Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clampers going on strike

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

It's not exactly a very highly skilled job is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,901 ✭✭✭Mince Pie

I don't know, being a bollix comes with some neck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Mince Pie wrote: »
    do they honestly expect any public sympathy?
    I'll support their strike for as long as they want to be on strike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Mince Pie wrote: »
    Clampers are to go on strike. Never have I been so eager to see a picket line. do they honestly expect any public sympathy?

http://www.thejournal.ie/dublin-clampers-vote-in-favour-of-industrial-action-over-pay-dispute-1355119-Mar2014/?utm_source=facebook_short

Hope they never come off of strike. And a pre-emptive fcuk off to all the goodie two shoes trolls who seem to love the clampers. We live in a civilised country no need to fcuk with another man's vehicle just put a ticket on it and chase up if they dont pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

I didn't realise such a "profession" was unionised!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

They're just doing a job. Clampers are not the problem. People who park illegally are.

I have sympathy for these men who have the vilest abuse thrown at them for simply doing their job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

They're just doing a job. Clampers are not the problem. People who park illegally are.

I have sympathy for these men who have the vilest abuse thrown at them for simply doing their job.

Private clamping is an illegal practice so yeah, clambers are the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,916 ✭✭✭shopaholic01

Pity it's just Dublin clampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The Nazis were 'just doing their jobs' too

Godwin'd.

It was bound to happen though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Yeh but people can avoid being clamped. I'm not saying I think clamping is a good method, or that clampers can't be bollixes, but I don't understand the sentiment that it's done to people who have no choice/responsibility in the matter.
    If people didn't give clampers reason to clamp, it would be the best fuk-you to them.

Comparing someone who regulates parking on behalf of the council to a regime that murdered millions of innocent Jews, Roma, Poles, Russians , homosexuals, and mentally handicapped people. Nice, real classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,376 ✭✭✭893bet

GenieOz wrote: »
    Godwin'd.

Not usually on page one though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

The decision on possible strike action comes after it was reported that Dublin City Council had set DSPS a target of 60,000 car clampings a year

This just seems bizarre to me, so in that sense I agree with the union members. Do Gardai have targets set in such a way? Be damned with who actually deserves to be clamped (or arrested).. just make sure yiz get that many each year... madness, and proof that it's nothing more than a money making scam rather than a way to make life easier for motorists in general.. not that proof was needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,696 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

Bad an all as they were you'd never come out of the gas factory to see your car clamped.

Comparing someone who regulates parking on behalf of the council to a regime that murdered millions of innocent Jews, Roma, Poles, Russians , homosexuals, and mentally handicapped people. Nice, real classy.

'Just doing their job' is the point. Not what the job was, but don't let that take away from your support for clampers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Godwin'd.

There's a special clause in the godwin argument that allows for clampers to be compared to Nazi's.

I've only been caught out once. Because I was nice to the clamper (he'd had a rough day with other people) he told me ways of avoiding paying the charge in the future. I still had to pay that time but it just goes to show if your nice to people they'll generally be nice back to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭blue note

We'll all be sorry when Dublin grinds to a halt once the strike starts. We'll all be begging them to come back and clamp us then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Do Gardai have targets set in such a way? Be damned with who actually deserves to be clamped (or arrested).. just make sure yiz get that many each year
    I thought the target was odd too, but I suppose it changes per year in accordance with what is expected, and if there was no target they might just sit about all day. But if everybody suddenly obeyed the law what happens, can they just be easily sacked if there is no job for them, or more likely at they'll get some ludicrous pay out.
    Some might not know they have illegally parked, its in the private money making scamsters best interest to have signs un-noticeable. I was also wondering what regulation there is with private ones, could they attempt to fine a few grand if they wanted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Private clamping is an illegal practice so yeah, clambers are the problem.

It's not private clamping though, is it?

rubadub wrote: »
    Some might not know they have illegally parked, its in the private money making scamsters best interest to have signs un-noticeable. I was also wondering what regulation there is with private ones, could they attempt to fine a few grand if they wanted?

Clampers are either hired by private property owners to regulate parking in private property, or are hired by local authorities to regulate the public space. People seem to think companies just work off their own bat and buy a few clamps and go out and hold cars to ransom. That's not how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

Would be funny if the Gardai arrested the picketers for loitering.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You need to remember that the freedom to park like an ignorant c_nt is one of the cornerstones of civil liberty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Clampers are either hired by private property owners to regulate parking in private property, or are hired by local authorities to regulate the public space. People seem to think companies just work off their own bat and buy a few clamps and go out and hold cars to ransom.
    Well I never thought that for a second, I never heard of anybody thinking of them like that. My question still stands, do the private ones have an upper limit of fines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

anncoates wrote: »
    You need to remember that the freedom to park like an ignorant c_nt is one of the cornerstones of civil liberty.

