Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coffee places

• 22-03-2014 3:14am

So many places to get coffee yet a great, let alone good cup of it is hard to come by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,341 ✭✭✭D Trent

Can anyone recommend pura vida?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

D Trent wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend pura vida?

Yes, love it for the location and vibe of the building (esp upstairs looking over the Arch/Claddagh). Coffee is good. Food was a bit <mumble> but seems to have improved recently (new mgmt, or perhaps just new staff).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Galway desperately needs a tea shop..in case anyone needs an idea :cool:

Galway city council are recognising the overflow of coffee shops and cafés in the city centre and are doing something to combat it...........

.............said no one , ever

Overflow me arse. Try finding somewhere that's not a pub or restaurant to have a decent coffee after 6pm most any night, and you'll still end up in Javas.

That said, these businesses come and go very fast. I'd swear that the shopfitters are the ones making most money from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

So many places to get coffee yet a great, let alone good cup of it is hard to come by.

Yeah, the city center could really do with a Starbucks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,606 ✭✭✭Laviski

snubbleste wrote: »

Cupan Tae
    Spanish arch, cant get a better tea place than that. Real homie.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Posts split to new thread for dragging the other thread too off-topic

snubbleste wrote: »

Secret Garden does lots of teas.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 35 LMellows

Yeah except it's not actually had to come by at all. In fact it's rarer to find a bad cup of it.

Disappointed to see a Costa opening up on Quay St. Ruins the look of the street and was always quite proud of the lack of big coffee chains in Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭kefir32

LMellows wrote: »
    Yeah except it's not actually had to come by at all. In fact it's rarer to find a bad cup of it.

Disappointed to see a Costa opening up on Quay St. Ruins the look of the street and was always quite proud of the lack of big coffee chains in Galway.

In total agreement, bad coffee, zero atmosphere. spotted a new cafe on sea road today, urban grind i think it was called, looks like its worth a visit, good luck to them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭dizzymiss

Totally agree with you LMellows. Costa ruins the feel of Quay St.

Mr Waffle in Newcastle do lovely coffee and their scones are always fresh and yum. Also like An Cupan Tae for coffee and always nice for a treat too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 smalls90

Butlers on Shop St does the nicest cup in the city I think.
    the jungle cafe on Foster St does a nice cup too. Friendly staff and nice little spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Good coffee is easy to come by in the city, I've yet to get an awful cup anywhere.
    Of course it's all down to individual taste and level of snobbery ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Il Vicolo do good coffee consistantly. Another new coffee place going in opposite The Abbey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Where is the best place for coffee (including take away) during non business hours (without having to go to a restaurant)? For example Sunday at 8pm.

Javas is pretty much the only option.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

You'll have to go to a restaurant or Java's.

I like decaf so I'm always on the hunt for a good cup. Favourites so far are:

1. Mr. Waffle (out of town I know)
    2. La Fine Bouche on Sea Road
    3. Butler's chocolate cafe
    4. Insomnia in the Galway Shopping Centre Eason's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭xo.mary

An Tobar Nua on Dominick Street do the best coffee in town hands down. It's brewed... so free refills!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 336 ✭✭lampsie

I think I've mentioned this on here before, but I'm partial to the G hotel the odd time for a coffee...its outside town for sure, but pretty nice place to sit and relax at whatever time, and I find the coffee decent. Haven't done it in a while mind, but I presume they still do it - was around 7 quid for coffee for two with a little brownie each or something like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 163 ✭✭superglue

I really like cafe express for coffee in the evenings.

For business hours, The Kitchen (cafe @ the museum) is very good.

Just to clarify my point. There's no doubt that you can get a good cup of coffee in galway but with so many cages and many more opening soon you'd expect at least one place would do a great cup.

McDonalds do one of the best cups of coffee in the city and the little stall in Eyre Square did a good cup though that's now gone. Was one of the only places that did flavoured coffee and used flavoured brand and not just a dash of some syrup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,398 ✭✭✭inisboffin

McDonalds do one of the best cups of coffee in the city and the little stall in Eyre Square did a good cup though that's now gone. Was one of the only places that did flavoured coffee and used flavoured brand and not just a dash of some syrup.

