Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amnesty for the 30,000 illegals in Ireland

• 19-03-2014 6:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭

There was a FG guy and someone from the Immigrants Council of Ireland on the Vincent Browne show last night proposing this idea.

They maintain it will get all party support, but it seems to me to be giving a reward to people who broke the law.

Any views on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭rab!dmonkey

There is no way this will fly, but it does make a nice counter-point to the quest for amnesty for Irish illegals in the US.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

There was a FG guy and someone from the Immigrants Council of Ireland on the Vincent Browne show last night proposing this idea.

They maintain it will get all party support, but it seems to me to be giving a reward to people who broke the law.

Any views on this?

Enda Kenny over in the states asking for immunity for the thousands of illegal Irish (who broke the law) over there.........Ireland should lead by example if they want other countries to implement an amnesty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭The Aussie

Can I break a Law and it be forgiven as well, I mean defrauding a Bank sounds like a victimless crime (LOL) ok set to it Lads, I mean what's the point in having laws if there is no comeback.

Catch them and boot them, including the undocumented in the US and the Tiger Cubs in Oz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

The Aussie wrote: »
    Can I break a Law and it be forgiven as well, I mean defrauding a Bank sounds like a victimless crime (LOL) ok set to it Lads, I mean what's the point in having laws if there is no comeback.

Catch them and boot them, including the undocumented in the US and the Tiger Cubs in Oz.

Agreed. Send these undesirables packing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,398 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

The 30,000 undocumented surely?

Agreed. Send these undesirables packing.

It is a double edged sword though, we have to take this Toe Jam back as well....

Ian Cronin is in a race against time to convince Immigration Minister Scott Morrison to let him stay here with his family.
    The Department of Immigration and Border Protection (DIBP) refused to grant him a bridging visa after he failed a character test. He has been in detention since June of last year.
    “I have hit the bottom of the barrel here – losing my family is the worst thing that could happen,” the father told the Irish Echo from Perth Immigration Detention Centre this week.
    After being refused a visa the painter and decorator from Douglas, Co Cork, took his fight to the Administrative Appeals Tribunal of Australia (AAT) which last month found he should not be refused on the basis of his character test.
    The 31-year-old has a number of convictions and was sentenced to four years in prison for assault causing serious harm committed in 2002.
    Despite acknowledging the negative impact his deportation would have on his partner Krystel, son and step-son DIBP found the protection of the Australian community outweighed the best interests of the children.
    However, on January 23 the AAT ruled that “the low risk of future harm by the applicant is a risk which the Australian community, having regard to all the circumstances of the case, should be prepared to tolerate”.
    But this week the Minister directly intervened and decided to overrule the decision of the court, and the crime which he committed in Cork in 2002 was cited as the main reason.

“My stepson also wants me back home. He calls me daddy as well, he always brags to his friends that he has two daddies. They don’t seem to care that there are kids out there, Krystal is now an Australian mother who is now raising two kids on her own when she could be supported by her partner.

The Cork native was fined in Australia for driving unlicensed vehicles, driving over the limit and common assault on his partner. He has remained in Australia since his visa expired in August 2011. He said he has previously attended rehab but dropped out of the programme but is now committed to staying sober for his family.
    “I am fully aware of my past offending behaviour and I am not proud of what I have done in the past.
    “I know this is my last chance to keep my family together,” Mr Cronin told the Irish Echo.

http://www.irishecho.com.au/tag/ian-cronin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

If they would send the guys home that hang around my car at traffic lights on the longmile road/Naas Road junction with their coke cups begging for money, or the ones with the squeeqies and dirty water at the nangor/Naas Road who think they're cleaning my windows, but are actually making them dirtier, then stand looking in Window outraged that I won't contribute to their begging/scamming home. That'd be fine and dandy with me.

And after that, they could send the bitches that harass and nearly hang out of me looking for cash at the ATMS That'd be nice too.

The lads/ladies doing an honest days pay I have no problem with.

