Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting new (used) car from dublin to cork with no tax?

• 10-03-2014 11:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43

hi guys

i've just put a deposit on a secondhand car in dublin. i'll be getting the bus up from cork on friday to collect it and will drive the car back to cork in the evening. can anyone tell me what i need to do in relation to tax and insurance?. i rang the motortax office today and they basically said that i can't tax it until its registered in my name, therefore i shouldn't drive it until then- but i HAVE to get it down from dublin.

also in relation to insurance, the cover for the car will start on friday but i'm not sure if i'll have the insurance disc before then? should i insist the insurance company send out the disc immediately?

thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

If it's raining you will be fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,243 ✭✭✭Guffy

You don't need the disc once you're insured. Ya'd want an awful prick of a guard to take car if you just bought it. You are not liable for tax before you bought it either so you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you are caught without valid discs there will be fines and more. At least the insurance will kick in immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Well what I do regarding insurance, is ring the insurance company and say I want to transfer my insurance from X reg to X reg at X time (giving yourself enough time to make your journey if you were driving your car up, but you're not) or ring when you get to the dealership and transfer it there and then, just don't forget to have your policy number handy. Since you're not driving up, have all that sorted before you leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 merkal

gufc21 wrote: »
    U don't need the disc once your insured. Ya'd want an awful prick of a guard to take car if u just bought it. You are not liable for tax before you bought it either so u should be grand.

but i read somewhere that the insurance is null and void if the car is not taxed?

merkal wrote: »
    but i read somewhere that the insurance is null and void if the car is not taxed?

Not normally unless there is something in your contract?

The insurance company will still pay out to other people, not to you.

biko wrote: »
    The insurance company will still pay out to other people, not to you.

That's what I meant sorry, you still have 3rd party essentially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

No. That is not correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

It entirely depends on the insurance company. Ask them and them only. Some policy require full tax and NCT. Others, neither. Its entirely depends on YOUR policy and no one here can give you a straight answer. Generally however you need a valid NCT only.

If you must drive it, remember there is a fine for not displaying a valid tax disc and for having no tax. They are separate offences. A decent Garda, with suitable proof from the garage, should allow you to proceed. But take note, its entirely discretionary and to be honest, most will probably take you to task for it as they probably hear the 'just bought' it story 20 times per day. I'm also guessing your going the motorway from Dublin to Cork, and that section is Garda heaven to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

You are always covered third party regardless once you have transferred it and in most cases comprehensive if thats the type of policy you have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

ironclaw wrote: »
    It entirely depends on the insurance company. Ask them and them only. Some policy require full tax and NCT. Others, neither. Its entirely depends on YOUR policy and no one here can give you a straight answer. Generally however you need a valid NCT only.

To be honest, I went through good few insurance policy documents, and I have seen none yet, which would require car to be taxed for the policy to be valid.

Anyone could give example of policy which does put such requirement?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭Jesus.

You'll be grand mate. Just drive her on down. Nay bother a'tall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭MortGoldman

Just drive it down. Be grand. 60 euro fine is pretty much worst case scenario, and I reckon the chances of even being checked or detected is about 1%.

hi guys

i've just put a deposit on a secondhand car in dublin. i'll be getting the bus up from cork on friday to collect it and will drive the car back to cork in the evening.
    Unfortunately Friday evening is time of week when you are nearly most likely to be pulled over by cops. But I still wouldn't worry,.

can anyone tell me what i need to do in relation to tax and insurance?. i rang the motortax office today and they basically said that i can't tax it until its registered in my name, therefore i shouldn't drive it until then- but i HAVE to get it down from dublin.
    What they told you is true. You won't be able to tax it until vehicle is in your name, which normally takes a week or more.
    If vehicle is not taxed at the moment (and that's my understanding from what you said), legally you shouldn't drive it.
    In practice though, I honestly doubt there is many people who pay for the car, and leave it at sellers place for week or two before they can tax it.
    Also probably not many of them arrange towing truck to take the car home.
    My assumption is that most people who buy untaxed car just drive it home, and get away with it. That's why I'd do the same, and most likely you will.
    You can take receipt from the seller that you just bought the car.
    If pulled over by gards, you can show this, and most likely they will understand the circumstances.
    If not - you still have big chances to win in court considering there is no system allowing to tax vehicle directly after purchase.

also in relation to insurance, the cover for the car will start on friday but i'm not sure if i'll have the insurance disc before then? should i insist the insurance company send out the disc immediately?
    You don't need to.
    Once your insurance cover is transferred to new car, that's all you need for your return journey.
    Legally you only need to display insurance disc 10 days after transferring your policy, so you can drive for first 10 days without insurance disc legally. (at least here whoever was creating the law, used his brain).

