Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bought second hand car, waiting for NCT

• 11-03-2014 12:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 Ossie11

Can a Garda seize your car for having no NCT if tax and insurance are on display and in order?

I know all about the 5 points and court which can be defended against later. I am just worried about any immediate seizure.

If you have booked nct then no but if not the can once nct is out 24hours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Ossie11 wrote: »

????

Where did you get this information?

According to my knowledge, they can seize the car even if NCT out by 2 seconds.
    And having a test booked doesn't change anything here.

Earliest available to book?
    Do you need it earlier?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

They can
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/2006/en/act/pub/0023/sec0019.html#sec19
    (e) the vehicle is, or a member of the Garda Síochána is of the opinion that the vehicle is, being so used in contravention of Regulation 19(1) of the European Communities (Vehicle Testing) Regulations 2004 ( S.I. No. 771 of 2004 ), or

Where are you getting this booking NCT thing or 24hr from?
    It's an offence to drive without an NCT from the very minute it expired (not 24 hours later) and regardless of whether you have one booked or not. That means a Garda is empowered to seize it straight away although he may use his discretion and let you go, this time.

The only time you're allowed to drive with no NCT and not subject to penalty is during rest of the day after failing the test.

• Moderators Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

Technically illegal, but the general concensus is that if you can prove you've booked it in for NCT (along with explaining that you've just bought the car etc) the guard should be understanding. Not guaranteed, but one can only hope for some compassion from the guards.

More info here:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/vehicle_standards/national_car_test.html
    It is an offence to drive a car that is liable for testing without displaying a National Car Testing Service disc and offenders will face Class C fines, as well as penalty points.

Best advice I can give is check the NCT site regularly for cancellations and try get it NCTd as soon as you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

This is totally wrong. Where do people get this info from? A man in the pub told me....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭BreadnBuddha

You can get an NCT test within 21 days. Call them and tell them you are not prepared to wait. If they do not provide you with a test time and date within 21 days of your request for a booking, the test fee must be waived. If you accept a longer booking wait time they're under no obligation to give you the test slot free of charge, but if they can't fit you in within the 3 week window, you can ask and they have no choice but to waive the test fee. Not pub talk. Have used this 3 times with Deansgrange test center and they have given me slots within a few days of the time I've called.

The other thing is that when you make the booking first time online or via the phone, for some reason they'll give you a slot that could be many weeks away. Take your registration number and booking ID, login to the NCTS.ie site and pick the options to reschedule a test. You will then see dates and time typically within 5-10 days from when you login. Pick one of these and there's no additional charge for the change. You can even change test centers, allowing you for example pick a Dublin test center, even if you live in Cork but will be in Dublin on a date that suits to have it tested.

Have used both approaches in the past and they work. They've yet to give me a test free of charge, but telling them I wanted the fee waived as the booking was 6/7/8 weeks away immediately resulted in a test date within 21 days in my chosen test center.

So, no excuse for not bringing the car in within a few weeks for anyone who actually wants to get their car tested. Plenty of options available.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

That's correct except I'd question the 21 days...I though it was 4 weeks or 30 days....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

In Dublin thats not the case.

I was just goona say what BreadnBuddha already said.

Assuming you didn't accept appointment in May, you can request appointment with 28 days, and most likely you will get it, or otherwise your test will be for free (which is very unlikely to happen).

corktina wrote: »
    That's correct except I'd question the 21 days...I though it was 4 weeks or 30 days....

I may be wrong on the 21 days. It could actually be 4 weeks now you say it. I just can't remember specifically if it's 21 or 28 days, but the ultimate result should be a test within a week or two I think. Cheers.

CiniO wrote: »
    I was just goona say what BreadnBuddha already said.

Assuming you didn't accept appointment in May, you can request appointment with 28 days, and most likely you will get it, or otherwise your test will be for free (which is very unlikely to happen).

Even if you have accepted the appointment, just call and tell them you want a test date at your chosen center within the 28 days. They'll give it to you for sure. But you can't accept a date 8 weeks out, then turn up at the test center and say 'Here, head! I'm not paying coz it's 8 bleedin' weeks since I asked yis for the test. Whah!'. That doesn't work. :p