Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tax and getting pulled

• 25-03-2014 5:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭

I just taxed my van now and have a four day wait for the disk to arrive, what happens if i get pulled my the guardi :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

You may get a fine for non display even if you produce within 10 days. Or, you might get lucky if you're allowed produce and waved on. Depends on the Gard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭LadyLucinda

Would be a thick ass of a Guard who would do you for that. Does it actually happen much I wonder?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Should be fine I'd imagine. Have you got a receipt for it?

Alternatively:

700426-tax-in-post-reliant-robin.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Print out the online receipt and it's 99% sure you'll be OK if you meet a Gard. Don't park it in a public place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Would be a thick ass of a Guard who would do you for that. Does it actually happen much I wonder?

Yes it does. I got a €60 fine last week for non-display, despite having paid online. A work colleagues van was actually taken(on a transporter) and impounded, despite him having paid online but not received the disc. He was hopping tbh. I wasn't too chuffed either - the local Gard said not to worry, it would be grand. Yeah, €60.00 grand a week later in the post. I also got another €60, same stop, for a blown tail-light bulb, a bulb that was gone about twenty minutes - I was leaning against the back of the van using it as a work-light half an hour earlier. The bulb, fair enough. The Tax? Feck off, I have close to twenty yokes taxed, never miss taxing them either and I showed the local Gard the online renewal receipt. Made no difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭JAMES VTI S

Better be on the look out so.

Also i got no reciept

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭Moneymaker

I've seen cars that haven't been taxed for over a year all over the place where I live.

Funny thing is a Garda station is right nearby. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭LadyLucinda

Yes it does. I got a €60 fine last week for non-display, despite having paid online. A work colleagues van was actually taken(on a transporter) and impounded, despite him having paid online but not received the disc. He was hopping tbh. I wasn't too chuffed either - the local Gard said not to worry, it would be grand. Yeah, €60.00 grand a week later in the post. I also got another €60, same stop, for a blown tail-light bulb, a bulb that was gone about twenty minutes - I was leaning against the back of the van using it as a work-light half an hour earlier. The bulb, fair enough. The Tax? Feck off, I have close to twenty yokes taxed, never miss taxing them either and I showed the local Gard the online renewal receipt. Made no difference.

If you have twenty wagons your not too badly off :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

They're his companies vans. Fair play to the man for paying the tax on them too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 842 ✭✭✭cabledude

There are penis pullers in every occupation. You just happened to meet one when you had a blown bulb and no tax displayed.

Just unlucky...

And lots of overheads to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Also i got no reciept

You did, if you paid online. The last page of the payment process says "Thank you for your payment, here is your confirmation number. Please print off this receipt for your records". Or words to that effect.

If you just clicked on past that and you didn't see it, or print if off, fair enough, but you did get it. Everyone who pays online gets it.

cabledude wrote: »
    There are penis pullers in every occupation. You just happened to meet one when you had a blown bulb and no tax displayed.

Just unlucky...

Yer man ate the head off me too - you'd think I got out and burst the light-bulb on purpose. Wouldn't mind, but the vans lit up like an x-mass tree so it wasn't like anyone was going to miss me. It has still got the old-style doe -the old no-disc version - he had a mini rant over no cvrt disc too. Maybe he was having a bad day. The b0llix. And I did print the online reciept - I had it in the office. I brought it, the doe blah blah down that same evening and the gard goes - grand, sure that's all fine. Yeah, €120 fine a week later..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Is this the attitude of a begrudger.?Do u think he got the 20 wagons for nothing. He's spending a fortune on tax,insurance and fuel,not to mention the employment he's giving to lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

One would think the garda would have access to the online motor tax and look it up themselves ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Is this the attitude of a begrudger.?Do u think he got the 20 wagons for nothing. He's spending a fortune on tax,insurance and fuel,not to mention the employment he's giving to lads.

Some nightmare running 20 vehicles. Tax insurance test, repairs etc. Doing everything right then you meet a dick of a garda who hands out 2 fines.
    I thought they would least have to give you a producer type ticket giving 10 days to replace bulb.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

Just unlucky...

Ya but why do all the penis pullers give up their jobs to join the guards :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Receipts mean nothing, the offence is for non display of a current disc. You can have all the proof in the world that shows it's paid etc. and even show up on the database.

Saying that, most guards would be fine with it, but dosent mean you wont get a power mad muppet that would do you for it.

Skatedude wrote: »
    Receipts mean nothing, the offence is for non display of a current disc. You can have all the proof in the world that shows it's paid etc. and even show up on the database.

Saying that, most guards would be fine with it, but dosent mean you wont get a power mad muppet that would do you for it.
    But it is no fault of the OP that he did not have the disc. He paid for it, he could prove that it was paid for, yet the Garda fined him. The discs are printed centrally and posted. That takes time. I know that the Garda was following the law to the letter, but sometimes the law is an ass..........

