Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

DGW31 Matchday Thread

• 22-03-2014 6:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭

My new fitness regime has me up at silly o clock, but at least I get to start the matchday thread... This gameweek will make or break a lot of people's season. If Suarez and Sturridge continue their form the average will be 100+. For me a lot depends on clean sheets from Liverpool, and the opposite from Arsenal and Chelsea. Good luck all!
    2mn5bfl.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

My job had me up at silly o clock also...and will miss the Arsenal v Chelsea game,ah well.

Settled on a -8 after backing off the Shaw to Bardsley move suggested by Lemlin earlier. 10 plus Hazard will hopefully land me a good score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭FHFC

Adrian
    Baines Distin Kos
    Mata Hazard Gerrard Yaya
    Dzeko Sturridge Suarez (c)

Especially Mssrs Baines, Mata and Dzeko.....tread softly for you tread on my dreams. ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

My 11 month old has me up at silly o'clock and its snowing in Cavan!

My team:

Adrian
    Bardsley Chester Coleman
    Mata Gerrard Yaya Nolan
    Lukaku Sturridge Suarez(c)

Subs: Mannone, Hazard, Terry, Ward.

Hopefully benching Hazard and Terry doesn't come back to bit me in the arse.

My -12 means my lead is down to 47 points in one league and 49 in another. My opponents hadn't taken any hits last night but then one took a -8 last week so he had the majority of his work done.

I'll be dropping out of the top 500 in the world for the first time in weeks but I'm hoping this move will rejuvenate my season and allow me to finally move from my stagnant position in the 300s.

Aim is to secure those two private leagues. After that, I'll push for a double digit finish in the global rankings if I can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Why can't kids get up this early on a school day?

Anyway, I expect big scores but minimal movement for everybody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭OneColdHand

Speroni

Zabaleta Flanagan Coleman

Gerrard Nolan Sissoko Hazard

Suarez Lukaku Dzeko

9 DGWers. I feel my midfield is pretty light - am worried about the likes of Silva and Yaya doing well. But simply couldn't afford either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭8-10

I'm up early to watch the build up for the MLB season opener which starts in an hour from now (LA and Arizona playing in Sydney of all places)

Locked in with my team. Going:

De Gea

Mertesacker Zabaleta Coleman

Yaya Hazard Nolan Sterling

Suarez Sturridge Lukaku

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭Son0vagun

Top of my work league by 30pts. This is a big week for me. 10players with DGWs, Suarez captain. Concerned about West Hams James Collins, he was dropped last game WH conceded 3, so hopefully he'll play.

Let's do it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

I'm up since quarter past six myself with 3 of the kids, left herself in bed with the baby and the offer of a lie in but she was down the stairs before 7 herself, absolutely wasted a good opportunity, I'd have been in the scratcher till at least ten if the shoe was on the other foot.
    Anyway, I'm currently hovering around the 100k mark, far below where I would have wanted to be, I've taken my eye off the ball a bit of late.
    I've got 9 dgw's at a 4 point hit, Hazard and Ivan are in my team also, I could swap either out for Yaya (have Silva now) or some flavour of the week defender but will hang tough and hope for a Chelsea clean sheet home to Arsenal.
    Sturridge could kill me this week, I'd allow him 10 points, if he gets closer to 20 it'll be a bad week for me unless Lukaku can match him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Lemlin wrote: »
    My 11 month old has me up at silly o'clock and its snowing in Cavan!

My team:

Adrian
    Bardsley Chester Coleman
    Mata Gerrard Yaya Nolan
    Lukaku Sturridge Suarez(c)

Subs: Mannone, Hazard, Terry, Ward.

Hopefully benching Hazard and Terry doesn't come back to bit me in the arse.

My -12 means my lead is down to 47 points in one league and 49 in another. My opponents hadn't taken any hits last night but then one took a -8 last week so he had the majority of his work done.

I'll be dropping out of the top 500 in the world for the first time in weeks but I'm hoping this move will rejuvenate my season and allow me to finally move from my stagnant position in the 300s.

Aim is to secure those two private leagues. After that, I'll push for a double digit finish in the global rankings if I can.

