Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭irishfeen

I think Madrid - I fancy a challenge :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

irishfeen wrote: »
    I think Madrid - I fancy a challenge :)

I be behind couch all game.

We have some small chance against Chelsea.

Although just worried about tomorrow night first. It's going be long night either way.

Know lad who been to Pool game and stayed for this one.

Mood will change quickly tomorrow if things don't go right tomorrow.

EVENFLOW

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Bayern

hqdefault.jpg

I think Barca. We'll take them at home 2-0 no problem in the 1st leg. They'll claw back 2 goals in the Nou Camp to take it extra-time, where Juan Mata will score a brace to send us through 4-2 on aggregate.

Don't doubt me.

I be behind couch all game.

We have some small chance against Chelsea.

Although just worried about tomorrow night first. It's going be long night either way.

Know lad who been to Pool game and stayed for this one.

Mood will change quickly tomorrow if things don't go right tomorrow.
    Have a Spanish buddy who is a big Real Madrid supporter - I was chatting to him today and he said is it "unbelievable" to him that the crowd in OT got behind Moyes 3-0 down to Liverpool and that he is still in charge..

I asked him what would happen if Madrid slipped to 7th in La Liga -"Manager fired, riots and everything" was his exact quote :) ... He does though have incredible respect for the way United is run and only wishes Madrid was more like us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

Have a Spanish buddy who is a big Real Madrid supporter - I was chatting to him today and he said is it "unbelievable" to him that the crowd in OT got behind Moyes 3-0 down to Liverpool and that he is still in charge..

I asked him what would happen if Madrid slipped to 7th in La Liga -"Manager fired, riots and everything" was his exact quote :) ... He does though have incredible respect for the way United is run and only wishes Madrid was more like us.

I really don't think the singing at the end was in any way a show of support for Moyes, it was simply to drown out the Pool fans. The vocal match going fans simply won't boo in front of a bitter rival. You'll see the real reaction tomorrow if it doesn't go well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Timmyctc wrote: »
    156582661.jpg
    David Moyes at Everton

Looks older than David Moyes at Man United
    David-Moyes_2652340b.jpg

Therefore he is reverse aging!

He is sucking the life-blood from United to fuel his reverse ageing dark magic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I really don't think the singing at the end was in any way a show of support for Moyes, it was simply to drown out the Pool fans. The vocal match going fans simply won't boo in front of a bitter rival. You'll see the real reaction tomorrow if it doesn't go well.

I think many expected a pumping but they were determined not to let 2000 scousers in the away end belt out munich songs and the like and have it heard on TV. It was one thing in 2009 where they were bouncing around with an inflatable airplane ripping the piss and the whole ground in stunned silence while it emptied because it was such a shock. Sunday everyone knew they were probably gonna win but were they **** going to be noticed on TV making a huge racket taking the piss out of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Ya know couple Juve fans who said the same.

They are kinda 50% admiration and other 50% totally bewildered how fans could be supportive.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,726 ✭✭✭Rubber_Soul

spiralism wrote: »
    I think many expected a pumping but they were determined not to let 2000 scousers in the away end belt out munich songs and the like and have it heard on TV. It was one thing in 2009 where they were bouncing around with an inflatable airplane ripping the piss and the whole ground in stunned silence while it emptied because it was such a shock. Sunday everyone knew they were probably gonna win but were they **** going to be noticed on TV making a huge racket taking the piss out of us.

Any morons singing Munich songs are very much in the minority amongst Pool fans, claiming that it would be anywhere even remotely close to 2000 makes you look stupid. I'm sure given your posting history re. Liverpool supporters you'll try and pretend you didn't hear a minority of our own fans chant some horrible ****e the other day too.

Ya know couple Juve fans who said the same.

They are kinda 50% admiration and other 50% totally bewildered how fans could be supportive.
    Yeah our fall from grace has shocked European Football - we are widely admired among fans of other clubs in Europe and this really is one they couldn't see coming at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Although I knew you would be convinced, I better stop you before you go way off track and make a fool of yourself by repeating the above to anyone.