I'm a simple man. I'm easily pleased.

It is a double edged sword though, we have to take this Toe Jam back as well....

That's life. No reason Australia should have to put up with him.

Can we not drop him off half way???

I mean I live in Cork, I don't want to have to see his squat gapped tooth head.

Can we not drop him off half way???

I mean I live in Cork, I don't want to have to see his squat gapped tooth head.

I'd support that petition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

How would the amnesty in Ireland work?

Is it like
    1) Leave now and there'll be no questions asked at the airport on your way out, and you're not necessarily disqualified from ever applying for an Irish visa again, or
    2) You can all stay now, here's your passports, Céad Míle Fáilte

Not sure I'd entirely agree with no. 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Sounds like a right feen, boi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Undocumented is a madey-up word so lefties can refer to illegals without saying "illegal".
    You can also say "right-to-remain challenged".

Amnesty for illegals often get support from left and right. From left because it's humane to let people get a chance at a better life than back home.
    From the right because illegals are cheap labour, way cheaper than Irish.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 862 ✭✭✭Grand Moff Tarkin

Sounds like a right feen, boi

He is scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Any views on this?

It's an earned regularisation scheme not an Amnesty

www.mrci.ie/our-work/rights-for-undocumented/campaign/earned-regularisation-scheme/

I think its a great idea.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭miss no stars

I think it's wrong to just allow people who are here illegally to remain here. Same goes for Irish people living illegally elsewhere in the world.

Why? They broke the law. They're criminals. If they were fleeing from something genuine they'd have been granted assylum. Like, let's all welcome criminals into the country with open arms? Wtf?! I've no problem with immigration provided those who come here are willing to work and contribute and will fit in with Ireland and our way of life, as well as bringing some of their culture and traditions with them. I think the country is better off for having those people here. But people who are here illegally? Fcuk off.

Edit: just saw the link in the post above... Not so bad as an outright amnesty tbh. I would like to see the requirements include something like passing a background check (no criminal convictions with a sentence over a year as with the ozzies) and that they entered the country in a legal manner and can provide proof of such (i.e. have a stamp in their passport but remained beyond their intended "holiday")

I think it's wrong to just allow people who are here illegally to remain here. Same goes for Irish people living illegally elsewhere in the world.

Why? They broke the law. They're criminals. If they were fleeing from something genuine they'd have been granted assylum. Like, let's all welcome criminals into the country with open arms? Wtf?! I've no problem with immigration provided those who come here are willing to work and contribute and will fit in with Ireland and our way of life, as well as bringing some of their culture and traditions with them. I think the country is better off for having those people here. But people who are here illegally? Fcuk off.
    Are undocumented Irish people in Australia or America criminals?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Are undocumented Irish people in Australia or America criminals?

Yes

I've no problem with immigration provided those who come here are willing to work and contribute and will fit in with Ireland and our way of life, as well as bringing some of their culture and traditions with them. I think the country is better off for having those people here.
    Thats exactly why I support MRCIs earned regularisation scheme

Terry Pratchet

Yeah and if you look you'll see that you posted the link while I was typing my first reply to this thread. I went back, read it, thought about it and edited my post accordingly...

Yes

Right well then your position doesn't make sense - Throw immigrant "criminals" out but replace them with Irish "criminals"

Terry Pratchet

Yeah and if you look you'll see that you posted the link while I was typing my first reply to this thread. I went back, read it, thought about it and edited my post accordingly...
    Have a read through the pdf

www.mrci.ie/resources/publications/policy-briefing-papers-submissions/regularisation-of-undocumented-migrants/

Terry Pratchet

Right well then your position doesn't make sense - Throw immigrant "criminals" out but replace them with Irish "criminals"

?

Unfortunately Irish people are Ireland's responsibility. If they break the law elsewhere and are repatriated to Ireland well then they're our problem. But they're still criminals. It is an offence to not meet the terms of a visa. They didn't meet the terms of their visa. Or they entered through illegal means. They are there illegally (Irish abroad and illegals here). That means that they've broken the law and, hence, are criminals. People coming here to whom we have no responsibility and who break our laws... Remove them. Not our problem. And I'm not talking about people who have genuine reasons to flee their home country.

