Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sean Moncrieff - Newstalk

• Registered Users Posts: 19,594 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I find Ian O'Doherty a breath of fresh air as well... Particularly on a station like Newstalk where everything is so painfully politically correct... He is a brave guy to say what he says, and I can only presume that he gets dogs abuse from the liberals

I'm not particularly liberal, as such, but I heard that lad earlier and it was nothing more than trolling.

Could have made his points quite easily without the wind up nonsense. If he had, it might have been credible.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭todolist

Moncrief is uber liberal.Just listen to his barely concealed hostility when David Quinn from the Iona institute is a guest.

• Registered Users Posts: 811 ✭✭✭todolist

kneemos wrote: »
    Wouldn't accuse Newstalk of political correctness.
    Yates.
    Hook.
    Moncrief.
    All the above are in favour of homosexual marriage.They're politically correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Ian O'Doherty is just a poor man's Jeremy Clarkson. And Jeremy Clarkson is just a poor man's P.J. O'Rourke.

Reading his column is a bit like getting stuck beside a pub bore, stinking of stale beer and fags and prodding you every two seconds with his nicotine-stained fingers. A sad, grim little man, who has never had an original thought in his life, and who only appeals to the kind of witless dullards who think 'misandry' is an actual thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Uno my Uno.

todolist wrote: »
    All the above are in favour of homosexual marriage.They're politically correct.

Hook might be politically liberal but he isn't politically correct, he still uses some outdated terms from time to time although he isn't objectionable about it inthe way O'Doherty is.

• Registered Users Posts: 905 ✭✭✭Uno my Uno.

RayM wrote: »
    Ian O'Doherty is just a poor man's Jeremy Clarkson. And Jeremy Clarkson is just a poor man's P.J. O'Rourke.

Reading his column is a bit like getting stuck beside a pub bore, stinking of stale beer and fags and prodding you every two seconds with his nicotine-stained fingers. A sad, grim little man, who has never had an original thought in his life, and who only appeals to the kind of witless dullards who think 'misandry' is an actual thing.

That's exactly what her is, a pub bore with ill-informed opinions and the need to spread them.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

It seems Tara Duggan is now the de facto fill in for when Sean is off, it's got me wondering where's Fionn Davenport, it was nearly always him filling in for Sean in the last few years, now I can't remember the last time I heard him on Newstalk, has he left the station or something?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It seems Tara Duggan is now the de facto fill in for when Sean is off, it's got me wondering where's Fionn Davenport, it was nearly always him filling in for Sean in the last few years, now I can't remember the last time I heard him on Newstalk, has he left the station or something?

Got a travel reporter gig with a newspaper(forget which one)a while back . Presumably travelling quite a bit.
    Prefer Tara Duggan in fairness,though it's not saying much.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

That makes sense

I can't stand Duggan, she has the harshest sounding voice I've ever heard and that alone is enough reason for me to switch off, thought Davenport was decent, not the same obviously, but still passable.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,613 ✭✭✭evilivor

I've heard him do the travel slot on the Sean O'Rourke show a couple of times recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

He stood in for Tom Dunne a couple of weeks back. Travel writing has always been his day job though, he's one of the editors of the Lonely Planet Guide and does a travel podcast for the Irish Times. He is also married to the Moncrieff Show's producer.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,415 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Like the travel guy on Hook,he's really into it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Jaysis Tara is struggling badly with ronan mullen. There's no flow in this at all. As we said before, Sean just lets them dig their own hole, whether it be conservative or socialist. But the bould senator is well under the skin of poor Tara and it's not even half time yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,851 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I switched off as soon as I heard his name being announced, I can't stand the little ultramontanist.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,138 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

Ronan is a bully.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,552 ✭✭✭Layinghen

Jaysis Tara is struggling badly with ronan mullen. There's no flow in this at all. As we said before, Sean just lets them dig their own hole, whether it be conservative or socialist. But the bould senator is well under the skin of poor Tara and it's not even half time yet.

Was just about to post something similar. He really had her rattled just before the break.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jesus, Mullen really let the mask slip there. Horrible, nasty, weasling, condecending little bully of a man.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭jooksavage

Yep. I don't blame her though, she's only human. I know I'm biased against Mullen anyway but he outdid himself today: he gave it to everyone - the government, the media, the charities, the guards, the students. Of course, the danger is the YES side being complacent because of the quality of the opposition.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Really didn't like the way he shouted over her and spoke down to her. Never heard him do that on Moncrieff before and you get the feeling he wouldn't have behaved that way if it was a man interviewing him.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭ilovesmybrick

I have to say I was just saying something similar to the women in the office, I can't put my finger on why but I thought the same, that if it was a male presenter he would not have been as condescending or as belligerent

What do you expect from someone who said this?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

No food at all:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,229 ✭✭✭Poochie05

No food at all:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

I was driving and had to get out of the car but I'm sure before I did I heard Tara say "coming up next the 'foodie slot'" - I noticed because she said 'Foodie', when Sean normally calls it 'Food'.
    Did they then skip it?

They didn't skip it, it was just that the guy who's doing it was late because of traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭Claude Burgundy

I turned off at 15:05 in disgust anyway:D

• Registered Users Posts: 341 ✭✭robbe

Food podcast was introduced with voiceover from Moncrieff saying that it was the food slot which is introduced by one of their 3 foodies, Kemp, Golden Bannon and the other lad from Galway - no mention of Paolo.....

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭Vorenus400

Was hoping sean would be back for movies and booze. Tara is too serious.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,146 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

ya, movies and booze is no fun today. i miss Sean

• Registered Users Posts: 7,936 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

did anyone hear the text from the listener who asked why did she make a point of calling the 3 of them a 'witches coven'. i was thinking the same thing. every time she fills in, at some stage it becomes a male v female thing. no one gives a shyte to be honest, but she always makes a point of it. are we meant to feel great because there is a female presenter, reviewer and sommellier all on together? we couldn't care less. just make it enjoyable for friday afternoons!!!

although jean smullen is no craic on a friday. the only ones that have the right humour for the slot are martin moran and dean mcguinness. that barrister chap from the business post is a buzz killington.

back to ronan mullen yesterday, when sean is there, he's used to having the flow and spouting his nonsense. sean knows what the listeners will think anyway. yesterday it was a hack trying to put him in a corner and he reacted....badly.

It's a pity Ian O'Doherty wasn't on this week, now that would have been some fun.