Or be back after your ticket expires because paying for how long you think You'll be gone for is such a brilliant system. The clock doesn't stop for unforseen circumstances, and guess what?

Someone back to their car late by 15mins gets fined the exact same amount as the guy who didn't bother his barney to pay anything at all.

It's a bad system they have in place. I don't get your constant defending of clampers in almost every thread related to them, and your high horse stance that everyone that's been clamped was irresponsible or an " ignorant cnut ".

If you could pm me a few pointers on being perfect, I promise I'll try my best to follow in your footprints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

If it's illegal, are people calling the guards? Anyone?
    'Just doing their job' is the point. Not what the job was, but don't let that take away from your support for clampers.
    I'd have more ire for the private companies that charge ridiculous release fees rather than their employees.

Or be back after your ticket expires because paying for how long you think You'll be gone for is such a brilliant system. The clock doesn't stop for unforseen circumstances, and guess what? .

Tough sh_t. Manage your time. You're an adult right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭Saucy McKetchup

I'd have more ire for the private companies that charge ridiculous release fees rather than their employees.

Why bother calling the guards when you can just take off the clamp yourself and throw it in the boot of your car

Tough sh_t. Manage your time. You're an adult right?

What if the time management wasn't in your hands? Ever been delayed in the hospital/dentist/doctors?

Oh yeah, I'm an adult, but that doesn't mean I'm going to pay for a full full days parking at 9am when I'm going in to see a consultant in the hospital “just in case“, even if I expect the appointment to last an hour. Unforseen circumstances can and do happen. How does clamping someone who parked like a dick help society anyway? See that guy parked in the double yellow lines blocking the entrance to the children's hospital, it'd be a really good idea to clamp him and immobilise his vehicle so he's stuck there. Jesus H Christ.

I like this idea from Micks Garage though.
    My daughter's car was clamped in her own designated parking space that came with her apartment. The clamping company refused to remove it without payment, they said she did not have her parking permit displayed properly (she did). They knew her car as it is a small complex of only 30 apartments and she had been living there 18 months. 
    She rang me and I drove 60 miles into Galway and cut the clamp off with an angle grinder. I kept the clamp and lock because if there is no clamp they can't prove you damaged it and if they leave them laying around unprotected that's their look-out. We never heard a word about it. Cost of clamp and lock on Ebay £130. 
    If they leave something attached to my car, it's mine! My advice just cut it off and remove all trace or, if you must pay , super glue the lock so that they have to cut it off, This is what the French public did and it soon made it uneconomical to continue clamping .
    http://blog.micksgarage.com/2013/02/how-to-remove-clamp-what-should-you-do.html?m=1

A few hundred superglued locks would soon take the wind from their sails.

What if the time management wasn't in your hands? Ever been delayed in the hospital/dentist/doctors?

Oh yeah, I'm an adult, but that doesn't mean I'm going to pay for a full full days parking at 9am when I'm going in to see a consultant in the hospital “just in case“, even if I expect the appointment to last an hour. Unforseen circumstances can and do happen. How does clamping someone who parked like a dick help society anyway? See that guy parked in the double yellow lines blocking the entrance to the children's hospital, it'd be a really good idea to clamp him and immobilise his vehicle so he's stuck there. Jesus H Christ.

I like this idea from Micks Garage though.

http://blog.micksgarage.com/2013/02/how-to-remove-clamp-what-should-you-do.html?m=1

A few hundred superglued locks would soon take the wind from their sails.

You enter a more or less contractual agreement to occupy their space and don't honour it. 99% of the time it will be your own fault. The other times you expect them to care if you were delayed?

If you missed a job interview because the luas broke down, would you be whinging about taking veolia or the potential employers to court?

Grow a set and take responsibility for your life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

Why are they striking over pay?

Isn't it expensive to release a clamp?

How much are they getting if they clamp loads of cars in just one hour?

You enter a more or less contractual agreement to occupy their space and don't honour it. 99% of the time it will be your own fault. The other times you expect them to care if you were delayed?

If you missed a job interview because the luas broke down, would you be whinging about taking veolia or the potential employers to court?

Grow a set and take responsibility for your life.

No one said anything about expecting the clamping firms to 'care' they operate a business (albeit a legally dodgy one) and clamping is their bread and butter.

I'm pointing out to you and your high horse attitude that things happen that make people sometimes not get back on time doesn't make them "ignorant cnuts".