Edit: either remove them or bring in a very strict scheme for them to stay. No benefits, either, for the first couple of years here. There has to be some sort of a sting to breaking the law and a small fine isn't good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Any views on this?

Isn't Shatter effectively handing this out, thousands at a time every few months at citizen ceremonies at which people get naturalised?
    There seems an unseemly rush to process applicants who have no real basis for an application

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭sillyoulfool

conorhal wrote: »
    Isn't Shatter effectively handing this out, thousands at a time every few months at citizen ceremonies at which people get naturalised?

No he isn't.
    Those being granted citizenship, by definition, are here legally and are fully documented.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

There is no comparison between Irish illegals in the US and illegals living in Ireland. Irish illegals have been in the us for years and some since 1980s. They probably went as most of their family was in the us. They have built families in the us and have integrated into us life. They are practically American

But illegals living in Ireland came here in the last couple of years on their own. They have no families here. They have no connection to Ireland at all. They haven't integrated into Irish life in anyway

No he isn't.
    Those being granted citizenship, by definition, are here legally and are fully documented.

Then why do so many new citizens turn up at the pasport office without sufficient documentation to apply for one? If you think there's anything rigorous about the process you're kidding yourself. It's as disfunctional as every other system in the country and many granted citizenship get it with false identities and few questions asked.

*Yawns*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Can we arrange an illegals exchange program? We take ours back - they take theirs

*Yawns*

That's a very effective and concise description of government policy. You don't work for the DOJ by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Esho

Likewise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Any views on this?

Case by case basis Imo. Not a blanket amnesty without knowing the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

Turtyturd wrote: »

Can we do the same for other crimes? Bank robberies become undocumented withdrawals. Smuggling is undocumented imports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,381 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

of course they should, he has children, and australia was built on convicts, he'd only be continuing the tradition

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Edit: just saw the link in the post above... Not so bad as an outright amnesty tbh. I would like to see the requirements include something like passing a background check (no criminal convictions with a sentence over a year as with the ozzies) and that they entered the country in a legal manner and can provide proof of such (i.e. have a stamp in their passport but remained beyond their intended "holiday")
    shur coming to a country illegally is only a tiny crime, nothing to bother about, its the other convictions some may have that are the issue

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

There has to be some sort of a sting to breaking the law
    not at all, to much work involved
    a small fine isn't good enough.
    its grand, it will do

hfallada wrote: »
    There is no comparison between Irish illegals in the US and illegals living in Ireland.
    technically no their isn't, either way its irrelevant, an illegal immigrant is an illegal immigrant
    Irish illegals have been in the us for years and some since 1980s. They probably went as most of their family was in the us. They have built families in the us and have integrated into us life.
    makes no difference
    illegals living in Ireland came here in the last couple of years on their own. They have no families here. They have no connection to Ireland at all. They haven't integrated into Irish life in anyway
    no evidence for any of that unless you have surveyed every immigrant who has come here which i suspect you haven't

of course they should, he has children, and australia was built on convicts, he'd only be continuing the tradition

Yeh, but the whole kicking a young man into a Blind Vegative state (a condition the victim is still in today, 12 years later) with a group of friends/scum behind him only a few months after beating and kicking another bloke, of course with his mates/scum behind him again, not to mention the Woman Beating, I'm afraid this squat headed coward is Ireland's problem and not another unsuspecting country, it's a pity I will have to share the same city as this Human Skidmark that is Ian Cronin....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

These people, whether they be Irish in Boston or Somali's in Cork deserve nothing else but to be turfed out for being the criminals that they are.If they Believe that they have the right to break Another country's law on a personal whim then such people would be no loss at all,were they rightfully booted out.

