Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tarf V The Baa Baa's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Nobody particularly well known will feature. It's a Wednesday game, for a start. The Barbarians play a few games every season at this level and populate their teams with younger players from around the UK and Ireland or lower division players etc.

I would think Clontarf will be looking to put out as strong a side as possible. Won't be any contracted players, I'm sure, but their strongest AIL side should feature; the season ends the weekend before and I'm sure anyone who is fit to play would love a shot at playing the Barbarians.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

Nigel Owens has been confirmed as the referee for this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Berticus

Got my tickets :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeah should be a good bit of craic, have tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

You'd wonder if they're pricing people out of the game. I'd have an interest in going if they were around the tenner mark, 20 turns me off a bit.

Teferi wrote: »
    You'd wonder if they're pricing people out of the game. I'd have an interest in going if they were around the tenner mark, 20 turns me off a bit.

Yeah suppose they have to pay the baabaas tho.

This is true. I'm sure they'll get a big enough crowd with the Tarf faithful anyway.

Yeah Nigel Owens is doing a presentation the night before as well apparently!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,699 ✭✭✭bamboozle

I don't think 20 quid to watch the Barbarians is a lot of money, its a once in a lifetime fixture for Clontarf and there are costs to cover. There are still plenty of people around who take a real interest in club rugby and will quite happily pay to attend. If anything the standard of AIL rugby has risen significantly in the last 3-4 years as the provinces realise the benefits of making fringe players available to the clubs. This time last year (six nations winners) Jack McGrath and Martin Moore were playing AIL, while currently the likes of Jack Conan and Tadhg Furlong are earning their stripes at AIL level before moving onto hopefully long professional careers.

Mike Ruddock is to coach the babaas, Nigel Owens to ref. Clearly wont be an A List lineup for the Barbarians but huge credit must go to the committee in Clontarf who have made this happen.

I would imagine the availability of fringe provincial players to both Clontarf and the Babaas will depend on how the provinces are doing closer to the time. In an ideal world some of Clontarf's wild geese would be involved, the likes of Michael Keating and James Hart, not to mention Downey and Paul O'Donoghue.

In the meantime there's a much more important fixture in Clontarf on Friday night as they host Old Belvedere in potentially a league decided, there'll be a huge crowd for this one.

As I said, I'm sure the Clontarf faithful will attend en masse but they're probably pricing out potential punters with less invested into this particular game but would still go for a gander.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

As I said, I'm sure the Clontarf faithful will attend en masse but they're probably pricing out potential punters with less invested into this particular game but would still go for a gander.

I think it's largely expected to be a sell out as it stands. But I suppose time will tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭iamjenko

How many would the ground hold? Couple thousand, with that terrace/earth bank on the club house side?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,201 ✭✭✭jamesbondings

i was up watching the match tonight tarf v belvo (tarf won) picked up my ticket, ticket number 2427 or close to it!
    Im not too sure where the stands are going to go, the mount is still there (as far as i was aware this would be dug out and a stand put in before they rejig the pitches)

Crowd tonight was huge, Cian Healy was down to watch aswell very much looking forward to the baa baas and i think 20 euro is more than a fair price.....double the price of an AIL ticket, its a once off and i wont see the baa baas again more than likely!

Yeah the word was they were putting in new stands for the game. However no sign of them, so I reckon if they haven't started in them yet it won't happen?

.ak wrote: »
    Yeah the word was they were putting in new stands for the game. However no sign of them, so I reckon if they haven't started in them yet it won't happen?

But to be fair two diggers would get that up in a day..... Dunno how long it takes to put in a small stand..... Another 3 or 4...still doable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Players confirmed to be involved against Clontarf:
    Ben Evans [Moseley], Laurence Ovens [Rosslyn Park], Thomas Andrew Bryn Jones [Llandrovery], Lorne Ward [Rosslyn Park], Rob Elloway [Cornish Pirates], Haydn Pugh [Carmarthen Quins], Mike Powell [Moseley], Sasha Harding [Bedford Blues], Peter Synnott [Esher], Ryan de la Harpe [Flyde], James Grindal [Bristol], Ceri Sweeney [Exeter Chiefs], Jason Shoemark [Exeter Chiefs], Fraser Harkness [Selkirk], Tom Cheeseman [Esher].

http://www.thescore.ie/barbarians-clontarf-castle-avenue-mike-ruddock-1419093-Apr2014/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Swiwi.

