Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

Lads what did Rogers say that was apparently classless?
    Originally Posted by Daniel Taylor ‏@DTguardian
    Rodgers brings up Moyes saying LFC favourites pre-match. "I would never say that at Liverpool even if I was bottom of the league"

Agueroooo wrote: »
    only the sensitive souls could pick the bones of what Rodgers said to find anything remotely classless tbf

Its classless from the point of view of him breaking one of the unwritten rules of being in football management - don't kick your fellow manager when he is down. Rodgers might be flavour of the month right now but give him time and see how he'd like it if other managers start giving little digs when he's under pressure.

Also, I'm saying that as one of those rare United fans who isn't completely against everything Liverpool related. I'm saying it out of expecting common decency to a fellow manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,071 ✭✭✭user2011

Or the big purchases need time to gel they haven't had pre season and all that malarkey. The man can not light a fire under these players he'll not be able to light it under any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭Quandary

My god that game was hard to watch today. We have given Liverpool a massive boost and they could well go on to win the league off the back of the hammering they gave us.

We're most likely gonna get knocked out of the champs league this Wednesday. If that happens then we literally have nothing left to play for. It might be as good a time as any to sack Moyes and give a new guy the end of the season to get settled. At least then the new manager would have a chance to line up any signings he wants before the transfer window opens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,924 ✭✭✭Whatsisname

Does anyone genuinely believe he'll be sacked before the end of the season? I want it to happen but just can't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,257 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Very poor performance today. Why do the United fas not boo them of the pitch at the end rather then clap them off as they did today. They should be showing their true feelings at the end. Despite the results over the next month I still think that the board will give Moyes time and money to rebuild in the summer and see how the new faces we bring in perform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭bryangiggsy

Red Crow wrote: »
    He's going to get at least one more season I think to try and fix it.

It's the wrong decision but Ferguson won't let him be sacked just yet.

I would not be so sure. Ferguson looked furious in the stands today. This has to be going against everything he established. I have a feeling he will be gone by the weekend. I'll stick my neck out and say it. Even with 11 new players he has shown he can do absolutely nothing with the players he has.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

If he gets knocked out of the CL, he's gone. I just cant see him lasting the rest of the season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

On the one hand, Fergie has never been afraid to make big decisions and not let sentiment cloud his judgement so maybe he would support a sacking decision. On the other hand, he doesn't seem to like admitting mistakes. One example I can think of is Veron at Utd. Even in Fergie's book, he never admitted it didn't work out, when it clearly didn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

Headshot wrote: »
    If he gets knocked out of the CL, he's gone. I just cant see him lasting the rest of the season

Jesus I hope you are right but just can't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭jaykay74

I think/hope you are right. Once all targets for the season are out of reach that will be that..... I hope.

I also think that a false dawn of say beating Liverpool today, comeback in the CL before begin knocked out in QF, draw v City would be detrimental for the club in the long run. Better that Moyes is exposed for the charlatan that he is and we can replace and move on.

I will start dancing in the street when he's gone.

Hope he gets us through the CL round midweek he can crumble all he wants in the league only makes not getting EL next season all the more possible.

Amazing it took 6 games to find his through colors in the CL :confused: but he has been showing them in a league he has worked in for 10 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Thing is - one season out of the CL is fine. United can absorb the lost revenue eaaily.

Two seasons out of the big time would be a disaster. Top 4 is so competitive now that it's never going to be easy to break in. 5-10 years ago, United could have afforded to have a bad season but 60 points would have been enough to make the CL. Now 70-75 points are needed and you will have Chelsea (Mourinho - they will not be moved from top 4), City (likewise), Arsenal (always there or thereabouts), Liverpool (young team, could well improve again), Spurs (possibly with Van Gaal) and even Everton if they make some shrewd signings.

I think it would be too great a risk to give Moyes much more time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,060 ✭✭✭✭adox

If I thought losing on Wednesday would guarantee Moyes sacking I would cheer the Greeks on.

Unthinkable I know but it has come to this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

Jesus I hope for yeer sake boys he gets the bullet after Wednesday. Making a joke of yeer great club and turning yee into a mid table unwatchable team. Supposed to be big funds in the summer but if yee let him spend it yee are gonna be put back years. If yeer knocked out Wed, get rid of him and write the last two months off. Better off not being in the Europa. Work on finding a new manager, have him in in May and let him identify his targets.

