Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Did You Play Golf On Your Honeymoon?

• 09-03-2014 8:57am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭

A question for the married golfers, obviously...

I played 27 holes (with my best man) when we took my honeymoon in Co. Kerry.

I'm just interested to find out if you were 'allowed' to play, where you played and whether or not your spouse either played or walked around with you...

... and what was the deal you had to strike?

Did You Play Golf On Your Honeymoon? 33 votes

No
    0% 0 votes
    Yes
    69% 23 votes
    Yes, my spouse played too
    30% 10 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Dealerz

Romantic weekends...yes- honeymoon was a few days in Vegas and when I was told by the hotel that a round was $300-I said no thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭Mr. Larson

I played 1 round but was in the Carribean for 2 weeks so a few hours one day wasn't ever going to be an issue. The Divi Links in Aruba. Couldn't get used to the spongey grass and lizards everywhere, just didn't feel right. Had crappy rental clubs too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭Finlay Harp

I was in Mexico and the resort we stayed in had a 27 hole course. Two things that put me off. $200 a round on an average looking course and also it was full of Americans that looked like they were playing hockey more than golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭carnsoreboxer

We were kids and golf was for boring middle aged farts which we are now lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I didn't play, we were in the carribean for 2 weeks and my wife asked did I want to play a round but I wasn't going to go play by myself/with a crowd of Americans telling me how Ireland was on their "bucket list"

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Not getting married until August but will be playing a round in Mexico. It's my holidays too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Was in Mauritius and was not playing golf at the time (a big break) - there was a golf course at the hotel - I'm not one to sit on the beach for 10 days - A few hours at a time is the max - she was happy out, to do that for hours - sudoku wasn't even invented in the western world at the time.

So sitting there saying, that is a lovely view - getting sick of these pina coladas , what is the umbrella even about - the palm trees and all are lovely - but feck this, I'm going to hit that golf course. Now, you only meet these lads on a holiday like that. The lads I was paired up with, was an English Ferrari car dealer and a novelty German musical instrument maker. :confused:

Me, the whitest legs they had ever seen - the poor Paddy. You couldn't make it up - a German a Paddy and an English lad - I was trying to keep it together , the sort of Berlin wall - the German lad's English was poor - my German Technical (at Best). I could sort of ask him to pass me the vernier scales. He'd reply with "yaaa - Dublin - yaaa Irish Music,,," "Haaa hhha haa "

Anyway - yes , was a laugh - what I got out of it, was how lucky Ireland is with how easy it is to grow the grass type for golf - the grass was dense - very springy - unusual.

So now , I'm back playing full time - I don't think I could go to a foreign country without researching, she is perfectly happy to sit on a beach for hours - it is a symbiotic relationship (not sure if you are suppose to say that about a marriage :P:p:) )

So that was it - went back , had the lobster on the beach and the German got us a bottle of Champagne - that is where the story needs to end ;)

Rather bizarrely - the German lad wanted me to become his rep in Ireland , you couldn't make it up - it was like a walking stick that could be played like a flute :o:p:)

Oh , I could have been a millionaire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,215 ✭✭✭scrubber72

My wife booked our honeymoon to the states. 1 week in NYC the other in Orlando. Stayed at Championsgate where the David leadbetter academy is. 36 holes if championship golf and an 18 hole pitch and putt course.
    I only played the pitch and putt once even though my wife asked me if i wanted to play each day. Felt like a fat kid in a candy store who had been told they were diabetic.
    Savage spot all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Stayed on a tiny Maldive island for my honeymoon. No golf as it the while Island was the size of a par 4

Have been on holidays with herself to meloneras and played thought. The missus even caddied for me. I had to rent her a buggy though as she was 6 months pregnant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Yep, Played a course called The Fox Club in Palm Beach Fl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Did a lot of travelling on my honeymoon so only got 1 window for a game of golf. Took it and duly fell straight out of it consuming 1 (keg) to many the night before and missing my tee time :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭brick tamland

I could have played one of the courses in the Kaanapali GC when I was in Maui. But for the price, I wasnt that bothered at the time. Maybe if I'd someone to go around with. Had a few beers and lunch in the clubhouse instead. Regret it a bit now, however something tells me I'd never have heard the end of it despite her saying she "wouldnt mind".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭colmsix

played the morning of my wedding .3 under gross for 13 holes in tulfarris with the future father in law.round of my life in the making.

played on honey moon was the gary player c.c and the lost city g.c in sun city . she drove the cart around the lost city but wouldn't walk the gary player.

apart from that i didnt play much....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

Was in Mauritius and was not playing golf at the time (a big break) - there was a golf course at the hotel - I'm not one to sit on the beach for 10 days - A few hours at a time is the max - she was happy out, to do that for hours - sudoku wasn't even invented in the western world at the time.

