Manchester United Superthread 2014 Mod warning Post #1880 #2613

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Moyes re Munich

"Bring the challenge on"

Ya you heard him Pep :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Keno wrote: »
    Could be a cover to those cheesy romantic novels.

7E52e2J.jpg

Fifty Shades of Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭medic087

Moyes re Munich

"Bring the challenge on"

Ya you heard him Pep :)

No bother we will play them off the park on tuesday night. This is the start of David Moyes at Manchester United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭Jimmy Iovine

Following on from my brief encounter with Geoff Shreeves and Martin Tyler on Tuesday night, I shook hands with Fergie after the match today.

I called him a genius as well. I don't think he noticed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Following on from my brief encounter with Geoff Shreeves and Martin Tyler on Tuesday night, I shook hands with Fergie after the match today.

I called him a genius as well. I don't think he noticed.

He's used to it enough to pass no heed when someone says it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

I like the headlines I'm reading about the flying banner: "Fans boo 'Moyes Out' banner".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

spiralism wrote: »
    If he's still there by midsummer i'll take a lengthy stretch in prison and assassinate the bastard.

Moronic post, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,498 ✭✭✭quarryman

Non united fan here. What's the story with Chico, on his way out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

quarryman wrote: »
    Non united fan here. What's the story with Chico, on his way out?

Basically frozen out by Moyes, odd 10 mins here or there, not happy most likely leaving. :(

It's about time you realised that Chicharito will never be more than a super sub. He's good to throw on in the final 10, when the opposition has tired, if you need a goal, but he's a rather limited player, which shows when he starts games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭2moreMinutes

spiralism wrote: »
    If he's still there by midsummer i'll take a lengthy stretch in prison and assassinate the bastard.
    Mind me asking what age u are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,408 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Start Nani on Tuesday. Nothing to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Thankfully it was the Real United fans that got the tickets. Class fans. I dont think any other team would have done that.

Performance was only ok. Villa should have made it 2-2 before we got 3rd.

We look sloppy at back for while now.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Thankfully it was the Real United fans that got the tickets. Class fans. I dont think any other team would have done that.

Ya back four is missing a leader to keep them in line,Vidic was dodgy enough again today.

Personally don't agree with booing a manager or the stupid plane fiasco but giving a standing ovation to somebody who hasn't earned it doesn't stand well by me. But booing would have been much much worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

I think this has set us back a few months, it's backfired to the point we're probably saddled with him next season as it's going to be interpreted as an overwhelming show of support for him. This place is going to be unbearable till Tuesday though with the delusion and false hope instilled by actually managing to win at home against Aston Villa. Bayern should resume normal service and rational thought though but by the time that tie's over it'll be back to people overreacting to beating the likes of Norwich. That's why he's going to get another year to destroy the club

Here is a video with all the goals, if someone didn't see them: http://www.footytube.com/video/manchester-united-aston-villa-mar29-264463?ref=head_vd_hs

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,996 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Nail on ****ing head there, but not in the way you mean. And I'm surprised you've dropped to this "real fans" nonsense now, Kew.

Also, shall we address how Moyes walked out ahead of the team pretty much begging for the adoration? And still only got a light smattering of applause in the process. Hardly the ringing endorsement some people are painting it as...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭n32

Feel a bit deflated after that. 4-1 will look grand and paper over the cracks again and despite the hammering we ll get from Bayern over the 2 legs , we ll get the ''Ah but Bayern are such a great team , they can hammer anyone'' line being trotted out by the Moyes defenders. Villa were awful today but if Benteke could have taken his chances they could have got something.

That Hernandez only got a short run out and Nani didnt on at all pisses me off more than anything. They should have been thrown on no later the 60 minutes to give them a chance to get a bit of match practice. To see Young getting so much game time is so annoying. He plays like a drain and gets the full time while Kagawa cant get a full game and Nani is sitting on the bench! I know how frustrating Nani can be but at least he can create something and do the unpredictable thing that can unlock a defence. Young runs down the wing and either puts in a crap cross, falls over or loses it because of a heavy touch.

