Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FF TD "fed up" with critiscism

• 13-03-2014 1:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭

Environment spokesman Barry Cowen said he was “fed up” listening to the Government’s “old mantra . . . ‘Oh, it’s all your fault and what we’ve inherited and what we did and what we did not do.’”

While he is correct in that the Gubberment does too often fall back to this argument, they did royally fúck up in the decade or so they were drunk at the wheel.

FF continues to be the 2nd largest party in the State, and while I have no time for any of them except for a couple of individual TDs and independents of course, FF STILL deserve to be singled out as the regurgitated cum bubbles who presided over a crippling episode that could have put us up there with those do-gooder Scandi's and their impeccable standards of living. They DESERVE to be resigned to the history books in the most humilating and painful way possible, and yet are destined to form the next Government with SF - of all people, christ - and so the cycle of bollocks continues again.

ALSO, Barry COWEN. Fúcking hell, it never ends.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/oireachtas/barry-cowen-fed-up-with-criticism-of-ff-administration-1.1722853

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

"Regurgitated cum bubbles" Ha! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

donvito99 wrote: »
    regurgitated cum bubbles

I think I saw them live with Xenophobic Ejaculation and Spastic Burn Victim in '08.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

donvito99 wrote: »
    and yet are destined to form the next Government with SF - of all people, christ - and so the cycle of bollocks continues again.

Fianna Fail and Sinn Fein, One famous for greed and corruption and the other world famous for murder and terrorism. that will be some bag of sh1te right there!

Also I thought Sinn Fein would never get into bed with Fianna Failed because they were so much better than the likes of Bertie and Brian and all their corrupt gambling cronies, but it seems they are looking to replace the greens as the latest sell outs in Irish politics, Bit of a strange path for so called republicans to sell out to the likes of Fianna Fail. But they are no different to the green party turncoats and will sellout all their principles just to get into the driving seat for a couple of days a month!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Errr...resign then Barry. Or fuck off, or whatever. Like we care as you are utterly irrelevant as a TD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,573 ✭✭✭pragmatic1

He should resign then, like his brother should have done before he fcuked up our economy for maybe a decade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Hootanany

FF are not the second biggest party SF are higher in the poles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

Hootanany wrote: »
    FF are not the second biggest party SF are higher in the poles.

Only because they have bigger ladders when putting up their posters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

SF are the new FF. Vague promises of giving the electorate everything they want with a bow tied around it and people dont seem to stop and ask where have I heard all this before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Didn't take long to turn into another SF bashing thread.

Anyways back on topic, while the government do indeed love blaming everything on the previous government, FF don't have a leg to stand on.
    They had many chances and ruined our country.
    They haven't really done anything to reform either, current leader Michael Martin was part of the cabinet under Brian Cowen and Bertie.

foggy_lad wrote: »

Also I thought Sinn Fein would never get into bed with Fianna Failed because they were so much better than the likes of Bertie and Brian and all their corrupt gambling cronies, but it seems they are looking to replace the greens as the latest sell outs in Irish politics, Bit of a strange path for so called republicans to sell out to the likes of Fianna Fail. But they are no different to the green party turncoats and will sellout all their principles just to get into the driving seat for a couple of days a month!

How do you know all this, is that you Mystic Meg ?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

oldyouth wrote: »
    Only because they have bigger ladders when putting up their posters
    Yeah but only in Poland.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Balmed Out wrote: »
    SF are the new FF. Vague promises of giving the electorate everything they want with a bow tied around it and people dont seem to stop and ask where have I heard all this before.
    In that case they are also the very same as Fine Gael and Labour. Why stop at Fianna Fail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,730 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

cournioni wrote: »
    In that case they are also the very same as Fine Gael and Labour. Why stop at Fianna Fail?

I dont think thats true, Fianna fail were far more likely to promise the sun the moon and the stars then any other party. Thats how they won elections. Since being decimated they seem to be doing that a bit less but Sinn Fein are more then happy to step into the void.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

I'm in no way defending anything to do with FF but he has got a point. This nonsense about whinging on and on about the mess they were left to clean up is getting a bit dull now. They are 3 years in Government at this stage.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

nc6000 wrote: »
    I'm in no way defending anything to do with FF but he has got a point. This nonsense about whinging on and on about the mess they were left to clean up is getting a bit dull now. They are 3 years in Government at this stage.

It is a big mess though. It will take about 20 years to clean it up properly or in the case of the miszoned estates 100 years.

Have Fine Gael not just carried on pretty much as FF were doing, i.e. following the Troika's lead, doing what has to be done, paying the bondholders and taxing the people more?

