Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big brands that make disappointing products/Budget brands that make excellent things

• 21-03-2014 8:01pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭

"Cadburys Hot Chocolate" I thought, "that looks like it would be lovely"

Its Cadburys. How can they get hot chocolate wrong?

I can confirm that it tastes what hot water, a bar of melted cheap, cheap chocolate and a touch of washing up liquid would be like on the palate if you were to mix them all together. Its disgusting.

On the more positive side of things I find Iceland's frozen pizzas to be nicer than almost all of the expensive takeaway brands.

What big brands make disappointing products and what budget or small brands make excellent things in your opinion?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,717 ✭✭✭YFlyer

Budweiser

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Taytos Cheese and Onion crisps, exceptional crisps.

Taytos Chocolate bar, dog sick in rectangular form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

your doing it wrong. milk is yer only man when making a mug of cadburys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,368 ✭✭✭IvaBigWun

I thought so too, but the instructions said "water"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Hurls "Apple" into Pigeon-coop, ducks, runs and blocks ears..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I generally find Aldi or Lidl cereals a lot better than major brands tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

Dyson, they're known as the poor man's prostitute in the vacuum cleaner game......they don't suck :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,585 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Aldi's specially selected curry sauces are much tastier than Dolmio or the other well known brands.The Madras has quite the kick to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Dyson, they're known as the poor man's prostitute in the vacuum cleaner game......they don't suck :)

I bet those vacuum cleaner conventions are a mad laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

Your username raised a chuckle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

kneemos wrote: »
    Aldi's specially selected curry sauces are much tastier than Dolmio or the other well known brands.The Madras has quite the kick to it.

Nothing's as good as making your own, but as far as jar sauces go, they're awesome ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Aldi salted peanuts 47c.

KP salted peanuts , €1.99

Someone explain the difference.

:confused::confused::confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

In direct response to OP Mercedes/Skoda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Aldi Colombian instant coffee is better than any of the bigger brands

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

from a few friends who got burnt: bmw. overated. expensive, loses a fortune in depreciation, unreliable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,549 ✭✭✭maryishere

milk. no difference between the own brand and branded. same line

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

No difference in picture quality between the high definition 2 euro cable in 2Euro shop and the 25 euro gold connection ones in Currys.

This is like a "How to guide" for buying stuff cheaperer. Someone "do" TVs please..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

maryishere wrote: »
    from a few friends who got burnt: bmw. overated. expensive, loses a fortune in depreciation, unreliable.

Disagree completely , they're mad for road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Pang

That Wispa chocolate drink was the worse thing I have ever eaten and don't get me started on those new Cadbury bars with the Lu biscuit and the awful Ritz cracker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

IvaBigWun wrote: »

I can confirm that it tastes what hot water, a bar of melted cheap, cheap chocolate and a touch of washing up liquid would be like on the palate if you were to mix them all together. Its disgusting.

What big brands make disappointing products and what budget or small brands make excellent things in your opinion?

You need to crumble some flakes into milk and slowly heat it up, but don't bring to the boil. I nicked it from Charbonnel and Walker;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Waste of time that dusty shite.
    Nutella hot chocolate is the way to go.............. http://www.food.com/recipe/nutella-hot-chocolate-74086

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,850 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

No difference in picture quality between the high definition 2 euro cable in 2Euro shop and the 25 euro gold connection ones in Currys.

How about one for £5000.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_sacat=0&_from=R40&_nkw=hdmi+cable&_sop=3

Don't worry, there is an explanation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 423 ✭✭The Narrator

On the more positive side of things I find Iceland's frozen pizzas to be nicer than almost all of the expensive takeaway brands.

You need to get this one. The one made with water is pure muck, made that mistake once upon a time also. Sad day when a young kid gets ''hot chocolate'' and it is made with water, yuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Evian, Ballygowan etc. Vs the cheaper budget water brand.

Hello guys. It's all fůcking water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Sky Broadband - My connection is so friggin slow im thinking to upgrade to dialup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Caburys chocolate has turned to **** in recent years. Its kinda greasy like American chocolate. But any of the 69cent bars from Lidl are amazing.

All Germans shop in discount stores so they have their minimum 2 foreign holidays according to my German Lecture. Some of the discount supermarkets in Germany, make Lidl look like Superquinn. I was in one in Berlin with one staff member for a shop the size of a lidl. A bottle of Generic Jager was only €4 but a normal Jager was €12.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I thought so too, but the instructions said "water"
    Most of them say water, and they're all lying. Always use milk.

kylith wrote: »
    Most of them say water, and they're all lying. Always use milk.