I'm not saying the entire squad started playing poorly due to having piss poor attitudes. Some of them just aren't capable of producing much more than poor to start with. To use the players you mentioned in your earlier post as examples:
    - Wellbeck just isn't good enough although he seems to have a good attitude which is fortunate as he doesn't have a whole lot of anything else going for him;
    - Chicharito had limited chances but didn't take them and then went mouthing off about how he cant wait for the summer;
    - Rooney, well I'm assuming Rooney's attitude isn't really being debated? When its good, its great and when its bad, its terrible
    - RVP is a current textbook example of a sulking player which, again, I'm assuming isn't really up for debate?

Welbeck only has his attitude going for him? Does he bollocks. He has 10 goals in 13 starts and 8 subs, a significant number of those out of position.

Rooney has worked his bollocks off all season and has 13 goals and 13 assists while playing for a manger who has turned the team's passing and lin-up play into a turgid mess.

RvP has 12 goals in 20 starts and 3 subs, again while playing in Moyes' dysfunctional version of football. Oh but he looks cross and he gave out a bit in a Dutch interview. Yeah, he's the problem at the club. Pure evil he is.

Chicharito has played fúck all and scored fúck all and made one brief reference to doing something in the summer. What a cúnt! He's everything that is wrong with football and the reason that this team is failing I'm sure.
    Some of the others who are playing & have played poorly can be put down to them just being poor players at whatever time we're referring to - Valencia, Evra (also in the doesn't give a **** attitude cool gang), Rio, Vidic (at times), Carrick, Young etc etc

The etcs being: Smalling, Jones, Rafael, Cleverley, Fellaini, Nani, Giggs, Evans, Kagawa, Mata and Januzaj. Ie, every single outfield player who has played for us this season. Because every single one of them have been involved in the dysfunctional mess that our football has turned into.

Yes, every single Manchester United outfield player is either not good enough or has an attitude problem. That's the reason the team is doing badly this season. As I said, I am fully convinced by your argument.
    I'm not for one second trying to absolve Moyes of any blame nor am I saying that he took over a team of duds but to try to claim that players under-performing is purely down to them being human and having feelings and emotions too you know without also blaming the players is laughable.

Nobody is claiming that the players under-performing is purely down to them being human and having feelings. You are straw manning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Yeah our fall from grace has shocked European Football - we are widely admired among fans of other clubs in Europe and this really is one they couldn't see coming at all.

We are?

J. Marston wrote: »
    We are?

Going by fans of other clubs you be surprised. Sure surprised me when in these places thought be hated but not so.

Then again why would we. Why would many United fans hate Madrid for example and vice versa.

EVENFLOW

It really is bonkers what is being tolerated and accepted. I don't think Laurent Blanc actually said the following as was previously 'reported' - "In France, he'd already be sacked". But I do know for a fact that the following words were actually said "In Hong Kong, you'd already be dead."

It was the wise Jett Li who uttered them, Lethal Weapon 4, and he too had to deal with endless incompetence from his Triad-backed boss called Uncle Benny. Eventually, Jett Li had to take care of things himself. He used piano wire to violently asphyxiate Uncle Benny in the end, but then went on to fall in battle himself against the weathered but deadly Detective Martin Riggs. This victory lifted the self-esteem of Det. Riggs as he previously believed that he was "too old for this shít".

Anyway my point here is, if we (Jett Li) get rid of Moyes (Uncle Benny) at this moment, we think we'll be grand and happy and we'll get our forefathers back. But Riggs and Murtagh (Man City) are still coming to kill us next week, just after Leo Getz (Liverpool) beat us to within an inch of our lives a few days ago in our own house.

Point; Lethal Weapon 4 is awesome and highly underrated.

Ha

Very good!

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Pro. F wrote: »
    Nobody is claiming that the players under-performing is purely down to them being human and having feelings. You are straw manning.
    Had to look up wtf straw manning was. Lol, good one.

Was gonna respond to the rest of your post too but it's late so to save us both the time, let's just fast toward to where it always ends up with you anyway - you're right. Obviously. Let's pretend to throw a little arrogance and patronising in too and we've got it spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Had to look up wtf straw manning was. Lol, good one.

