Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driving Instructor doesn't have Log Books, not on ADI Register??

• 12-03-2014 11:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

Got my EDT lessons as a gift from relatives. The motoring school is a small one owned by a family friend. Have completed all my lessons but have yet to see the log book or had it stamped/signed etc.. Have asked instructor and he says he needs to get them off the RSA and is having trouble with it. Just checked his company status and it still exists but his name is not down on the ADI register.

What can I do or am I out of luck?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Well if he cannot give you what you paid for, you need all your money back surely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Testers no longer need to see your log book. The main thing is to have your lessons logged as being done, by a registered ADI on the RSA website.

Have you asked him about his status as an approved RSA ADI? Does he have an ADI number? The company that he works for being in business is not relevant. He himself needs to be an approved instructor for the lessons to count. If he is a registered ADI, you are all set. He just needs to get a move on and register your lessons as being done with the RSA. You can't apply for your driving test until they are.

If he is not, I'd be onto the driving school owner pronto, wanting to know why they assigned you an instructor who is not a registered ADI. He may have taught you how to drive, but the lessons are virtually worthless in terms of them counting as your approved EDT lessons. I'd be looking for a full refund, or a commitment to give you required 12 lessons all over again at no charge, this time with an approved ADI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

Thanks for the replies. The thing is, this guy is the owner and the sole instructor of the company. I started lessons with him a few months back and he had his license displayed on the dash and I noticed it was up soon, he explained he had his test to keep his license soon. Having not had a lesson in a while for various reasons, I noticed in the last few weeks that it's no longer there which hasn't exactly helped my anxiety about this situation.

If it turns out that he isn't approved anymore, will I have to do all my lessons again even though at least 2/3 of them were when he was approved?

Thanks for the replies...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

If he gave some lessons when he was still an approved ADI, you should be ok for those lessons. If he is no longer an approved ADI, he may not have access to the RSA's website to upload your lessons. But he really should have been logging them as being done as you go. The only problem is that without any stamped and signed log book, there is no proof anywhere that you did the lessons.

If he was still giving lessons under false pretenses when he was no longer an ADI, you (or the person who paid for the lessons) should be getting a refund for the lessons that were not covered. Whether or not he chooses to give the money back is another question. Could the family member who is his friend put some pressure on him? I'd definitely be reporting this kind of carry on to the RSA. His unprofessional behaviour could be the reason he lost his license in the first place. I'd also give the RSA a ring to see what they have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭LpPepper

Well as far as he has told me, he has yet to upload/do any of my lessons and at least 5-10 other's lessons, in which case I am fecked? The relative who paid for the lessons knows him years and would rather keel over than let him get away with it if it comes down to it in the end. Might give the RSA a ring and see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭loobylou

There may just be a delay in renewing his license. The last time I renewed mine they held it back as you need to renew your Garda clearance at the same time. They only told me this after I queried how long it was taking.
    Cue Garda clearance. Despite no details changing from my previous clearance it took approx 2 months for it to come through. The RSA, despite having already cashed my cheque, held back my license.
    That was 2 years ago. Just completed my checktest for another renewal due in July. Was told to apply straight away for Garda clearance as it now takes that long to come through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭MascotDec85

In the past there has been delays with Garda clearance resulting in the ADI badge renewal not coming through. When this happens after a month you were removed from the register and unable to upload EDT entries.

Despite doing everything in a timely manner my renewal was late. I took the bull by the horns and went "mental" I phoned and email and made a complete nuisance of myself, requesting a temporary badge etc. It ended up sorted in 3 days. Further to this they said they'd issue TEMPORARY badges. So, either your ADI doesn't know about this and is being lax or he is off off.

If he's not on the register he simply can't upload your lessons. If this doesn't happen you won't get a test date. You need to call him up, putting aside any family friendship, and ask him right out based on this info. If you aren't satisfied with his response tell him you'll contact the RSA in the first instance. The Gardai may be next.

Let us know how you get on.