Same goes with making porridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

What are ye on about. Cadbury's hot chocolate is lully.

The one you add milk to..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭FudgeBrownie

How about one for £5000.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_sacat=0&_from=R40&_nkw=hdmi+cable&_sop=3

Don't worry, there is an explanation.

Can you please tell me the explanation? So pricey!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Ilyana 2.0

I've gone right off Cadbury's chocolate recently, Aldi's Choceur stuff (all of it!) is far, far nicer IMO.

Normally they are maintaining Search Engine Position.

With eBay, the more items that you sell off a single listing, the higher up the Best Match search results you will appear. Ebay judges "popularity" to be an important criteria for search rankings. But if you cancel your listing, you start again at the very bottom of the search results.

So what they do is create what is called a "Good-till-cancelled" listing, which runs forever. That way, they get massive sales and good search engine results.... then you just leave it there with a high price when you are out of stock.

So... unlike a normal listing that ends in 10 days, Stores listings can run forever.. and you can edit them as required.

Happens quite a lot on Amazon as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Love the Aldi Chocolate Digestives but they havent had them in stock for weeks...

Have a read of reviews of this one.

http://www.amazon.com/Denon-AKDL1-Dedicated-Link-Cable/dp/B000I1X6PM/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top

Lidl did Bratwurst that were delicious as breakfast sausages, cheaper and waay nicer than the usual ground-up-pigs-balls that gets sold as sausages. Then they stopped selling them..the feckers. Their car-care sprays are also €1.49 to €1.99 and are better than the stuff you get for 7.99 elsewhere. Whenever they're in, I buy all I can get hold of.

WikiHow wrote: »

Hilarious reviews :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

Always with wings about €4, florette with wings €2.
    No bloody difference, they're both rags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone

Always with wings about €4, florette with wings €2.
    No bloody difference, they're both rags.

Kitchen towel with sellotape, €1

WikiHow wrote: »
    Sky Broadband - My connection is so friggin slow im thinking to upgrade to dialup.

All dependent on the quality of the Eircom owned line into your house and distance from exchange surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Colser wrote: »
    Love the Aldi Chocolate Digestives but they havent had them in stock for weeks...

I noticed this too, love them! Haven't been in stock in Waterford for a few weeks :(

To clarify:

This is similar to the one I bought http://www.zepbrook.co.uk/m/0/cadbury-hot-chocolate-instant-sticks.jpg

And here's the one I should've got http://images1.mysupermarket.co.uk/Products_1000/16/007016.jpg?v=2

I can still taste the former in my mouth. Focking shocking stuff

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Aldi's veg is far nicer than the muck Tesco sell and their Duneen yoghurts are top notch too. Also their goats cheese is amazing.

All dependent on the quality of the Eircom owned line into your house and distance from exchange surely.

They told me i had the best line in the country.

Kitchen towel with sellotape, €1

Dock leafs and spit, 0c.

Magenta wrote: »
    Also their goats cheese is amazing.

Now I really want some goats cheese

Magenta wrote: »
    Aldi's veg is far nicer than the muck Tesco sell and their Duneen yoghurts are top notch too. Also their goats cheese is amazing.

Those cheese and yoghurt would be just as good if they were on sale in any other shop I presume. Aldi is a shop, not a brand. And depending on how well run particular branches are any supermarket could have better or worse veg.

But I always get my veg from the local greengrocer. One thing I notice is how cold it is there compared to supermarkets. Which I think would be a better environment for selling fruit and veg. The same with meat, fish and bread, I like to buy them loose from the butchers, fishmongers and home bakeries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,585 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Those cheese and yoghurt would be just as good if they were on sale in any other shop I presume. Aldi is a shop, not a brand. And depending on how well run particular branches are any supermarket could have better or worse veg.

But I always get my veg from the local greengrocer. One thing I notice is how cold it is there compared to supermarkets. Which I think would be a better environment for selling fruit and veg. The same with meat, fish and bread, I like to buy them loose from the butchers, fishmongers and home bakeries.

All comes from the same place bar the bread.Some people like to pay more for it though.

I never got "Dysons". A Nilfisk Henry is a better hoover by a country mile, and much cheaper, yet people still shell out a bomb for a "Dyson". Fiddly, gutless wunder-curve hoovers, but like VW, perceived as "quality". Marketing is a great thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,782 ✭✭✭dmc17

Aldi salted peanuts 47c.

KP salted peanuts , €1.99

Someone explain the difference.

:confused::confused::confused:

Aldi uses garden peas and paints them so they look like nuts