A great example of coffee beauty being very much in the taste buds of the beholder! McDs and Flavoured beans would have me running a mile, and in Tobar nua I'd be too annoyed by the propaganda ;)
    Had quite a delish cup in Massimo the other day and a mate says the new coffee place a couple of doors down is good too.

inisboffin wrote: »
    A great example of coffee beauty being very much in the taste buds of the beholder! McDs and Flavoured beans would have me running a mile, and in Tobar nua I'd be too annoyed by the propaganda ;)
    Had quite a delish cup in Massimo the other day and a mate says the new coffee place a couple of doors down is good too.

Nothing wrong with some flavoured coffee, a nice cup of hazelnut coffee can go down a treat. Likewise McD's coffee, it's not great but far better than many more upmarket places in the city. Was handed a cup of Costa Coffee the last day and dumped half it down a drain. Had a cup from Tobar Nua and it wasn't bad but not a chance I'd drink in there, far too many but jobs preaching in there.

Exactly. Nothing wrong with if you like it!
    I'd rather drink boiling water though - I find most flavoured coffee horrid to the taste buds.

Exactly. Nothing wrong with if you like it!
    I'd rather drink boiling water though - I find most flavoured coffee horrid to the taste buds.

Huge difference between the various flavoured coffees. Any of the syrup ones are loathsome but the flavoured beans are far different. That said you can get awful flavoured beans abd at one of the Christmas markets they had beans that were akin to drinking bleach.

Just to clarify my point. There's no doubt that you can get a good cup of coffee in galway but with so many cages and many more opening soon you'd expect at least one place would do a great cup.

Where was the stall in eyre sq?

Huge difference between the various flavoured coffees. Any of the syrup ones are loathsome but the flavoured beans are far different. That said you can get awful flavoured beans abd at one of the Christmas markets they had beans that were akin to drinking bleach.

Yeah the syrup ones are a whole other circle of hell. However all flavoured coffees are an abomination (to me). Nothing personal to their genres! I've tried the 'good ones' too, believe me!
    It's probably like how some people feel about blackcurrant in a pint of Guinness, tayto flavoured chocolate, menthol fags etc! :D

Where was the stall in eyre sq?

It was at the top of the steps at the entrance that opened onto Eyre Square.

Oh where the subway stall is now ?

Further up from Subway to the left.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 7,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭pleasant Co.

Got in to espresso 44 (formerly The Galway Roast, and a differently named coffee shop before that) today. Cappuccino is my milk coffee of choice and it was good/grand. Cost €2.50 take out which is 50c more than the price I like to pay for take out but that seems to be the going rate people are willing to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭jkforde

I can't fault Mr. Waffle for a plain black coffee (and fast wifi). Jungle Café is great as well. Nice staff in both to boot.

🌦️ 6.7kwp, 45°, SSW, mid-Galway 🌦️

"Since I no longer expect anything from mankind except madness, meanness, and mendacity; egotism, cowardice, and self-delusion, I have stopped being a misanthrope." Irving Layton

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,929 ✭✭✭beardybrewer

jkforde wrote: »
    Jungle Café is great as well. Nice staff in both to boot.

I love that place, now that's a proper coffee shop. It's like a little oasis in the middle of the city.

newkie wrote: »
    I love that place, now that's a proper coffee shop. It's like a little oasis in the middle of the city.

It's a really nice spot, definitely my favourite place for a sit in coffee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭ArtyC

I miss Dylan's on abbey gate street, savage sandwiches coffee and outside space for is smokers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭aaronosiochain

Pizza Napoli do a nice espresso. Il vicolo also have a good one.

Yeah, had a lovely coffee in Il Vicolo the other day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭markesmith

Il Vicolo's nice, but if you're sitting outside for a smoke you're nearly guaranteed someone will bum one off you.

For takeaway, Butler's and Renzo are two of my favourites.

For sit-down (smokers) there's Kelly's and Revive (the one across from Renzo). Both do good coffee.

Cafe Express on Eyre Square isn't bad - raspberry muffins are very moreish and all :)

markesmith wrote: »
    Il Vicolo's nice, but if you're sitting outside for a smoke you're nearly guaranteed someone will bum one off you.