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

hi guys

i've just put a deposit on a secondhand car in dublin. i'll be getting the bus up from cork on friday to collect it and will drive the car back to cork in the evening. can anyone tell me what i need to do in relation to tax and insurance?. i rang the motortax office today and they basically said that i can't tax it until its registered in my name, therefore i shouldn't drive it until then- but i HAVE to get it down from dublin.

thanks in advance
    Don't drive it if it's not taxed and don't drive it if it's not insured. Have it lifted and transported.

mathepac wrote: »
    Don't drive it if it's not taxed and don't drive it if it's not insured. Have it lifted and transported.

OP said it wasn't taxed, but it will be insured.
    Does it make any difference to your statement?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

You can pretty much do as you like in this country in a car with little fear of being stopped.
    I know a courier who regularly drives a fully loaded Merc Sprinter over 100 mph on a daily country run he does.
    Once it's insured, you'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

hi guys

thanks in advance

Have you already taken out and paid for an insurance policy on the car? Have you even seen it in the flesh before paying the deposit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

OP, legally you don't need to display an insurance disc during the first 10 days of the policy. It's a good idea to have the policy details (insurer not broker, policy number, etc) to hand in case a Garda takes the notion you are not insured.

You do, however, need to display a valid Motor Tax disc (and NCT disc if the car is 4 years old or more). There is no leeway in law.

If the seller knows you are committed to buying the car you could try convince him to tax the car in the local motor tax office and you can refund them. That way you'll have the disc on the day. However he's unlikely to be willing to do that if arrears are due.

If you can't do the above, then don't drive or tow the car, put it on a trailer or truck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

CiniO wrote: »
    To be honest, I went through good few insurance policy documents, and I have seen none yet, which would require car to be taxed for the policy to be valid.

Anyone could give example of policy which does put such requirement?

Yes I would like to see such a policy also. I know of no such condition.
    If using a driving other cars policy extension then yes, it's common that the car you intend to drive is fully road legal - taxed and tested. Not the case when policy is changed onto car (for tax at least)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Having/not having your car taxed has no bearing on it being insured.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

CiniO wrote: »
    ... Does it make any difference to your statement?
    Of course not. I posted "Don't drive it if it's not taxed and don't drive it if it's not insured. Have it lifted and transported." I hope that's clearer for you.

mathepac wrote: »
    Of course not. I posted "Don't drive it if it's not taxed and don't drive it if it's not insured. Have it lifted and transported." I hope that's clearer for you.

Yea..
    That's perfectly clear now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Been driving my car insured and NCTed for a week now and had no hassle with the guards.
    No guard even asked about my insurance or tax when I talked to three of them in Dublin when Merkel was here and I was looking for directions - they all clearly saw the lack of insurance and tax disc.
    And my car ain't something that blends in, it's an M-Sport E46 Coupe.

I drive through the City Centre and the N7/M7 every day basically and still no sign of interest even though I've passed multiple Traffic Corps cars.

Also bought the car in Cork and drove down to Newbridge in it if it makes any difference.

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Be cautious. There is a lot of poor info in this thread and quite a bit of what was being complained of in another thread!

It is an offence not to have the car taxed , However if you have documents with you to show you just bought it, you probably will be OK if you meet a Gard. Do not park it in a public place for fear of a Warden or Gard Patrol seeing it and ticketing you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

corktina wrote: »
    Be cautious. There is a lot of poor info in this thread and quite a bit of what was being complained of in another thread!

It is an offence not to have the car taxed , However if you have documents with you to show you just bought it, you probably will be OK if you meet a Gard. Do not park it in a public place for fear of a Warden or Gard Patrol seeing it and ticketing you.

+1 don't be speeding or drawing attention to yourself and you will be fine. You might be able to print off your insurance documents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

I drove my untaxed and un nct'd Corolla back home to Dublin from Cork 2 weeks ago and I didn't have any problems.

It's not normally something I would do as I generally have a full window at all times but the car was not in my name so as far as I am concerned if you need to take the odd risk like that then just make sure you have a good story in case you get stopped.

I need to get my E30 back up to Dublin too but it's currently signed off the road so that's one risk I would not take!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

As long as the insurance is transferred to the new car, and you are going to tax it when you can, I can't see any issues.

I've driven hundred's of cars with no insurance / tax on the window and never been stopped. Generally forget to take the trade plates to stick on the windscreen, so shouldn't be driving without, but am covered on Insurance and the vehicle is either coming off the road, or brand new and waiting to be taxed.

Ok, now people are just encouraging driving without valid discs.

OP, you make a decision, you stand by it and and you take the consequences.