Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will you give up anything for lent

• 04-03-2014 10:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,650 ✭✭✭kingshankly

Just wondering what the general consensus
    I will try to give up sweets and chocolate as I'm a heure for sweet things
    Helps to lose a few pounds also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

No. If i make no conscious effort to better myself as a person by giving up something that's bad for me any other time of the year, you can be damn sure I'm not going to do it as part of any religious tradition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭orangesoda

This forum, it's too much of a distraction

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

going to mass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

Give up Religion

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Cigarettes and alcohol and rollerblading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭TheHappyChappy

I'm giving up paying tax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

I use Lent to get back on the healthy track every year, not for religious reasons. So no more junk food or booze until Easter sunday. Bye bye fun:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Procrasternating Procasitrating Procastination Pro Talking shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

I use Lent to get back on the healthy track every year, not for religious reasons. So no more junk food or booze until Easter sunday. Bye bye fun:(

But you're allowed to break out on Paddys Day.

It's practically a law.

Procrasternating Procasitrating Procastination Pro Talking shite

Quoting so I can refer to it over the next 40 days :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭sligoface

I was gonna give up drink but that was just because I was hungover this morning. I'll still do it if I'm allowed to cheat on Paddy's Day. Whaddaya say God, do we have a deal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

St. Jimmy wrote: »
    No. If i make no conscious effort to better myself as a person by giving up something that's bad for me any other time of the year, you can be damn sure I'm not going to do it as part of any religious tradition.

There's nothing wrong with giving up the dirt for a while imo whether its part of a religious tradition or not. I doubt it was originally intended to get people to stop eating chocolate and crisps anyway. Probably some nonsense about punishing yourself to be closer to god.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,557 ✭✭✭KeithM89

Colonic Irrigations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭BNMC

**** with my left hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Chucken wrote: »
    But you're allowed to break out on Paddys Day.

It's practically a law.

ha, I can imagine the devil saying that to Jesus while he was fasting through the desert.

You wont tempt me *fist shake*

ah go on, its st patricks day

*pauses* Ah sure alright so :)

ha, I can imagine the devil saying that to Jesus while he was fasting through the desert.

You wont tempt me *fist shake*

ah go on, its st patricks day

*pauses* Ah sure alright so :)

That's exactly how it happened ;)

Probably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,346 ✭✭✭King George VI

There's nothing wrong with giving up the dirt for a while imo whether its part of a religious tradition or not. I doubt it was originally intended to get people to stop eating chocolate and crisps anyway. Probably some nonsense about punishing yourself to be closer to god.

I agree. I was just saying personally I'm not going to participate in lent as I'm not religious and don't want to give up anything. I enjoy all the crap that's bad for me.

If someone wants to use lent as incentive to give up something bad then fair play to them. Some people need a bit of a push to get going.

I always thought lent was a bit silly. People give up chocolate or smokes or beer or whatever for 40 days, then immediately get back on those things when lent is over. I know what's not the point of it but its what mostly happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Smoking.

Should actually stick to it this year too seeing as I'm a non smoker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Smoking.

Should actually stick to it this year too seeing as I'm a non smoker

Good luck to you, I can imagine it will be tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,435 ✭✭✭✭redout

Yer Aul Sins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 960 ✭✭✭cletus van damme

booze for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Ill be giving up my daily 3 hours of soap on tele.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Cogsy88

I gave up a long time ago.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

My board's subscription.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

I didn't even know it was lent till a few hours ago.

No, I won't be giving up anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Going to give up junk food, masturbation and being a moody twat :(

Dont know why but I always find it easier to give up something for lent than keep my NY resolution

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,567 ✭✭✭Red Pepper

KeithM89 wrote: »
    Colonic Irrigations.

You'll have a durty hole in 40 days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

Lent seems to be a carry over for all those failed new years resolutions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

Im going to be a typical Irish person and give up sweet things, cigarettes, alcohol, swearing etc. Most importantly pray more and go to mass everyday.