So sitting there saying, that is a lovely view - getting sick of these pina coladas , what is the umbrella even about - the palm trees and all are lovely - but feck this, I'm going to hit that golf course. Now, you only meet these lads on a holiday like that. The lads I was paired up with, was an English Ferrari car dealer and a novelty German musical instrument maker. :confused:

Me, the whitest legs they had ever seen - the poor Paddy. You couldn't make it up - a German a Paddy and an English lad - I was trying to keep it together , the sort of Berlin wall - the German lad's English was poor - my German Technical (at Best). I could sort of ask him to pass me the vernier scales. He'd reply with "yaaa - Dublin - yaaa Irish Music,,," "Haaa hhha haa "

Anyway - yes , was a laugh - what I got out of it, was how lucky Ireland is with how easy it is to grow the grass type for golf - the grass was dense - very springy - unusual.

So now , I'm back playing full time - I don't think I could go to a foreign country without researching, she is perfectly happy to sit on a beach for hours - it is a symbiotic relationship (not sure if you are suppose to say that about a marriage :P:p:) )

So that was it - went back , had the lobster on the beach and the German got us a bottle of Champagne - that is where the story needs to end ;)

Rather bizarrely - the German lad wanted me to become his rep in Ireland , you couldn't make it up - it was like a walking stick that could be played like a flute :o:p:)

Oh , I could have been a millionaire.

Just love that story and the image of your white paddy legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,093 ✭✭✭Brewster

I only got the two rounds in over my 16 day stay!! I was in Barbados and played Royal Westmoreland and Sandy Lane. The Sandy Lane round is my only round played to date where I had a caddy! I remember it well, I think he was on the rum the night before, he turned up late! Not a good start !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Was in Mauritius myself for the honeymoon. Like Fix, there was a course on the resort, but I didn't get out for a game the whole time there....was all about the sexy times :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

managed to sneak a round near valencia in spain. Remember holing out from a bunker on 17, but other than that, it was too hot to be enjoyable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Jaysis, she doesnt let me play golf when we go on holidays, do you really think I'd get to play on OUR honeymoon!

We did walk a few holes on Torrey Pines though in San Diego. That is a fabulous looking golf course, would love to have played it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Was in Mauritius myself for the honeymoon. Like Fix, there was a course on the resort, but I didn't get out for a game the whole time there....was all about the sexy times :D:D:D

We've our whole life to play golf, at least we'll enjoy that into our 60's & 70's :)

Space - life is about being a bit more of an all rounder. Or being sexually deprived. I can't remember which one it is.

I was married a good while ago - the drugs are amazing now.

managed to sneak a round near valencia in spain. Remember holing out from a bunker on 17, but other than that, it was too hot to be enjoyable.

I honestly had to read that twice - to see if it was golf we were talking about here.

Space you have messed up this thread :o:p:D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Not getting married until August but will be playing a round in Mexico. It's my holidays too!

dude, your not allowed to play now never mind on your honeymoon!!!!!!:p:D:D

I wasn't playing golf when i got married but was competing at a decent level rallying. Spent the second week of my honeymoon secretly ringing potential sponsors and arranging bits for the rally car with the driver!!! Ahh I miss the celtic tiger and getting tons of cash over the phone from people you never met!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

I honestly had to read that twice - to see if it was golf we were talking about here.

Space you have messed up this thread :o:p:D

As someone who plays with him quite often. He has messed up my head. ;)

Working on a way to blank Space's "sexy time" for the next time we tee up.

PARlance wrote: »
    As someone who plays with him quite often. He has messed up my head. ;)

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

Working on a way to blank Space's "sexy time" for the next time we tee up.

See you later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

Got married on the Saturday, got 18 holes played on the Monday, headed on honeymoon on the Monday night. Spend a week in Puerto Rico and that Donald Trump course was only 5 minutes away but never even bothered to go over for a look.
    Didn't have much interest in playing on honeymoon, too hot, crap hire clubs, $$$$$$ for 18 holes but the wife had no problem and was surprised I wasn't wanting to play ever day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

The missus did spent a few days making dirty jokes & sniggering when I told her I'd upgraded my irons & the new ones had stiff shafts....

What got even more laughs was when I told her my Dad's were fitted with Senior Shafts :D

Far too many chances for innuendo in this game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

I would have been afraid to approach the subject..too hot in Hawaii anyway, so had to drink nice cold beer by the pool instead:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,742 ✭✭✭✭Wichita Lineman

Honeymooned in Portugal but no golf as I hadnt taken it up at the time. I did visit 3 football stadiums though! I was still busy playing soccer and hurling then you see :D

One midweek break a few years back we had down in Mount Wolseley I did include a round of golf with 2 friends who just came down for the afternoon while Mrs D was in the spa facility.

A couple of years ago I played golf the morning after my sister in laws wedding. It was in Portmarnock Links and they get a free fourball thrown in. I was the only one of the original 4 who made it out to play but I wasnt going to miss out and invited her cousin to join me at short notice! I reckon I had slept about 3 hours tops. Great way to clear the head!! The Mrs and kids were only getting themselves organised for leaving when I got back :D