Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time change

• 27-03-2014 9:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭

Is the time changing this weekend or when is it changing ? Anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

Yep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

No.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Now I cant make out if im losing an hour or gaining an hour on Sunday.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Spring Forward, Fall Back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

Spring Forward, Fall Back.

The clocks change, time doesn't

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

Forward 1 hour on Sunday

Now I cant make out if im losing an hour or gaining an hour on Sunday.
    You're neither gaining nor losing an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jkwmp

Changes Saturday Night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Yes, it is going roman numerals. I always struggle after four. I'v problems from then on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It's Spring back and Fall forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,875 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

How many people knew that since March 9 we have been only 4 hours ahead of America. Their clocks changed then. Also listeners to BBC World Service radio will notice their programmes will be an hour earlier. They stay on GMT all year round.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

what will jumping around the place do :confused:

sounds like the average weekend for some .

ah I see it now, you mean throw a tantrum and eventually someone will ask why you are doing strange things, which the answer you would then give would be "cause I dont know when the clocks go back and was acting out the question via interprative dance"

clever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

IT'S TIMING SIDEWAYS!!!!

How many people knew that since March 9 we have been only 4 hours ahead of America. Their clocks changed then. Also listeners to BBC World Service radio will notice their programmes will be an hour earlier. They stay on GMT all year round.
    Parts of Brazil were only two hours behind up to a couple of weeks ago, three hours behind now, and four hours behind next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Clocks go forward on Sunday morning. So an hour less in leaba.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

If its neither then it may as well be both is which case it could be one or the other which leads me to believe in the latter rather than the former.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭squirestarter

Time doesn't exist (aside from metaphysically) so how can something that doesn't exist change?

The clocks will probably change though. As socially constructed as that idea is and all

These days we should probably say phones go forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Time doesn't exist (aside from metaphysically) so how can something that doesn't exist change?

So what you're saying is Ben Affleck cant be any worse a batman than Christian Bale ? I dont buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

These days we should probably say phones go forward.

And they do it all by themselves, we don't even need to remember to do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

The clocks will probably change though. As socially constructed as that idea is and all
    I'm using that one tomorrow morning when I'm late for work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Debtocracy

It's got something to do with the clouds

Debtocracy wrote: »
    It's got something to do with the clouds
    Cirrusly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭squirestarter

I'm using that one tomorrow morning when I'm late for work.

When you say late, you mean you arrive to your workplace after the socially agreed arbitrary period subsequent to the sun rising has elapsed, yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

Is the time changing this weekend or when is it changing ? Anyone know?

I think we may have met on the bus recently. I didn't know then either.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

Time most definitely exists. I haven't bumped into myself walking around this apartment yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

Time is in Naas.

Chung heaven.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Popescu

All European Union countries should be on Central European Time so that we are not confused with TV and radio schedules, transport and communication.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

Ah sure! What would we talk about if the clocks didn't change, huh!

Fair play to the clocks.

I'm drunk.

*hic*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I knew, sir.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Depends on how close to the speed of light he's travelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,780 ✭✭✭Frank Lee Midere

They say that if time is spelt backwards it spells emit.

I'm deep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

jkwmp wrote: »
    Changes Saturday Night

Sunday 02.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭purplecow1977

Parts of Brazil were only two hours behind up to a couple of weeks ago, three hours behind now, and four hours behind next week.

That's really interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Red Pepper wrote: »
    Spring Forward, Fall Back.

The clocks change, time doesn't

I thought time bendeded the way shpace bendeded?

That's really interesting!
    Now now, no need to be sarcastic!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

An hour less in the pub saturday night as i feel revenge will be on the cards, since the new bar owner starting quoting his version of the law to the guards when the clocks went back last year, got our extra hour but at a cost maybe.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,591 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

We'll be changing from Greenwich Mean Time to Irish Standard Time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭Wotsername

We'll be changing from any time now, to now in a minute.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Finally. It's that "Grand ould stretch in the evening" time of year. Time to boil my speedos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Lousy farmers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 272 ✭✭asteroth

What bugs me out are these partial timezones. Being an hour or two hours ahead like France or Poland is understandable but India is 5 1/2 hours ahead of Ireland.
    Midnight here is 5:30 am there...and Nepal is even more wacky with its 1/4 hour time differences so it would be 5:45 am there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Yea pi$$es me off when I'm trying to get a hold of the lads in the Nepal branch they're always out on their feckin lunch! Grinds my gears sitting there for that extra 15 mins waiting for them to stroll back to their desks

Now now, no need to be sarcastic!:pac:

I wasn't, genuine comment :-)

asteroth wrote: »
    What bugs me out are these partial timezones. Being an hour or two hours ahead like France or Poland is understandable but India is 5 1/2 hours ahead of Ireland.
    Midnight here is 5:30 am there...and Nepal is even more wacky with its 1/4 hour time differences so it would be 5:45 am there.

I didn't realise that existed.
    It did baffle me to think that there were distinctive one hour differences as I thought about some places that might be trapped between both!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

Time most definitely exists. I haven't bumped into myself walking around this apartment yet.

“Time is an invention, or it is nothing at all.” H. Bergson.

Also,

"the times they are a changin". Bob.

Hope that settles it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

This really is a very difficult subject to figure out. I'm glad there's a whole thread devoted to it.

Also......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Sure, time is just an invention by watchmakers. Sneaky fcukers.

It's a Hallmark concept.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    This really is a very difficult subject to figure out. I'm glad there's a whole thread devoted to it.
    [...]

You jest and all but I never know what people mean by forward and backwards. I always need someone to tell me 7:00 => 8:00 or 8:00 =>7:00. :(

Or else I need to sit down and think real hard about the hands of the clock moving forward and backwards and ... oh wait... I got it :)!! That's me sorted until next winter!

We'll be changing from Greenwich Mean Time to Irish Standard Time.

GMT has been replaced by Coordinated Universal Time, confusingly abbreviated as UTC. You will hear that announced on various Time stations which broadcast from different locations around the world. They can be received on simple radios. This is a recording of the one from Canada.

There is one in England and another in Germany which send out signals to among other things regulate radio controlled clocks and watches in Europe. Now isn't that interesting.

http://www.casio-europe.com/euro/watch/technology/radiocontrolled/