I know they re-structured the debt, but the debt is still there.
    That was perhaps a necessity that FF would have had to do anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭vitani

Yeah, I agree.

FF screwed up but FG in particular need to stop shoehorning this fact into everything.

It's all part of the wider problem with our government though. While there's such a focus on winning at the next election, neither side seem content to just get on with the job of actually running the country. It's all political point-scoring. I know that technically, we need an opposition to stop one side losing the run of themselves, but what actually happens is that they seem to just fight with each other for the sake of it and to boost their own profile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

I dont believe leopards change their spots, do I think FG are perfect? no far from it, but if FF ever get in power here again and are given the keys to crash the car again, god help us all! another lost decade at least!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Gambas

vitani wrote: »
    Yeah, I agree.

FF screwed up but FG in particular need to stop shoehorning this fact into everything.

Almost without exception this line that it was FF's mess in only trotted out be FG and Labour when a FFer criticises their running of the country. And that is fair enough in my book. FF aren't your regular opposition who just happen to have been unlucky to be out of office because of a fickle electorate after doing a reasonable job. They lost approx three quarters of their seats in the last general election because they had presided over an economic collapse that necessitated outside intervention from the IMF, ECB and EU. The fact that a few hillbillies here and there returned the likes of Barry Cowen doesn't give them any real mandate to hold this government to account. The are a few years away from that - at least one more general election, before the can credibly provide opposition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

FG/Labour can only blame FF for so long before they have to start taking responcibility.

Reminds me of this quote from the movie Traffic:
    ...when they forced Khruschev out, he sat down and wrote two letters to his successor. He said - "When you get yourself into a situation you can't get out of, open the first letter, and you'll be safe.
    When you get yourself into another situation you can't get out of, open the second letter".

Well, soon enough, this guy found himself into a tight place, so he opened the first letter. Which said - "Blame everything on me". So he blames the old man, it worked like a charm. He got himself into a second situation he couldn't get out of, he opened the second letter. It said - "Sit down, and write two letters".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

Caliden wrote: »
    FG/Labour can only blame FF for so long before they have to start taking responcibility.

Reminds me of this quote from the movie Traffic:

I think if I was brought into run a company that had been almost ran into the ground through gross mismanagement and excess then I'd mention the cretins involved in doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Three years? You expect everything to be clened up in three years?!

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

no but i expect them to have constructive ideas and solutions instead of their "fianna Fail did it" mantra

Sounds like the classic "an older boy made me do it".

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

People will forget. And FF will promise things they can't deliver, just like every other party, and slowly but surely they'll be back in power and the great national forgetfulness will continue as parish pump politics wins out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

How come nobody seems to blame the REAL culprits for the mess the country is in..........US.
    Yes we the electorate, the plain people of Ireland, put our marks on our ballot papers and elected each and every one of the politicians of every party and none. And we keep on, election after election, electing the same people or the same sort of people.
    We swallow all the same old promises as if we had never heard them before. The government we get is exactly what we deserve because we choose them.
    The truth is we actually want politicians to pretend to cod us and we then pretend that we were codded. Then we can blame them when everything goes wrong.
    In a democracy the ultimate responsibility lies with the people. They choose their leaders. If they make the wrong choice they have no one to blame but themselves.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

And Barry Cowen I am sick of unsuitable candidates being pushed forward by their parties just because they have the same second name as the guy who came before him. Who are you anyway? I lived in Offaly for a while and never saw your name on a ballot paper until big bro got chased out of office with his tail between his legs. Big bro who got into politics because Daddy was also a TD.
    How is an auctioneer qualified to be a legislator anyway:confused:

Does Offaly have hereditary title?
    They have a track record of voting for the family of former TDs. Add Olwyn Enright and Charlie Flanagan to the list.
    Seems all a TD needs is the right second name. Who needs to study when you have a guaranteed route to parliament.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Roger_007 wrote: »
    How come nobody seems to blame the REAL culprits for the mess the country is in..........US.
    Yes we the electorate, the plain people of Ireland, put our marks on our ballot papers and elected each and every one of the politicians of every party and none. And we keep on, election after election, electing the same people or the same sort of people.
    We swallow all the same old promises as if we had never heard them before. The government we get is exactly what we deserve because we choose them.
    The truth is we actually want politicians to pretend to cod us and we then pretend that we were codded. Then we can blame them when everything goes wrong.
    In a democracy the ultimate responsibility lies with the people. They choose their leaders. If they make the wrong choice they have no one to blame but themselves.

If FF had the neck to come out and say that they'd be buried for 100 years.

"Twas your fault for electing us lads. Ye knew we were cowboys!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

If FF had the neck to come out and say that they'd be buried for 100 years.

"Twas your fault for electing us lads. Ye knew we were cowboys!"

