Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,724 ✭✭✭tallaghtmick

kstand wrote: »
    As I said - typical of a lot of the idiots in the Stret. Blindly supporting someone purely because Fergie told them to.

Chap on my facebook always giving out about Moyes.....but follows up with hes the Manager ill always support him and blindly ignores anyone who says his tactics are awful and he cant motivate the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Fair enough if we were turning over someone like PSG with a young team that were slowly emerging out of the doldrums but that is not the case. I wouldn't be getting in any way excited if we put overturn Olypmpiacos tonight - it'd be the same as overturning Sunderland, which we failed to do.
    We'll be through to the last 8 in the champions league if we get through. We have no divine right to be there so if we get through, of course I'll be happy (not as happy as Pancake Tursday but still happy). We can only beat whoever we meet but it's still the last 8 we're playing for so I wouldn't agree with dismissing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

We'll be through to the last 8 in the champions league if we get through. We have no divine right to be there so if we get through, of course I'll be happy (not as happy as Pancake Tursday but still happy). We can only beat whoever we meet but it's still the last 8 we're playing for so I wouldn't agree with dismissing it.

We get one of the easiest last 16 draws against a European minnow of a club and I'm supposed to get excited if we beat them and get into the quarters? This is Man United you are supporting here - not Blackburn Rovers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

Agueroooo wrote: »
    probably nothing...
    And now van Gaal has advertised his availability to English clubs to German newspaper Bild.

"My ambition is to coach a top team in the Premier League," he said.

"I have never experienced the atmosphere in England.

"I want to win the league title in a fourth country. That's my objective and I want to fulfil it.

"Either that, or I will retire and move with my wife to Portugal.

"Of course, I like the Bundesliga a lot, but I have already won the German title. I now want to win a major trophy in another country."

Mirror

Could be to discuss the merits of retiring to Portugal. ;)

Chap on my facebook always giving out about Moyes.....but follows up with hes the Manager ill always support him and blindly ignores anyone who says his tactics are awful and he cant motivate the players.

Defriend him immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

It will be a great injustice if we get to the last 8 of the biggest club competition playing our brand of heads and volleys

We get one of the easiest last 16 draws against a European minnow of a club and I'm supposed to get excited if we beat them and get into the quarters? This is Man United you are supporting here - not Blackburn Rovers.
    If reaching the last 8 of the Champions League doesn't impress you as a football fan, I really don't know what to say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,111 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Is this what we are discussing now, what your friends on facebook say?

I understand why they won't take the banner down mid match, before or after if they want but not when the team is playing, actually if it does get taken down it shouldn't be on a match day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

Whats the story with Gill? Is he still a director, he seems to be heavily involved in the setup still!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

imagine we got through tonight and were draw against Dortmund in the 1/4 final..... you would have to fancy our chances of getting to a semi final. they have been terrible this season as well

bullvine wrote: »
    Whats the story with Gill? Is he still a director, he seems to be heavily involved in the setup still!

FA vice chairman as far as I know and involved in some capacity with UEFA. Also I presume has still an input on the united board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭bullvine

bangkok wrote: »
    FA vice chairman as far as I know and involved in some capacity with UEFA. Also I presume has still an input on the united board

For a guy who left his post he seems to be still very visible at the club judging by the above picture as well.

bullvine wrote: »
    For a guy who left his post he seems to be still very visible at the club judging by the above picture as well.

I hope he is, still one of the top football guys around...more lads like that around the club the better

If reaching the last 8 of the Champions League doesn't impress you as a football fan, I really don't know what to say.

No it doesn't - not in the context of who we played. If we knocked out the likes of Juve or PSG or even ATM then I'd say something, but no - not if we knock out a team from Greece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

I hope he is, still one of the top football guys around...more lads like that around the club the better

As big of a loss as Fergie imo.

No it doesn't - not in the context of who we played. If we knocked out the likes of Juve or PSG or even ATM then I'd say something, but no - not if we knock out a team from Greece.

yes id say real Madrid are disappointed they only knocked out schalke!!! my god some fans are never happy!!!

As big of a loss as Fergie imo.

joking right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Thecon21

Again, I ask the pro Moyes heads, if United go out tonight, draw at the weekend and lose to City, what will your views be then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,139 ✭✭✭Red Crow

Hoping for a repeat of this. What a game!

Show some fight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Thecon21 wrote: »
    Again, I ask the pro Moyes heads, if United go out tonight, draw at the weekend and lose to City, what will your views be then?

I'm not sure there are many pro Moyes heads left at all, the ones that are left are down to the last threads of confidence as is, i reckon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

joking right?

The man was just as important as fergie at the club. he made the club a commerial powerhouse and a worldwide brand while giving fergie the tools he needed

His knowledge of the business side of football was greatly missed the last 2 windows imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,832 ✭✭✭ericzeking

Red Crow wrote: »

Hoping for a repeat of this. What a game!

Show some fight!

Do I remember it right that Alan Smith started that game up front...he set a right tempo for the team, fighting for everything, great example for those behind to follow. I don't think he played many games up front subsequent to that and always found it baffling, he was a right terrier...my brother, a Leeds fan, was in bits when we signed him.

Jaysus lads, tonight could likely be the last CL game we see United play for who knows how long. With all the 'Moyes out/We're shíte/That banner is a c**t' discussion going on, I sort of lost sight of that sad possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭Thecon21

I'm not sure there are many pro Moyes heads left at all, the ones that are left are down to the last threads of confidence as is, i reckon.

It's just I've asked this question before and got no reply..

Thecon21 wrote: »
    My view would that it could have been a whole lot worse. At least we'd have got a good draw against a tough team who are hard to beat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,610 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

ericzeking wrote: »
    Do I remember it right that Alan Smith started that game up front...he set a right tempo for the team, fighting for everything, great example for those behind to follow. I don't think he played many games up front subsequent to that and always found it baffling, he was a right terrier...my brother, a Leeds fan, was in bits when we signed him.

yeah he started up front with Rooney and scored the second goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Giggs was brilliant that game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,452 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I don't think Carrick has scored a better goal than his second (IIRC) that night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Macca07

Any official team news for tonight yet?

Probably the same back 4 as Sunday, god only knows what he'll do with the rest of the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

It would be a good achievement if we knocked out the likes of Juventus, who themselves could not quality for the last 16, as they were knocked out by a team from lowly ol' Turkey. Would you see any flaws in this logic perhaps?

Surely you were impressed by City knocking the mighty Chelsea out of the FA cup. A nice handy draw against lower league Wigan then in the QF.