Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you know anyone that takes supporting a team too seriously?

• 01-03-2014 10:26am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭

I've a mate, mad into his soccer. He supports an English premiership team, and 99% of the matches he watches are on TV.

He seriously takes supporting a team too seriously though. He will arrange family events around matches, so Birthday parties/christening /etc all take place before or after a match on the telly.

I've given up going to the pub with him on match days, as I may as well be there by myself as all he does for the duration of the game is stare at the screen, let out the occasional grunt/cheer/swoon and then get his mobile out to check results from other games.

If his team is beaten he does be in 'mourning' for days after it.

If anyone slags him over his team being beaten/drawing/anything really he gets a really think head on him and essentially huffs.

The soccer forums here are full of them too.

Die hard fans like this do my head in. Grow the fcuk up lads will yas? It's 22 men running round a field after a ball for fcuksake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

I've a mate, mad into his soccer. He supports an English premiership team, and 99% of the matches he watches are on TV.

He seriously takes supporting a team too seriously though. He will arrange family events around matches, so Birthday parties/christening /etc all take place before or after a match on the telly.

I've given up going to the pub with him on match days, as I may as well be there by myself as all he does for the duration of the game is stare at the screen, let out the occasional grunt/cheer/swoon and then get his mobile out to check results from other games.

If anyone slags him over his team being beaten/drawing/anything really he gets a really think head on him and essentially huffs.

Die hard fans like this do my head in. Grow the fcuk up lads will yas? It's 22 men running round a field after a ball for fcuksake.

Are you an upset Man U fan by any chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

mate sounds like a scouser though, proper united fans are used to winning fcuk all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I feel sorry for Man U supporters having to find another team to support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Are you an upset Man U fan by any chance?

Lol. No definitely not.

I'm a 'if there's football on I'll watch it' kind of fella. Definitely don't support any team as such.

I've no problem with soccer, it's just these "ultra fans" that get on my tits. Big fcuking kids Imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

kneemos wrote: »
    I feel sorry for Man U supporters having to find another team to support.

They'll probably just start supporting City.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,468 ✭✭✭✭Oat23

Lol. No definitely not.

I'm a 'if there's football on I'll watch it' kind of fella. Definitely don't support any team as such.

I've no problem with soccer, it's just these "ultra fans" that get on my tits. Big fcuking kids Imo.

Filthy casual!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Fanatical GAA supporters really get on my tits.
    Cop the fcuk on lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,828 ✭✭✭stimpson

Did you see that ludicrous display last night?

Oat23 wrote: »
    Filthy casual!

Not even a casual. Couldn't tell you who is playing today (as anyone?) who is top of the league (is it Arsenal?)

Like I say, if there's nothing on TV, and there's football on, I'll watch it.

Wouldn't bother with the sports section in the paper, nor would I pay sky for the sports packages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

The lad next to me in work seems to revolve much of his life around football. Not to the extent that he'd actually miss a family event, but I suspect that is because he is a but under the thumb of the wife. Given the choice himself he'd probably watch the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

Look at that guy... He's far more passionate about things I'm not that passionate about. Let this man have his obsession.

Depending on who he supports...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

It's 22 men running round a field after a ball for fcuksake.

Only 20 of them actually run round the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

I used to work in a pub in a small town back when I was in college at the weekends; it was a fairly big Liverpool pub, to the extent, that on actual match days people from the neighbouring towns would come in and watch the matches, so you'd have maybe 120-150 of them in the place on a Sunday afternoon.
    Anyway, back to the point, I was on from 12pm to close one Saturday on a split and a while after coming in a few boys arrived in with the jerseys on and I was thinking 'fcuk, I'm here on my own now I'm going to get slammed'! Anyway, said hello, 4pints, what's the craic and all that and they took the remote to 'put on' the game; there was a front bar and back bar in the pub, so while standing in the front I heard a roar, so I headed back to see the highlights of the goal, only to see the aertel screen with Liverpool one nil up against whomever; they were 'watching' the match on aertel! I just kind of smiled and walked back to the other bar shaking my head! Mental!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,597 ✭✭✭Witchie

anncoates wrote: »

Was thinking that myself but then thought about the ref and linesmen so its more like 23.

I used to be that person. In fact my choice of boyfriends revolved around football. If he wasn't a League of Ireland fan he didn't score with me. I moved house and went from having no mortgage to one I can't afford anymore so that my back garden looks into my home stadium. I dedicated over 10 years of my life volunteering and then getting paid to work for my team.

I didn't go to weddings, funerals or parties if they clashed with a game.

