Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin is Not Boring - Not at All.

• 10-03-2014 5:12pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

I honestly do not get this idea where people think Dublin as a city is boring and has nothing to do. I have been to cities much larger where one could see and do all that was to see and do in a weekend. There is lots to do in Dublin if you WANT to find something to do.

The problem with the city is the residents would rather spend their weekends in a pub getting all emotional for 'their' beloved British soccer corporations while going 'We, Them and Us' at the giant TV screens knocking back pints as the sum total of their interaction with the city.

There is so much to do and see in Dublin. Not just only in terms of culture, but the city screams history. There are areas you can explore like the Liberties on a Sunday. There is a beautiful range of mountains with a stunning hiking trail which would be the envy of any capital city in Europe and you can get on the Luas at Tallaght...follow the trail over the mountains and get back from the DART on the other end of the trail.

Dublin is not in the least boring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

You're just full of mad ideas today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

OK so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,872 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

All that walking is grand if you have cloven hooves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Ok, give me 10 things to do in Dublin on any given night that don't involve a pub/club.

GO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Holsten wrote: »
    Ok, give me 10 things to do in Dublin on any given night that don't involve a pub/club.

GO.

There are no end of clubs and interest groups you can join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

GO.

You can do heroin ten times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭ceekay74

Liffey swim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 892 ✭✭✭GenieOz

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    There are no end of clubs and interest groups you can join.

Name ten of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

GenieOz wrote: »
    Name ten of them

Here's eight to be getting on with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

All types of entertainment on the Luas Red Line, and for free if your lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Name ten of them

Testicular cancer support group.
    Breast cancer support group.
    Ovarian cancer support group.
    I could go on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Is the Phoenix Park utilised as much as it could be?

It's about the same size as Central Park in New York; it should be a central part of life in Dublin, for locals and tourists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 970 ✭✭✭yawhat!

We could go around with sticks and bate the scumbags. Would be great craic.

Or get some Heroin and throw in it in the middle of scumbags and watch them fight to the death.

Or wave 50 euro notes in front of homeless people and watch them cry, would get a bit of a buzz of that.

Is the Phoenix Park utilised as much as it could be?

It's about the same size as Central Park in New York; it should be a central part of life in Dublin, for locals and tourists.

There is no comparison.

In Central Park you have
    - Lakes that you can rent boats.
    - A swimming pool.
    - Ice Rinks
    - Zoo
    - Wildlife Sanctuary
    - Amphitheater
    - Numerous Playgrounds
    - Castle

The Phoenix Park has:
    - Zoo
    - One Playground
    - One small tiny tea room
    - No public toilets
    - Farmleigh House.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Dublin is a kip

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

D1stant wrote: »
    Dublin is a kip

Nah, it's not really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

Will people please stop comparing Dublin to to places that are literally more than 10 times bigger! thats not a valid comparison!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

There is no comparison.

In Central Park you have
    - A swimming pool.
    - Ice Rinks
    - Zoo
    - Wildlife Sanctuary
    - Amphitheater
    - Numerous Playgrounds
    - Castle

The Phoenix Park has:
    - Zoo
    - One Playground
    - No public toilets
    - Farmleigh House.

There is more to do in NY than Dublin? This is some seriously revelatory sh1t right here.

You are breaking some new ground with these insights. What's next? Cork not quite as interesting as Tokyo, Dundalk not really got the same amount of visitor attractions as Antwerp. Beaches in carribean found to have warmer water than Clare?

I am pie wrote: »
    There is more to do in NY than Dublin? This is some seriously revelatory sh1t right here.

You are breaking some new ground with these insights. What's next? Cork not quite as interesting as Tokyo, Dundalk not really got the same amount of visitor attractions as Antwerp. Beaches in carribean found to have warmer water than Clare?
    What are you on about?

I compared the parks, not the cities.

There is no comparison.

In Central Park you have
    - A swimming pool.
    - Ice Rinks
    - Zoo
    - Wildlife Sanctuary
    - Amphitheater
    - Numerous Playgrounds
    - Castle

The Phoenix Park has:
    - Zoo
    - One Playground
    - No public toilets
    - Farmleigh House.

Somewhat my point, it's maybe not as utilized as it should be.

From their website, it has these recreational facilities:
    1 Army Pitch
    1 Army Grounds Pavilion
    3 Camogie
    1 Camogie Storage Area
    2 Cricket
    2 Cricket Pavilions
    7 GAA Pitches
    1 Disused GAA Pavilion
    10 Soccer (SR)
    1 Proposed New GAA Pavilion
    2 Soccer (JR)
    1 Soccer Pavilion
    1 Garda Síochána Pitch
    1 Garda Síochána Pavilion
    1 Mixed use Pitch
    1 Polo Grounds
    1 Polo Pavilion
    1 Model Aeroplane Area
    1 Seasonal Cross Country Circuit

Plus:

Áras an Uachtaráin
    Papal Cross
    Wellington Monument
    Phoenix Column
    Deerfield Residence
    Phoenix Park Visitor Centre and Ashtown Castle
    People's Gardens
    Magazine Fort

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

What are you on about?