Yes, we DID know they were cowboys.........and elected them anyway.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭nc6000

No, of course not. But I think it's about time they stopped blaming the last crowd for everything.

This is politics you understand? Not blaming the last crowd just doesn't happen.

That Machiavelli lad wrote about it in the 16th century.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Oh the poor sensitive dears!

Imagine having to face public scorn and criticism? All they did was preside over an economic crash and then had to resort to putting the country into IMF and EU administration.

I mean the cheek of those nasty voters to be annoyed with them about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    And Barry Cowen I am sick of unsuitable candidates being pushed forward by their parties just because they have the same second name as the guy who came before him. Who are you anyway? I lived in Offaly for a while and never saw your name on a ballot paper until big bro got chased out of office with his tail between his legs. Big bro who got into politics because Daddy was also a TD.
    How is an auctioneer qualified to be a legislator anyway:confused:

Does Offaly have hereditary title?
    They have a track record of voting for the family of former TDs. Add Olwyn Enright and Charlie Flanagan to the list.
    Seems all a TD needs is the right second name. Who needs to study when you have a guaranteed route to parliament.

he has as much right to run as anybody.
    I for one want to be ruled by a selection of society and not some class of super intellectuals.

The simpsons parody on when the learned ruled springfield is quite apt.
    anybody who demands economists and other special people legislate are making a rod for their own backs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

no but i expect them to have constructive ideas and solutions instead of their "fianna Fail did it" mantra

Sounds like the classic "an older boy made me do it".

Last I heard they doing a reasonable job. Yes, there were a lot of unpopular decisions, but they were decisions that had to be made. When people ask "why?" what do you expect them to say? And how do you expect them to respond the party that caused the mess constantly criticises the clean-up efforts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'd have quite a bit of sympathy for Barry's position to be fair. I'm sure it does get tiring listening to the government and the people whining and droning on. FF are just a scapegoat. They just provided the policies the people voted for. People refuse to accept responsibility for fueling the bubble, but they're equally as culpable.

However, thankfully people seem to be moving on now. FF is a party on the rise. It will always be a strong political force in Irish politics. This is because it is made up of REAL people. Your local publican, your local school headmaster, the solicitor and the man who trains the local GAA team.

I predict a victory for FF and a FF/SF coalition in the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Your local publican, your local school headmaster, the solicitor and the man who trains the local GAA team.
    Yeah electing these people to run a country, is probably where we went wrong!

Idbatterim wrote: »
    Yeah electing these people to run a country, is probably where we went wrong!

I'd trust someone I know personally, who has the communities interest at heart a lot more than some sheltered know-all who spent their lives involved in student and youth politics.

FF has always been about representing the people, they are not an aloof party like the elitist blueshirts, and that's why they will always rise to the top.

FF are just a scapegoat. They just provided the policies the people voted for. People refuse to accept responsibility for fueling the bubble, but they're equally as culpable.

Nonsense, they are not just a scapegoat.
    Cushy relationships with banks, poor regulation, Cowen playing golf with Seanie Fitz and the like, a minister for finance who hadn't a clue, lying about the IMF even after they were here, people did not vote for that.

However, thankfully people seem to be moving on now. FF is a party on the rise. It will always be a strong political force in Irish politics. This is because it is made up of REAL people. Your local publican, your local school headmaster, the solicitor and the man who trains the local GAA team.

Are you serious? They are anything but real people. They are the banker, the insurance broker, the property developer who are only interrested in their own pockets.

I seriously hope that the Irish electorate are not stupid enough to fall for the same illusion twice, and if they are I'll have little sympathy for them.

There's a definition of stupidity - doign the same thing again and expecting a different result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,951 ✭✭✭✭Ace2007

Cushy relationships with banks, poor regulation, Cowen playing golf with Seanie Fitz and the like, a minister for finance who hadn't a clue, lying about the IMF even after they were here, people did not vote for that.

Did you vote for what FG/Labour have given us?

There's a definition of stupidity - doign the same thing again and expecting a different result.

Unfortunately there are not too many options available. FG and FF are pretty much identical, Labour seems to actively seek to annoy their voters, SF have too much blood on their hands so the only options are independents.

The majority of people in Ireland now live in urban areas, not some 1950's caricature village with the local PP, the undertaker/solicitor/publican, the master
    and the odd fella that shouts at goats and goes around with his hands down the front of his pants who is really just 'a harmless auld cratur'. Good luck with the FF campaign to bring us back to the 50's all the same.

I don't recall too many people complaining prior to 2008? Everyone seemed very happy with what was going on. FF implemented policies which they're constituents asked for. Was it short-sighted looking back? Yes. Has FF learned from the mistakes of the past? Absolutely.