Ben Evans [Moseley], Laurence Ovens [Rosslyn Park], Thomas Andrew Bryn Jones [Llandrovery], Lorne Ward [Rosslyn Park], Rob Elloway [Cornish Pirates], Haydn Pugh [Carmarthen Quins], Mike Powell [Moseley], Sasha Harding [Bedford Blues], Peter Synnott [Esher], Ryan de la Harpe [Flyde], James Grindal [Bristol], Ceri Sweeney [Exeter Chiefs], Jason Shoemark [Exeter Chiefs], Fraser Harkness [Selkirk], Tom Cheeseman [Esher].

http://www.thescore.ie/barbarians-clontarf-castle-avenue-mike-ruddock-1419093-Apr2014/

Kind of a who's who of international rugby :p I only recognise Jason Shoemark among that list. If the game is cheap I might go along...

Swiwi. wrote: »
    Kind of a who's who of international rugby :p I only recognise Jason Shoemark among that list. If the game is cheap I might go along...

picked a ticket up for 20 quid 2 weeks ago, thing its 25 at the gate not sure though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

So John Hayes is getting a call up to this yeah?!

Ceri Sweeney has 35 Welsh caps.

Peter Synnott is a young Irish lad as well, who plays back row and went to Belvo. Quality goal kicker too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

Wonder can we expect rest of the team to be made up of Irish players AIL and academy? Any recently retired Irish internationals in good health to play? Mick O'Driscoll played recently for BaaBaas didn't he?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,967 ✭✭✭✭The Lost Sheep

Wonder can we expect rest of the team to be made up of Irish players AIL and academy? Any recently retired Irish internationals in good health to play? Mick O'Driscoll played recently for BaaBaas didn't he?
    In the link(or poss I read it elsewhere) that a considerable few of the remainder of players to be called up will be AIL players. Doubt we'll see any recently retired internationals though never know for exhibition game like this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭wicklowwonder

In the link(or poss I read it elsewhere) that a considerable few of the remainder of players to be called up will be AIL players. Doubt we'll see any recently retired internationals though never know for exhibition game like this

Sorry on the phone and I hate clicking on the Journal or Score links because it opens the app. It just annoys me! Thanks though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 663 ✭✭✭Funk It

Ryan de le Harpe is a quality player, and a great goal kicker as well, been picking up numerous MOTM awards for Fylde.

Cian Healy, Mike Ruddock and Andy Wood talk about the game next week.

They mention 4k attendance and Healy thinks they need to put up stands. I'd imagine with that figure and that comment there will be temp stands up for it. Looking forward to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 Dover144

I think the baa baa side is a bit of a let down, compared to some of the players who are playing against England on the 1st of June. Hopefully there will be one current international that is named in the second set of players. Great event for tarf, none the less

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Dover144 wrote: »
    I think the baa baa side is a bit of a let down, compared to some of the players who are playing against England on the 1st of June. Hopefully there will be one current international that is named in the second set of players. Great event for tarf, none the less

But with the greatest of respect to Clontarf, it's not much of an occasion if if the baa baas field a side that will hockey them.

Neil3030 wrote: »
    But with the greatest of respect to Clontarf, it's not much of an occasion if if the baa baas field a side that will hockey them.

True but the introduction of one or two major players isn't going to mean that tarf will get hockeyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Dover144 wrote: »

It's the middle of the season. It was always going to be a weak enough team. The Barbarians play a lot more games than the few high profile games in the summer and they usually have a side of this standard.

Buer wrote: »
    It's the middle of the season. It was always going to be a weak enough team. The Barbarians play a lot more games than the few high profile games in the summer and they usually have a side of this standard.

I suppose all the non-international teams get the same thing

Getting to see the any baabaa's play ion Dublin s always an occasion I suppose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭rockbeast

Berticus wrote: »
    Getting to see the any baabaa's play ion Dublin s always an occasion I suppose!

In my homeland(Clontarf) it's even better:)

It's less 20 years since they got to D1 and now they're playing the BaaBaas!

Is there a boards meetup in Harry's on the agenda, before or after??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

The Tarf....jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

Ger Slattery called up for the BaaBaa's.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    Ger Slattery called up for the BaaBaa's.

I misread that as Ger Earls - my apologies;)

Barbarians Squad to play Clontarf on Wed 23rd April 2014 k.o. 5.30pm

15 Danny Riordan Old Belvedere

14 Philip O’Dwyer Old Belvedere

13 Jason Shoemark Exeter

12 Tom Cheesman Esher

11 Fraser Harkness Selkirk

10 Ceri Sweeney Exeter& Wales

9 James Grindal Bristol

1 Lorne Ward Rosslyn Park

2 Ger Slattery Young Munster

3 Ben Evans Captain Moseley & Wales

4 Mike Powell Moseley

5 Hayden Pugh Carmarthen Quins

6 Dean Schofield Worcester & England

7 Charlie Butterworth Lansdowne

8 William Ryan Cork Constitution

16 Rob Elloway Cornish Pirates & Germany
    17 Colm McMahon St. Mary’s College
    18 Andrew Jones Llandovery
    19 Mark Mccraith Bedford Blues
    20 Peter Synnott Esher

21 Ryan de la Harpe Fylde & Namibia
    22 Richie McMaster Queens University
    23 Bryan Rennie Bristol

Limited amount of tickets left on the door apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Tarf win by a point. 43-42

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭TheGoldenAges

Tarf were 3/1 with the bookies to win, fair play if anyone got on that.