Was gonna respond to the rest of your post too but it's late so to save us both the time, let's just fast toward to where it always ends up with you anyway - you're right. Obviously. Let's pretend to throw a little arrogance and patronising in too and we've got it spot on.

Now you are using an ad hominem argument.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Pro. F wrote: »
    Now you are using an ad hominem argument.
    Game, set and match.

Sleep well :)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,800 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

To be honest that's what I thought. "Lalalalala, I can't hear you"

stankratz wrote: »
    Lethal Weapon 4 is awesome and highly underrated.

I prefer Lethal Weapon 5 and 6.

Any morons singing Munich songs are very much in the minority amongst Pool fans, claiming that it would be anywhere even remotely close to 2000 makes you look stupid. I'm sure given your posting history re. Liverpool supporters you'll try and pretend you didn't hear a minority of our own fans chant some horrible ****e the other day too.

My posting history re: liverpool supporters? such as? Wanna hear this one now, i don't recall going off at them before up to this.

And there was enough of them in 09 bouncing around with an inflatable aeroplane that it was heard. Videos online of it getting absolutely belted out around the stadium concourse. I'm not saying there's 2000 of them but you'd hear a sizable minority and the point is that all 2000 of them would be singing **** just ripping the piss in general, with a few throwing munich songs in for good measure. Fair play to anyone of our fans making a racket, at least watching on telly you didn't have to hear them like in 09, it just adds to the humiliation imo.

And i've not heard United fans sing Hillsborough songs, this old one gets thrown in as a sort of tit for tat thing that we do it back yet who's actually heard them? We've never been as bad as them on that level at least. Pool fans have sang Munich songs in numbers before and had Munich 58 banners back in the day. Jesus, there was a few of them caught in a carlsberg ad a few years ago singing them. Fwiw i don't equate songs about Suarez and songs shaming Liverpool for another disaster their own fans perpetrated against innocent spectators as anywhere near on the same level.

Either way though, the whole point in the fans making such a racket was not only to drown out that sort of crap but they knew we'd be pumped and the piss would be taken on every level so **** having them heard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭budgemook

My posting history re: liverpool supporters? such as? Wanna hear this one now, i don't recall going off at them before up to this.

And there was enough of them in 09 bouncing around with an inflatable aeroplane that it was heard. Videos online of it getting absolutely belted out around the stadium concourse. I'm not saying there's 2000 of them but you'd hear a sizable minority and the point is that all 2000 of them would be singing **** just ripping the piss in general, with a few throwing munich songs in for good measure. Fair play to anyone of our fans making a racket, at least watching on telly you didn't have to hear them like in 09, it just adds to the humiliation imo.

And i've not heard United fans sing Hillsborough songs, this old one gets thrown in as a sort of tit for tat thing that we do it back yet who's actually heard them? We've never been as bad as them on that level at least. Pool fans have sang Munich songs in numbers before and had Munich 58 banners back in the day. Jesus, there was a few of them caught in a carlsberg ad a few years ago singing them. Fwiw i don't equate songs about Suarez and songs shaming Liverpool for another disaster their own fans perpetrated against innocent spectators as anywhere near on the same level.

Either way though, the whole point in the fans making such a racket was not only to drown out that sort of crap but they knew we'd be pumped and the piss would be taken on every level so **** having them heard.

Wow.

So first of all you did say 2000 Liverpool fans were singing Munich songs.

The only inflatable airplane video I've ever seen was about 30 people throwing one around. Shame on them. I may not have seen the one you are talking about though, despite it apparently being all over various social networks.

You've never heard fans singing Hillsborough songs on TV? You weren't watching earlier this season when the Murderers chant was clearly audible. Perhaps you took a break from your social networks that day too.

And now Oliver Holt is in on the conspiracy too with his article on these shameful songs?

Look, no disrespect to Man Utd fans at all and of course I know that it's only a minority of muppets singing the songs, likewise with the Liverpool fans, but I had to respond to this ignorant and offensive turd of a post.

And as for the perpetrated by their own fans thing...