I compared the parks, not the cities.

Jesus wept....

So it's beyond your comprehension that a park in a city with 10 times the population and infintely more wealth would have more attractions?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Ok woopdi fvcking do - theres a park.

Also - most of the time its pissing rain.
    Theres your 1st entertainment option - getting rained on in a big field.

Jesus wept....

So it's beyond your comprehension that a park in a city with 10 times the population and infintely more wealth would have more attractions?
    Do attractions have to cost so much? I don't think so.

My point was that the Phoenix park is terribly under used, it's just open fields for the most part.

I'm sure I could find you an example of a park in an area with a lower population than Dublin which has much more to offer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

There is no comparison.

In Central Park you have
    - A swimming pool.
    - Ice Rinks
    - Zoo
    - Wildlife Sanctuary
    - Amphitheater
    - Numerous Playgrounds
    - Castle

The Phoenix Park has:
    - Zoo
    - One Playground
    - No public toilets
    - Farmleigh House.

In the phoenix park, you are forgetting the "Sucky sucky five dollah", which you dont get/have in Central Park.

Do attractions have to cost so much? I don't think so.

My point was that the Phoenix park is terribly under used, it's just open fields for the most part.

I'm sure I could find you an example of a park in an area with a lower population than Dublin which has much more to offer.

In most cases, attractions should be self-financing anyway, either directly through charges, or in-directly, such as an increase in tourists coming to Dublin for the attractions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

This thread is funny. Pure comic gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭Nemeses

Leave Cork alone boyo! He done nothin' to ya! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭roro1990

I find Dublin extremely one-dimensional. Probably a sign that I need new friends, but the only time I do anything here is when drinking at the weekend in town. I'm lucky to live by a beautiful pier in dun laoghaire, but what feckin use is it for a nice stroll when all my friends are either whipped or live too far away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭losthorizon

Nemeses wrote: »
    Leave Cork alone boyo! He done nothin' to ya! :pac:

Dublin has a zoo but cork has a safari park;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,973 ✭✭✭Sh1tbag OToole

Get the luas to tallaght! riveting stuff!

I'm in dublin and I'm bored stiff. Go home and watch telly, get drunk the odd time and sit on social networking sites is all most people seem to do. Most other enjoyable things involve spending sh1tloads more than it should cost, or leaving Dublin.

Dublin wants you to spend all your money on high rent, parking spaces, clamping, insurance, getting to and from work, shops are bland and overpriced. Loads of intolerant snobs about who think drying clothes outside or driving an old car lowers the tone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Chazz Michael Michaels

roro1990 wrote: »
    I find Dublin extremely one-dimensional. Probably a sign that I need new friends, but the only time I do anything here is when drinking at the weekend in town. I'm lucky to live by a beautiful pier in dun laoghaire, but what feckin use is it for a nice stroll when all my friends are either whipped or live too far away.

Meetup.com

Now you have no excuse.

roro1990 wrote: »

Not too far from there meself, maybe get an ould boat or a jetski? Sure i saw on the newselberries that the celtic tiger is coming back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

You're just full of mad ideas today.

Is that what it's called?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

Whoever said Dublin was boring? Dublin is the shizzle, I love visiting, and not just for the forty thousand deadly pubs that you're guaranteed a great night in.

Grafton Street and Stephens Green on a busy afternoon, a walk through the docklands by the liffey, botanic gardens, Kilmainham gaol, a cycle through Phoenix Park on a spring day, Georges Street arcade, the flea market, fish and chips in Leo Burdocks and chocolate cake at The Cake Cafe, dart out to Howth and hike around the coastal path up to Bailey lighthouse, Dollymount strand, Malahide Estuary on an early morning, Croker, Hugh Lane Gallery, a cold crisp pint in Doheny & Nesbitts, buskers and impromptu gigs anywhere and everywhere, banter with randomers.

There's a lot more to Dublin than knackers and ****e nightclubs and anyone who finds it boring is just not making enough effort. Better again: Galway :)

beks101 wrote: »
    Whoever said Dublin was boring? Dublin is the shizzle, I love visiting, and not just for the forty thousand deadly pubs that you're guaranteed a great night in.

