Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Just text the lads to say I'm not going to the pub.

That's a disgraceful 4-4-2. When is he going to learn that when we play 4-4-2 we get DOMINATED

If this doesn't come off....consider my thread with him snapped. Shocking first eleven to take on a side that is shocking in England and chasing a match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

its 4-5-1..... smalling evans injured, vidic was terrible sun thats why rio starts....

kagawa has no pace so he went with valencia on the right, welbeck was always going to start on the left said it all day, and giggs is more mobile than fellaini, just forget about his age. if rvp and rooney turn up tonight united will win 3-0.

Last time we saw Giggs make a few appearances he was far from the worst player on the field, but how long has it been since he last played?? Seriously, I thought tonight was a massive game of football, not a chance to quell rumours about a rift with a player or save face. Progressing tonight is what will save some face and create a few rare positive headlines, and putting out the strongest line-up available is the way to achieve that. This is far from the strongest line-up available.

Also, no defenders on the bench?? He's leaving a lot to chance that one of our defenders won't pick up an injury or that Rafael won't see red. If it's still all going tits up at around the 70 minute mark, I can see Moyes taking off Rio and throwing on another attacker.

This is either going to be a work of genius or a hallion's aboortion, and nowhere in between. Recent history points to it being the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

He also has decided to not put any defender on the bench...

I dunno what to say really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

Once again, just like the first leg, the optimism that I built up all day before this game has deserted me.

Giggs, Valencia and Rio. ****ing deary me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

As long as there's serious heads itt with the sense of humour of a verruca and a 2 y/o's understanding of sarcasm, everything will be taken seriously.

I mean, you really thought that would be my opinion if things panned out as stated by the other guy? I woulda figured someone as smart as you would realise that not even the most diehard David Moyes supporter could come out with what I wrote. Christ, even though it sounds very like Moyes himself now that I read it again, I seriously doubt even he'd come out with it.

Yes, misunderstandings never happen on internet fora. The only possible explanation is that I am a humourless idiot. Well played.

He also has decided to not put any defender on the bench...

I dunno what to say really.

they need 3 goals...why put a defender on the bench when he can put carrick centre back or valencia right back.... and vidic is the only fit defender and his head is in milan.

BELIEVE

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Using this match to quell the Giggs rumours, to me, is utterly unprofessional on his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

Jesus christ, how in the name of God can he think thats a good lineup? If we get spanked tonight he deserves to go just for that selection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

bangkok wrote: »
    they need 3 goals...why put a defender on the bench when he can put carrick centre back or valencia right back.... and vidic is the only fit defender and his head is in milan.

Just amazed by your comments...are you serious...

You seem to get your kicks from disagreeing with absolutely everyone on this board.. is there anyway to block his posts!!!

Or maybe your David Moyes????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,825 ✭✭✭Timmyctc

Using this match to quell the Giggs rumours, to me, is utterly unprofessional on his part.

You're the one assuming that is the case?
    Giggs started some big games in the past year. This is just another. He was probably our best player in the match v Real last year. Don't particularly like Valencia being on but maybe we need his pace and inability to play an accurate cross.

Tbh, I felt Giggs had quietly retired.

I do not believe for one second that the timing of his return is coincidental.

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Giggs started some big games in the past year. This is just another. He was probably our best player in the match v Real last year. Don't particularly like Valencia being on but maybe we need his pace and inability to play an accurate cross.

We have to give them a chance :P

brinty wrote: »
    Just amazed by your comments...are you serious...

You seem to get your kicks from disagreeing with absolutely everyone on this board.. is there anyway to block his posts!!!

Or maybe your David Moyes????

its common sense!!!!! vidic is our only other fit defender... carrick has played centre back loads of time and more likely that not it we are pushing for a goal near the end of the game kagawa, hernandez and januzaj or young will be on the field

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 155 ✭✭Agro Head

Thoughts on line-up? One can only hope he won't be as slow to change it if it isn't working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Pro. F wrote: »
    Yes, misunderstandings never happen on internet fora. The only possible explanation is that I am a humourless idiot. Well played.
    Barring something exceptional and completely unexpected happening tonight, everyone is gonna be in bad mood in here tonight so let's abandon our recent attempts at flirting with each other and concentrate on how many times Moyes says try and if possible in his pre-match interview.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

keane2097 wrote: »
    I really don't understand all the venom towards people saying they wouldn't mind seeing United lose if it meant Moyes would be gone. Grand if you don't agree with it but there's a very obvious and reasonable point to be made re:short term pain for long term gain.