People seem to focus on the last year or two when things were falling apart. What about the previous decade when Ireland became a major economic force, thanks to astute politicians like Charlie McCreevy.

People have enough of the blueshirts, and are beginning to see FF as a real alternative. Its starting at a grassroots level and I predict a huge increase for FF in the local and European elections.

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Unfortunately there are not too many options available. FG and FF are pretty much identical, Labour seems to actively seek to annoy their voters, SF have too much blood on their hands so the only options are independents.

Actually, there is. Until such a time as FG are seen to be bankrupting the country in the same way. At that point, you still have a choice. Vote or civil disobediance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

I don't recall too many people complaining prior to 2008? Everyone seemed very happy with what was going on. FF implemented policies which they're constituents asked for. Was it short-sighted looking back? Yes. Has FF learned from the mistakes of the past? Absolutely.

People seem to focus on the last year or two when things were falling apart. What about the previous decade when Ireland became a major economic force, thanks to astute politicians like Charlie McCreevy.

You are playing a stormer - I see in another thread you were talking about the debt that the state owes the church, and how 86% of Irish are confirmed Catholics.
    Happy fishing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I'd trust someone I know personally, who has the communities interest at heart a lot more than some sheltered know-all who spent their lives involved in student and youth politics.

FF has always been about representing the people, they are not an aloof party like the elitist blueshirts, and that's why they will always rise to the top.

thats whats wrong with this country

parish pump gobdaws with no national vision for Ireland

Ace2007 wrote: »
    Did you vote for what FG/Labour have given us?

You mean and end to the crisis management and the start of economic recovery? Yeah. Anyone who voted on any issue more granular than that wasn't paying attention.

Yes. Has FF learned from the mistakes of the past? Absolutely.
    What in teh hell are you basing that on?

Isn't he the one who refused to invest the incomes back into society and refused to regulate the financial sector?

Srryy, Aongus, but you're beginnign to sound like a FF shill here - they kind of guy who votes for the asme party no matter what. And THAT is what will get the country into a mess.

People have enough of the blueshirts, and are beginning to see FF as a real alternative. Its starting at a grassroots level and I predict a huge increase for FF in the local and European elections.

It didn't take long for you lads to stick on the sunglasses of revisionism. Once you've finished worshiping in the Temple of Bertie, you might take a look to see which Government implemented the low corporation tax rate.

You are playing a stormer - I see in another thread you were talking about the debt that the state owes the church, and how 86% of Irish are confirmed Catholics.
    Happy fishing.

84%

That is a statistical fact my friend.

The Catholic church educated generations of Irish people when the state was not in a position to. Its a fact people want to forget now. If it wasn't for the church Ireland would have been an illiterate backwater for centuries. Not just Irish people in fact, but poor people all over the world have been educated by Irish priests who travelled far and wide to help the poor.

However, that's for another thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭aoraki

I'd have quite a bit of sympathy for Barry's position to be fair. I'm sure it does get tiring listening to the government and the people whining and droning on. FF are just a scapegoat. They just provided the policies the people voted for. People refuse to accept responsibility for fueling the bubble, but they're equally as culpable.

Aww, poor FF being made scapegoats, and poor Barry "my big brother was the boss man" Cowen having to put up with all that nasty criticism.

Fianna Fail are still getting criticism because they they took over a thriving economy and mismanaged it such a huge extent that by 2008 the IMF had to be called in with the entire banking system and economy being on the on verge of collapse. Through a mixture of gross incompetence and corruption they converted a generation of people into a huge meal ticket for themselves, their supporters and their developer and banking buddies. They took the big wages and pensions and didn't give a flying f&ck what they left behind. A lot of normal people who just wanted to buy a house to start a family in like their parents did before them are now shouldering crippling debts, that they'll be shouldering for a long time to come (30 years or thereabouts). This is due to a property bubble that FF helped inflate through policy, the political advantages it gave to them, and a lack of regulation. FF left behind such a complete and utter cluster-f that the only options left to the incoming government were absolutely appalling ones. I am no supporter of the current government by any stretch of the imagination, but I genuinely do not envy anybody having to take on the situation that was in place by 2011.

They are the facts and that is their legacy. Sorry it doesn't tally with your rose-tinted biased version of events. Is that the latest scripted responses they're handing out now in "Cumann" meetings?

It's lucky that's it's only criticism they're getting. If this country had a decent set of white-collar crime laws, that shower would be facing a lot more than "criticism". And if this country was in Africa for example, they'd probably get the Col Gaddafi treatment. Good enough for the ****s IMO.

So suck it up, because the problems created by FF are not going away any time soon.