Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Importance of wearing your seatbelt

• 24-03-2014 10:05pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭

Never have I seen a more appropriate image

1888534_515647818546275_489479649_n.jpg

Buckle up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

It took me a few seconds to see the face the lads over in the paranormal forum would love that. .:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

My sis had a head-on crash - her son wasn't wearing his belt in the back, she had hers on. His head hit her shoulder, blowing it apart like a sledge-hammer, literally. Didn't do his head much good either. Have a look back, make sure your passengers have their belts on. It could be you you're saving, as well as them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

There's a few posters here that insist on not wearing one e.g. 'Haven't for years, never will etc' and it absolutely boggles the mind. I'm all for a bit of debate and opinion but I can't see a single good reason for not wearing one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,056 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

ironclaw wrote: »
    There's a few posters here that insist on not wearing one e.g. 'Haven't for years, never will etc'

Thought those days were gone. I don't know a single person that doesn't wear one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

There's a few posters here that insist on not wearing one e.g. 'Haven't for years, never will etc' and it absolutely boggles the mind. I'm all for a bit of debate and opinion but I can't see a single good reason for not wearing one.

The most incredibly annoying are these '70s rejects who, about two hundred yards down the road, suddenly erupt into a frenzy of activity like a claymore mine putting on the bloody belt while driving the car! :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

jimgoose wrote: »
    The most incredibly annoying are these '70s rejects who, about two hundred yards down the road, suddenly erupt into a frenzy of activity like a claymore mine putting on the bloody belt while driving the car! :D

With a bit of practice that can be done very smoothly...;)
    And I think those annoying beepers have done more for seatbelt compliance than anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

I find it hard to drive without wearing one! It feels wrong. Like not wearing pants

mfergus wrote: »
    I find it hard to drive without wearing one! It feels wrong. Like not wearing pants

What's it like driving with no pants?

This grand. Nothing really wrong with it. Just feels different :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Had a low speed head on once. Had seat belt on. Remember glasses flyin off my head into windscreen. Never risked it after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

A few years back a bunch of work colleagues nabbed me as I was getting in the car and asked me if I was going by the shopping centre a mile or so away. I said yeah, sure, hop in, which they did, and then I started the car.

Two of them buckled up, but this French girl behind me didn't. I said "Julie, seatbelt?" and she said (no sh1t) "I don't need to wear a seatbelt, becuzz I went to a fortune tellerrr a few yearrr zago and she told me I wouldn't die until I was in my eighteezzz".

I turned off the engine, turned around to her and asked if she'd ever seen that ad with the schoolgirl unbelted in the back of the car. I said "you mightn't die, but you might kill me! And I'm offering you a lift, doing you a favour which I don't have to do. Now either put on your seatbelt or get out of my car."

She gave me a dirty look for about 10 seconds and then reluctantly clipped it on. I put on the radio to cut through the atmosphere at that point, and I think she may have grunted a reluctant thanks when she got out.

We weren't BFFs after that, needless to say, but I can do without people in my life who put their faith (and fate!) in the words of charlatans!

You don't have to look far to find people who are, beneath the veneer, certifiably cracked. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I've seen a few of these Russian dash board cams and you see the people flying out of the car like rag dolls . I'll be keeping mine on if you don't mind :0)

People think just because they're "only going to the shop" or "I won't be going fast" that it justifies not wearing it.

Did ye ever leave the car roll (about 2kmph) then suddenly press the brake? The jerk is a lot more than you'd anticipate. So imagine that except 25 times worse. (At least).

I've seen a few of these Russian dash board cams and you see the people flying out of the car like rag dolls . I'll be keeping mine on if you don't mind :0)

Oh yeah, they're horrendous. A lad I know posted one about two wheels being dangerous up on Facebook. He's into his cycling, so I thought it would be just a funny, Jeremy Beadle-type tumble. However no, it was a Russian dashcam video of a biker hitting the back of an SUV at speed on a motorway. It was like a fcuking snuff movie! :eek:

I asked him to put up a suitable warning for anyone else who might watch it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭scottp68877

I can't understand why people wouldn't put on their seatbelt. If it was me I'd actually have to put more effort into not wearing it and actually stop to think about not putting it on. It's just natural that I put it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭brightspark

I've told my mother in law on a few occasions, that I'm not worried about her safety I just don't want to have to replace the windscreen. :D

fricatus wrote: »
    A few years back...