Seems to be a very British "stip upper lip" attitude from most of the people on here in terms of "support your team in every situation possible" even to the point of hoping for things that will ultimately be to the club's detriment for the sake of being seen to be a good fan. This is coming even from people who think Moyes is a complete disaster and is "ruining" the club.

It's a bit weird.

Long term thinking is never popular on this thread. I assume it's the same in most large gatherings of football fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Timmyctc wrote: »
    Giggs started some big games in the past year. This is just another. He was probably our best player in the match v Real last year. Don't particularly like Valencia being on but maybe we need his pace for defending and inability to play an accurate cross.

FYP because Valencia lost his pace with the ball at his feet a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭bantee

Based on that lineup I'm sticking 2 tenner bets on Olympiakos. 0-2 @ 35/1, Dominguez 1st goalscorer @ 16/1. Money back special if United go through lol.

Welbeck is a refreshing start on the left quite happy with that, would like to of seein kagawa in behind Rooney tonight but it isn't a game to make such a drastic change in, replacing rvp and all.

Giggs wealth of champions league experience as oppose to Fellanis is the only logical reasoning I can think of as to why he starts. Plus he's a better option then clev. (Wish fletch was back to his old self)

Valencia will put a shift in, and is our only real option considering nani isn't match fit, Jan's form has dipped, kagawa and young never play on the right.

Not the team I would of picked but it makes sense.

who would people rather see in the starting line up??????

team is more dynamic with giggs and welbeck... granted valencia is useless and i cant stand him but hes our fastest player and if he can beat his man a few times tonight and put in a few decent crosses might be worth the gamble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Because neither of them players are defenders...

I can't get over that lineup. We're short in defence so that I can forgive, but the rest??

Valencia - has forgotten how to do anything other than pass it back
    Carrick - has been very poor this year (admittedly not any other great options)
    Giggs- I love Giggs but seriously, why not Fellaini?
    Welbeck - why is he on the f***ing wing?!
    Rooney - hasn't been great, but better than RVP
    RVP - shouldn't start IMO based on previous games, Welbeck should be there

And now the bench:

Fellaini - see above
    Fletcher - meh, wouldn't have started him
    Januzaj - wouldn't have started him either
    Young - FAR superior option to Valencia, can actually cross and take men on
    Kagawa - needs to just leave at this rate, not given a fair chance at all
    Hernandez - poor season admittedly, but if Welbeck HAS to be on the wing, he (or Kags) should be on instead of RVP

A beaming David Moyes: "Nemanja Vidic has a groin strain. Ideally we wanted a lot of forward players on the pitch. We will be positive at every opportunity.
    "We are capable of scoring two goals in the last 10 minutes if it came to that. We will go for it early doors but we are mindful of not losing a goal on the counter-attack."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,980 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

who would people rather see in the starting line up??????

team is more dynamic with giggs and welbeck... granted valencia is useless and i cant stand him but hes our fastest player and if he can beat his man a few times tonight and put in a few decent crosses might be worth the gamble.

Giggs versatile? Nope.

Valencia put in some decent crosses? Nope

Come on man, you know that's all crap!

Because neither of them players are defenders...

we need 3 goals at least to go through why would you want defenders on the bench?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

After seeing clips of the game v Barca, I'm back to being super confident again.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Giggs versatile? Nope.

Valencia put in some decent crosses? Nope

Come on man, you know that's all crap!

giggs is versatile... will agree with you on valencia he is actually terrible but maybe hes been a beast in training and spent the last month practising crosses and will play his best game in a united shirt tonight......

Being honest, when you're always so overly-optimistic, even as we deliver utter dross game after game, it will just go in one ear and out the other, cause you'll have so little credibility.