Yeh, but the whole kicking a young man into a Blind Vegative state (a condition the victim is still in today, 12 years later) with a group of friends/scum behind him only a few months after beating and kicking another bloke, of course with his mates/scum behind him again, not to mention the Woman Beating, I'm afraid this squat headed coward is Ireland's problem and not another unsuspecting country, it's a pity I will have to share the same city as this Human Skidmark that is Ian Cronin....
    its not our problem, we don't want him back, he's been transported now so your problem

its not our problem.

Due to ministerial intervention, he most certainly will be Ireland's problem again.
    we don't want him back.

And I don't want to go to work tomorrow, sometimes things happen we don't like.
    he's been transported now so your problem

He is about to be Boomeranged right on back to whence he came, sort of like a purchase that turned out to be Shoite and like most Shoite you return it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

So they want to give amnesty to 30+ 000 illegal immigrants,

Which in turns will potentially add 60+ 000 to the social welfare system when all these illegals bring the parents and grand parents to retire here ,
    And most likely another 30+ 000 to the social housing list

Sure there's plenty for everyone to go around ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Gatling wrote: »
    So they want to give amnesty to 30+ 000 illegal immigrants,

Which in turns will potentially add 60+ 000 to the social welfare system when all these illegals bring the parents and grand parents to retire here ,
    And most likely another 30+ 000 to the social housing list

Sure there's plenty for everyone to go around ,

If they kick all the Irish illegals out of the USA there will be alot more than 60,000 to the social welfare system.

Due to ministerial intervention, he most certainly will be Ireland's problem again.

And I don't want to go to work tomorrow, sometimes things happen we don't like.

He is about to be Boomeranged right on back to whence he came, sort of like a purchase that turned out to be Shoite and like most Shoite you return it...
    we'l Boomerang him back again, as i said we don't want him

He will incur a 3 year exclusion and his passport will be flagged, so his best bet will be waiting out the 3 years and hope for a change in government then hope the Labour Immigration Minister will be more sympathetic to the plight of a squat headed, gap toothed, gang bashing, woman beating coward....

I know you don't want him here, I don't want him here, but sadly it does not matter what we think.

If they kick all the Irish illegals out of the USA there will be alot more than 60,000 to the social welfare system.

Big difference all right

Big difference between people living in a lot of cases 30+ years with families ,

We've 30 + 000 in a few years not exactly the same beside the undocumented Irish in america probably the support of the 30+ million Irish Americans ,

Gatling wrote: »
    Big difference all right

Big difference between people living in a lot of cases 30+ years with families ,

We've 30 + 000 in a few years not exactly the same beside the undocumented Irish in america probably the support of the 30+ million Irish Americans ,

So its a case of our illegals in USA are decent hard working people, but dem forrin illegals here are pure criminal.:rolleyes:
    Oh the irony.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

But illegals living in Ireland came here in the last couple of years on their own. They have no families here. They have no connection to Ireland at all. They haven't integrated into Irish life in anyway
    Then why do so many new citizens turn up at the pasport office without sufficient documentation to apply for one?
    Just wondering how ye know any of the above.

So its a case of our illegals in USA are decent hard working people, but dem forrin illegals here are pure criminal.:rolleyes:
    Oh the irony.

Of course they all are ,
    Like the many generation before them who build and died for America

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

biko wrote: »
    Undocumented is a madey-up word so lefties can refer to illegals without saying "illegal".
    You can also say "right-to-remain challenged".

There is some truth in the expression.

My wife lost her job (before we were married) went to INIS and was given six months to get another. She did and showed up one day before the expiry with job offer letter and work permit paperwork as submitted to the office above INIS.

The utter, utter cnut behind the counter claimed she had not gained a job in the timeframe and she would not get a work permit as "they have stopped issuing them" (not for her salary level they had not)

Long story short she had her right-to-remain revoked. We asked if she would be deported and they asked (with a straight face) "would you like us to?"

So - she was in fact undocumented despite a job offer and work permit in process.

Appeal process at the time was non-existent.