When I'm in a car, the car does not move until everyone is belted. When I issue the command Ex Cathedra to belt-up, I do not expect a load of codswallop about psychics, I expect a Navy SEAL-style "HOOYAH, Instructor Goose!!" followed by compliance, fairly lively! :D

jimgoose wrote: »
    When I'm in a car, the car does not move until everyone is belted. When I issue the command Ex Cathedra to belt-up, I do not expect a load of codswallop about psychics, I expect a Navy SEAL-style "HOOYAH, Instructor Goose!!" followed by compliance, fairly lively! :D

Egg-fcuking-zackly! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭H3llR4iser

Also can't understand what is the deal with it: it's the one safety measure that is not completely over the top and has absolutely no annoyance factor nor ill effect, it makes zero sense for people not to put seatbelts on. I actually know some who go the "it restricts my movements!" way: I never figured you need to perform the swan lake routine while in the car!

Seems to be a general sentiment against restraints though: the same happens on airplanes. No matter all the recommendations and regulations, the "click-click-click" of seatbelts unfastening is heard 0.003 seconds after the light goes off and, more worryingly, often at touchdown with the aircraft still hurtling down the runway at 140 knots...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

People think just because they're "only going to the shop" or "I won't be going fast" that it justifies not wearing it.

Did ye ever leave the car roll (about 2kmph) then suddenly press the brake? The jerk is a lot more than you'd anticipate. So imagine that except 25 times worse. (At least).

Just to make a nerdy interjection here - a collision at 50 km/h has 625 times the energy of one at 2km/h - kinetic energy is proportional to the square of the velocity.
    (Unless you were comparing a 2 km/h vs a 10 km/h collision, then your maths is fine :))

Interesting calculator here

http://hyperphysics.phy-astr.gsu.edu/hbase/carcr2.html

In addition to spreading the impact across your body, the belt also provides you with an extra 12inches or so to slow your momentum.

Otherwise you hit the windscreen with an almost zero stopping distance, and practically instant deceleration.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 2,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Oink

I always wear a belt.Except that one time in a parking lot, I was teaching Miss Piggy how to drive. She proceeded to jump on the brakes while doing 20kph.

I got a free Physics-101 lesson that day, as well as a facial realignment....

Yakuza wrote: »
    Just to make a nerdy interjection here - a collision at 50 km/h has 625 times the energy of one at 2km/h - kinetic energy is proportional to the square of the velocity.
    (Unless you were comparing a 2 km/h vs a 10 km/h collision, then your maths is fine :))

Thank you for your correction.
    But I never mentioned a collision.i meant a car coming to a sudden stop, such as by hitting a really strong wall.

If it were to be a collision, that would imply that the other object was also moving, therefore increasing the energy involved even further than the 625 times.

However, I was still wrong. :)

Oink wrote: »
    I always wear a belt.Except that one time in a parking lot, I was teaching Miss Piggy how to drive. She proceeded to jump on the brakes while doing 20kph...

"JESUS ACTUAL CHRIST! OUT OF THE VEHICLE, DROP AND GIVE ME 20!! MOVE, MOVE MOOOOVE!!!" :pac::pac::pac:

Thank you for your correction.
    But I never mentioned a collision.i meant a car coming to a sudden stop, such as by hitting a really strong wall.

If it were to be a collision, that would imply that the other object was also moving, therefore increasing the energy involved even further than the 625 times.

However, I was still wrong. :)

Although collision is defined by most dictionaries as one moving object hitting another, we often hear the term single vehicle collision being used.
    And people do say that they collided with a wall, tree etc.

Although collision is defined by most dictionaries as one moving object hitting another, we often hear the term single vehicle collision being used.
    And people do say that they collided with a wall, tree etc.

Just because people say it doesn't mean it's right, brightspark

If enough people say something it can alter a definition. e.g. bad means good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

This grand. Nothing really wrong with it. Just feels different :)
    It certainly is different and perfectly acceptable, just not on cream leather.

If enough people say something it can alter a definition. e.g. bad means good?

And The Whole World Has To
    Answer Right Now
    Just To Tell You Once Again,
    Who's Bad . . .

Silly arguing over what a collision is.
    What was hit, how was it hit, was it an immovable object like a concrete wall, was it shrubbery, did the car turn over, did it hit several things, did it come to an immediate stop or was there much give involved, the crumple zones and type of car make a difference, also the impact of the car is not as important as the declaration of the occupant, where they stopped by the seatbelt, did they hit the airbag, did they hit the dash or windscreen, was it frontal, rear, side, did something fall on the car from above, did the car plunge...
    Arguing "what's a collision" is arguing how long a piece of string is.

No Pants wrote: »
    It certainly is different and perfectly acceptable, just not on cream leather.

Or car with black leather that's been in the sun for too long. Fried eggs...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

I have even put on my seatbelt to move my car within my own driveway. Just habit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I have such a habit of putting on my seatbelt, just like No Pants, even if I was moving the car from the front to the back of the house it goes on. I don't even think about it, it just automatically happens! In this day and age there really is no excuse for not putting on your seatbelt, common sense should have prevailed by now.