Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there anywhere in Dublin where I can buy a standard bike?

• 04-03-2014 3:26pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭

Why cant I find normal bikes for sale anymore? I don't particularly want to fork out a few hundred euros for a racing bike. Is there any standard mountain bikes left in Dublin? You know the ones that cost 50-150euros second hand?? Even online there seems to be only racing bikes for sale.

When did cycling become so expensive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,318 ✭✭✭✭Raam

Zeebs wrote: »

Feckin ages ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

dublinbikeman.com maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 851 ✭✭✭GlennaMaddy

Head to Fairview where you have a choice of CityCycles and Littlesport

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

When did cycling become so expensive?[/QUOTE]

Father paid £18 for a Rudge, high nelly type bike in 1948. Not exactly cheap in a country still enjoying rationing.

There is an ok looking single speed bike for sale in adverts subforum for 220?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,604 ✭✭✭petethedrummer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

UCD always have a small stock of 2nd hand bikesa
    Call them before you set off, but from their website they have 2 mountain bikes in for €170 and €185.
    They probably have cheaper too.
    http://www.belfieldbikeshop.com/?q=bikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

Did London Paris about 8 years ago on bike. Some tool turned up on one of those bikes. Brand new. Bottom bracket failed before leaving London

ford2600 wrote: »
    Some tool turned up on one of those bikes.
    The world needs dreamers.

Anyway here are 2nd hand hybrids sorted cheapest first: http://www.adverts.ie/for-sale/sports-fitness/bikes/hybrid-bikes/833/sortby_price-asc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Why cant I find normal bikes for sale anymore? ........ Even online there seems to be only racing bikes for sale......
    "Racing" bikes are normal bikes. There's nothing normal about mountain bikes and they're a fairly recent invention by comparison! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Diarmuid

You know the ones that cost 50-150euros second hand??

You're welcome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭malarkus

I just bought a bike this weekend in Rothar on Fade St. Its a shop for recycled and 'pre-loved' bikes. Good quality, nice guys and great community ethic. Theres also shops in Phibsboro and Dun Laoghaire. Average price is about €160

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Danjamin1

Try Halfords, you get what you pay for though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

You could always Argos it!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Mikes bikes in Dun Laoghaire have a load of second hand bikes. Even have a few ex garda fleet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Jaysus they're some crazy prices. How come they're so cheap?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

.ak wrote: »

Example: Terrain Ascent.
    http://www.tesco.com/direct/terrain-ascent-rigid-26-adult-mountain-bike-mens/211-5521.prd?pageLevel=&skuId=211-5521

How bad can it be? I think.

http://www.bikeradar.com/news/article/bargain-basement-bikes-are-they-a-false-economy-22628/

"Our own Rob Spedding, editor of Cycling Plus, put a Terrain Ascent from Tesco to the test as part of the magazine's sub-£100 bike 'Scrap heap challenge' earlier this year (issue 221).

He didn't have high hopes after picking it up in a sale for £40, but struggled with building it, pretzeled the back wheel within 10 minutes of riding and lost a crank after less than 20 miles. He summed up the experience by saying: “It was, in all honesty, the least fun I’ve ever had on a bike.""

.ak wrote: »

they're crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,853 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

Lumen wrote: »
    Example: Terrain Ascent.
    http://www.tesco.com/direct/terrain-ascent-rigid-26-adult-mountain-bike-mens/211-5521.prd?pageLevel=&skuId=211-5521

How bad can it be? I think.

http://www.bikeradar.com/news/article/bargain-basement-bikes-are-they-a-false-economy-22628/

"Our own Rob Spedding, editor of Cycling Plus, put a Terrain Ascent from Tesco to the test as part of the magazine's sub-£100 bike 'Scrap heap challenge' earlier this year (issue 221).

He didn't have high hopes after picking it up in a sale for £40, but struggled with building it, pretzeled the back wheel within 10 minutes of riding and lost a crank after less than 20 miles. He summed up the experience by saying: “It was, in all honesty, the least fun I’ve ever had on a bike.""

Definitely best to buy from somewhere that specialises in bikes. You hear a lot of stories about department store bikes failing within weeks, even days. Made of the cheapest materials, assembled by people who often don't know much.

I read somewhere that in the fifties a reliable bike cost a month's wages. Now it's a week's (I guess €600+).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭equivariant

Why cant I find normal bikes for sale anymore? I don't particularly want to fork out a few hundred euros for a racing bike. Is there any standard mountain bikes left in Dublin? You know the ones that cost 50-150euros second hand?? Even online there seems to be only racing bikes for sale.

When did mountain bikes become "standard"? Maybe my age is showing here. I've always though that flat handlebars and fat tyres just look weird.

In the mid-nineties mountain bikes were the most common bike for general getting around, I think. The hybrid took a lot of that market later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

http://www.macdonaldcycles.ie/

I don't know the shop in Rathgar, but there's always a few decent second hand bikes in their shop on Wexford Street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Oh, these people that "repaired" my front drum brake once by spraying it with WD-40... among other things.

I'm not sure if I should post it here, but this kind of service does not leave much room for defense from their side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Alek wrote: »
    Oh, these people that "repaired" my front drum brake once by spraying it with WD-40... among other things.

I'm not sure if I should post it here, but this kind of service does not leave much room for defense from their side.

I guess, you refer to my post?

I always found them very helpful, never made any bad experiences with that crowd, and I'm using them for 9 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Lumen wrote: »
    pretzeled the back wheel within 10 minutes of riding and lost a crank after less than 20 miles

That's some impressive riding. 20 miles in 10 minutes comes out at 120mph. Not surprised he pretzeled the wheel...

Oh, hold on. It says 'less than 20 miles'...