We ll probably have Cleverley now on tuesday. In the name of God how many times does he have to show in a big game that he is not up to it? I d much prefer to see Fletcher play v Bayern instead of Cleverley. He has had his health issues but at least he will run around and put in a tackle. Cleverley is a passenger who contributes nothing.

Moyes really pissed me off today. That crap of going out before the game looking for an ovation and then saluting the Stretford End afterwards like we had just won the league was embarassing. He is clinging to the fans now like a drowning man holding onto a life raft. You could excuse him if the team were showing some signs of progress but not when we have to endure tripe like Tuesday night. In no other job would such a poor performance as his be tolerated. He is getting such an easy ride from the journalists when you compare him to AVB, Benitez, Wenger (at times).

If he isnt gone at the end of the season I shudder to think what will become of us next season. We ll definitely lose Hernandez, Nani, Kagawa and they ll be replaced with God knows what. I keep hearing ''Moyes needs to get his own players in''. So far his players look to be the likes of Fellaini, Young, and Valencia.

As for Fellaini, I m not even going to begin to comment on that yoke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Yes boo the plane, but I hope Moyes isn't deluding himself in thinking it means they disagree with the message. Solid performance, Villa are woeful though, Kagawa can completely change a team when he plays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,338 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Nail on ****ing head there, but not in the way you mean. And I'm surprised you've dropped to this "real fans" nonsense now, Kew.

Also, shall we address how Moyes walked out ahead of the team pretty much begging for the adoration? And still only got a light smattering of applause in the process. Hardly the ringing endorsement some people are painting it as...

Fans who love the club club will be the ones getting behind the team when we are ****.

They are the ones who will be there for the good times, but also the bad times.

It easy support a team when trophies are won most seasons, but fans who want the club to do well wont be ordering a ****ing plane that have zero impact.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,210 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

That plane stunt has probably bought Moyes more time than beating Villa has.

He's here till the end of 2014/2015 season whatever happens in the meantime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

medic087 wrote: »
    He's here till the end of 2014/2015 season whatever happens in the meantime.
    Ridiculous statement to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Vidic was quite annoying in the game positionally, i noticed a good few times he was standing a few yards deeper than the rest of the defensive line so they then went deeper themselves. No need to be that deep at all, it's just inviting extra pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

I reckon he expected some booing and was making sure it was all directed at himself before the team went out, to prevent it negatively affecting the team itself.

I doubt he thinks for one minute hes adored at the moment.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,833 ✭✭✭Vinz Mesrine

Is it really that ridiculous though? Is there anything he can do between now and May 2015 that will be any worse than his tenure to date? Let's be realistic, United won't be relegated but i do find it hard to believe things could get any worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,277 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

While i think the whole plane and banner thing was really stupid and a total waste of money there still has to be some kind of stand off here.

The fans should be letting the club know how they feel we shouldn't have to just sit back and smile and pretend every things grand just because that's what ''real'' fans do!

The standing ovulation at the start of the game felt pointless to me if im honest it was more out of pitty more then anything. I mean honestly does he deserve that ? Theres no harm respecting him as a human being but he deserves no sort of applauds when it comes to how he has dealt with his job since he joined United.

The game itself was a funny one we won handy enough but never really got going Villa had there chances and u could tell a better team could of scored a few there today. Nice to see Mata get on the score sheet and an assist as well. Chico as ever appears for few minutes and grabs a goal! He should be playing!!

Really looking forward to the Bayern match but mainly just cause i love a big champions league match not cause i think we will do well we wont!

Sure if we are giving him next season which seems very likely, I think he's capable of challenging for top 4 next year if the money is wisely spent in the summer. They're only going to sack him during next season if we're not competing for champions league spots. I hope i'm wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

Is it really that ridiculous though?
    Yes. Do you really think he is untouchable for another whole season?