I will start dancing in the street when he's gone.

Mata dance :D

vGSjN2g.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Post match dribble for those who haven't seen it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,257 ✭✭✭✭billyhead

Raf32 wrote: »
    Jesus I hope for yeer sake boys he gets the bullet after Wednesday. Making a joke of yeer great club and turning yee into a mid table unwatchable team. Supposed to be big funds in the summer but if yee let him spend it yee are gonna be put back years. If yeer knocked out Wed, get rid of him and write the last two months off. Better off not being in the Europa. Work on finding a new manager, have him in in May and let him identify his targets.

Surely any new manager would have the same targets that Moyes has been supposedly chasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

To be honest the players need to look themselves in the mirror after that one. No conviction, no confidence, no leadership. In saying that I think Moyes has to go and ASAP. Bringing on Ferdinand with a few minutes to go was embarrassing.

Sturridge diving was utterly classless from him but aside from that Liverpool were just too good and it probably should have been more. The other two penalties were fair but Clattenburg had a bad day overall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

billyhead wrote: »
    Surely any new manager would have the same targets that Moyes has been supposedly chasing

Might want to play for the new manager, a lot of them players he was chasing were never going to play for him. Vidal, Kroos and Cavani are all pipe dreams.

I dont believe its a massive job tbh. We just need a world class manager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Dicky Pride

Totally deluded. He doesn't even believe himself at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

One example I can think of is Veron at Utd. Even in Fergie's book, he never admitted it didn't work out, when it clearly didn't.

Not a great example considering Fergie sold him after only two years for half the amount he originally paid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭BigBabyTaylor

Before today I was slightly on the fence, but after that I think he has to go.

While I do think that things like managers being given a chance to put their stamp on the team etc etc is important in football its not good enough. Now I know some people have been saying this for a long time (some day 1) but Moyes is so out of his depth its ridiculous.

Im not saying this as a knee jerk reaction to todays result as clearly things havnt been working all season but I somehow kept thinking maybe next week well see a reaction and at this stage Ive just run out of chances to give him.

Pre season while many people were confident of retaining the title I thought to myself "Get Top 4, and then he can push on". He's lost no players, added 3 new players to the squad (All of whom are very good players and started today), playing poor football and not getting the results. The only other difference to the team that won the league last year is moyes and his coaching staff. Clear cut decision really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,353 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Jaysus did moyes say in that interview he thought the players turned up?

EMBARRASSING REALLY

MOYES OUT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The football is just embarrassing, it's like half between the way Fergie had us playing and half something new. It's obvious Moyes has given Mata free reign but when the rest of the team are still getting the ball wide, lining up in the box waiting for a cross, what's the point.

There's no movement from RVP and Rooney, no link up play at all except for when Mata is involved, similar with Kagawa before him. The players are all too far apart when we get the ball, if Mata has it on the right side why is Januzaj hugging the other touchline. I'd see a better system in the park on a Sunday morning, playing to the players strengths should be the priority not fitting players into a stupid system.

Edit: and I forgot how slow we are building up as well, and the complete lack of pressuring the opposition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭ManOnFire

Its classless from the point of view of him breaking one of the unwritten rules of being in football management - don't kick your fellow manager when he is down. Rodgers might be flavour of the month right now but give him time and see how he'd like it if other managers start giving little digs when he's under pressure.

Also, I'm saying that as one of those rare United fans who isn't completely against everything Liverpool related. I'm saying it out of expecting common decency to a fellow manager.

In fairness it was one quote in isolation thats been taken out of context. He went on to say he felt for Moyes as he knew the pressures of a big club/big job etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭KH25

The lineup was fine. It was probably close to the strongest 11 we have. But the system wasn't working and that was clear from early, yet nothing was done until the 75th minute or so. Thats ridiculous. Jan should have been taken off at half time at least. He was having no joy. We end up 2-0 down after the break, yet Moyes still does nothing? Why?

Anyone a heat map of Mata's touches/passes completed?