I've fallen for some sick trolling haven't I? Insomnia will do that.

At least the insomnia is due to excessive celebrations after the soccer on Sunday :-)

budgemook wrote: »
    Wow.

So first of all you did say 2000 Liverpool fans were singing Munich songs.

The only inflatable airplane video I've ever seen was about 30 people throwing one around. Shame on them. I may not have seen the one you are talking about though, despite it apparently being all over various social networks.

You've never heard fans singing Hillsborough songs on TV? You weren't watching earlier this season when the Murderers chant was clearly audible. Perhaps you took a break from your social networks that day too.

And now Oliver Holt is in on the conspiracy too with his article on these shameful songs?

Look, no disrespect to Man Utd fans at all and of course I know that it's only a minority of muppets singing the songs, likewise with the Liverpool fans, but I had to respond to this ignorant and offensive turd of a post.

Murderers refers to Heysel. Which they perpetrated by their own fans charging the family section of Juventus supporters causing a crush that killed fans. They perpetrated it and should catch stick for it, the blood is on their hands, why do you think to this day Juventus fans despise them for it?

We're not the only ones who sing it either. It's not a Hillsborough song, never has been. It's a song shaming them for a terrible thing some of their fans did. Next you'll be saying songs having a go at Suarez and the way they handled that fiasco are a Hillsborough jibe.

Yet im the one who's ignorant. Get your facts right.

Anyways i'm not going any further with this, it's obviously the sort of subject where someone's opinion won't be influenced no matter what the other said and i'd rather talk here about the club rather than why i hate Liverpool.

Anyways, back on topic. Don't know whether or not this got posted before but Sadler makes some great points here and easily wins the argument:

He's right too. We're 8 months in and we still don't know what he actually brings to the table of benefit to us. Yet people still think we should give him to the end of the year and a 200 million warchest? The only reasons we're getting at this rate are why we shouldn't sack him.....none why keeping him is of benefit. Yet how does not sacking a manager but giving one we don't fully trust 200 million to spend make us any different to City and Chelsea?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,316 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Murderers refers to Heysel. Which they perpetrated by their own fans charging the family section of Juventus supporters causing a crush that killed fans. They perpetrated it and should catch stick for it, the blood is on their hands, why do you think to this day Juventus fans despise them for it?

We're not the only ones who sing it either. It's not a hillsborough song, never has been. It's a song shaming them for a terrible thing some of their fans did.

But you haven't heard any United fans sing it so how would you know?

A United poster on this thread heard it and rightly condemned it, Ollie Holt wrote about it today and he's right. The reference to the Sun newspaper is pretty obvious.

If you want to make up some excuse, fine, but that is what it is, a made up excuse to get a dig in about Hillsborough.

The vast majority of fans of clubs doesn't indulge in this stuff or condone it. The "but they sang" is just another excuse trotted out. What others fans sing isn't a reflection of a fan base, it's a reflection that support bases all have idiots. If you're defending or condoning idiotic behavior well.........

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Liam O wrote: »
    I prefer Lethal Weapon 5 and 6.

Sax solo!

We're not the only ones who sing it either. It's not a Hillsborough song, never has been. It's a song shaming them for a terrible thing some of their fans did. Next you'll be saying songs having a go at Suarez and the way they handled that fiasco are a Hillsborough jibe.

Anyways i'm not going any further with this, it's obviously the sort of subject where someone's opinion won't be influenced no matter what the other said and i'd rather talk here about the club rather than why i hate Liverpool.

Why does the murderers song mentioned the sun?

You've ignored the rest of my 2 posts.

You're right though, I've no interest in talking about your hatefullness either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,230 ✭✭✭Leftist

K-9 wrote: »
    But you haven't heard any United fans sing it so how would you know?

A United poster on this thread heard it and rightly condemned it, Ollie Holt wrote about it today and he's right. The reference to the Sun newspaper is pretty obvious.

If you want to make up some excuse, fine, but that is what it is, a made up excuse to get a dig in about Hillsborough.

absolutely wrong.

while the song is distasteful, it is a lie that it ever referenced hillsborough.