Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Women lifting

• 13-03-2014 10:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭

Hey,

I have been a gym goer for a few years now and am reasonable fit and fairly strong. I want to get more involved in olmypic lifting but have NO idea where to start! I have done dead lifts and the like through classes and have the basics, and have already deadlifted 90kg without too much effort (for reps) so I am very interested in working on this.

But I have NO idea where to start! I go to a gym surrounded by lads, so if I'm gonna go over and hog the deadlift/squat rack for a lump of time, I better fecking know what I'm doing! Googling has me in a sea of information and I've just confused myself

Any help appreciated :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭DylanJM

Where abouts are you located? If you're looking to get into olympic weightlifting then joining a club would be your best bet. You'll get coaching which will speed up the learning process and it'll get you on the right track. You'll also the benefit of being surrounded by people with the same interest which will make things a lot more enjoyable and create a good training atmosphere.

Edwardius has done a good list of the current weightlifting clubs in Ireland. Most clubs will be more than happy to let you pop down and have a look.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056915665

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭Edwardius

DylanJM wrote: »
    Where abouts are you located? If you're looking to get into olympic weightlifting then joining a club would be your best bet. You'll get coaching which will speed up the learning process and it'll get you on the right track. You'll also the benefit of being surrounded by people with the same interest which will make things a lot more enjoyable and create a good training atmosphere.

Edwardius has done a good list of the current weightlifting clubs in Ireland. Most clubs will be more than happy to let you pop down and have a look.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056915665

That needs to be repopulated with 2014 clubs. I'll aware the interwebz when it's done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,869 ✭✭✭thegreatiam

username84 wrote: »

But I have NO idea where to start! I go to a gym surrounded by lads, so if I'm gonna go over and hog the deadlift/squat rack for a lump of time, I better fecking know what I'm doing!

Having testicles is no Indictator that they know what they are doing in a squat rack. And in many cases quite the opposite.

And if I saw a chick pulling 90kg in a commercial gym I'd be impressed rather than bothered she is hogging the rack.

Saying that the Olympic lifts are very technical and good coaching is paramount.
    I can recommend capital strength on the south circular in Dublin if you're close. Female coach and lots of women there. I was the only guy the few times I was there.

East coast barbell is also god if you're near Blackrock and they seem very female friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Scuba Ste

East coast barbell is also god

Ah here, it's not that good.

A few of us lift in Morton Stadium in Santry if you're northside.