And in this case, its a law that was probably written in the 1970's when electronic databases were not readily available to the Gardaí at the roadside. This would probably not happen in the UK. With ANPR's and access to 'live' data, they could easily prove that the tax had been paid.

But, this is Ireland.

If your tax is out over a month then yea I suppose they can pull ya, but all you have to do is prove you paid it and any arrears and the ticket can be cancelled ( although with current issues!)

If your only in the month after it has expired then they shouldn't be saying anything, you have the month.

ProudDUB wrote: »
    You did, if you paid online. The last page of the payment process says "Thank you for your payment, here is your confirmation number. Please print off this receipt for your records". Or words to that effect.

If you just clicked on past that and you didn't see it, or print if off, fair enough, but you did get it. Everyone who pays online gets it.

is there any way i can go back and get this print off :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

I just taxed my van now and have a four day wait for the disk to arrive, what happens if i get pulled my the guardi :confused:

ask them to look for some missing balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

bubblypop wrote: »
    If your tax is out over a month then yea I suppose they can pull ya, but all you have to do is prove you paid it and any arrears and the ticket can be cancelled ( although with current issues!)

If your only in the month after it has expired then they shouldn't be saying anything, you have the month.

That would all depend on who you are and who you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

A work colleagues van was actually taken(on a transporter) and impounded, despite him having paid online but not received the disc.

When was that?

But it is no fault of the OP that he did not have the disc. He paid for it, he could prove that it was paid for, yet the Garda fined him. The discs are printed centrally and posted.

Yes, it is his fault. What is so hard about paying your motor tax in time, to allow for the disc to arrive in the post? It's not rocket science. The discs generally arrive within a couple days of the motor tax being paid. It is a pretty hassle free process.

My own motor tax is up at the end of this month. Last Thursday (the 20th) I paid the renewal online. The new discs arrived in the post today, (the 25th) That is just 3 working days between me paying it, to getting the new discs in the post. If someone waits until the very last minute to pay it, knowing that it will take a few days to process and post out, they have only themselves to blame if the disc doesn't arrive in time.
    is there any way i can go back and get this print off

I'm not sure, but I don't think so. Perhaps if you give them a ring, they can send you out some sort of confirmation of receipt of payment, that you could then print off?
    visual wrote: »
    One would think the garda would have access to the online motor tax and look it up themselves ?

Yep. In other countries, they have systems in place whereby the boys in blue can verify if the drivers license, tax, insurance and NCT type requirements are all in order, even if drivers do not have all their paperwork on hand at all times.

We really, really need to get something like that in place here, but until we do, we are stuck with the crappy system that we have. Drivers are just making it harder on themselves if they choose the "me fein" aka " I just couldn't be bothered dealing with it/it's only a problem if I get caught" approach to it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Again, the offence is for non display, not non taxation.

People moved into a house a few doors down from me last year and for some reason decided to use the same house number as mine for their bills and i'm pretty sure they ended up with two of my tax discs. Surfice to say i couldn't use my car on the road until i went in to the tax office and ended up taxing it for a further 3 months, so now paid up for 9 months just to get a tax disc into my hand instead of in the post.

To get a replacement disc involves filling out forms and to be witnessed doing so at the local garda station and then posting them in and waiting for them to post out a replacement which would probably ended up the the neighbours house again.
    Complete pain and i wish the guards would be able to access the database to prove i was taxed. Innocent till proven guilty dosent seem to apply to motor tax.

CiniO wrote: »
    When was that?

At the Airport week before last. Roundabout there in Santry.

CiniO wrote: »
    When was that?

Probably the tax was out for several months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

corktina wrote: »
    Probably the tax was out for several months.

Indeed. Legally they cannot impound a vehicle until the tax is out by three months I think it is?

Skatedude wrote: »

This is a law that badly needs revising. We have an online system for paying tax, therefore the "disc is in the post" excuse is very valid. If you can show that the tax has been paid within the past week then there should be no repercussions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 809 ✭✭✭filbert the fox

djimi wrote: »
    This is a law that badly needs revising. We have an online system for paying tax, therefore the "disc is in the post" excuse is very valid. If you can show that the tax has been paid within the past week then there should be no repercussions.

Yes indeed.

We now have the technology to extract tax instantly online. It should be possible to detect the vehicles which are out of tax and not declared off road or scrapped by electronic means too and target them!

BTW the guy who said that there were soooooooooo many vehicle near him without tax should do his civic duty and report them....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭rainyrun

Instead of printing the online receipt after I pay my tax. I take a photo of the screen on my mobile to show Gardai if I need to. Saves the hassle of setting up printer, hunt for paper etc

rainyrun wrote: »
    Instead of printing the online receipt after I pay my tax. I take a photo of the screen on my mobile to show Gardai if I need to. Saves the hassle of setting up printer, hunt for paper etc

Save receipt as PDF. Save PDF in Dropbox. Can be called up if needed from my phone.