For takeaway, Butler's and Renzo are two of my favourites.

For sit-down (smokers) there's Kelly's and Revive (the one across from Renzo). Both do good coffee.

Cafe Express on Eyre Square isn't bad - raspberry muffins are very moreish and all :)

Say no if you don't want to give them one?:confused:

I'd say the 'do you have a spare fag brigade' are not limited to one place! Seen people bumming fags at Neachtain's, Mc Cambridges, Kelly's, Taffes, Garavans etc etc!

Say no if you don't want to give them one?:confused:

I'd say the 'do you have a spare fag brigade' are not limited to one place! Seen people bumming fags at Neachtain's, Mc Cambridges, Kelly's, Taffes, Garavans etc etc!

I seen none other than Nora herself bum a fag (I'm talkin about cigarettes ye dirty yokes) from a lady enjoying a coffee outside Pura Vida , the lady thinking shed feck off once given a fag, but no Nora stayed for the chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Charideegirl

Urban Grind coffee shop/cafe on Sea Rd is a real bonus to the west end. This area has been lacking a decent cafe which also makes its own (relatively inexpensive) sandwiches. I have eaten there twice now and the sandwiches are high end, 'gourmelicious' :pac: at good prices. The menu seems to change and is really varied with soups, salads and hotpots. The tea and coffee are also really good - coffee seems to be a disappointment to me so often. The staff are great and the owner is really knowledgeable about the produce he uses. I hope this place gets the support it appears to deserve.

And what's your affiliation to them

Just a punter - I happen to work in a shop on Sea Rd and so am delighted to have somewhere more accessible/affordable to have lunch on any occasion when I don't bring my own to work! I only get half an hour for lunch so it has just ticked all my boxes!! Does someone have to have an affiliation to something in order to say something nice? Kai, La Fine Bouche and Massimo's are also very good but Urban Grind is that bit cheaper as well as excellent so is getting my vote at the moment!

You have 6 posts on boards and all 6 of them are shilling two companies based in Galway.

What is shilling? Strangely my posts were about two places that I was/am a customer of. Western Fitness which then became Cross Fit was my gym for a time until it closed down. I happened to enjoy it. Urban Grind is a coffee shop which I have just started to frequent and I am very happy it is there - believe me if they upset me or start serving rubbish, poor value food I will come back and say so! All I am doing is supporting local business because I live and work in Galway until further notice. Is that not what Boards.ie is for? I know that you are not supposed to be affiliated to any of the companies that you are posting on but is there a problem with me highlighting how good I think a place is in spite of not being affiliated?!! Let me know if I can provide any evidence that I have no personal attachment to either CrossFit or Urban Grind do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Redhairedguy

What is shilling?

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=shill

The rest of ye, stop with the witch hunt. MOAR ABOUT DA COFFEE!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Not knocking Urban Grind, been there a couple of times since it opened and they do a damn good cup of coffee, but seriously, Sea Road is NOT starved for a place to get coffee or food, etc. Kai is one of the best restaurants around and they do a great cuppa :p The food in Massimo has been amazing since the Cava folks went in there, the few times I've been in La Fine Bouche I've had no complaints either, and The Secret Garden is just a fantastic spot to chill out and have a nice fancy tea, I love it.

My point is, you're spoilt for choice on Sea Road ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 ROZLYN

If 'Milanos' isn't wedged (remember it's very child friendly :) which is a good thing if you've kids with you.. but might wreck you're head if you don't) the coffee is delicious and they do a little coffee/treat dish where you can get a mini desert e.g. lemon meringue, on the coffee saucer.

ROZLYN wrote: »
    If Massimos isn't wedged (remember it's very child friendly :) which is a good thing if you've kids with you.. but might wreck you're head if you don't) the coffee is delicious and they do a little coffee/treat dish where you can get a mini desert e.g. lemon meringue, on the coffee saucer.

Did you mean Massimos the pub? Perhaps you meant Milanos?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 ROZLYN

Sorry, yea your right inisboffin, thanks. Milanos for coffee. Massimos is great for a late night weekend dance.