Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bullock with one stone

• 08-03-2014 3:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭

well lads,
    scenario is..
    i sold 2 bullocks last jan and casterated them, now man that bought them says one has a stone, vet cert to prove and says he has men ringing him that bought heifers off him saying they are in calf, said no bull bear them all summer so must be my man, went and looked at him and does look a bit bullish, said id get back to him about it, what happens now? how can he prove it? dna the calves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

simx wrote: »
    well lads,
    scenario is..
    i sold 2 bullocks last jan and casterated them, now man that bought them says one has a stone, vet cert to prove and says he has men ringing him that bought heifers off him saying they are in calf, said no bull bear them all summer so must be my man, went and looked at him and does look a bit bullish, said id get back to him about it, what happens now? how can he prove it? dna the calves?

Whatever about the money. Tell the man be super careful with the fecker. Improperly castrated bullocks r stags as we call um can b very dangerous with little or no warning. Believe me I know from personal experience. Get him to get rid of that fella asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭mikeoh

Jesus ur very honest I'd say its not ur problem at all, once the hammer dropped ur interest in them ceased.....the man that put 2 freshly squeezed bullocks into a flock of heifers without making sure they were fully done needs to take some responsibility....... If this was a thread about "how long to leave a bull after being vacectomisd every answer would be ..make sure he is done before u let him near cows ".......I think ur man is trying to make u pick up the pieces for his mistakes!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 TopCon

I believe his story about the heifers is a lie to put pressure on you. It's possible a bull of his broke out, bulled his heifers and he flogged em. now chancing his arm on blaming you.

It's always pretty easy to spot a stag in a group. What kind of an eejit would put em in with heifers without knowing.

For a lot of people leaving a stone is the name of the game with castration.

Handy to leave a stone on the weakest few bulls of a bunch....(so I'm told!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Did you castrate the animal yourself or was it a vet? Also what is he looking for off you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

tanko wrote: »
    Did you castrate the animal yourself or was it a vet? Also what is he looking for off you?

neighbour done him, the man in question that bought them lioves a couple of miles away and is a very straight man, i do believe him hes far from a chancer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

neighbour done him, the man in question that bought them lioves a couple of miles away and is a very straight man, i do believe him hes far from a chancer

Its a tricky scenario and hard to know who is at fault . We had a couple a few years ago that were left with one ball . Our burdizzo had lost its "grip " .
    Bulled a few of our own and a few belonging to a neighbour but he was sound out I just called in and injected his with estrumate .
    I think him selling the heifers without scanning is really his howdo now , and one thing I know from our one ball wonders is that they didnt go unnoticed for long . If anything they were more active than a usual bull .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Id find out how many heifers were thrown up first and go from there. i would personally try to come to some compromise as a good will gesture of sorts if hes a decent sort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Surely the only way to solve it is to DNA test the "bull"and the calves that are supposed to be off him. But even if they are I'm not sure that you are liable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Surely the only way to solve it is to DNA test the "bull"and the calves that are supposed to be off him. But even if they are I'm not sure that you are liable.

well the only thing is that they would have been declared as bullocks when sold in mart thats all i was thinking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

most marts have a disclaimer up, that animals are sold as said-i think-. Lad i know buys in beef heifers 4 of them are in calf all from the one previous owner. 1 has calved and calf died soon after i assume calf would be inbred. I was saying would he not estrumate them when they come home, he was saying sure thats another expense. Would be a cheap few euro to avoid the mess he's in now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

what has this lad asked for and how long are the heifers in the other lads herd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

No matter how this pans out, surely some responsibility lies with the man that ran a rig bull with heifers.
    Firstly he should have copped what was happening, and secondly he should have done something about it before he sold his heifers.

Miname wrote: »
    what has this lad asked for and how long are the heifers in the other lads herd.

Surely the lads who bought the heifers have no argument with u or care less where he got the bullock ....just the careless way he declared them not incalf talk to the mart manager and take a step back from it......if the bullock had broke into a neighbour and done the deed would it be ur fault......not ur fault if he had bad luck with them they were sold in good faith and that's all u could do....any man careless enough to put them with heifers has to stand up and be counted.......ye might fall out over it but time to get over it.......what compo does he want off u anyway

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

It is well recognised that squeezing a bull is not a guarantee of it being castrated.

Failure of the method does not imply any failure of technique or negligence. It happens.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

well the only thing is that they would have been declared as bullocks when sold in mart thats all i was thinking

As I said sold in good faith ...u didn't try and deceive anyone ......anything is possible in farming we have to take the good with the bad........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Surely the only way to solve it is to DNA test.

I can see them all on the Jeremy Kyle show next!

"Angus, you're not the father" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

I would not recommend DNA testing. It could run to a couple of hundred for 1 calf.
    If he looks bullish and was running with heifers he most likely is the dad particularly if it's more than 1 a few weeks apart.
    You've got to think that anybody who lets a bullish bullock with heifers and thinks it's grand hasn't much cop on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Damo810 wrote: »
    I can see them all on the Jeremy Kyle show next!

"Angus, you're not the father" :D

Charolais....... YOU'RE SCUM :-)