I also took full responsibility the last time I was clamped. Lucky for the clampers though I had two small children with me. Otherwise their clamp was heading home with me.

Otherwise their clamp was heading home with me.

You keep giving it to The Man. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

You keep giving it to The Man. .

Does that mean you'll be taking it so?

The very foundations of our freedom rest upon it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

I also took full responsibility the last time I was clamped. Lucky for the clampers though I had two small children with me. Otherwise their clamp was heading home with me.
    Was this the time when you had your kids there waiting while your mate arrived with boltcutters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

this is one strike i will support, this is great news!

hope the DCC let them rot and never replace them, allowing a good old ticketing service come back in - clampers are absolulte w*nkers and bellends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

Yeh but people can avoid being clamped. I'm not saying I think clamping is a good method, or that clampers can't be bollixes, but I don't understand the sentiment that it's done to people who have no choice/responsibility in the matter.
    If people didn't give clampers reason to clamp, it would be the best fuk-you to them.
    The only real reason they need to clamp is an unoccupied car and dubious signage.
    It is a tax, a revenue stream (from the mouth of a clamper) and if you have a problem with that talk to whoever makes up the rules.
    They are the bane of many shopkeepers who are in fear of delivery vans and customers being clamped outside their shops, and so lose business. Some are in constant battle with the council to change the ridiculous rules.
    So many side roads in Dublin are 24 hours and signs are often confusing and inconsistent.
    And yet in other parts, dangerous parking across pedestrian crossings and continuous parking on double yellows by pizza delivery vans at a particularly dangerous yellow box is completely ignored.
    Reason being - they have to call a garda to clamp these, so it doesn't happen. They clamp the easy prey, side streets, 1 minute in a loading bay, quiet residential streets, people delayed 10 mins getting back to their car.
    They also clamp cars in bus lanes just to make sure they are causing an obstruction - complete stupidity.

The gardai want nothing to do with them

Parking used to be under the jurisdiction of the gardai, it was handed to a private company who decide their own rules/targets.

To quote one on duty garda I stopped to ask about the legality of the clamp on my car - "we hate the bs as much as you". I asked him can I quote him on that. He said No problem.

Clamping is a very big hammer used to crack peanuts.

So yeah - strike on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Hope they never come off of strike. And a pre-emptive fcuk off to all the goodie two shoes trolls who seem to love the clampers. We live in a civilised country no need to fcuk with another man's vehicle just put a ticket on it and chase up if they dont pay

Not the same as the Council clampers but will you pay a ticket issued by the owner of a private car park?

humbert wrote: »
    Was this the time when you had your kids there waiting while your mate arrived with boltcutters?

Well seeing as they're aged at 1 & 3, I thought sending them on home by themselves may be a bad idea. Besides if you think about it, it was NCPS had them 'waiting'. Either by me paying their ransom or removing clamp myself.

My only regret being that the bolt cutters wouldn't go through the chain/padlock, but I'm now the proud owner of a cordless grinder with cutting discs. ;)

Not the same as the Council clampers but will you pay a ticket issued by the owner of a private car park?

Would I be legally obliged to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭sillyoulfool

Private clamping is an illegal practice .

No it isn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

And?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 587 ✭✭✭sillyoulfool

Why bother calling the guards when you can just take off the clamp yourself and throw it in the boot of your car

Criminal damage And theft..why not go for the hat trick and beat the clamper to death with the clamp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Criminal damage And theft

It is not illegal to remove a clamp. You find me a case where somebody was prosecuted for removing a clamp. Go on. I'll wait....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭V.W.L 11

Kirby wrote: »
    It is not illegal to remove a clamp. You find me a case where somebody was prosecuted for removing a clamp. Go on. I'll wait....

Its not illegal to remove it once you return it to the company,happened in cork a few years back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

What about womens' cars?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

blue note wrote: »
    We'll all be sorry when Dublin grinds to a halt once the strike starts. We'll all be begging them to come back and clamp us then.
    this is one strike i will support, this is great news!

hope the DCC let them rot and never replace them, allowing a good old ticketing service come back in - clampers are absolulte w*nkers and bellends.

Clamping was discontinued in Cork and the ticketing system resumed. The city didn't grind to a halt strangely enough..

How would it stand if you asked your bank/credit card provider to issue you a charge back on your card?

The reason being you never agreed to enter into a contract with clamping Company?

No it isn't.

Stopping the free movement of a vehicle without lawful reason is illegal.
    Lawful reason does not come under a sign saying you'll be clamped if you don't pay a certain amount of money beforehand or have a parking permit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

If Der Fuhrer knew this clamping was going on he would be very angry