But realistically Ill be smoking and drinking by Thursday night. Because practically no Irish person gives up anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

astonaidan wrote: »
    Going to give up junk food, masturbation and being a moody twat :(

YEAHHH SUUURE!!!:pac:
    40 days of no **** and you think you're moody now! You will be fit to kill after 2 weeks IF (and that's a big if) you even last that long!

I will be giving up sobriety, I've been drink free for almost a month now and feel great, but enough of that! Starting next weekend with Paddy's day celebrations i have a boozy few weeks coming up and can't wait!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

Not giving up as such, but every time I use the C word to describe someone on telly, I'm gonna put a euro in the jar.

It should be full after watching Oireachtas Report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Gave up imaginary friends years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

YEAHHH SUUURE!!!:pac:
    40 days of no **** and you think you're moody now! You will be fit to kill after 2 weeks IF (and that's a big if) you even last that long!

I will be giving up sobriety, I've been drink free for almost a month now and feel great, but enough of that! Starting next weekend with Paddy's day celebrations i have a boozy few weeks coming up and can't wait!
    Ye off little faith, nothing better than religion to knock the masturbation out off ya

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

hfallada wrote: »
    Im going to be a typical Irish person and give up sweet things, cigarettes, alcohol, swearing etc. Most importantly pray more and go to mass everyday.

But realistically Ill be smoking and drinking by Thursday night. Because practically no Irish person gives up anything
    You won't be successful with your lenten pledges because "practically no Irish person gives up anything" (not that you could possibly actually know whether that's a fact or not)...? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 166 ✭✭Bananatop

I'm giving up T for Len.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Semele

Chocolate. Only because I don't have any in the house for once and so have already lasted a day longer than any of my childhood attempts! Also am on a diet, so may as well invoke some extra superstitious support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 PanBrian

Just wondering what the general consensus
    I will try to give up sweets and chocolate as I'm a heure for sweet things
    Helps to lose a few pounds also

Not giving up anything, but taking up daily Mass for Lent. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

IF there is a man upstairs, then he's not doing me any favours at the moment, so why would I?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

I will give up my favourite seasonal prank/Joke:

Me: Would you like a sweet?

Catholic friend: No thanks. Its lent

Me: Not at all. You can keep it.

NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Vito Corleone

Cherry Coke.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

bluewolf wrote: »
    NEVER GONNA GIVE YOU UP

NEVER GONNA LET YOU DOWN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭SpaceCowb0y

astonaidan wrote: »
    Ye off little faith, nothing better than religion to knock the masturbation out off ya

Unless you are using lent as your first step to becoming a priest i don't believe anyone can/should go 40 days without having a peddle! first of all it can't be healthy to keep all that bottled up, personally i would be like a sex crazed maniac (even more so then usual) The image of a horny dog humping its owners leg comes to mind!

And secondly **** is great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

At this time of year I think we should all remember that Christ died on the cross for our sins....

and that to show our respects to the creator of the universe for his sacrifice we should all give up Cadburys dairy milks

Are you people aged 10??????? :D

Ireland. 94% Catholic according to the census. (93% who don't take it seriously...but sure ban the gay anyway!!)

Im giving up easter eggs for lent, have the occasional small creme egg though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

Coca Cola and sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Acedia.

Maybe I should start a new thread for this but it's not really worth it. Just, was anyone surprised by the people they saw wearing the ashes?

When I was young just about 100% of people wore the ashes. from what I saw today that's down to about 10%.

Mostly old biddies and their husbands bit I saw one girl who is a student in NCAD and another friend who lectures in the RCSI and is under 50. At the same time I wasn't surprised to see an FFer acquaintance who has been sinfully indulging in IVF all year absolutely smothered in the stuff.

Did you see any surprising non stereotypical Catholics today?

How could you be putting ashes on your forehead after giving 2 hours putting on war paint to try and look plastic?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 460 ✭✭Cogsy88

I'm giving up being single. Or at least I'm gonna try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl