Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ARTist in the Spotlight - Gavlor

• 24-03-2014 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭

This week's ARTist in the spotlight is a runner of exceptional natural talent. Gavlor has completed four marathons, improving from a debut 3:26 to 3:09, 3:01 & 3:00. Having come so close to breaking three hours in the past, he looks almost certain to smash that barrier in London next month.

His training log, 'Gavlor and the quest for the Holy Grail' is here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056873120

I'll get us started.

1. What time do you expect to run in London next month?

2. Assuming you break three hours, what's the next big running goal?

3. Any other long-term running targets?

4. Favourite distance?

5. Favourite race?

6. Of the following three, whose marathon approach is the best in your opinion?

a) Jack Daniels
    b) P&D
    c) Gavlor

7. Reasons for your answer to question 6?

8. Are you a member of an Athletics Club?

9. I notice from the beginning of your log that you cycle a lot. Ever think of competing in triathlons?

10. Where will Everton finish this season?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

1. Favourite, running or cycling?
    2. To what level did you play soccer to?
    3. Do you miss it?
    4. Why did you take running up?
    5. Favourite beer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,189 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Eh thanks, I think!

1. What time do you expect to run in London next month?

10am all going well :pac:

Hopefully below 2.58

2. Assuming you break three hours, what's the next big running goal?

Don't really have one to be honest. Waiting on my new bike so that could take over for the summer. That said, there is a 5 mile series in waterford beginning in may so I'll give that a rattle.

3. Any other long-term running targets?

Nope. I have no interest in ultras.

4. Favourite distance?

I don't race enough but I reckon 5 mile/10k. or maybe 10 mile/ hm!!

5. Favourite race?

DCM. I'd recommend it as a first marathon over any of the regionals. The atmosphere is great.

6. Of the following three, whose marathon approach is the best in your opinion?

a) Jack Daniels
    b) P&D
    c) Gavlor

a) whiskey
    b) A failed shipping firm
    c) a real person.

I win

7. Reasons for your answer to question 6?

I have yet to try jd or p&d

8. Are you a member of an Athletics Club?

WAC

4 sessions and counting

9. I notice from the beginning of your log that you cycle a lot. Ever think of competing in triathlons?

Yep. I'll assess things once I find that stupid grail ;) I haven't cycled enough over the past year. Cycling is fantastic in fine weather. We have some great scenery all within an 80 mile radius. CM's challenge looks awsome. Would love to try it. Keep an eye on her log for some brilliant training sessions.

10. Where will Everton finish this season?

6th. I actually think utd will finish 5th as Everton have yet to play city, arsenal and man u.
    All at goodison so they will have a big say in the title race. Lets hope they don't do the redsh!te any favours

1. Favourite, running or cycling?

Tough one. Running is handy in that you can just throw on a pair of runners and go. You don't suffer mechanicals and don't need to spend '000s on a bike!

As per previous answer, cycling for scenery (coffee & scones too before blocky gets in)

2. To what level did you play soccer to?

Just junior league in waterford, our equivalent to AUL.

Made my senior debut at 15! (1st team were stuck!!)

3. Do you miss it?

Big time. Nothing beats the craic with the lads. We won a few league titles over the years with pretty much the same core of players which made it a bit more close knit. I still play in a few pre season tournaments just to keep my toe in.

I don't miss referees though!

4. Why did you take running up?

Myself and the lads went on the sauce in ballybunion one weekend and ran the half! Nothing for a while after that until 2 of my friends were training for the first waterford viking marathon. I was still playing football at the time. However our season was more or less over when we were hammered in the cup semi final so I joined them for a few runs and did the marathon with about 180 miles max in the bank. Start as you mean to go on!

5. Favourite beer?

My current favourite is Tom Creane Lager http://dinglebrewingcompany.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Hi Gavlor

Would you give up running for life if I gave you 1,000 euro right now?

Why won't you try AIS even though you have similar glute trouble to mine and other boardsies and the proof is there that it can work and you can save yourself a lot of money? Do you secretly harbour homosexual feelings for Phil Wharton? Be honest!

Do you think you spend too much time on Boards?

Why do you run? You don't seem to like it an awful lot at times so I wonder why do you really do it?

Are you very cynical in real life or just on boards?

What's the fastest marathon time you think you're capable of if you trained for it over the next few years?

Did you ever get runner's high where the endorphins are flowing through your body and you feel wonderful after a run? Be honest?

Are you an accountant?

What's it like living by the sea?

Thanks Ososlo...nice direct questions!!

Would you give up running for life if I gave you 1,000 euro right now?

Nope. €50000 and we'll talk! I'd buy a super bike and stick to that instead whilst spending my nights sleeping on my €45,000 in €5 notes.

Why won't you try AIS even though you have similar glute trouble to mine and other boardsies and the proof is there that it can work and you can save yourself a lot of money? Do you secretly harbour homosexual feelings for Phil Wharton? Be honest!

Haha, I can't talk now as phil is beside me!

The process that i'm currently undergoing includes a bit of AIS. My problem is that I get bored very quickly so spending 25/30 mins stretching before and after would wreck my bulb. I'd rather give €40 to the physio every couple of weeks.

Do you think you spend too much time on Boards?

Most definitely. My job means that I work from home alot and have a good bit of free time. I find boards f€ckin very addictive it's a great way to switch off for a while. It's also great watching people progressing, I think alot of people on here including the like of KU, Krusty, TRR etc would not have begun to realise their potential had it not been for boards. I'll be spending alot less time on baords post london.

Why do you run? You don't seem to like it an awful lot at times so I wonder why do you really do it?

I think I'm misunderstood in this regard. Just because I don't run 7 days a week or because I moan when the weather is sh!tty doesn't mean I don't like running. I wouldn't dedicate so much time to something that I don't like.

Are you very cynical in real life or just on boards?

I guess I'm quite cynical. I blame the catholic church for the rubbish they expect us to believe and drum into us from an early age.

What's the fastest marathon time you think you're capable of if you trained for it over the next few years?

God knows. I don't think i'm near my limit though.

Did you ever get runner's high where the endorphins are flowing through your body and you feel wonderful after a run? Be honest?

I probably wouldn't phrase it like that but yeah, I sure do.

Are you an accountant?

:eek: NO! My job is akin to Chandler Bing. None of my family & friends have a clue what I actually do.

What's it like living by the sea?

I love it. I've always lived in this area so I take it forgranted at times but it's great having a beach at your doorstep. I'm looking out the window at the Co Wexford coast line as I type this :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Hi Gavlor

What is your personal running highlight ( to date)?

ok, you don't have an idea of your next goal after London but you must secretly harbour an idea of a time that you could potentially hit ( injuries permitting etc..) - hand on heart, what do you think is achievable for you long term? ( not necessarily marathon distance...10k\10 mile ...)

How long ago did you start taking running "seriously"?

Why do you run?

What is the biggest limiting factor in your training? Time? Family commitments ? Work etc..

Least favourite session...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Gavlor wrote: »
    My current favourite is Tom Creane Lager
    Aren't you down in Blah-land? Not a fan of Metalman or Dungarvan's offerings?
    Do you drink it from draught? The canned/bottled stuff is brewed in the UK and shipped over here, which is a shame.

How do you keep the interest levels up when cycling? Is it all about group riding? (or orgies as they're known around these parts).

Flat tyre - Spare tube or puncture repair kit?

Do you have a favourite run route? If so, share a picture from Google Street view.

Are you planning on taking a break from running after London?

Thanks D

What is your personal running highlight ( to date)?

High-5ing my son and daughter about 750 meters before the end of my first marathon in 2012. The thoughts of running 26.2 had been very daunting and at that stage the enormity of the achievement really hit me.

ok, you don't have an idea of your next goal after London but you must secretly harbour an idea of a time that you could potentially hit ( injuries permitting etc..) - hand on heart, what do you think is achievable for you long term? ( not necessarily marathon distance...10k\10 mile ...)

Good question but its a hard one to answer. I have alot more respect for running and times etc now than I did when I started my log. My plan is to focus on the shorter stuff from HM down over the summer. Last year I hit 17.xx in my only 5k, 36 in one of my only 10k's and 28ish in a 5 mile.

I'd like to break 17 for 5k, 35 for 10k and hit 26/27 consistently for the 5 mile series. I'm in much better shape to achieve those now and will add a bit of 10k specific training to help with that.

How long ago did you start taking running "seriously"?

This is my first time following a plan. I used a mish mash of plans for Dublin so I guess you could say either last august or Jan 2014.

Why do you run?

Hhhmmmm. I like keeping fit and it was an easy replacement for football is the obvious answer but if I'm being honest I have stuck to it because I'm able to run to a reasonable level without a huge amount of effort.

What is the biggest limiting factor in your training? Time? Family commitments ? Work etc..

Family time. I love spending time with the kids and I'm fortunate that I have a job that facilitates that to a certain degree. You never get these years back and there will be plenty of time for running etc when G jnr is a bit older. My daughter is in her teens so dad is just ssssooooo uncool but the little man is still like my shadow!

Least favourite session...

There aren't really any sessions that I dislike! If I was to pick a least favourite one it would be the 20 milers but I'm grand once I'm out there, it's the thoughts of it the night before/morning of the run that get to me!

Thanks KC

Aren't you down in Blah-land? Not a fan of Metalman or Dungarvan's offerings?
    Do you drink it from draught? The canned/bottled stuff is brewed in the UK and shipped over here, which is a shame.

Yep, Dungarvan do some lovely beers. I'm not a huge fan of Metalman despite it being available on draught almost everywhere here. I'm not sure what it is that I don't like about the taste.

How do you keep the interest levels up when cycling? Is it all about group riding? (or orgies as they're known around these parts).

To be honest I'd much rather go either go solo or in a twosome/threesome. Orgies don't appeal to me though they are good for keeping one honest.

Some of my most enjoyable long spins have been on my own, I'm weird like that!

Random story: My main cycling buddy and I did the rebel tour 160 about 2 or 3 years ago and I literally towed him around west cork as the route was very hilly and he was suffering big time. As we came into kinsale he spotted a photographer and flew past me. There is now a picture on his mantelpiece of him in the foreground giving a big thumbs up and me looking puzzled in the background. He's 52 and like a child he shows it to everyone that visits! Jerk!!

Flat tyre - Spare tube or puncture repair kit?

Puncture repair kit of choice: Mobile phone :D

Apart from that, I would carry both a kit and a spare tube for longer spins. Tube first, Kit as a back up incase of second puncture.

Do you have a favourite run route? If so, share a picture from Google Street view.

This is part of my regular 6 mile route along the mouth of the suir. Straight ahead is hook head, if you turn around you can see wexford, kilkenny and waterford.

maps?q=Passage+East,+Waterford&hl=en&ll=52.242334,-6.981983&spn=0.017107,0.038581&sll=53.3834,-8.21775&sspn=8.53689,19.753418&oq=passage+eas&hnear=Passage+East,+County+Waterford&t=m&z=15&layer=c&cbll=52.242262,-6.981779&panoid=xXEJrrNa0eG6wL6l98Xx2A&cbp=12,133.6,,0,0

https://maps.google.ie/maps?q=Passage+East&hl=en&ll=52.242018,-6.978507&spn=0.015977,0.038581&sll=53.3834,-8.21775&sspn=8.53689,19.753418&oq=passage+east&hnear=Passage+East,+County+Waterford&t=m&z=15&layer=c&cbll=52.241443,-6.978495&panoid=beD6iYJnJrmXcqmLmMW9BA&cbp=12,82.57,,0,0

Are you planning on taking a break from running after London?

Nope. As per previous post I'll concentrate on the shorter stuff whilst mixing in alot more biking.

In relation to marathons I'm in for Berlin but at the moment I'm highly unlikely to run it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

(1) Do you feel that you've benefited from joining a club :) ?

(2) Is your family supportive/interested in your running ? (i.e. does wifey come to see your races)

(3) Thoughts about people like me saying that people like you have bundles of 'natural talent'?

(4) Are you aware that the Chandler Bing answer from earlier will be thrown at you again and again in a number of different guises.

(5) Just how much will you miss Blockic?

(6) Theres no doubt (in my mind) that you would have the ability for a 2:40-2:45 marathon - is this something that you'd like to do or is iot too much hard work?

(7) Would you like Everton to finish in the places for a Europa League spot next year - really??

(1) Do you feel that you've benefited from joining a club ?

Yeah I'd have to say it has. I would expect the sessions to hugely improve my speed consistency over the shorter distances. With regards to this cycle, I have been for a few runs of > 10 miles with a couple of sub 2.40 guys. Tipping along with them makes the pace seem so much easier.

I regret not doing it sooner.

(2) Is your family supportive/interested in your running ? (i.e. does wifey come to see your races)

Mrs G is very supportive in that she rarely gives me grief for heading off training but she doesn't come to many races unless there's a weekend away in it for her!! She does a bit of running herself and has done a couple of hm's etc that I would have also ran in. She's also great for listening to me waffling on about running/injuries/you freaks/races. She is still a bit dubious about internet people so Coal Hole should be interesting! She's already met belcarra so at least he's somewhat normal :p

The rest of my family are rubbish. My mother text me before my first marathon saying "enjoy your walk" :eek: She wasn't even being sarcastic! They have no concept of the distances involved. I also get the usual annoying comments regarding my knees, my weight, pneumonia etc etc.

Actually Mrs G is starting to get a bit naggy about the lack of DIY work currently being done. I'm in for some shock after london, I'd say she has a list of jobs for me!!

(3) Thoughts about people like me saying that people like you have bundles of 'natural talent'?

Good question. To be honest I take it with a pinch of salt. Who's to say that I went out very hard from when I started running and may soon peak.
    Whereas most people, you included, have ran sensibly and have nurtured their own natural talent. I wouldn't say there's too much difference between my natural ability and that of most people on here.

(4) Are you aware that the Chandler Bing answer from earlier will be thrown at you again and again in a number of different guises.

As long as I keep getting paid for doing what I do then I couldn't give a monkeys!!

(5) Just how much will you miss Blockic?

He's my boards "joey".

(i would like to run chicago next year so I have to be nice)

(6) Theres no doubt (in my mind) that you would have the ability for a 2:40-2:45 marathon - is this something that you'd like to do or is iot too much hard work?

It is something that I would love to do but I just can't see myself committing to the required level of training.

But who knows!

(7) Would you like Everton to finish in the places for a Europa League spot next year - really??

Yep. Unfortunately football has changed so much that a europa campaign is the pinnacle for a club like Everton. They can't continue to spend sweet F A year in year out and expect to contend with the other clubs vying for top 4. So what if it is a big drain on the squad next season, they might finish 8th instead of 6th.

I'm getting more and more disillusioned with football as each season passes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Apart from running too many miles, is there anything a lot of other runners do that irritates you?

What's the one piece of advice you'd give to someone running their first marathon this year?

What's the best piece of non-running related advice you've ever received?

Cheers Vitani, they're a serious line of questions!

Apart from running too many miles, is there anything a lot of other runners do that irritates you?

:pac: It doesn't bother me that people run huge mileage!

What does irritate me is:

the noises that some people make when running! I could swear I passed a few gorillas in ballycotton;
    People in 10ks with about 18 gels and a camel bag;
    Runners attitude to cyclists and vice versa. Why can't we all just get along?!;
    The big one..... runners that eyeball me for 20 meters and dont answer my greeting. It drives me mental the ignorant f[_]ckers.

What's the one piece of advice you'd give to someone running their first marathon this year?

Enjoy it and don't stress about it. Follow a simple plan, run 4 days a week and pick a soft target.

What's the best piece of non-running related advice you've ever received?

The brake pedal is in the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,724 ✭✭✭Dilbert75

You use kms for cycling - why not for running?

How have you liked being a mentor to other runners (I won't tell DH) and would you be interested in becoming a coach as a sideline / new career, doing the courses and all?

Thanks Conor

You use kms for cycling - why not for running?

I think it's because my first dip into running was the marathon. 26.2 seems shorter than counting down 42!

How have you liked being a mentor to other runners (I won't tell DH)

I'm sure some people reading this earlier almost choked on their cornflakes!

It was grand. Basically all the two lads were looking for was to add a session and some sort of structure to their week. Both could only run 4 times a week so my training suited them. One had a 9 minute pb the other finished despite missing the last 3 weeks of training due to football related injury.

would you be interested in becoming a coach as a sideline / new career, doing the courses and all?

Not for athletics as I don't have any knowledge/experience on the topic and nor could I call on the techniques of any previous coaches as I have never had one!

I am however doing the FAI coaching badges, this is something that I'll continue as long as g jnr is involved. My father coached some of my teams up to youth level and in my early years with the senior setup. We are very close as a result and winning a league with him as manager is my best football memory.

You'd imagine I would have got a bit of favoritism with my dad in charge but it was actually the opposite! My performance was analysed every sunday afternoon so there was no escaping it if I was rubbish. I recall when Myself and my buddy were dropped from an important match with 3 games left the year we won the league.

The reason?? my friends car broke down on the way and we didn't arrive until 10 mins before kick off, this was unacceptable to my father. The other guy was top scorer for us and by half time we were 2-0 down. Mourihno turned to the bench, put us both on and we went on to win the game 3-2!! Needless to say my dad has never lived it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Hi Gav :D

When you were a little boy, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Lego or action man

When you were little did you ever dress up in your mother's clothes and high heel shoes?

Tell us your most embarrassing story

Where did you go on your first date

Describe the following boardsies in one word
    - blockic
    - dr quirky
    - marthastew
    - pconn062
    - pa4
    - thebitterlemon
    - smmoore79
    - kielyunusual
    - runforestrun
    - yaboya

If you were reincarnated as an animal which animal would you choose and why

ah jaysus, I have done so well not to insult anyone until this!!

When you were a little boy, what did you want to be when you grew up?

Professional footballer all the way. Hopefully I'll achieve it by the time I grow up ;)

Lego or action man

My Dad worked in Hasbro/Mb games since 1977 so action man & gi joe all the way. I reckon I could have successfully invaded northern Ireland considering the size of my toy army.

I could never understand why santa wasn't able to bring us lego!!

When you were little did you ever dress up in your mother's clothes and high heel shoes?

Not that I remember

Tell us your most embarrassing story

As a kid my uncle discovered myself and the girl next door playing mammys and daddys in my back garden..... in our underwear and vests :eek:

More recently: A few years ago whilst on holidays in Nice, I was floating on an inflatable lilo in the sea. Anyone that has been to nice will know that it's generally quite choppy. This monster wave (tsunami in size, honestly) flipped me off the lilo and smashed me into the stoney bank at the bottom of the sea. I swam up, dazed and walked back towards the beach only to spot a pair of black shorts floating out to sea.... my black shorts! Mrs G had the ipod on so I had to leg it about 20 feet up the stoney, packed beach to grab my towel. And for the record, the water was freezing OKAY?!

Where did you go on your first date

Local beach with the same girl next door as above!

Describe the following boardsies in one word

- blockic
    serbian

- dr quirky
    Direct!

- marthastew
    Maternal

- pconn062
    Speedster

- pa4
    Rain loving freak

- thebitterlemon
    Either 007 or austin powers. Not sure which!

- smmoore79
    Talented

- kielyunusual
    Hippy :D

- runforestrun
    Mr nice

- yaboya
    Kenny Rogers ;)

- Career move
    As mad as a bag of cats

If you were reincarnated as an animal which animal would you choose and why

A wolf. Strong, Cool and can lick his own balls

You'd imagine I would have got a bit of favoritism with my dad in charge but it was actually the opposite!

This resonates a lot with me as I coach my daughters GAA team. I have higher expectations of her than everyone else. But there is a close bond, you are right.

Your previous marathon cycle training plans have been very Gavlorish (cross training, fewer days running) while this one is more Menoish (running nearly every feckin day). We all suspect which style will have a better result (in terms of time) but which did you enjoy more?

This one has been alot more structured, well it was up till a couple of weeks ago but I still haven't ran more than 5 days a week. I'll be up to 600 miles by the time I stand on the start line in london which is up around 50% on dcm.

I've enjoyed the set up and the sessions of the BAA plan as it's very easy to understand and is laid out in layman terms.

BUT, I like the cross training aspect too so I guess I'll be able to answer this one more directly if I nail london.

Like everything else, this is a results business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

Do you dress to the left or right?

Had you anything to do with CM's middle finger going numb?

Do you dress to the left or right?

Dunno, left first I think.

Had you anything to do with CM's middle finger going numb?

Ha! No, I was sound asleep with the beautiful Mrs G that night, however there was a photo of me floating around these parts a few weeks ago so I may have been indirectly responsible :p

I'm going to get banned/murdered if this Q & A continues much longer!!

You're being surprisingly diplomatic so far.:eek:

Has anyone ever (yet?) hit you for relentlessly winding them up?

Are you a fight or flight type of person?

Has anyone ever (yet?) hit you for relentlessly winding them up?

My younger brother. The poor chap had an awful time of it!!