Grafton Street and Stephens Green on a busy afternoon, a walk through the docklands by the liffey, botanic gardens, Kilmainham gaol, a cycle through Phoenix Park on a spring day, Georges Street arcade, the flea market, fish and chips in Leo Burdocks and chocolate cake at The Cake Cafe, dart out to Howth and hike around the coastal path up to Bailey lighthouse, Dollymount strand, Malahide Estuary on an early morning, Croker, Hugh Lane Gallery, a cold crisp pint in Doheny & Nesbitts, buskers and impromptu gigs anywhere and everywhere, banter with randomers.

There's a lot more to Dublin than knackers and ****e nightclubs and anyone who finds it boring is just not making enough effort. Better again: Galway :)

So lets see, walking, walking, walking, walking, Kilmainham Jail, cycling, walking, walking, Food, food, walking, walking, walking, Croke Park... stuff isn't on everyday, Gallery, drinking of course...

Yeah... LOADS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

So lets see, walking, walking, walking, walking, Kilmainham Jail, cycling, walking, walking, Food, food, walking, walking, walking, Croke Park... stuff isn't on everyday, Gallery, drinking of course...

Yeah... LOADS.

Scenery, history, fresh air, exercise, decent grub, decent company - not your bag? How many of those places have you been?

Actually the most boring part of Dublin/Ireland to me is people with your attitude

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Yeah... LOADS.

Out of interest, what would you like dublin to offer, in terms of things to do, and which comparable city/cities offer more?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Out of interest, what would you like dublin to offer, in terms of things to do, and which comparable city/cities offer more?

Paintball karting.

Its a mix between paintball and go karting.
    Then when you're finished theres a huge climbing wall to a titty bar at the top.
    Exit on the other side by abseil or bungee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

Paintball karting.

Its a mix between paintball and go karting.
    Then when you're finished theres a huge climbing wall to a titty bar at the top.
    Exit on the other side by abseil or bungee.

Can I come too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,872 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

I'm in dublin and I'm bored stiff. Go home and watch telly, get drunk the odd time and sit on social networking sites is all most people seem to do. Most other enjoyable things involve spending sh1tloads more than it should cost, or leaving Dublin.

Dublin wants you to spend all your money on high rent, parking spaces, clamping, insurance, getting to and from work, shops are bland and overpriced. Loads of intolerant snobs about who think drying clothes outside or driving an old car lowers the tone

You could take a trip to FG HQ and let us know if there is any activity.

Public tennis courts, squash courts, basketball courts, astroturf pitches, driving ranges, skate parks, outdoor gyms, rockclimbing walls, rental boats, paintballing areas, vollyball courts, more outdoor cinemas, drive in cinemas, table tennis tables, outdoor chess sets, etc..

Stuff similar to these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Monorail!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 822 ✭✭✭zetalambda

There is no comparison.

In Central Park you have
    - A swimming pool.
    - Ice Rinks
    - Zoo
    - Wildlife Sanctuary
    - Amphitheater
    - Numerous Playgrounds
    - Castle

The Phoenix Park has:
    - Zoo
    - One Playground
    - No public toilets
    - Farmleigh House.

Not to mention the many hundreds of sky scrapers that surround the park. In Dublin there's just 1 manky 14 storey giant corn flakes box. A comparison between Dublin and New York can never be made. Anyone that thinks otherwise is clearly deluded.

New York and Central Park:

The majority of the "small" buildings at the edge of the park are taller than liberty hall.

http://hottrip.net/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/Central-Park-in-New-York-trip_travel_park_Central-Park-in-New-York_trip_hottrip-net4.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,574 ✭✭✭whirlpool

Jesus wept....

What on earth is your problem? He was listing the differences between the two parks to point out that they can't be compared. You seem to think he spray-painted DUBLIN SUCKS all over Grafton Street.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭Halloween Jack

Public tennis courts, squash courts, basketball courts, astroturf pitches, driving ranges, skate parks, outdoor gyms, rockclimbing walls, rental boats, paintballing areas, vollyball courts, more outdoor cinemas, drive in cinemas, table tennis tables, outdoor chess sets, etc..

Stuff similar to these.

The majority of that is available in dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

They could do with a couple of outdoor gyms in the city alright.

You could take a trip to FG HQ and let us know if there is any activity.

Nothing recently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

You completely missed his point. He was saying to get the luas to Tallaght and walk over those beautiful mountains we are so incredibly lucky to live beside. Any city in Europe would kill to have them on their doorstep. If all you do is watch telly and drink its your own fault no one elses.

Sure you get way better mountains out the country and they dont come with a set of 'down with that sort of thing' drysh1tes who report you for taking a dirt bike or a quad up there or even a tent. In the city and around it all the fun stuff is banned or regulated to hell and there is no space.

Most cities are boring though when you live there and arent rolling in cash so im not singling out dublin or anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭minusthebear

The Dublin Mountain Way is an epic resource. Seriously. A lot of narrow mindedness in this thread.

http://www.dublinmountains.ie/dublin_mountains_way/dublin_mountains_way/