Am cured now and just a part time Liverpool fan but it took my team to quit the league to cure me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,754 ✭✭✭oldyouth

In 6 days the LOI season kicks off and I will automatically become like the OP's friend :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Fanatical GAA supporters really get on my tits.
    Cop the fcuk on lads.

Why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Anyone who takes any sport to serious needs to take step back - i say this as a big Rugby fan and someone who will watch GAA, soccer, golf, tennis if iv time to kill..

I don't think it would be too healthy for my mental health as a Connacht fan if i took it too serious

This is the week I hate most every year. My heart breaks. I get so jealous of all you lot getting the Christmas eve feeling. FML.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭geckovision

I love football. Watch Premiership, La Liga, Serie A sometimes, but it wouldn't dictate my life and I wouldn't be p1ssed off if my team lost.

It's supposed to be fun.

I'd hate to be one of those lads in the soccer forums playing constant games of oneupmanship. (A lot of good posters in there too though. I enjoy the Man Utd thread.)

Getting all high and mighty if Suarez does something bad, but defending their own players for similar. Utterly dumb.

OP, you're being irrational.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

stimpson wrote: »
    Did you see that ludicrous display last night?

What was Wenger thinking sending on Walcott that early?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

You only sing when your winning..sing when your winningggg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

keith16 wrote: »
    What was Wenger thinking sending on Walcott that early?

The thing with arsenal is that they always try to walk it in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

I remember my two brothers, both supporters of Liverpool, would have massive shouting matches growing up over football and I could never get my head round it. They were ready to kill each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,129 ✭✭✭R P McMurphy

80s Child wrote: »
    I used to work in a pub in a small town back when I was in college at the weekends; it was a fairly big Liverpool pub, to the extent, that on actual match days people from the neighbouring towns would come in and watch the matches, so you'd have maybe 120-150 of them in the place on a Sunday afternoon.
    Anyway, back to the point, I was on from 12pm to close one Saturday on a split and a while after coming in a few boys arrived in with the jerseys on and I was thinking 'fcuk, I'm here on my own now I'm going to get slammed'! Anyway, said hello, 4pints, what's the craic and all that and they took the remote to 'put on' the game; there was a front bar and back bar in the pub, so while standing in the front I heard a roar, so I headed back to see the highlights of the goal, only to see the aertel screen with Liverpool one nil up against whomever; they were 'watching' the match on aertel! I just kind of smiled and walked back to the other bar shaking my head! Mental!!

Put that to music and you could have a streets song

I think a man who loves his football makes a great boyfriend. He shows commitment even when things are rough, he shows passion and love and he loves when a team member gets in the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

Get your own house in order first.

Witchie wrote: »
    I think a man who loves his football makes a great boyfriend. He shows commitment even when things are rough, he shows passion and love and he loves when a team member gets in the box .

Mmmmm.

daRobot wrote: »
    Get your own house in order first.

Ya what now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

One day I met my former flatmate, a Liverpool fan, heading out wearing a brand new Barcelona jersey. He was going to a pub to watch Man Utd in the Champions League final.

Next morning he was sporting a brand new black eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Football has given me some incredible highs. It would be cheating for me to not feel the lows too and dismiss it as just a game with no bearing on my moods.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I know a fella who beat up his step father a few times after his time lost. He's a die hard fan but he has a problem with drink too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,306 ✭✭✭✭Drumpot

One day I met my former flatmate, a Liverpool fan, heading out wearing a brand new Barcelona jersey. He was going to a pub to watch Man Utd in the Champions League final.

Next morning he was sporting a brand new black eye.

Ah Liverpool fans. A rare breed indeed.

Is there any fanbase that spends more time focused on a rival team and manager then their own?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 132 ✭✭bockeys jollocks

Fanatical soccer fans are the worst, when I hear at the lunch table that some team are going to pay some knuckle dragger 300k a week to kick a ball, my faith in humanity diminishes slightly more. What's even worse is the fact that this conversation all through lunch hour.

How many f**king times do we have to talk about this shíte? Jaysus!:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

As a diehard football supporter i have to admit that some people take it way too serious, to the point that i cringe when they say certain things. We're not all like that, but there are a few people that go way ott.

Witchie wrote: »
    I think a man who loves his football makes a great boyfriend. He shows commitment even when things are rough, he shows passion and love and he loves when a team member gets in the box.

Needs a rude Mon Dog pun.

/mmmmmm Mon Dog...

Drumpot wrote: »
    Ah Liverpool fans. A rare breed indeed.

Is there any fanbase that spends more time focused on a rival team and manager then their own?

Yes.

United fans are just as bad.