Are you a fight or flight type of person?

Depends on the situation, I'll rarely back down but have been in suprisingly few scuffles.

Most of them have been football related. One time I went to sligo with the college team, i think it was for a collingwood cup game. This was about 17 years ago so no motorways and Sligo was about 2 days travel on the crappy college mini bus. About 6 minutes into the game the ball went out for a throw in, I went to take a quick throw and some scumbag playing for sligo it spat at me for absolutely no reason! Needless to say I lost it, got sent off and he only got a booking :mad: we went on to lose the game. Did I mention I hate referees?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

Ha great answers - I forgot to include auldmanking in that list so one word to describe him too please :D

Chameleon

my usual Q's - robbed from others.

* You have just finished your marathon, what would be in your dream goodie bag?

* Top 3 all time sporting heroes? / Non sporting heros?

* If you could go back 20 years and give yourself just one piece of advice, what would it be?

* Handicap 10k race boardsie race where the seeding is perfect so it really comes down to pure guts/ wanting it more ( not running ability). Who wins?

* If you had to be mentored/coached by a Boardsie for a year then who would you pick?

* Any other interesting facts you can tell us about yourself?

* on behalf of MarthaStew: if you had 6 months perfect training, what would you run 1 mile in?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Tour de France or Giro?

Sean Kelly, yea or nay?

What's harder a running race or a cycling one?

Thoughts on David Moyes?

Be honest - is the Blaa anything special or just a floury bap?

Are you running the Beer Mile this year? (Would have you as a dark horse on this tbh)

Will you be pissed off when Arsenal hire Roberto Martinez to replace Wenger this summer?

* You have just finished your marathon, what would be in your dream goodie bag?

A warm hoodie, a cold beer, a Mars bar and a box of Pringles

* Top 3 all time sporting heroes? / Non sporting heros

Sean Kelly
    AP McCoy
    Maradonna

Tom Creane (greatest Irishman of all time??)
    Mandela
    Matt Groening

* If you could go back 20 years and give yourself just one piece of advice, what would it be?

Travel the world before settling down

* Handicap 10k race boardsie race where the seeding is perfect so it really comes down to pure guts/ wanting it more ( not running ability). Who wins?

I assume I can't choose myself?!

Tough one. There are some obvious candidates but I think Clara Lara and cm would be there or there abouts

* If you had to be mentored/coached by a Boardsie for a year then who would you pick?

KU. I think his laid back approach would suit me!!

* Any other interesting facts you can tell us about yourself?

Nope. Well none that are suitable for this forum ;)

* on behalf of MarthaStew: if you had 6 months perfect training, what would you run 1 mile in?

No idea but I would certainly break 5 mins

Tour de France or Giro?

Giro due to the mountain stages. Some of the climbs are phenomenal.

Sean Kelly, yea or nay?

Yay, despite him being a money grabbing f@cker. The man is driven by one thing and one thing only. Money.

What's harder a running race or a cycling one?

Running. You can get a break on the bike, downhill, drafting etc

Thoughts on David Moyes?

I've always been sceptical of him. Everton have the 7th highest wage bill in the prem and guess where they generally finished under moves? 7th. He is blindly loyal to hard working players at the expense of skilful players and his main priority in every game is not losing, it should be to win.

His main fault is that he has no plan b and is very slow to make tactical changes or substitutions in games.

How very dare you. A fresh BLAA is a thing of beauty. The granary cafe in Waterford should receive a Michelin star for their breakfast blaa!

Are you running the Beer Mile this year? (Would have you as a dark horse on this tbh)

I'd love to do it but the date doesn't suit. Show ye fools what drunken running is all about!

Will you be pissed off when Arsenal hire Roberto Martinez to replace Wenger this summer?

Why would he leave a club playing in the champions league for one that will be in the Europa league due to losing the last 7 games of the season??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭Beef

How very dare you. A fresh bap is a thing of beauty. The granary cafe in Waterford should receive a Michelin star for their breakfast blaa!

Freudian slip? I agree with you though, I worked in Waterford for a few years and nothing cures a hangover quicker than a fresh blaa with bacon and egg.

Beef wrote: »
    Freudian slip? I agree with you though, I worked in Waterford for a few years and nothing cures a hangover quicker than a fresh blaa with bacon and egg.

Ha! Stupid ipad!!