Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GameGolf

• 02-03-2014 11:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭

I'm a sucker for the latest gizmos and I love tracking stats so when I saw this I had to get it. I assume some of ye have seen it already because it's getting a lot of promotion on twitter and the PGA of America and the Golf Channel are backing it.
    It was created by an Irish guy called John McGuire who went to the US to develop it.

I managed to get my hands on it through a friend living in America as it's only available there at the moment and I took it on my round yesterday.

See link below.

http://www.gamegolf.com/round/6431

So how does it work? A tag on each club and GPS thingymebob on your belt.
    Each shot you just tag where your ball is with whatever club you have and GameGolf then keeps track of everything. When the round is finished, just connect it to your computer and upload.

After yesterday's (poor) round I'm well impressed with it.
    It took me a while to get used to tagging each shot, it kinda put me off a bit at the start, but then it just becomes part of your pre-shot routine.

There is a bit of editing to go on after you upload it but it's pretty easy to do. I missed a tag or two and the pin defaults to the middle of the green when you have 1 putt.
    I think about 90-95% of the time my location was spot on but there was a few occasions where it was out by 5 yards or so.

So overall I'm well happy with it and I think I'll be using it for all my rounds this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭rollotomasi

It does look good. I think the guy behind it was on the Newstalk Golf show a few months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Looks class can't wait to try it out. Like the idea of proper round stat recording without having to record info by using apps or that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Very interesting, I like the look of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭delboykelly

Yeah I seen that yoke alrite on the internet. Looks class, then I seen it was only available in the states. Does it track your swing or just your shot count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

It is interesting ,

Not a big fan of technology on the course - just me.

I think the idea of tapping a belt or having to attach something to you is a bit awkward. You'd imagine they could design that out of it. (in a few years - or version 2.0)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 685 ✭✭✭Tweaky

Looks very good. The satellite images of the course make it very easy to picture your round. Does it track average club distances. Like you I love the latest gadgets. Bought golfsense after your review last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

How much does it cost lads?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Slicemeister

Yeah doesn't do me good looking at stuff like that:(

Looks cool and would imagine it cuts down timewise entering on a scoring app after the round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

ForeRight wrote: »
    How much does it cost lads?

Costs around €200

Yeah I seen that yoke alrite on the internet. Looks class, then I seen it was only available in the states. Does it track your swing or just your shot count?

It only tracks your shots not your swing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭rollotomasi

Reganovski wrote: »
    Costs around €200

And i think there is an annual fee?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

And i think there is an annual fee?

No annual fee. There was talks of it but there isn't