-web-nominees
    According to the official website, nominations for an FPA are dependent upon three criteria:

- A woman had a hand in the production, writing, direction, etc. of the work.
    - It depicts genuine female pleasure.
    - It expands the boundaries of sexual representation on film and challenges stereotypes that are often found in mainstream porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

On the contrary, male submission has always been around and very common amongst the likes of businessmen in particular who need a change of control in their lives. I wouldn't necessarily use that as an excuse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

I'm an advocate for porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

The only thing that's bad about porn is getting friction burn from fapping off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭GalwayGuy2

According to the official website, nominations for an FPA are dependent upon three criteria:

- A woman had a hand in the production, writing, direction, etc. of the work.
    - It depicts genuine female pleasure.
    - It expands the boundaries of sexual representation on film and challenges stereotypes that are often found in mainstream porn.

What does that mean?

Do they mean the actress is having a real orgasm, or the actress is pretending to have a recognizable orgasm? Or 'we're in the woman's head' so to speak?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Porn in moderation is grand and normal, although a lot of it does nothing for me. Naffness is not erotic.
    In terms of the industry, very hardcore has repugnant elements. And I'd wonder about people who really enjoy the violent/verbally abusive stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Porn is for ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭dar100

'Men use sex to hurt us.'

Fcuk sake.

Here's the thing - us women aren't all delicate little flowers that only like missionary position. Sometimes, some of us like being objectified sexually by the person we're with.

Yes, porn can give young people unrealistic expectations. No denying that. It can also be fun, give people new ideas for things to try, and, like anything you see on tv that is fictional, should be taken with a large pinch of salt.

If a woman or a man doesn't like something, they have the ability to say no.

Most of my exes were obsessed with the idea of anal, presumably due to porn. I tried it, didn't enjoy kit, so refuse to do it. Only one person has had a problem with me saying no, and he wasn't worth my time anyway.

Very well stated, I like your style... much

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭sparksfly

Porn is for ****.

Has to be the quote of the day. Can be an insult or compliment, depending on the type of wanker you are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭MiloYossarian

Sure who says it is bad for us, let everyone make their own minds up on whether they want to watch porn or not.

Too many busybodies in the world telling others what to do.

You shouldn't be saying things like that.

• Site Banned Posts: 1 Stretch That Pussy

Like most things it's grand in moderation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭TomoBhoy

Porn portrays a unrealistic expectation, plumbers do not answer the call in a few minutes!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

BASH THE BISHOP TO AN ARGOS CATALOGUE ,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

In moderation it gives a great boner when the wifey gets horny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Russ T Banger

Im always dick whacking, porn is great lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 Russ T Banger

BASH THE BISHOP TO AN ARGOS CATALOGUE ,

Funny you mention that, used to be wánk fodder for me as a kid, especially the inflatable pool section.

Now what you really need is a national geographic of those aboriginal women that are always topless