Super-Rush wrote: »
    As a diehard football supporter i have to admit that some people take it way too serious, to the point that i cringe when they say certain things. We're not all like that, but there are a few people that go way ott.

I have no problem with football, I'm not anti sport, I'll even discuss transfers/injuries/latest signings etc. I'll watch it on the TV, and I've been to a few games in England/Scotland and over here too.

It's the lads who fcuking get thick with each other over who's team is better than the others, and who beat who back in 2004. I've seen it argued in the pub, over dinner, at parties. Fully grown men in their 30s and 40s.

Not banter. Full scale rows, fcuking handbags at dawn material.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Someone explain the offside rule for me

I have no problem with football, I'm not anti sport, I'll even discuss transfers/injuries/latest signings etc. I'll watch it on the TV, and I've been to a few games in England/Scotland and over here too.

It's the lads who fcuking get thick with each other over who's team is better than the others, and who beat who back in 2004. I've seen it argued in the pub, over dinner, at parties. Fully grown men in their 30s and 40s.

Not banter. Full scale rows, fcuking handbags at dawn material.

Even worse is a when two people who support the same team end up arguing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

Yea, I love football. I enjoy playing it, I enjoy watching it, and I enjoy talking about it. Forgive me for my sins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

I pay for a season ticket. I buy a programme and half-time raffle tickets.

I buy the club's weekly lotto tickets. I sell a book of tickets for the annual draw.

I used to make monthly payments of €20 to the 400 club, but unfortunately I had to stop that. As soon as I'm earning half decent money again the first thing I'll do is set up that direct debit again.

I can't remember the last time I missed a home match, it's not in the last 6 years or so anyway.

I go to as many away games as I possibly can.

I try to encourage/beg/guilt people into going to games in the hope that they'll eventually become regulars, or at least occasional attenders.

But I do very little compared to a lot of other fans I know.

So no OP, your friend who organises his life around watching his team on the telly doesn't take supporting his team too seriously.

In fact he doesn't take it in any way seriously.

Slightly unrelated, but a lot of people seem to think that supporting a team is about the glory of winning.

It isn't. It's about year after year of misery interjected by the ecstacy of a few brilliant days that make it all worthwhile.

The bad days, and there's any amount of them are every bit as special as the good days though. It's because you've been there and endured them that make the good days so brilliant. You know you've really earned the right to experience the feeling of seeing your team winning something.

Henlars67 wrote: »
    I pay for a season ticket. I buy a programme and half-time raffle tickets.

I buy the club's weekly lotto tickets. I sell a book of tickets for the annual draw.

I used to make monthly payments of €20 to the 400 club, but unfortunately I had to stop that. As soon as I'm earning half decent money again the first thing I'll do is set up that direct debit again.

I can't remember the last time I missed a home match, it's not in the last 6 years or so anyway.

I go to as many away games as I possibly can.

I try to encourage/beg/guilt people into going to games in the hope that they'll eventually become regulars, or at least occasional attenders.

But I do very little compared to a lot of other fans I know.

So no OP, your friend who organises his life around watching his team on the telly doesn't take supporting his team too seriously.

In fact he doesn't take it in any way seriously.

Slightly unrelated, but a lot of people seem to think that supporting a team is about the glory of winning.

It isn't. It's about year after year of misery interjected by the ecstacy of a few brilliant days that make it all worthwhile.

The bad days, and there's any amount of them are every bit as special as the good days though. It's because you've been there and endured them that make the good days so brilliant. You know you've really earned the right to experience the feeling of seeing your team winning something.

You also chose a username based on Henrik Larsson I presume :)???

Football bores are one thing but imagine ranting and raving about other topics like being clamped because you can't read the time.

I mean, grow the fcuk up lads, will ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

You also chose a username based on Henrik Larsson I presume :)???

Ya, the best player I've ever had the privilege of seeing live.

What's the problem?

Football bores are one thing but imagine ranting and raving about other topics like being clamped because you can't read the time.

I mean, grow the fcuk up lads, will ya.

Pretty cheap shot there.

I don't recall using any ' time excuse' in my clamping thread, and remember taking full accountability for being late.

But carryon being the pompous self styled dick if it makes you feel big.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

GO ON.

MY SON.

Henlars67 wrote: »
    Ya, the best player I've ever had the privilege of seeing live.

What's the problem?

No problem. Just assumed it was ref to Henrik. (yeah I've been to paradise a few times)

Pretty cheap shot there.

Just over the bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,588 ✭✭✭ahnowbrowncow

Goalkeepers cover about 5.5km per game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Goalkeepers cover about 5.5km per game.

our keeper wouldnt cover 5.5m in a game.