Looked at one stage to be easy money as Tarf really pulled away but then the hangover was a bit evident. Biggs ended up playing, probably the biggest name for the baabaas, he was great going forward but little mcfarland had him in his pocket, in the first half he absolute skinned him, turned him inside out with a double step. The Tarf back three were immense, proper champagn rugby. McGrath scored a hatrick before going off injured.

304345.jpg

Tarf were 3/1 with the bookies to win, fair play if anyone got on that.

Just back now and very surprised to hear bookies quoted on it...!

An evening for wingers for sure.

Wonderful occasion and a little dicky-bird told me tonight that Clontarf got a very large donation from a "to remain anonymous benefactor" for the upgrading of playing facilities :)

The parachutists were the highlight for me....2/3 of them anyway:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

rockbeast wrote: »

Wonderful occasion and a little dicky-bird told me tonight that Clontarf got a very large donation from a "to remain anonymous benefactor" for the upgrading of playing facilities :)

Not a donation given but funding seems to have been secured so will be good to see facilities upgraded soon I hope.

Plenty of action for the wingers, Biggs was good name for the Baabaas but I though McGrath for Clontarf was good with a few tries to his name until he came off injured. A good exhibition game with good scoring.

Great evening out for sure and good setup down the club. Plenty of bars and food stalls and all that. Getting a win was great and good to see it nice and tight at the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 958 ✭✭✭ArmchairQB

rockbeast wrote: »

An intrest free loan I think he also gave same to Terenure and a GAA club in the area nice if you can get it. Has been supporting Terenure behind the scenes this year as well according to some of the members

Yeah great couple of weeks for the club all n' all, bit fairytale like if you think about it.

I thought McFarland was something special, but McGrath is something else. No wonder he's the top try scorer of the league. He's a very old school winger who just managed to be in the right place at the right time, has a wicked step for a lad that doesn't look as well conditioned as you'd think. Two of his tries were monster 60meter run ins from a line break or a step. The other try was something that probably only happens to wingers when the confidence is 100% - a kick through into the goal area and two baabaas reached up to knock it out of play, but McGrath (who seemed the shortest of the lot) managed to pluck it out of the air one handed and dot it down. A real classy finisher coupled with a massive engine for work, it's easy to see why he's the top try scorer.

If you see his name on the team sheet at a local AIL match try to get down to watch it, he won't disappoint, even if he's not scoring tries he always seems to be exciting. Oh, and he's got an epic beard!

Yeah great couple of weeks for the club all n' all, bit fairytale like if you think about it.

I thought McFarland was something special, but McGrath is something else.

Had told a few friends to keep an eye on McGrath but very impressed with McFarland too.

Great to see two wingers with such sheer pace. Cronin was a bit cagey with 4/5 box kicks in first 25 minutes but as soon as he started passing out to second receiver the floodgates opened:)

McGrath's second try was an awesome individual effort. He has fantastic little jink/skip that allowed him to evade 2 tackles.

I'll call it now and say that with 12 months full-time conditioning he'd survive as a pro and be good enough for most rabo games. Would love to see Leinster give him a shot in the B&I next year....

Yeah me too. Would be a real Roy of the Rovers story. Would love to see more AIL players step up. Would open the idea that it's viable route for your playing career. What age is he?

Think he's just gone or nearly 23. Plenty of time.

Hopefully he's not too badly injured.

If Leinster are taking punts on Fanning then they can surely give McGrath a shot...:)

Yeah looked like his hammy which was injured but you'd imagine he'd have a few weeks off now anyway. Hopefully he can rest it and get it back to where it needs be and you never know he might get an invite into a training squad. Don't think he's a MOC style winger though. Needs a bit of conditioning as said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Oh, and he's got an epic beard!

Great game last night. Great setup by Clontarf as usual. My first ever live rugby match and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Although the girls I was with disagree with the above! :cool: :)

Yeah looked like his hammy which was injured but you'd imagine he'd have a few weeks off now anyway. Hopefully he can rest it and get it back to where it needs be and you never know he might get an invite into a training squad. Don't think he's a MOC style winger though. Needs a bit of conditioning as said.

Yeah, probably not one for MOC.

Maybe a platform of 7's rugby would be ideal for bringing through a player like McGrath?