Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Smoking Runners

• 10-03-2014 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭

OK so I am not talking about running so fast that there is smoke coming from my runnings shoes but is it possible to smoke and run.

The reason I ask is that I have started running again this year but I do enjoy a smoke. Now I dont smoke every day, maybe one day a week when enjoying a few beers. Sometimes I would have maybe ten cigs but then wont touch them until the following weekend when I have another drink.

So is there anyone here that smokes and still runs and feels healthy? Is it possible?

Lastly I dont want to here how bad it is for my health or giving out etc, would rather here from people who do smoke a little and still run.

thanks

frAg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭discus

I know loads of lads who run and smoke. A few have competed for years and still don't even think about quitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭sopretty

I used to run and smoke. Could easily do daily 5k runs after just 2.5 months running. Longest run I did was just over 10k. I'm in my thirties, and am not overweight.

I'd say, if I was to get serious about running long distances, I'd have had to give up the ciggies. Alas, something else intervened to call a halt to my gallop. :(

ETA: I was easily smoking 20 a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

So it is possible then. I see myself giving up should I wish to run long distance but for now its about me losing a bit of weight, getting a bit healthier and fit. So 7-10 cigs wont be too bad on a weekend I guess....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Its harder to do but not that much unless your taking it really seriously. There may come a point where the only way of shaving a few seconds off your time is quiting but thats a long way off if you even want to go that far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭minusthebear

I smoke when I'm out drinking and run long distance & race regularly. I wouldn't stress about it at recreational level running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,392 ✭✭✭COH

Just quit - best decision anyone could ever make

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Inspector Coptoor

It's literally one of THE dumbest things anyone can do.
    Quit

Quit

While quitting is the most obvious answer to anyone, precluding someone from even trying to run for the simple fact that they're a smoker, is actually setting them up to fail!
    Any uptake in exercise should be encouraged. Clearly smoking is not the brightest thing to be at, but it doesn't preclude one from running!
    I used to think that myself, so never bothered. Then I discovered I could actually run at fair speeds, despite being a smoker.
    I often wondered how my speeds would be if I wasn't smoking, but I didn't refuse to run, for the simple reason that I was a smoker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I've known plenty of good runners who smoked, so no, it won't stop you from running.

But I always wondered just how good they could have been had they knocked it on the head.

If it's only a casual thing that you do once a week, it's that much easier to stop. Depends what's more important to you, I guess.

I've known plenty of good runners who smoked, so no, it won't stop you from running.

But I always wondered just how good they could have been had they knocked it on the head.

If it's only a casual thing that you do once a week, it's that much easier to stop. Depends what's more important to you, I guess.

Yep, would love to know what my speeds would have been like if I quit the cigs. I'd have been like a racehorse lol :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Wayne Rooney, Berbatov and a legendary Brazilian(cant remember who but he was supposed to do 40 a day lit up on the bench when subbed).
    Its like saying I eat cake now and again can I run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 UtopianWarlord

I know a few who do it but not able to myself without it affecting me, usually notice myself getting wheezy on a run for a few days afterwards if I smoke at the weekend

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

jane82 wrote: »
    Wayne Rooney, Berbatov and a legendary Brazilian(cant remember who but he was supposed to do 40 a day lit up on the bench when subbed).
    Its like saying I eat cake now and again can I run.

Sócrates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Quit

Care to elaborate? Putting your hand in a blender when its on would be dumb? Driving with a blindfold on would be dumb? But having a smoke at the weekend with a few beers is not dumb. Like I said in the OP I dont want critiscism or being told its dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

frag420 wrote: »
    Care to elaborate? Putting your hand in a blender when its on would be dumb? Driving with a blindfold on would be dumb? But having a smoke at the weekend with a few beers is not dumb. Like I said in the OP I dont want critiscism or being told its dumb.

Well in fairness it is dumb and almost akin to sticking your hand in a blender as it well documented and everyone knows the ill effects it has on your health.

This is coming from someone who is a former heavy ex smoker and still prone to the odd moment of weakness after a few beers stupidly.