Good man now I dont feel so bad, someone else going without hazard this week. Granted you have been able to keep him on the bench whereas Ive sold him.
    -8 hit for
    mannone
    bardsley baines kos
    mata silva yaya nolan
    suarez(c) lukaku sturridge.
    I could do with a sunderland C.S, hazard having a quiet day and liverpool not getting a peno.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭The Wild Bunch

Who's the better bet this DGW, Dzeko or Negredo?

Eight point hit

Mannone
    Terry Bardsley Coleman
    Gerrard Yaya Nolan Hazard
    SLS

Subs don't matter hopefully but I have Collins and Livermore on the bench. Can't bring myself to bench a Chelsea player though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,693 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

-12 hit. Gamble fest all over the place although I forgot to get an Arsenal mid, grrrr. Hopefully might work out anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,675 ✭✭✭HighClass

Mannone
    Terry, Distin, Zab
    Hazard, Yaya, Livermore, Gerrard
    Suarez, Jelavic, Sturridge

Taking a risk with the two Hull lads. If this turns out to be a bad week my seasons pretty much over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Who's the better bet this DGW, Dzeko or Negredo?

I'd go with Negredo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭Iago

took a -8 hit...

...and still ended up without Coleman :(

Need him to have a rubbish couple of games as everyone around me has him in their team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,880 ✭✭✭✭dahat

Shaw out Chester in to give me 10 DGW and Hazard, 12 pt hit as like many others. One benefit is I have gotten back 1.2 m to my bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,264 ✭✭✭✭manual_man

Good luck!

:O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I don't work weekends or have kids, just thought I'd put that there up front :cool:

Mignolet
    Evra - Mertesacker - Coleman
    Gerrard - Lallana - Navas - Hazard
    Rodriquez - Suarez - Lukaku

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭TVSAdamwest

I'm going all out for this gameweek if i dont my private league is over.
    GoalKeeper: Howard
    Defenders: Buttner Kolarov Coleman
    Midfielders: Yaya Gerrard Nolan Johnson
    Strikers: Suarez Dzeko Rooney
    Subs Sterling C.Davies Fonte Speroni

Is benching Sterling a bad idea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,268 ✭✭✭IsMiseMyself

Took a -4 hit. No one called to me enough to take the -8. Only fielding 9 DGWers but feck it. My team will do. Since falling from grace and into the back of the 30ks, I have stopped caring so much. XD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭roryc

12 point hit taken. Cost myself a few .1's this week in waiting to do Lallana to Nolan but only convinced myself this morning. Actually have 11 DGWers but benching Colback in favour of Hazard. My rival has taken a -8 and I had cut the lead to 4 points before this game meaning I'll need to make up 8 points on him this week. His front three should be identical to mine with Suarez as captain, although he could easily go with Sturridge. Not sure whether I want him to! All eyes are on the defence this week, need some good returns from Evra and Skrtel. Banking on a goal/assist from one of them! Also need Mata to outscore Gerrard, something which looks more likely now that RVP is out. Players in bold I have the same as my rival, unsure whether he has held on to Hazard.
    Mannone
    Evra--Coleman--Skrtel
    Yaya--Mata--Nolan--Hazard
    Suarez--Sturridge--Lukaku

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,747 ✭✭✭Swiper the fox

I'm going all out for this gameweek if i dont my private league is over.
    GoalKeeper: Howard
    Defenders: Buttner Kolarov Coleman
    Midfielders: Yaya Gerrard Nolan Johnson
    Strikers: Suarez Dzeko Rooney
    Subs Sterling C.Davies Fonte Speroni

Is benching Sterling a bad idea?

Is Buttner likely to get any gametime, I didn't think there was a problem with Evra.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭irish son

Adrian
    Coleman Kos Baines
    Yaya Silva Hazard Sterling
    Suarez Sturridge Lukaku

Brought in Baines and Sterling for -4, could have got Gerrard and Chester but wanted to keep my team a little different than the pack. It also fits better with my GW34 plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭TVSAdamwest

Is Buttner likely to get any gametime, I didn't think there was a problem with Evra.

Thers no problem with Evra but Buttner needs some gametime if hes going up against Bayern.
    I may be overthinking things :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Team for the week:

Adrian
    Coleman, Koscielny, Williamson
    Silva, Gerrard, Nolan, Hazard
    Sturridge, Suarez (c), Lukaku

Subs: Chester, Colback, Azpilicueta

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

Made a couple of last minute WC tweaks now going to log out and leave it! Can't wait until 11.30 to stop the temptation!!