I've never had to test this though; not sure how it would wash with a Garda...

rainyrun wrote: »

Hunt for paper? Where the hell do you live. I just click "PRINT" and the paper spits out of the printer with what I need on it. No hunting required. You make it sound like a massive task to print a simple receipt.

Proof of payment should definitely be recognised. This, non display rule is a pish take. Why should I have to pay my tax early, just to show it has been paid if I get stopped at a check-point? If I want to pay on the last minute of the last day of the month, that is my right and I should not be at risk of a fine by doing it!

goz83 wrote: »
    Hunt for paper? Where the hell do you live. I just click "PRINT" and the paper spits out of the printer with what I need on it. No hunting required. You make it sound like a massive task to print a simple receipt.

Proof of payment should definitely be recognised. This, non display rule is a pish take. Why should I have to pay my tax early, just to show it has been paid if I get stopped at a check-point? If I want to pay on the last minute of the last day of the month, that is my right and I should not be at risk of a fine by doing it!

WOW ISN'T TECHNOLOGY WONDERFUL? everlasting printer, never needs filling. My old low-tech one always seems to be empty

Yeah, I picked mine up from willy wonka. Makes the coffee too.

But for the rest of the world, most printers hold a couple of hundred pages at a time and the ink lasts several months for the average user. So, hunting really isn't necessary every time you need to catch a page. ;)

ProudDUB wrote: »
    Yes, it is his fault. What is so hard about paying your motor tax in time, to allow for the disc to arrive in the post? It's not rocket science. The discs generally arrive within a couple days of the motor tax being paid. It is a pretty hassle free process.
    For a private motorist, your point is valid. The OP is not a private citizen in this context. He is a business. Cash flow issues can mean that these things are not done exactly on time. Unfortunate as that is, it can be a reality. Any reasonable Garda would give any motorist the 10 days to produce.
    My own motor tax is up at the end of this month. Last Thursday (the 20th) I paid the renewal online. The new discs arrived in the post today, (the 25th) That is just 3 working days between me paying it, to getting the new discs in the post. If someone waits until the very last minute to pay it, knowing that it will take a few days to process and post out, they have only themselves to blame if the disc doesn't arrive in time.
    You really are a little gem. Bully for you......

I went into the tax office today to see what they would say.

They said there is nothing they could do and you have paid your tax it's on our system and if the guard checks his system everything should be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Moneymaker wrote: »
    I've seen cars that haven't been taxed for over a year all over the place where I live.

Funny thing is a Garda station is right nearby. :pac:

They're probably the Guard's families.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

Yeah, I picked mine up from willy wonka. Makes the coffee too.

But for the rest of the world, most printers hold a couple of hundred pages at a time and the ink lasts several months for the average user. So, hunting really isn't necessary every time you need to catch a page. ;)

You really are a little gem. Bully for you......

:(

:(
    Fair enough. But I hate righteousness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

Before the days of email reminders when we got it in the post I'm sure the wording on the reminder was along the lines of "tax before or during the month of (month added)"

I get a reminder through the post, i got it last week and it did say to re tax before or during the month of April,its out the end of march, which I would take to mean that you get a months grace, but if you met a thick ignorant pig of a guard he could still probably do you for no tax

you are wrong. You have to tax it before the due date. If for some reason you don't , you can still tax it that month, but after that you would have to pay the months arrears plus 3/6/12 months tax. That isn't a months grace and you can still get a ticket for no tax AND non display. I don't think you should be so insulting about Gards doing their job.

My ticket was for non-display. Lately, it is taking 3-4 weeks for discs to arrive(it is) and we've often had to chase after them to send them at that. They cite backlogs..then the next couple land in after a day or two - so it is inconsistent.

A guard doing their job:D is that an oxymoron:D guards take the easy option of milking the cash cow that is the irish motorist, plenty soft targets without actually doing something

Traffic Corps...clue is in the name.

For a private motorist, your point is valid. The OP is not a private citizen in this context. He is a business. Cash flow issues can mean that these things are not done exactly on time. Unfortunate as that is, it can be a reality. Any reasonable Garda would give any motorist the 10 days to produce.

You can still pay your motor tax in person at the motor tax office, if the cash to pay it isn't available bill until the last day of the month. You get to walk out of there with your brand, spanking new shiny tax disc in your hand.
    Fair enough. But I hate righteousness.

You know what I hate? I hate seeing Guards sitting on their arses in stations, shuffling paperwork and stamping forms and checking on documents brought in by drivers to prove that their car is taxed and insured. God forbid, they ever get to spend some time out there, actually solving crimes and catching criminals. I just love seeing tax payers money go to fund what is essentially a glorified secretarial service. rolleyes.png

Traffic Corps...clue is in the name.

Not all cops are in the Corp and not all the country is covered by the corp, a lot of rural areas never see a traffic corp cop