Here is how we are lining up in FPL main:
    Adrian
    Distin, Coleman, Dummet
    Silva, Gerrard, Sissoko, AJ
    Sturridge, Suarez (c), Dzeko

ranking and TV is shocking bad so going with a couple of differentials to hopefully make up some ground!

UFPL
    McGregor
    Baines, Skrtel, Chester
    Noble, Livermore, AJ, Sterling
    Suarez (c), Sturridge, Lukaku

4 DGW players not starting in UFPL its such a weird game!! Left a couple of Sundays players on the bench in case anything happens to my DGW players!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

hazard or ki?????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭Who_8_Paul?

kevthegaff wrote: »
    hazard or ki?????

That's bananas. Hazard is world class and can score 15 pts anytime against any opposition. Ki plays for Sunderland.

[This is the kind of post that gets reposted at 5 o clock...]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

kevthegaff wrote: »
    hazard or ki?????

Hazard. Not even that close really Ki is rarely going to get more than 5 points imo. You'll get more 4 pointers from Ki but more 8+ pointers from Hazard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,543 ✭✭✭sionnach

McGregor
    Coleman Evra Chester
    Yaya Silva Hazard Gerrard
    Suarez(c) Sturridge Lukaku

10 DGWers, no transfer hit this week but an 8 point hit last week to rectify the Aguero disaster. 60 points ahead of my nearest rival in my only competitive league, a decent GW now should hopefully lock it up

Is Buttner likely to get any gametime

I hope not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

Am i mad to start Colback who has 2 games over Lallana?? Lallana could easily outscore him but with 2 games to play you're looking at a minimum of 4 points for Colback (as long as he doesn't get booked).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭tom_k

A -12 hit sees me with only 9 DGW players but there was no other way i could have done this.

After last weeks shambles I've approached this week with kind of hopeful recklessness.

Boruc
    Zab - Evra - Dummett
    Mata - Yaya - Hazard - Nolan
    Sturridge - Lukaku - Suarez(C)

Make no mistake, ladies and gentlemen, this is the biggest GW of the season!

Good luck all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭carraig2

Silva or Yaya and is it worth dropping Hazard for either?
    Can't afford either otherwise

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Suarez or Sturridge as captain?:/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

To start Terry or Snodgrass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

jimmii wrote: »
    Hazard. Not even that close really Ki is rarely going to get more than 5 points imo. You'll get more 4 pointers from Ki but more 8+ pointers from Hazard.
    ki has scored a couple of 10+ pointers but is off penos with borini there just have a feeling che-ars 0-0

SantryRed wrote: »

Suarez

SantryRed wrote: »

When in doubt...

Am i mad to start Colback who has 2 games over Lallana?? Lallana could easily outscore him but with 2 games to play you're looking at a minimum of 4 points for Colback (as long as he doesn't get booked).

I had the same dilemma. Dumped Lallana half an hour ago for Nolan. Would recommend the same, its worth the hit! Nolan is likely to outscore either Lallana or Colback by -4.

Dónal wrote: »
    When in doubt...

So many people have Suarez captain if he doesn't perform no big deal.
    But if he does perform and you don't have him you are sunk.
    Been burned twice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

roryc wrote: »
    I had the same dilemma. Dumped Lallana half an hour ago for Nolan. Would recommend the same, its worth the hit! Nolan is likely to outscore either Lallana or Colback by -4.

I have Nolan on the pitch too, good man just needed another voice of reason to confirm the move! Colback it is an may God have mercy on my soul!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,336 ✭✭✭✭km79

Boruc to Mannone for 4 pts ? Keep changing my mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

km79 wrote: »

Sunderland won't be keeping a clean sheet in either game.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,239 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

km79 wrote: »

I did it last night for -4.

He has 2 more doubles and he'll get save points vs Liverpool.

Paully D wrote: »
    Sunderland won't be keeping a clean sheet in either game.

No but he might save one of penalties Liverpool will get :pac:

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

carraig2 wrote: »
    Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaagh

Or rather, thank God that's over!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,537 ✭✭✭SickBoy

Best of luck everyone!

299672.PNG

Or rather, thank God that's over!